Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfomance of my Dell XPS L702x i bought the Dell 17 from UK and travelled with it to where i stay in Zambia, Africa. I have founf it to be an interesting piece. its so fast and good HDD capacity. The only problem i have had with my new buy is that it blurs sometimes when am playing music as well as giving the Microsoft visual C++ Runtime error whenever i lock or switch users. its also surprising how Dell did not put the VGA port on this computer but the min display port. It woild have likewise been beter if a mini display port to VGA adapter was put in the package. 09/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Great except for a few annoying design issues The designers have made a few very strange decisions, which to some extent degrade the usability and practicality of the laptop. 1. HDD activity light is on the back of the laptop, and cannot be seen during normal use. 2. No dedicated media buttons. The decision to leave off the media buttons on a high-end multimedia laptop defies logic. Combining them with the function keys is not ideal, as it requires 2 keys to be pressed instead of 1. On the positive side, this is a very powerful laptop, and with surprisingly good battery life. Mine (i7-2720QM 8GB RAM) can easily manage over 4.5 hours of normal use. This is possibly due to Optimus. The 3D version I assume wouldn't be quite so frugal on power. It is also very quiet and cool during normal use. Often the fan doesn't need to run at all. However it can get quite noisy when the cpu or graphics card start working harder. The sound quality is amazing. No need for external speakers as it has plenty of power right through the audio range, thanks to the built-in sub-woofer. The anti-glare Full-HD screen is clear and bright, and the back lighting doesn't show any inconsistencies. The laptop feels reasonably well built and sturdy. However it has more flex, and doesn't feel as solid as my previous XPS M1530. The screen in particular could use a bit more rigidity. Some things I would have liked to see on the laptop would include. 1. Dedicated media buttons (as mentioned). Not soft-touch capacitive buttons, but real tactile buttons. 2. Slot loading optical drive option. 3. Slightly larger keys. 4. Charging, and HDD lights moved to the front. Overall though, I'm very happy with my purchase, and would recommend it to anyone needing a big, fast laptop. 09/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Dude I'm getting a Mac" I've had more heartache and problems with this computer in the 3 months I've owned it than I've had with my busted Toshiba Satellite in 3 years I should have bought a Mac book. 09/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of excellence, with some stupidity I declined the 3D screen but did get the 1080p screen, with GT550M 1GB video. This setup works great for viewing blu-ray discs, and the sound is surprisingly good for a laptop. The screen is better than a typical laptop. My gaming level is modest but Bioshock runs flawlessly at highest settings. The machine seems pretty smart at matching the cooling and general noise to the activity. Noticeable noise in video-intensive apps but very quiet otherwise. The keyboard is very good, but not quite excellent. Heat under the left palm is noticeable, just short of annoying, when the video card is working hard. Overall performance is very good, a real desktop replacement. The activity lights for hard drive are hidden behind the open screen, invisible in normal use. Dumb. There is a function-key ability to enable/disable wi-fi and touchpad, but none to enable/disable webcam. Dumb. In your natural keyboard position, your left wrist covers the left speaker almost 100%. Very dumb. USB ports are relatively few, especially USB 3.0. 09/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stuff So I got my Dell XPS 17 earlier than promised in the mail with FedEx which I thought was great I really actually love this laptop and it will serve me well and long...only one issue and this is something that really bothers me, it comes pre-loaded with sooooo much stuff 210GB worth of stuff to be exact that chances are you're never going to need it's not that big of a Deal it's just one of those annoying things, other than that GREAT GREAT GREAT LAPTOP sturdy, well built, beautiful screen great keys, everything is positioned well sound is awesome make sure to get the backlit keyboard! 09/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A solid laptop that could have been a lot better Let me make this clear to start. I really like this laptop. The chassis is solid and well built and the touchpad is smooth as butter. With that said I have some major complaints. I went with the i7-2720QM processor and it has plenty of juice for all of my Adobe CS5 work. I also went with the 16GB memory option for my large CS5 projects. I also ordered the top graphics upgrade for this laptop which is the 3GB NVidia GT 555M with TV tuner. Dell has decided to only include the GT 555M DDR3 graphics chip for this laptop which is a huge disappointment in my opinion. There is a NVidia GT 555M DDR5 graphics chip as well with better performance, but Dell does not offer this chip for this laptop which really is unfortunate. I do like to game a bit and the faster DDR5 video memory would have given this laptop a nice extra punch. Don't expect the latest 3D games to be completely fluid on this laptop with all the details at max. I also opted for the 3D screen and glasses. Let me say the screen is crystal clear and the 3D effect with the glasses on is quite remarkable and very smooth. I love the backlit keyboard on this model XPS. It has a very solid feel to it and the keys are spot on responsive. The Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6230 wireless card upgrade is well worth the extra money. My Wi-Fi is very zippy on this laptop. The 9-cell battery is also a must for this laptop. Not only does this battery give you extra time unplugged, but it also puts the laptop at a very comfortable slant so your hands rest nicely on the keyboard. A nice bonus with the larger battery. The JBL speaker system is outstanding and the mini subwoofer underneath the laptop gives just enough bass to give the overall sound some needed depth. I decided against the SSD hard drive and went with a 750GB 7200rpm drive and the performance is quite good. The cooling fans are nice and quiet for the most part, but you will hear them start cranking a bit when playing 3D games, but nothing that would make it a deal breaker. You can tell this laptop was built with quality in mind I just wish Dell had higher end options for the internals especially in the graphics chip department. 09/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Impressive The laptop itself is a solidly built impressive machine. However, the sound card drivers aren't perfect and make the speakers 'pop' every once so often (possibly because of some weird power saving feature), the dell support center keeps giving weird errors that are impossible to correct because the laptop won't support the features that it is giving errors for (namely wireless display drivers), and the facial recognition software is wonky and temperamental. That being said, it has a powerful enough video card that performs well for most new release games, the processor is neat, and the storage space options are a godsend. 08/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but... This is a good product. Very nice screen, good graphics, and smooth operation. My main concerns are mainly aesthetic. I got the Novus Ordum lid. It looks good, but scratches very easy. The silver paint on the bottom of it scratches EXTREMELY easy. The fan runs a little hot. Overall, I think it is a great product, just needs so tweaking. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Brilliant Multi-Purpose Laptop I have had this laptop for about a month and I can't say that I've been disappointed with it. The laptop seems very well built and I have had no hardware problems as of yet. As I am quite a regular gamer, I have tested the laptop quite thoroughly in terms of graphics and processing power and have been quite impressed by it. It runs recent games such as Call of Duty - Black Ops and Battlefield - Bad Company 2 rather well. Other games such as FIFA 11 run at the highest laptop resolution and anti-aliasing quality with ease. It comes with built in Intel HD graphics, although the Nvidia processor takes over tasks which require it (such as graphics intense games). You can also set any program to run using this processor. General use such as internet and windows explorer browsing is quick and the keyboard comes with a programmable button (which looks rather smart). The screen is very nice, and the sound quality is AMAZING. The battery elevates the back of the laptop slightly, allowing for air to flow to the bottom rather easily and aids in keeping the laptop cool. One of the downsides I have found to the laptop is the loud fan, although it does its job brilliantly and I would rather have a loud fan than an overheated laptop. The laptop also weighs quite a fair amount, but this won't be too much of a problem unless you are carrying it around very often. 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Performance Laptop This laptop is a really great laptop. I can't complain. There has been nothing wrong with it. I'm able to edit movies, code programs, and play video games without any problems. Only disadvantage is the heat, but that comes with every laptop. Great deal!! - 2nd generation Intel Core i7-2630QM processor 2.00 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 2.90 GHz - 8GB,DDR3,2 DIMM - Backlit Internal Keyboard - English - 17.3 in HD+ WLED TL (1600x900) - NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M 3GB graphics with Optimus and TV Tuner - 750GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive 08/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS 17.3 Always been a Dell guy, probably a dozen Dell computers, between daughters, wifes, towers and laptops; always been happy with my purchases but this XPS 17 takes the cake. Fastest, most stylish, best picture i've ever encountered, weight is a little much but it is a tower replacement so I'm ok with that. I7 processor with 8 gigs of ram, hard to beat, great battery, easy setup, nothing to complain about. Had a minor preference issue, e-mail Tech. support, issue addressed in a matter of hours, then next day f/u call from Tech. to make sure all was still OK. Highly recommend, reasonable price, you won't find better !! 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best computer ever!!! After looking for a computer for almost 2 years I'm so thrilled to have this XPS! I purchased a new HP computer at a chain store and was less than pleased, so it was returned. Thankfully I called and spoke to a Dell salesperson, who saved me even more money than the built one on Dell.com. We built this computer to my exact needs. DO NOT SKIMP ON THE SCREEN OR THE BACKLIT KEYBOARD!!! THEY ARE A MUST! I recommend the 1080p screen! It is the clearest screen I have ever seen....comparable to a MAC. Also, the back lit keyboard is just as good as a Macbook Pro. Pros....backlit keyboard, 3D 1080p screen, sound with subwoofer, the design/keyboard/casing is fingerprint resistant, storage size. Cons....if I'm being picky the tiny left speaker near the keypad could be moved, but really sounds great in spite of the location. Also, more USB ports. But these are so minor I hate to even mention them. DON'T WAIT AND SUFFER WITH A SLOW COMPUTER, BUY THIS IMMEDIATELY!!! IT IS ONE OF THE BEST PURCHASES OF MY LIFE! 08/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very satisfied 3 months so far I bought XPS17 mainly for photo and video editing. I had waited for 3 months to make sure I know every issues of this computer before writing this review. I am happy to report that XPS only crashed only once in mid of heavy computation by Adobe Premiere element 8. For other tasks, it performs really fast with extreme stability. I hibernate nightly and only felt like to restart the computer for a few times over the past 3 months. When generating HD video, the computer jumped up like a racing car with the accelerator pushed all the way down. The fan was turned on with full speed. From the task manager, I saw all 8 cores of i7-2630 were running at 90% load. As soon as the number crunching task was done, the system went quite like it always has been. Even when the CPU was 90% loaded, I could still browse the internet and other tasks without feeling anything sluggish. The bluray writer works well with Adobe premiere. The back-light keyboard is gorgeous. There would be a big misstep if you don't add this wonderful feature. The sound is fine. Don't expect it can match my Bose companion speakers. HDMI connection to my HDTV was just like detecting another monitor. The wireless connection worked with no flaws since XPS was first turned on. I had experienced no software or hardware issues. The battery was 2 and 1/2 hours when I streamed US-Brazil Women soccer games to my HDTV. I only have two small complaints. The first is the color calibration of its beautiful 1080p display. The display came in obviously too bluish. However, the display calibration tools by window 7 and nvida display control do not work together. If you fool around with nvida, the color balance of the display can become a challenging job. My advice is to use Window 7 to adjust the color balance. The second small complaint is the facial recognition tool. It is not really worth getting. It is slower than typing password. Another minor thing is that you really don't need 8GB RAM. With the heaviest workload, the system uses <3.5GB of RAM. I highly recommend this computer to anybody who is interested in heavy duty number crunch work. I have used many HP and Dell laptops in the past. XPS17 is much superior to any other 17" laptops I had surveyed extensively. 08/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great unit but has a major design flaw This laptop is a beautiful piece of art and has enough power for serious multitasking. The sound quality is surprisingly good for a laptop. For its size, battery life has been excellent! The downside: the placement of the power connection(on the back of the laptop) coupled with a loose connection means that without noticing it, your laptop constantly gets unplugged for AC power. This would be a great laptop if the power supply issues were resolved by moving the connection or changing the design to include a locking connection like most manufacturers do. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent laptop this is my first Dell laptop. I switched from HP, and I'm very happy. The i7 processor is very fast. The nvidia GT550M GPU is amazing. I'm not a gamer so it's enough for me. And I love the Optimus thing. Most of the time Intel GPU is used, and nvidia kicks in only when it's needed, saving the battery life. The keyboard layout is great. The touchpad is huge, and the JBL speakers are just amazing. The only thing that is below average is the display, the viewing angle is not very good. I don't know if it has to do anything with it, but I got the standard HD+ 900p display. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Lappy, Just a Few Quibbles Pros: Solid build quality but no "latch" for the lid (this is becoming more common, apparently). Beautiful 1920x1080 display. Love the display. Comes with a genuine Synaptics touch pad, not an Alps (thank God!) And it's really nice--just invest a little time with the set-up utility and you'll love this touch pad. Backlit keyboard is a must (as has already been mentioned). Chicklet keys are okay. I thought I was going to hate them but they're fine. For even a desktop replacement, this i7-based machine is probably over-spec for my uses (but isn't that the point?) I really enjoy using my XPS 17--it's super fast and smooth. Of course, four cores means no waiting around for just about anything. The non-3D version comes with a nice system that balances the on-board video with the hot-rod video card so you don't gobble your battery and burn your left hand while web browsing and not gaming. I'm not a gamer so I have no feedback in that area. Cons: Only two RAM slots! XPS stands for "Xtreme Performance System" according to Dell. How can anything with only two RAM slots be called "Xtreme" or "Performance"? Inexplicably, the hard-drive activity light is behind the display. You read that right, when using the machine you cannot see the HDD light. It had just a little unwanted software installed but was easy to uninstall or eliminate from running using MSConfig. The backup program was the peskiest--it changed the working space of the desktop (you could not maximize all the way) but somehow I finally got it turned off and got my whole screen back. The fan is a little rowdy at first but now that I am not pushing the machine setting everything up it seems to have settled down. Bottom line: great desktop replacement machine at an affordable price. 08/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review I've before an xps1530 that finish is life after 3 and a half year of good job. This new XPS 17 laptop was a logical update to the old one. My personal usage : 1 - developments (java,c++,...) 2 - office & graphics 3 - 3D entertainment & Games 4 - video encoding 5 - server & DB testing 6 - internet and other usage I' like : 1 - better performance (I toke core i7 4 cores version) 8Gb Ram (I would like to upgrade later to 16Gb) Nvidia 3G with 3D and 3D screen 2 - clean design 3 - the screen have a very good brightness 4 - blu-ray 5 - 500Gb of Disk with possibility for 2nd one 6 - better cooling but should be improved I dislike : 1 - before we had the choice possibility for biometrics enrollment (between face & fingerprint) Now not 2 - no choice for SSD hard drive (I've to buy it outside initial config) 3 - no Blu-Ray Writer (only reading...) 4 - no touch in 3D screen version 5 - in xps1530 there where a lot of shortcuts keys (now only 3) and indicators . it's very embarassing I didn't like the numlook indicator on systray and media key missing. 6 - very bad life performance on the battery (on the xps1530 we had 4H of life time enable me to view 2 films without charge) Not enought bettery life to view a 3D films in one shot. that's all hope it help. 08/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!!! It's the best laptop ever!! for this price nothing comes close to it :) I play all games on Full HD with medium to high details plus the screen is amazing. pros : screen, speakers, pad, speed, battery life, keyboard. cons : nothing It's the perfect laptop 08/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just a little too great for a laptop The dell XPS 17 is a very nice system that runs very reliably. It easily survives drops and crashes without suffering cosmetic or hardware damage. The computer runs well with very few errors or incompatibilities. However it is a bit much of a computer. The size is very limiting to your selection of carrying cases and the high powered hardware rapidly drains the battery whenever any performance processing is done. The battery itself is also an issue. While originally lasting 4hours on a charge; within one week of purchase, battery capacity (when tested with dell diagnostics) had already dropped 5%. Its a great computer that would work wonderfully for home use but as a portable computer; its size and battery become a problem. Though, as special note, the 17in screen is amazingly easy to see and is very good about reducing if not eliminating glare. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by xps 17 made me drool the first time i just love how fast it is. I'm a big electronics geek and this thing made me drool and not because i had an attack from the price (thats a first) 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Desktop Replacement Pros: Power and Performance at a great price point. Cons: Not really intended for "lap top" use. Plus, the 500Gb (7200rpm) drives bring the WEI down to a paltry 5.9. Upgrading the system drive to SSD brought it back up to 7.2. If you are looking for a true replacement for your aging desktop, then look no further than the XPS 17. With the i7 processor and 8Gb of RAM (or better), you would hardly know that you were working on a mobile platform. With great performance comes the need for great power consumption. While the 9-cell battery will keep you going in the short term (depending on various settings), the eye will always be on the lookout for the next wall socket. The only points that I wish were better was for a 90 degree power plug and a slot fed multi-disk drive. While I do work with this on my lap, I am constantly worried about putting too much pressure on the power plug and breaking the connector inside of the computer. And with all the grabbing and moving I do with this monster, I am constantly hitting the button to eject the disk tray. Overall, I am very happy with this big, heavy monster. It does exactly what I need it to do with enough 'oomph' to spare. 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy There are to many positives to go through. Yes i spent to much, but i wanted the best and that is what i got. make sure you get the keyboard back light, cons new functions should be explained. LCD should have different levels availible 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I already owned a inspiron 6000 and was extremely satisfied with it until the inspiron xps 17 was delivered to me. the graphics and the sound are awsome! I would recommend any dell product to anyone! 12/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS17 Great system! I am playing Crysis and Black Ops on this NB, fast graphics response, heat is not an issue, well designed thermals. 12/22/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Laptop died after 11 days I bought this dell laptop and it died after just 11 days, when i called dell customer care they told that it is a mother board problem, and the motherboard needs to be changed, for a brand new laptop this is not good omen in just after 11 days, i dont understand that how come such a big corporation is making such poor quality laptops. I m really disappointed. my configuration was: Intel Core i7 840QM 4 gig ram 1 TB hard disk 2x500 GB 12/21/2010
151-176 of 176 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5 6
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew281
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp