Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 118 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer My Dell Dimensions 4300 was exactly 10 years old when I decided to shop for a new computer. I read reviews of various HP, Gateway, and other desktops before deciding to get another Dell. I have not been disappointed. I read some negative reviews here, but find it hard to believe they are talking about the same computer that I have. The Dimensions 620 is quiet and powerful. I got 8 GB ram and a 1 TB hard drive - more than I need, but the price of upgrading is mimimal. Dell support in the past has been great. I also bought Dell Home System ISP Setup with Data Transfer. It was well worth the money. My experience with Dell has been all positive. 01/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by arrived DOA Bought one of these specially priced i3 based inspiron 620 and received it today and it is DOA. Dell is going to send me another one. But why is this happening? Really disappointed. This is to replace my 8 year old Dell which has become obsolete. 01/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Was worried at first when I read some reviews but am very satisfied this is my second Dell, got the 620s so far is very quiet and no hiccups from it at all got it with i5 6 gbs of memory 500 gb hd it's very fast and handles games very well 01/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality backed by great customer service I have always owned Dell computers and feel very loyal to the company. Dell has always stood behind their equipment and provided great customer service. It's been awhile since I upgraded and I just recently purchased an Inspiron 620. Lots of new upgrades and things to figure out, but Dell has been right there for me several times when I thought I messed up my system as I played with it. Thank you Dell! 01/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy dell customer I received my Dell promptly and was able to set it up quickly. My last Dell was purchased in 2004 and I was amazed at the speed of the new Inspiron 620. No annoying noises so far and I love using the desktop to get around with ease. I quickly downloaded several software programs and was up and running within a couple of hours. I'm looking forward to years of use out of this computer. 01/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Computer I owned a Dell computer before, about seven years, it was a very good computer, so I thought I would try another Dell. I had a slight problem about a month after I purchased it, I called Dell and they walked me through the problem. My computer has been working great. 01/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best computer... I searched and searched for a computer for months and I have always come back to the dell website, looking at the Inspirion 620! I talked with the representatives that were very friendly and accurate on the way this computer performs and is just perfect for the things that I need it for, email, movies, music, and all kinds of downloads. This computer is perfect and I have to cons to even way about this computer. Thanks to all who work for dell and making such a great product!! 01/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Inspiron 620s This Dell PC is the BEST! There is only one thing they should change and that is omit Mcafee Security Center. I uninstalled it 2 weeks into using my new computer. It stubbornly kept re-adding its icon onto MY desktop after I repeatedly deleted it. It had to GO. One really cool aspect of this computer is the fact that you can lay it on its side legs and the Dell Logo can be turned sideways too. Leave it to Dell to be that cool! I love Dell and I love my new PC!! Buy one, you won't be disappointed! It's faster, easy to navigate, and easy to love. Ahhh, a Dell. 12/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Computer! My old IBM home computer was top-of-the-line 9 years ago but just wasn't cutting it in today's environment. I got tired of all the humming and whinning noises and waiting forever for web pages to load. My new Dell 620 is fantastic! It's so quiet, I can't tell if it's on or not. It's lightning fast with impressive specs at a decent price (best value in my opinion after comparing other major brands). I mainly use it for web browsing, not gaming so I didn't need upgraded graphics. It's got the i5-2320 3.0GHz processor with 8 GB RAM so I should be set for quite a few years. I've had it for about a month and I'm very pleased so far, can't think of anything negative. 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great computer This is my third Dell had a desktop which was 10 years old still runs but wanted more. Also had a dell laptop. This computer runs fast is very quiet and I love it. I tell all my friends that are in the market for a new computer that they can't beat DELL! 12/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome novice computer; hope for a WD hard drive! I knew exactly what I wanted to build for my mother to replace her three year old DELL, but, although it would have been made up from all those brand name components like AsRock Z68 motherboard and Coolermaster Storm Scout mid-tower case the processor of choice was the Intel i3 2120 3.3Ghz. I have used it before and it has dual cores with four threads plus all of the embedded coding features that you would find in the i5 2500 3.3Ghz, which also has four thread. Now you should know that with Intel those threads will show up as four core in your computer's devise manager; so what does that tell you about the i3 2120 3.3Ghz besides having hyper-threading which I think the i5 2500 series doesn't have. Regardless I have used this same configuration, in a MSI H61 computer that I built for my younger brother and it does everything that my i7 2600k,3.4Ghz/ 8 threads, can do. The HD graphics is great for LCD computer monitors with resolutions below 1600x1080p and in fact the best Intel has every provided. I like that this on board graphic will display older DirectX9 screen savers without leaving lines running through the desktop like my DirectX11 discrete video graphics cards. All in all the keyboard and mouse will always be useful and are good quality, I also purchased a DELL P1911 19" wide screen monitor (1440x900) and added a wireless keyboard and mouse, plus premium speaker to my total holiday remodel of my mother's office and came away saving a lot of money over doing this myself. I will be very disappointed if my computer has one of those noisy bulk Seagate hard drives, yes I am a WD fan boy and enjoy my SSD boot drive. 12/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product for its price My new Inspiron 620 is very fast and organized. There is a bit of a noise which I hope is nothing of concern, but other than that... it is GREAT!!!! 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great system even for MMORPG gamers Got the INspiron 620 with i3-2120 processor, 6GB RAM, 1TB hard drive, wireless card, 16X DVD+/-RW drive, Windows 7 Home Premium. It's a STEAL for the price. Also got a Dell 23" LED screen to go with it. I game a LOT on this for MMORPGs (WoW & Star Wars the Old Republic). I knew that Intel incorporates HD 2000 graphics into their processor chipset now and wanted to test out if it would play WoW & SWTOR without a dedicated graphics card. Plays both on this system without a hitch on good to fair graphics settings in game. I added a Asus RAdeon HD6670 just for some more graphics umphh just cause I wanted to. If you want to play those MMORPGs and are on a tight budget, you'll be fine with the onboard graphics. Just set your ingame graphics to fair or good. Wireless card works fine. Usually 3 to 4 bars consistently through walls 40ft or so from my wireless router. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mostly excellent all around First of all I have had several Dell computers since the early 1990's. Each one has given me excellent service. On this partcular model the 620 MT I expect the same. I have had this model up and running for a week. It is very quiet except when the fan comes on and that is very infrequently and not a problem. This ia NOT the 620S which seems to be the unit that most people are complaining about. Maybe the slim design holds more heat or reflects the fan noise that some are complaining about. Look at the complaints closely. Rarely is a 620 regular cabinet mentioned. I do not know why Dell does not seperate the two from one another on this board. It is like comparing grapes and oranges. Two of my friends also purchased this model with no problems. 12/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I received 2 inspiron 620 in last 2 weeks and both hard drives make noise. you can't sleep in the same room. This seems to be a defact. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dell Inspiron 620 I see a few people not satisfied with this machine.....if you have problems with it return it, but i think these reviews have fixed any problems...AND if you want a great deal on a computer, buy an outlet refurb , all the bugs are already out! 12/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Disappointment The online ordering process and subsequent delivery were excellent, typical Dell high quality. However, this Inspiron 620 minitower was a disappointment. First of all, although I am computer literate hardware wise, the Quick Start instructions were lacking in several areas. Since I ordered an HDMI cable Dell had disabled the HDMI,VGA, and sound connectors on the case but that was not mentioned in print. I figured out the cable needed to be connected to an HDMI Express card. Regarding connecting the speakers I was at a loss until I figured out the live pin connections were on the bottom of the monitor. Again, there was nothing in print telling me that. And, when I opened the case to insert a second DVD drive I found the spare power connectors, but no data connections for that or for a second hard drive! Lastly, and most disappointing, this 620 is noisy and slooooow. Something in the minitower is vibrating against the the case, but I have yet to resolve that. The hard drive is also noisy and can be heard several feet away. As far as response time to pull up applications and perform some tasks such as backup, this 620 is much slower than my 10 year old Dell XPS. Overall I am disappointed technically and would not recommend this computer to anyone who is looking for performance and quietness. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Computer Ever Purchased I have bought computers both for business and home use for the past 30 years and have used several brands. Now that I am retired, my computer needs are basically for email, internet searches, family pictures and word/spreadsheet applications. Without a doubt, the 620 MT was my choice and I am thrilled with it. Fast Intel i5 processor, terrific 20" monitor, and QUIET operation (I was somewhat concerned about other reviews about noise, but this is not an issue). My wife and I use the computer and we love it. Good job, Dell!! 12/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the money Let me start by saying that my last computer was a Dell Dimension E310. This new pc is by far much greater than what I had. It of course isn't a top of the line unit but you can't beat it for the price. I'm on a budget for the time being and this fits perfectly into my life. I run a small home-based business buying /selling online and it does what I need it to. All in all, i'm satisfied until I can afford a much better one. 12/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pray you get a working one-Dell is aware of defect Let me start by saying, I LOVE Dell computers. However, this is my first bad experience with a system they have manufactured. I will also say, their customer service was great in my situation however i STRONGLY caution ANYONE buying the SLIM model, 620s, if your power supply dies within the first couple of days, return the system. It's just not worth a 1 year warranty for a defect like the power button/supply that Dell is aware of to take the risk of needing another computer in a year. Long story short, my power supply died in the first 2 days of owning the system. Dell sent out a tech to repair it, replaced the PSU and within another 2 days, goodbye power supply. After researching the problem, it appears VERY frequently, just read through the reviews. Dell is a great company but this is a system I do NOT trust. Hope that helps. 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy This is my 3rd desk top from Dell. I am running 6 G of power. I don't know how the monitor keeps up. It's that fast. Long live Dell. Thank you so much for such a great system. Windows 7 so much better than the Vista that I was useing. XP is also great and that runs 5 year old Dimension 4500. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good all around PC I purchased an Inspiron 620 with an Intel I3 2120 3.3ghz dual core processor. It's quiet, reliable and able to at least run any game. The majority of games can be played on a reasonably high graphics setting. This is probably the best PC for the money. 12/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Computer Customer service very helpful This is a big step up from my Dell Dimension 4700 purchased in 2004 which is still working. The Inspiron 620 is fast and fun to use. I appreciate that transferring from the 4700 to the 620 was fairly easy. 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flawless Performance This was my sixth Dell computer, replacing an old Dimension 4300. Set up went smooth as silk, NO problems. I use this computer for Microsoft Office tasks, broadband internet and some amateur photo work with Photoshop Elements 9. Everything works lightning fast with no glitches! I am 110% satisfied with this unit! You can bet I will buy dell again. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by gaming this is good best 11/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Usually A Big "Fan" Of Dell... I recently purchased the Inspiron 620 Slim to use as a HTPC. I like the fact that it can be set horizontally in my TV stand and it fits in well with the other devices in my setup. The Dell logo even spins around for the horizontal placement. Nice touch. I got the pretty basic config. I will get to my main issue with this computer in a bit. But first some general impressions. It is a fairly attractive computer and looks good in my TV stand setup. The disc tray is pretty flimsy feeling but should hold up over time with regular use and no abuse. I have the 620s hooked up to my H/K AVR-1600 receiver with HDMI and then out from the receiver to my LG HDTV with HDMI. Although I don't get Dolby Digital or DTS 5.1 surround sound with this connection for movies played over my home network. I guess the computer doesn't have the capability to produce DD or DTS and pass it thru to the receiver. So I am stuck with having the receiver simulate surround sound, which works pretty well so I am not complaining too much. One issue I had was with the wireless card. When I tested my internet speed on speedtest.net I was getting very erratic speeds and only getting at best 5 mbps speed out of the 10 mbps I should be getting, and do get on most of my other wireless computers (incidentally I get 5 mbps or less on the Dell Studio 17 laptop I bought last December, so there appear to be issues with some of Dell's wireless cards). I was having trouble streaming movies without stuttering with the 620 to my TV because of the slower and erratic wireless connection speeds I was getting. So I took out the wireless card and am using an Encore router in this room set up as a repeater and have the 620 hooked up to this router with ethernet cable, and I am now getting the full 10 mbps speeds I should be getting. And the movies stream perfectly to the TV now. But this is the 2nd computer in a row I have bought from Dell with serious issues with the wireless cards. BUT...the major issue I am having with this 620s is the NOISE!! It appears that it is fan NOISE, with maybe some vibration thrown in the mix as well. But it sounds like it is mostly fan NOISE. It is terribly LOUD. The LOUDEST fan in a computer I have ever heard, at least from a brand new computer. And it is very distracting. I have to turn the computer off overnight it is so LOUD. And it is even audible when watching movies. I am reading other reviews here that are having major NOISE issues as well. I am going to look inside the case and see if I can do anything to quiet this slim sucker down some. If not I am seriously going to have to consider returning this computer to Dell. IT IS JUST ENTIRELY TOO LOUD!! How can Dell put out a product that has this type of fan NOISE problem? I like this computer and got a good deal on it and it is very good for how I want to use it. But the NOISE may be a deal breaker here if I can't find a way to tame it. Wish me luck, or this slim sucker is going back to its maker! 11/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Dell yet! I recently purchased a new Inspiron Slim Tower computer. Set-up was fast and easy. The performance is great and it's slim footprint allows me to place it just about anyplacea on my desk. It looks great. The only problem I have is it's a bit noisey and sometimes the front covers vibrate. Other than that, it's definetly a good buy with it's outstanding operating power and memory! 11/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inspiron 620 Rattle and Hum After installing my new Inspiron 620 PC, I was quite disappointed to hear how brutally loud it was. At first, I thought it was a bad hard drive, but after investigation I found that the housing is so poorly designed that it vibrates badly. Thankfully, I found a solution for all you frustrated folks out there. Take off the side panel (2 screws and slide off), cut up one of those felt adhesive furniture leg pieces into narrow strips and stick them to the computer frame where they won't get in the way. Reinstall the sliding panel (with some muscle to push it back on), and the noise is gone. Hey Dell engineers...a little rubber "weather stripping" would go a long way here! 11/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Declining quality? Just connected our new 620 yesterday and started up finally after 3 trys. Today it wouldn't start up at all after 10 trys. Had to unhook all of the components, press power button for 30 seconds, and then it finally after hesitation started up. It needs a new motherboard apparently. Not a great start for a brand new computer is it? I'm quite dissapointed. This is my 3rd dell and have never had a problem before! Is the quality declining? All the more incentive to think about a Mac next time. 11/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not recommend this Inspiron 620 Cons: bad Seagate hdd makes loud sound. bad wifi 11/10/2011
61-90 of 110 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw390
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp