Consider these popular products

Vizio 42" Class LED 1080p 120Hz refresh rate HDTV, (1.9" ultra-slim) M420SL

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
  • 42" diagonal screen size
  • HDMI Inputs: 4
  • Wall mountable
  • SRS TruSurround HD
  • About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

  • 42" diagonal screen size
  • HDMI Inputs: 4
  • Wall mountable
  • SRS TruSurround HD


    Vizio 42" Class LED 1080p 120Hz refresh rate HDTV, M420SL:

    • 42" Vizio LED HDTV panel
      With a 1920 x 1080 Full HD resolution
    • True 16:9 aspect ratio
      View your movies as the director intended
    • Wide 178-degree vertical and 178-degree horizontal angles
      See a clear picture from anywhere in the room
    • Built-in digital tuner
      Watch digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available
    • 8 ms response time
      Quick response time for a great picture
    • 200,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio
    • HDMI Inputs: 4
      Enjoy a superior HD experience with HDMI one cable solution
    • 42.02" screen measured diagonally from corner to corner
    • Wall mountable, 1.9" ultra-slim 1080p 120Hz refresh rate HDTV
      VESA standard 400mm x 400mm
    • Built-in WiFi
      Stream movies, programs and more to your Vizio LED HDTV
    • SRS TruSurround HD
      Get booming surround sound


    ENERGY STAR®
    Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.



    TV stand sold separately. See all TV stands.

    TV mount sold separately. See all TV mounts.

  • Specifications

    Aspect Ratio: 16:9
    Backlight Type: LED (Light-Emitting Diodes)
    Color: Black
    Is Remote Control Included: Y
    Mount Type: VESA 400mm x 400mm
    Resolution: 1080p ,  HDTV
    Manufacturer: Vizio
    Features: Ambient light sensor (ALS)
    Connector Type: 1 x Component Video, 1 x Ethernet, 4 x HDMI, 1 x Headphone, 1 x Optical Digital, 1 x RCA Audio L+R, 1 x RF (Coaxial), 2 x USB 2.0, 1 x VGA
    Model: M420SL
    Screen Size: 42"
    Brand: VIZIO
    Television Type: LCD TVs ,  LED TVs
    Audio Track Codec: SRS StudioSound HD, SRS TruSurround HD, SRS TruVolume
    Is Energy Star-Certified: Y
    Manufacturer Part Number: M420SL
    Response Time: 8 ms
    Refresh Rate: 120 Hz
    Digital Video Formats: Motion-JPEG
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 38.90 x 9.00 x 26.70 IN
    Show
    Show

    Manuals & Guides

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 81 questions
    1-3 of 81 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    I do not have an HD DVR at the moment so all I have to connect to the DVR is either RCA or S-Video connections. Does this TV have any RCA or S-Video connections?
    by Scout2of3 4/10/2012
    6 answers
    • A. Thank you for inquiring about our product. The inputs that are available on the TV to connect devices to are: HDMI, Component, Composite. The Composite input is the red, white, yellow input that can be used for a variety of devices. Thanks again and have a great day.
      by VIZIOEntertainmentExpert3/30/2013
      Written by a verified representative from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Connections - Inputs (REAR) HDMI: 4 (side) Component: 1 (bottom) Composite: 1 (shared with component input) PC: 1 VGA (bottom); DVI via HDMI RF Antenna: 1 (bottom) Ethernet: 1 (bottom) USB Ports: 2 (side) Connections - Outputs Digital Audio Out (SPDIF): 1 (bottom) Analog Audio Out: 1 (3.5mm) (bottom)
      by B0SS2/24/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The TV has a shared AV/Component RCA port
      by VIZIOSupport7/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it has rca and HDMI, no s-video. has composite video, r/g/b
      by Amallbottom5/5/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No S-Video or RCA. It has 4 HDMI and one Component input.
      by MarkLL7/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no it has 1 pc input, hdmi and the rgb inputs
      by KevLav7/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 81 questions See all
    1-3 of 81 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 207 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    207 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    207 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    92%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    142
    4 stars
    46
    3 stars
    4
    2 stars
    4
    1 stars
    11
    1-5 of 144 total reviews
    92%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Pretty Awesome TV
    4/22/2012

    Customer review by Anayltical1

    5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Anayltical1
    by Anayltical1

    I had tried a less expensive 2011 model of the E series, and while it was OK, I wasn't that impressed. In comparison, the sound of this model is much better. I have heard complaints about the sound of many TVS, but it is definitely not an issue here. I thought I would be tempted to purchase a hundred dollarish sound bar, but it seems totally unnecessary. The picture quality and color are quite good. Looking over specs, the new 3Ds have faster refresh rate, a better contrast ratio and display more colors. I have not tried the 3D, so I can't comment as a comparison. The TV seems much better made than the E series -- this TV does not seem cheap or flimsily put together. Even the base is more substantial. I paid $628, which seems like a good price. The E series was about $150 cheaper, but this TV seems like a much better overall value. I haven't used the internet apps much yet, and it appears as if I will need to upgrade my internet and/or wifi router speed to take full advantage of watching any video clips or movies.

    Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Anayltical1
    Ottawa, IL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Be aware...great TV for a year.
    9/17/2012

    Customer review by Anonymous1024

    1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Anonymous1024
    by Anonymous1024

    Buy this TV if you're OK with having to pay $300-$500 for a fix within the first two years of ownership. Owned TV for almost 13 months when one day the screen stopped working (2 weeks after warranty). Apparently this is a common problem (though Vizio would claim otherwise). When I bought this TV it was top of the line and one of the only models with Internet apps. I wanted the most sophisticated technology because I wanted to have the TV for a long time - I was willing to pay $800. For that kind of money you should be able to expect a product to work for more than a year. If this had happened 3 years after purchase I would be OK with paying for repair but that costly of a fix a year after purchase is ridiculous. Not to mention, two months ago (still in warranty) I had to have my remote replaced because it completely stopped working. Obviously a poorly manufactured product in every way. I would advise looking to more established brands for this type of TV. Vizio may be a good brand for smaller/less sophisticated TVs but they're out of their league with this level of technology.

    Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Anonymous1024
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    So Far So Good
    4/24/2012

    Customer review by Steelgator7

    5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by Steelgator7
    by Steelgator7

    Never bought a Vizio before so wasn't sure what to expect. I did see the set working on the Floor of Walmart(not my local Walmart but we have many walmarts within 20 miles of my house) and it looked very good there, so I figured I'll take it home for a test drive. So far I am pretty impressed with it's performance. Picture is excellent, apps all work fine, the surround sound is alittle unnerving I keep thinking there is someone in another room, because the TV catches all the sound from a show or movie including background sound. The sound isn't theatre quality but I have a home theatre system for those times when I need the big sound effect. Was easy to set up, works with my wifi and digital cable perfectly. And the slim thin design makes the TV lighweight and easy to move. So with having the TV for 2 weeks I give it a thumbs up, now we'll have to see about longevity...but so far so good...

    Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Steelgator7
    Boca Raton, Fl
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    The Best 42" Led TV On The Market
    5/4/2012

    Customer review by tirebiter

    5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by tirebiter
    by tirebiter

    This is a great well made tv, I love every thing about it. I had gone to Consumer Reports and they had the LG 42LV4400 rated higher so I bought it, It lasted less then 30 days and when I called on it I was told That was normal for that. The LG is also made cheaper. So talk to People And Consumer Reports is not always right! "I" Beleive Vizio is the best and well made on the market. I now own 3 Vizio LED Tv's The 32" and the 26", And I wouldn't trade for any other brand! I'am 63 and I just go out and buy anything without really checking it out first, I drive my wife nuts at times. But you want what you pay for to be worth what you pay! And this TV is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? (136) (9)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    tirebiter
    Michigan
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Gender:Male
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Usage:Every day
    Don't kill yourself trying to find the perfect TV
    5/8/2012

    Customer review by gornhorror

    5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by gornhorror
    by gornhorror

    This TV is hands down the best TV for the money, period. I did my research, believe me. For a long time I was stressing about which TV was worth my hard earned money. I also did not have a ton of money to spend and I was only willing to spend about 700 dollars. Then I found this set. It really has everything. 120Hz, 1080p, 42"(pretty good size), LED(not LCD), WIFI ready, and internet apps. It only uses $9/year in energy. That's important too!!!! Many people in my family bought Samsungs and were urging me to do the same. Yeah, those TV's are good too, but this one truly has a better picture and for hundreds less. So people, don't stress. Just go....... Vizio !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? (95) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    gornhorror
    Bloomingdale, N.J.
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 144 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 144 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 207 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: See details

    Warranty Information: 1 Year Limited Warranty
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.