See All Reviews
Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
$399.00
List Price: $499.99
You Save: $100.99 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fair at best I bought this TV online. I read the reviews prior to purchasing the TV and it got pretty good reviews for an inexpensive TV. In a nutshell I think I got a lemon. The TV would just go out on me time and again. The TV would show that it is on but lose the picture completely. I would have to pull the plug out to reboot the TV. I called the company, they told me how to reset it and I did however this did not work. I returned the TV to Walmart and got my money back. I then purchased a Sanyo for a little more money and now completely happy. I guess some things are just meant to happen in life. It is not a bad TV when it was working. At least I discovered the problem shortly after I purchased it. I do love the Sanyo, it is a better TV all around. 07/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product, great price The cheapest price I've seen for a 50" TV, the picture is pretty good but anything vhs quality like old movies or low quality youtube videos will look grainy. Looks great with xbox360, ps3, or any hd source 720p or better. Good pic quality with 480p or better. Hooking up a computer and using it looks great as well for surfing most websites. Not so great with any video quality less than this, so consider what you intend to watch with this before buying so you won't be too disappointed. Sounds like a TV when using it's internal speakers, highly suggest an alternate sound system like a cheap amp and bookshelf speakers minimum. I'm not a fan of horrible soundbar speakers, they seem to only be a slight improvement for the price which isn't worth it to me. For a cheap great sounding amp do a search for a tripath amp and buy a decent pair of bookshelves or better yet towers, for the same price as a soundbar you get a much higher quality difference. 06/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by For $499 it's hard to go wrong. My wife bought this TV for me for father's day. It arrived in perfect condition despite the box being a little beat up. I like the fact that it's only 60Hz helps it to retain that "film" quality. TVs with higher refresh rates (120Hz, 240Hz) tend to make the picture too clear, which makes it appear flat and cheap. The picture, when connected to an HD source, is very crisp. Standard definition looks good as well. My 7 year old daughter told me that she likes that it turns on and off so quickly. I have a couple of issues with the TV. First, the sticky residue left after removing the stickers on the bezel is very hard to get off. Not cool. Second, after I finish watching a program from my Direct TV DVR, when I erase the program and my satellite box automatically switches to live TV there is a momentary loss of signal to the TV. Occasionally, once the signal returns, there is no sound. I have to turn off, and then turn back on my satellite box to help the sound return. With that said, this is a minor inconvenience. All in all, I would definitely recommend this product. It's impossible to beat for the price. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV no cons Recently purchased this tv and have found it to be excellent. Picture and sound are great. Well built, good looking, great features and easy to use. Very straight forward unit. No design drawbacks. Swivels smooth and easy. Stand is rock solid. The remote is very well laid out with the buttons you'd use most grouped where you want them. Also remote has a nice rubber strip around it for ease of grasp and to protect it from damaged when dropped on hard surfaces. I am very pleased with this tv. The user can adjust the picture and sound to their liking. Picture will brighten to satisfy anyone viewing needs, I can't stand tv's with an inherent dim picture and this one isn't. No glare, plenty of volume, great build quality and materials. Plus what I like is the no-lag time when using the remote, other tv's I've had seemed slow to react to the remotes buttons. Also this tv comes right on without going through fits. You hit the on button and the Sceptre name appears for a moment across the screen then the picture lights up clear and crisp. Also this tv has a great tuner and while scanning for over the air channels I was pleased that it found 10 more channels than my older hd tv. Nothing cheap about this tv, it's an excellent value. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great For the Price The TV works very well for our application. We have 7 in our hotel restaurant and the picture quality is great. Good deal for the money. 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have the 46"model... great TV, excellent picture, good value. Not all that extra internet widget junk, just a great picture at a great price. I will buy another!! 10/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by HD picture looks fantastic I purchased this TV after reading the wall mart reviews. Delivery was fast and set up was easy, picture quality is good and HD picture looks fantastic. I am not that knowledgeable on Video and sound systems, so for your average Joe I like it. The sound on the other hand is bad, the original sound settings were VERY tinny sounding and when I adjusted the bass I get a terrible vibration sound from the lower speaker housing area "Burhhh, Burhhh" I am hoping I can wire the sound through my home stereo system and eliminate the TV speakers all together. on another Note one of the reasons I bought it here on the WallMart.com is the 90 day warranty, If I cant get the sound thing figured out I will put another couple hundred dollars with it and upgrade to something better...J 10/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV for a low,low price This is a great tv IMO, as some others have said the stand is weak and very cheap, but unlike others i chose not to mount on the wall, instead i put two screws into the mounting screw holes and 1 drywall screw into the wall behind it and using some fine wire i pulled it to the right and back and its perfect. I would buy this tv again, its just that darn good. The only down side for me was that i use Directv and their remote didnt have the remote code for it, but an easy fix................Google, problem solved. 10/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great picture , but sound is just OK Walmart shipped it free to my home!! I Thought Fed Ex broke it ,as it had a couple of large holes in the box, but it was fine. The Picture is fantastic either on Direct Tv (Hd) or off my Antenna. It is very bright and clear, with vivid colors. The stand is a bit flimsy and the Tv leans a 1/2 inch lower on the left side. The swivel on the base is very convenient. Unlike other reviewers, I love the connections on the side, so I can hook up my computer or camera without moving the TV. I love all the connections it has. The sound is just OK, (why I gave it 4 stars)but it does have plenty of volume. I hooked up my surround sound system to the audio out connectors and it's fine. The remote is user friendly and easy to use. I was pleasently surprised to see how little energy this set uses for a 50inch TV. This is my 2nd Sceptre TV (the other is 46inch), and I would definitely buy another. 09/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent value for $500 This is not the best tv, but paying $1/inch, you can't expect latest and greatest. However I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product. It doesn't have a ton of features and little customization, however the picture is vivid (on gaming mode), the viewing angle is great for a LCD, the power saver mode is wonderful (it shuts off automatically if nothing is happening on it, great for falling asleep on the couch to a good movie), and so far nothing has broken or degraded. The sound is terrible, but it can get loud enough for any room. You can also hook it up to external speakers as I do and it sounds just fine. The inputs are inconveniently located in my opinion (they are on the left side of the tv), I like them in back of the stand, put that is a matter of preference. The stand is nice that it swivels, however it seems to make the tv sit slightly lop-sided (it's a very cheap plastic). If you're looking for a big screen at a very good price, I would recommend this TV. If you're looking for higher quality than just average, open up your wallet a little more. 07/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well worth the price I was very skeptical in purchasing this brand, but for the price, I am very happy I did. The picture looks amazing. Very bright, clear, and as vivid as any brand that runs 2 or 3 times the price. Sound is chinsy from the built-in speakers, but I expect that with just about any TV. Setup a soundbar or external speaker system and you're golden. I like the audio out, but do with it has the optical audio out, instead of just the RCA audio out. Either way, it sounds great with my Samsung soundbar and I paid a fraction for everything. 07/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice TV for the price Nice for the price but if picture quality is important spend the extra money! Very grainy picture. 07/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product with a great price I love my new TV!!! I was scared to buy a tv online without see it first in person but I think i read every view on this product and decided to try it. i look at my mom's TV she has a brand name lcd and the picture quality is no where near mine. and even tho they both are 50" mines looks bigger! i am very happy with the product and the price. And look forward to buying more sceptre products! 07/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tv for the price. We read the other reviews before purchasing but we didn't have any problem with the sound. I guess if it's used for video gaming, then you might want additional speakers. But just for watching tv or movies, the sound is adequate. The only thing that I wish Sceptre would consider is making the connections for the hdmi, usb, audio, etc. on the bottom of the tv instead of on the side. Many cords simply can't reach that far. It would be better to have them on the bottom center so all devices could be hooked up more easily. 07/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by If only sound was better Ordered this TV online and recd it within 5 days. I was so excited to be getting such a great deal! Hook up was pretty easy. Purchased a blue ray also. I was in heaven. Picture was good, but would be even better if I had HD..Plan on upgrading to this soon. The only issue I have is the sound. The sound is terrible. Very low and muffled. I have to turn it up to 40 or 50 to even hear it. Also no bass in it. Sound is coming from back of tv or under it. Makes it seem like audio is coming from a cave or tunnel. Overall TV is a good buy, I'll just have to purhase speakers for the sound. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV This TV is a great buy,beautiful picture,and at a great price,what more could you ask for. 07/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent value Having purchased this product without seeing it ahead of time, I was very wary. It turned out beautifully though. It is somewhat scetchy when viewing standard def broadcasts , but hi def is excellent. The sound, like all rear speaker flatscreens, was middle of the road , but with a stereo speaker system , it too , is excellent. It is the best 499 I have ever spent. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A steal of a deal!!! This was an excellent find! I found this TV after two weeks of looking for a good TV at a reasonable price. It has the same features as any name-brand TV for way cheaper. I actually bought it as a father's day gift for my fiancee. He freaked out when he saw it, thinking that I had broke the bank by buying it. When I told him how much I paid for it, he was very pleased. You won't find a better deal than this. If we had the room, I would buy two more. 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for Rental Unit I bought this for my oceanfront rental unit. FedEx sent it to the maintenance office instead of my unit on third floor. My son and I had been waiting whole day and did not know this. Finally I asked around the whole community and found out maintanance guy signed it. Next day I got the TV in the office. My son connected it to his Xbox360 and worked great. The sound is not so bad as some other pointed out in the review. We like its picture and the size fits perfect for the living room. We hope this TV can last long time. 06/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A real nice TV Got this for our firehouse, great value, excellent picture, the sound could be better but all 4 platoons haven't complained so that a huge plus. Now lets see if it holds up long hours being on... 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOOK It !!! I BUY THIS 50" TV TODAY AND LOVE IT, I THOUGHT IT WOULD NOT SHOW GOOD PIC BECAUSE THE PRICE WAS LOW BUT IT SHOW EXCELLENT PIC AND LOOK GOOD IN MY REC. ROOM. LOVE IT. 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must see TV!!!! Picture quality is outstanding, sound is excellent (run thru pair of computer speakers via headphone jack). Delivery was fast, set-up pretty simple, on the whole I'm very pleased with this set. Highly recommend this product to all. 06/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good Only had it about three weeks now and so far very pleased. Thought about it for a few days before buying as we'd never heard of Sceptre before and the price seemed really low. The phrase "if it seems to good to be true it probably is" kept coming to mind. But we took the chance and really happy so far. The sound could really use improvement but hooked it up to our surround sound system so it's not a concern for us. Would have given it five stars had the sound been better. We did purchase the extended warranty (don't usually do this) just to be safe. Ordered it on a Tuesday and received just two days later on Thursday. We had it shipped to our home rather than pick it up at the store. Good thing, it's a really big box. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only problem I have is the HD channels. Not the TV's fault it's comcast fault. Comcast does not give you full screen picture on the HD channels. I have 3 Sceptre TV's in my house. 06/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice TV Great tv for the price.the sound is the only thing that could be a little better.The sound is not bad,but it would be nice if it were a little louder 06/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great picture and size for the price. Could use a few more features like internet connectivity etc. I did find the gummy substance on the frame of the TV difficult to remove. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my second Sceptre tv and I absolutely love it. You can't beat the price either. 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great TV & Great price! I received my tv 5 days ago, and it truly surprised me, the picture quality with (HDMI cable of course) is far beyond excellent. My friend has a touch screen Samsung HDTV, and this Sceptre looks way better. I will recommend this tv any day any time. Order it, you won't regret it! 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 50"TV We were looking for a larger tv and were looking for the same make we already have but this was just too good to pass up. It is really great. The picture is as good as our other name brand. The sound is a bit tinny but I understand with the thin screen they just do not have room for the bigger speakers. We bought a sound bar for the tv we already have so we will get one for this one also. Over all we are very pleased. The price was great. 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Factory sealed box only included TV and base (no remote, no manual, etc.) 10/09/2012
31-60 of 115 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw468
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp