See All Reviews
Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090
Westinghouse 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, VR-4090
$319.98
List Price: $399.99
You Save: $80.01 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by large size tv but quite heavy! GOT THIS TV ONLINE AT WALMART.COM, THE DELIVERY SERVICE WAS GREAT, THE TV WAS QUITE LARGE WHICH IS GOOD, BUT TOO HEAVEY FOR THE PLASTIC OVAL STAND TO HOLD, THE SKREWS TO ATTACH THE TV TO THE STAND WERE VERY SHORT AND WOULN'T HOLD THE TV TO THE STAND, THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS NOT AS GOOD AS OLD TV'S WE'VE GOT MAYBE THIS IS BECAUSE WE DIDN'T HAVE THE HDMI CABLE, BUT MY SON HOOKED IT UP VIA HIS PLAYSTATION WHICH DOES HAVE THE HIGH DEF. ON IT AND HE SAID THE GRAPICS ON THIS TV WERE WHACK COMPAIRED TO THE 20INCH 2002 TV IN HIS ROOM WHERE THE COLORS/GRAPHICS POP, OUR OLD 27INCH TV WENT OUT AND I WAS SOO EXCITED TO GET THIS NEW TV! CALLED WESTINGHOUSE ABOUT THE STAND BUT THEY COULD ONLY TELL ME TO TAKE PICS N SEND IN MY COMPLAINT TO THEM WHICH IS NO HELP, I HAD TO TAKE THE TV BACK TO WALMART AND WILL GET A SANYO OR BETTER RATED TV SOLD IN THE WALMART STORE, THE PRICE OF THIS TV SEEMED TO BE A GREAT BUY. IF U PURCHASE THIS TV MAYBE IT WILL WORK IF U MOUNT IT ON THE WALL OR CAN FIGURE OUT HOW TO GET THE FLIMSY BASE TO HOLD THE TV! 10/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, I like the TV. Some little things do bother me. 1. TV doesn't always respond to the remote. When it does, it takes a while to change/bring the picture up on a new channel. 2. does not have built in antenna. Without cable connection, I have to continuously use an antenna. You have to buy a pretty decent one to pick up all channels. Picture is good, sound is good. I would recommend this for the price absolutely. 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was a little hard to figure out how to hook up the dvd and convertor box to the TV. I had to go online and find instructions on google. That was the only down fall. Now I just have to figure out how to hook up the WII to all of it. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by better than average An excellent bargain for the price. 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely TV overall! With this TV it was very easy to put together and set all my gaming systems up (Xbox 360, PS3, and PS2). The remote was a old fashioned and not that great of a signal but works well. The TV takes about 5 seconds to turn on but everyone only has time to spare. The TV has great picture quality and sound with an HDMI cable. As for the regular VA cable not that great in picture but the sound is still great. I will test the Y/Pr/Pb, L-channel, R-channel cables to see the sound and picture quality. I will update that hopefully. The shipping was slow 14 days but I picked from site to store which is slow but yay it saved me some money. It came in great condition and was not damaged. Overall all my gaming look amazing and the sound is great (you do not need the sound all the way up because it is plenty loud. Love it! ^_^ P.S.: I am a very picky buyer of anything I look at reviews and the specs. of anything I buy. Plus I am going to school now to be a Computer programmer. Love Technology! 10/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by talke forever to change channels and turn on like three seconds every time you switch channels 10/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Malfunctioned on first try Received TV, turned on manually. Picture worked great, but remote would not do anything. Tried programming other univeral remotes we had in our home to the TV, would not work. Had to return and get different TV. 10/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tv I bought this tv about three weeks ago while on sale at a steal price of $299 (courtesy of a local deal segment on the morning news) and jumped on it. It replaced an older 27" JVC standard def TV that was shot. I haven't set up a High Def cable box yet, but I do have a Roku HD streaming box with a HDMI connection to it and the picture looks better compared to my old tv. It's worth the price that I purchased it for and will be looking forward to seeing legit HD programming in due time. 10/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great price for the size We got all we needed for the price 10/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for what I paid for. I'm not an expert on TV's but I understand there are better quality TV's on the market than this one. But for less than half the price of those TV's, this one doesn't disappoint! I put it in my kid's room and she loves it! The sound is not amazing but she doesn't need it to be. The picture looks pretty good and it was easy to set up. The only negative so far is the base it comes with, it's all plastic and seems a little flimsy. Granted, it will hold up the TV and once the TV is set up it doesn't get moved around much so the base seems to work, but I wonder how long it will last... Overall I'd recommend this TV to anyone on a budget or needing a TV that might not be the main TV in the house. 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got this TV for my son for his 17th Birthday! He loves it! Easy hook-up for his Computer and picture quality is excellent! This TV is not sold in stores but shipping to store was so easy and fast! HD features are excellent! It has a freeze image button on controller so you can freeze any image while watching TV! Great TV getting my Daughter one for Christmas! 10/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not terrible, but couldn't recommend it to others This TV is cheap, and cheap is what you get. The colors are very dull. Something inside of it rattles whenever there is any bass. The remote seems to only work from 5 feet away. It's not terrible by any means, but as far as cheap TVs go, I have been much more impressed with the two Vizios I own. 10/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only if price is important!!! Shuts down for no reason then have to get up and reset. Occasionally will just go black for a few seconds for no reason?? 10/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by happy so far worth the price so far 10/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value great picture quality, easy to set up, would recommend it to anyone 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great tv for someone who is on a limited budget. The picture is great and the volume is good. The graphics look great for gaming when hooked up with HDMI. I really like the pc connection or input. As I mentioned earlier, great tv for someone on a budget. 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bang for your buck This TV is great, it does everything I need it to. The only thing that could use improvement is the stand that it came with. Picture and sound quality are great but I had to adjust the brightness because the standard settings were too dim. If you're looking for a nice size TV for an amazing price, look no more. 10/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for. While price was good, you get what you pay for. The stand is rigid, you can't turn the TV without turning the stand. None of Dish network codes work for this TV, so you have to use multiple remotes. The picture is OK, but the sound is really poor. 10/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It just might be a good set. It's hard to give an accurate review since there are problems with the television, specifically the picture itself. There's a blotch (dark spot) and the whites are too bright, they run together sometimes. Usually when purchasing an appliance, the manufacturer is more than happy to replace it or give a refund. The good folks over at Westinghouse would rather have me pack it better than it originally was, send it to them in Texas, and let them repair it. The plan was to buy a new television set, not a repaired or reconditioned one. This is unacceptable. 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tv for a great price We have had this tv for 2 weeks and so far, so good. We aren't huge tv watchers, so we think that the picture and sound are great and the price was definitely right. We think it was a good purchase. 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very happy with my Westinghouse 40" VR-4090 LCD HDTV I purchased recently from Walmart. This TV has exceptional HD picture quality & sound, and is very easy to setup & configure right out of the box (menu navigation is also very intuitive). The only quibble I have with this LCD is the fact the base stand is rigid so doesn't allow for rotating the monitor horizontally to the left or right on the base. But this is a small issue because otherwise this TV has a superb viewing angle, or contrast ratio, so there's really no need to have to rotate it (the brightness, contrast, & clarity look equally good from almost any angle). Overall, I am very impressed by this Westinghouse VR-4090 & would highly recommend it. This is an excellent LCD HDTV for the price! 10/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it!! I absolutely love my tv. Im waiting to buy another one for my room and give my daughter my 32 inch 10/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The clicker has small buttons and is hard to read The controller has small buttons and is hard to read for a senior citizen. Would like the option of a controller with bigger buttons. We like that there are buttons on the side of the tv, in case you can't find your clicker or it is out of batteries! 09/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV We are very happy with the TV. It was purchased for a vacation home and we didn't need a lot of the options available on some TV's. There is no TV service available at the cabin so it is only used for an occasional DVD or VHS movie. It arrived "site to store" and we were pleased to see that it was well packaged and in excellent condition. 09/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wrong base When I received this product, Westinghouse had sent the wrong base to go with the TV. When I called them they kind of beat around the bush and told me it was probably better to return the TV and start over. After waiting for 10 days for the first TV, I decided just to purchase a TV from the store. 09/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by When I first got this item there was already a little green pixel in the center of the t.v. 09/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the price Very good product, so far, for the price. Was a very good value 09/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good tv for the price. The only bad thing is you can't program a universal remote to control all functions of the tv. 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased! We needed a simple LCD TV for our guest room. We had previously purchased another LCD from Walmart for our bedroom that had all the bells and whistles and met our needs. The "no frills" LCD for our guestroom is perfect and very inexpensive...an excellent buy for the money. We had it shipped to our home in a very timely manner. 09/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV for the price. This was my first LCD HD tv and I am really impressed. The only hassle was getting the code from Westinghouse to get my local channels. Sound quality isn't horrible despite what I had read from other reviews. I just went into the sound settings and switched it to movie quality and don't have a problem. If I want really loud sound I just turn on my surround sound that I have connected and its movie theater quality. Overall I am very satisfied with this puchase. 09/14/2012
91-120 of 152 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew259
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp