Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! It took me a while to decide on a new laptop when looking at other websites but it was a breeze to make a decision on Dell's site. Primarily I wanted value for money. The best I could buy in what I deem the 'mid-range market' and I've not been disappointed with my choice. This laptop is lush. It looks quality and behaves like quality. It's also quite pretty for a laptop! The packaging was also top notch. It comes in a big suitcase but is packed to a high degree of standard. Pros: 1. Quality - It's built brilliant and gorgeously. 2. Sound - This laptop has a fantastic sound system! 3. Quiet - It's amazingly quiet. You can hardly hear the hard drive or fans (ok, you do notice the fan after giving the 3D card a serious use but that's only for a short time afterwards and is expected). 4. Impressive Dell software - One Stop Shop Access to Dell HQ and everything you need to know about your laptop. Very impressed with the diagnostics part of the software. Cons None of the below were major issues, just minor annoyances for me 1. Touch-pad - It comes with every fancy gesture and gimmicks turned on which drove me nuts until I worked out how to configure it to turn all that off. I kept having pages zoom in and out or close because of the multi-touch functionality. Now it's configured properly I have no issues there anymore. 2. Additional Software - This is to be expected with whoever you buy a laptop off but I did spend an hour getting rid of software I didn't need. 3. Power Cord Adaptor - It don't half come out too easily out the back of the laptop if it gets a reasonable tug. 04/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feel the power!! I received my xps a few days ago and it seemed you could feel the power in your hands,weird but somehow I felt empowered myself! To me that is a sign of a great product!! I opened the lid and was amazed at the graphics and clarity I saw! The speed of this thing is awesome and the Dell dock is cool! It is a bit large for traveling but once you get there the world is at your fingertips. This is another great product from this great company! 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good gaming laptop, at a very good price. This laptop is excellent, has plenty of power and plays all of my games flawlessly. The only issue I have with it is that the power connector isn't the best, and tends to fall out a lot of the time. 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Laptop for performance I primarily got this computer for gaming and high performance. I am overall pleased with this laptop. It can run any game easily and some complain of the fan being loud, but I don't think it's that bad. The laptop isn't getting hot as some complain as well, which is a good thing for me. Also, the speakers are incredible. They are loud and have a nice bass to them. Overall, this is a great laptop. 04/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great laptop - problem with power cord I like everything about this laptop functionally. However, it is very heavy and the power cord is too heavy to stay in back of laptop. As soon as you move the laptop, it will fall out. I had it repaired 3X with no success. The cord is very stiff and must be taped with duct tape to stay in place. 03/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS 17 inch Great desktop replacement yet portable.Ordered with the SSD drive and it is so amazingly fast it is unbelievable. 03/29/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by XPS L702X I've owned Dell machines for years. I love them, and i loved this machine...until the USB3.0 issues began. I've had the machine for 2 weeks, and have done an incredible amount of troubleshooting for the USB 3.0 ports failing. Its now on its way to Depot for a mobo/daughtercard replacement. After 2 years (yes there are forum posts from 2010) of USB 3.0 issues, you may want to consider a competitor. Additionally - when i ordered the machine online, there was an option for the Nvidia 3GB graphics card. It is actually a hybrid configuration, but it does a decent job of switching from integrated to Nvidia when needed. Pros- Back-lit keyboard is awesome, 2 hard drive bays are great to have, 9-cell battery propping the machine up for more air is essential for gaming. Cons - Usb3.0 ports failed, and a pretty loud fan. Only expandable to 8GB ram on the Non 3D models. I only gave the machine 2 stars, as the USB issue really should have been addressed by now. Otherwise a good machine for the money. 03/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad screen flicker The computer performs great with long battery life. However, if you can deal with a screen flickering constantly, get one. The 1st one flickered and dell sent a tech to my home with a new screen. Scratched the keyboard and now the keyboard doesn't light up. O-ya, screen still flickers. Called dell. They sent a new computer (thanks), but the screen still flickers. Now they are sending another screen and mother board. Well, it only flickers on the battery, not when plugged in. Why would it be the screen? I hope it gets fixed. 03/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS 17 is an Excellent Computer I purchased the Dell XPS 17 in Feb, 2012. So far I am extremely pleased. The configuration I am reviewing is as follows: * 2 x 750 GB HD * 8 GB RAM * Wireless Card (Ethernet, not cell) * Back-Lighted Keyboard * Standard Screen (Not 3D) * Windows 7 Professional, 64 Bit. After using this computer for most of a month - I find it to be an excellent product. So far I have the latest version of MS Office on it and Adobe Creative Suite 5.5. I find it to be fast even when editing large pictures using Photoshop. I also use Indesign for advertising work. In addition to print work, I also use the computer for Web Design. I find the screen easy on the eyes and sharp. They keyboard has a nice solid feel to it, and is very responsive. The touchpad is also easy to use and very responsive to the touch. As an overall look - I would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a full featured notebook. Mine sees daily use at work and at home. 03/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the $ This computer is perhaps the best computer I've ever owned. If you're a college kid who likes to watch movies this computer sounds like you're listening to a tv. If you're a business person who uses this everyday and needs to run multiple programs at once this computer can handle it. You can run mulitple programs at once with absoultely no problems. LOVE LOVE LOVE the XPS 03/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Little Problems that were fixed had some problems with the computer with regards to drivers (suddenly they weren't found). After getting a tech support specialist on the phone they were very helpful and the best was when they took control of the computer remotely. The only concern is that little things keep happening (for example I currently hear any sound form the speakers but can when I plug in headphones). Im sure the technician would be able to help but it can be hard to find the time to call explain everything and go through the process. I will but this may get annoying if little things like this keep happening. 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my XPS, almost perfect - but... I (and others) have been so impressed with my XPS that two friends have bought them as well. I shopped for months trying to find the perfect options from several manufacturers and settled on the XPS. I love the screen's anti-glare coating since the glossy screens reflect way too much for my taste. With the dual hard drives, I can keep my files and work sorted the way I like as well. The video card works almost as well as my desktop "game" computer on the games I like to play and outputting to my projector is about as effortless as I can imagine! About my ONLY gripes are... 1. The hard drive light... why would anyone design it on the back side of the screen? What were they thinking?!!! Most users probably won't be bothered by this, but I sorely miss the indicators on my old Dell! 2. Where are my one-touch buttons? I didn't think I would miss these, but even after a few months of using this thing, I still find myself reaching for the volume and pause buttons I learned to rely on so much. 3. I know HDMI and DisplayPort are the new standards, but I hated having to buy an adapter just to hook up my new laptop to my "old" projector and second monitor... not a good thing to leave out of this level a machine. As you can see, I am nitpicking to find faults and aside from these minor things I am completely happy with my purchase. I can do anything I need with this tool and it makes it easy to take my work (and play) with me anywhere! 03/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by not too shabby Just recieved my new xps17 today. Being new to the whole dell/xps experience i had high hopes and so far they have been met. Great speed and visuals. Been playing The witcher for a couple of hours and I have seen no issues at all. runs smooth. My power cord has no issue either. Stays in just fine. Looking forward to testing out with new games. Highly recommend 03/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by super cool notebook This is my 6th dell and I couldn't be more pleased with the changes over the years. The technology seems to grow by leaps and bounds and helps me tremendously with building my websites,capturing my videos,taking care of business advertising, keeping in contact with family overseas, maintaining budgets...YOU NAME IT!!! 03/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Computer ever! The only thing I have against this computer is that it has only one usb port and it is kind of heavy. Other than that I love this computer. The metal frame makes it look cool a stylish, while the backlight keypad is incredible. The speed is excllent for everything I do. I no longer fear watching videos on the internet because the picture looks great and the it can process the information faster than my former computer. 03/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! This is my second laptop from Dell and it exceeds my expectations in every aspect. The processor is lightning quick, there's almost no delay in browsing the Internet, and the graphics are about as good as my new flatscreen TV. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. 03/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS 17 Trouble free setup/operation to date. The i7 processor is much faster than my previous laptop. Only complaint is keyboard. Due to my primary usage as word processor I would have preferred more substantial, typewriter type keys rather than the chicklet style, flat keyboard. Backlit keys, however, are convenient. I would also recommend one or two more USB inputs. Satisfied with this item based on performance/purchase price ratio. 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best laptop ive ever used. This is one of the best laptops hands down ive used to date.. I normally format them as soon as i get them but dell has this setup so nice software wise i dont even have to.. the stage bar is very nice and easy to configure. The hardware options they offer on the L702X is awesome.. I am 100% pleased with this laptop. it is beyond fast. The keyboard is super easy to type on, The display is very very crisp and no dead pixels etc.. highly recommended. 03/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good specifications, bad execution I really like my XPS 17 L702X laptop, except for one showstopper problem. I've added an SSD to it (having 2 disk bays really helped with that), and it boots very quickly and performs well. The quad-core processor and lots of memory means that it handles several applications concurrently without slowing down a lot. It also has a built-in graphics card, as well as full HD display (1900x1080). While I'd rather have 1900x1200, that was not an option. So, in summary, a nice piece of hardware. The killer problem that this laptop has is that you cannot use it as a normal laptop, since the power plug will fall out with normal use. So you end up focusing more on handling it very carefully rather than the great features. A laptop should work fine in your lap with the power cord connected in normal use, but this is not the case with this laptop. Until this problem is fixed, I cannot recommend this laptop, and I advise anyone else thinking about this product to not get it. You don't need this problem. 03/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love DELL This is my second Dell Laptop. the first one gave me 5 years of carefree use. This one is now three months old, the sound quality is great, graphics are amazing for gaming, blu-ray is stunning. i7 core gives great speed and with a decent internet speed I can stream movies at HD and enjoy movies in bed without bothering my partner next to me. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very surprised and pleased! In June 2011 I was looking around for a more powerful laptop, preferably with a 17" FHD display. Really there were none around expect maybe DELL but I felt that it was too much of an unknown so I picked up a HP DV7-6011TX i7 with a HD+ screen. It's a nice laptop but..... In Feb 2012 I took the plunge and ordered an XPS17 (my wife got the DV7) as I really needed a laptop that didn't have all it's USB ports right up front plus I was having trouble with the Radeon GPU and Sandybridge combo under Linux. Now I have USB ports that are sensibly placed, a full HD screen, and Nvidia GPU that works. I never really use Windows except in VirtualBox mode as I run a full software/hardware development system under LinuxMint12 but it still multi-boots if necessary. The graphics flies on this thing as Linux uses multiple desktops and lots of eye-candy to improve productivity. This screenshot I attached is less than typical but in overview mode shows 5 active desktops including FireFox with a few hundred tabs open (in groups), VirtualBox running CAD software in Windows (in a window), and besides other things there are two USB3 file transfers running and the system monitor shows it's still coasting and 3.2GB of 8GB RAM usage. There's a lot of other pros that others have mentioned and the only con is in regards to the DC power plug as it is rather bulky and could at least be right-angled and have a little catch to secure the cord against the back. Definitely recommend this machine and DELL even though I was not a fan (or user) of DELL before :) 02/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best I originally bought an HP, but returned it because it did not have the advertised features. So glad I did, or else I would not have my cool new XPS!!! Internet is super fast, backlit keyboard is an absolute necessity (HP does not offer at this price) and even the letters on the keys are regular sized rather than "HP font", and best of all ***runs super quiet***!!! That is so important to me. The fan on the HP sounded like a compact car. On the XPS the fan does not run as often and when it does you can barely hear it! I also really enjoy the custom cover designs - it just makes working from home a little more fun when my laptop looks like a purse instead of a machine ;-) The only cons I have are that the touchpad is very sensitive, but maybe there is a way to change it that I haven't discovered yet. Also, the display could maybe be slightly crisper, but again, I haven't fiddled with the settings at all. Overall, would highly, highly recommend, especially over the HP. 02/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2006 Dell Inspiron 9300 more reliable than XPS 17 A side by side comparison (Inspiron 9300 / XPS 17): 1) 6 USB ports / 3 USB ports (not enough when you have wireless accessories and external drives. 2) Windows XP / Windows 7 (never locked up / locks up). 3) 54 processess / 104 processes with nothing opened (all that speed goes to what?). 4) Display output ports for all Dell monitors / DOES NOT have a DisplayPort output adapter, only a MiniDisplayPort adaptor. I bought a very expensive DELL UM2711 monitor and could not hook it up to my XPS 17 for proper high resolution because the monitor does not have a MiniDisplayPort connection, STUPID ME. 5) saw everything plugged into it when booted / very often doesn't see my wireless mouse and my usb broadband modem, both are plugged into the Dell UM2711 that has a UDMI connection (lower quality resolution "FIX" by me). 6) Can hibernate and wake up without issues / Cannot hibernate without wake up issues such as no longer seeing my wireless mouse or usb broadband modem. As usual I continue to buy Dell because they've always seemed to be a reliable pc, but after getting burned like this with my Dell UM2711 monitor and the performance issues I mentioned with the XPS 17, it won't take me much to believe a "bad" review by some magazine, and then I'm history with Dell 02/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wait until they fix the power jack issues This is a good machine, I really love the keyboard layout. Frequently with my older laptops I would use a real USB keyboard just so I won't lose the feel of a real keyboard. That said I am really disappointed in the DC jack on this machine. It constantly falls out even when just typing or doing regular LAPtop things. There is a huge issue over the power jack on the Dell help forums and it's been going on for 8 months without a reliable fix. I would either find another machine if you plan on moving the slightest bit with this machine. I understand it's supposed to just slip out and not lock but it falls out way to easily. Just wait or find another machine and avoid this machine until they fix the problem. Here is a link to the forums: http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19382073.aspx 02/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top of the Line As an IT professional, I chose this laptop as my personal device due to the outstanding performance derived from its use. I optioned for a SSD for the O/S and the 640Gb SATA for data. It boots in 10-15 seconds and is by far the "FASTEST LAPTOP" I have ever touched. Dollar for dollar it far outweighs any other laptop on the market. It performs flawlessly no matter what the task and the support has been the best support I have ever received in over 10 years dealing with Dell. I also have the optional 3D and my movies are brilliant. I have and use many other manufacturers models and work on them regularly but this, by far, is the "Top of the Line". 02/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant laptop I have purchased Dell computers before but the XPS 17 is the best by far. The build quality is stunning and the performance is brilliant. 02/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy this dell It has had more problems in the last 30 days than most laptops would have in there whole lives! 1. It's NOT a good gaming laptop, the graphics card isn't that powerful, oh and it over heats to just under 90'C, so unless you have a wireless games controller you won't even be able to touch it while gaming. 2.It has a really loud fan that is constantly changing speeds making it really annoying to use. 3. The blu-ray/DVD Drive is really lose and keeps opening and feels like it's going to fall out. 4. The USB 3.0 ports randomly disconnect. 5. The Audio Drivers keep crashing, so you have to reboot or and application that requires sound crashes to. 6. Most of the ports are at the back of the laptop making it difficult to plugin/inplug USB 3 devices, HDMI cable, the power cable and Ethernet. Those are most of the problems I have experienced so far. On the brighter side dell support was happy to help, they sent a technician round to replace the heat sink, fan and USB 3 ports. When that made no difference they gave me a refund. I would still think about buying a dell but not a high end laptop. 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Epic Searched the Whole Cyberspace for about 6 months finally got in a relationship with the Dell XPS 17,Faster than fastest itself,simply no major issues at all only one complain that is the 1TB Hard drive should be partitioned into 3 or 4 drives because it does not make any sense of having a 1TB HDD in a single drive Overall Conclusion : Epic Beast Machine 02/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Beast! I am spending most of my computer time on graphic and audio processing. i have another laptop with different operating system but its never been a match to my XPS17, its powerful it has everything i need, and most of all...IT'S A BEAST!!! 02/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Laptop An excellent purchase, simple to set up, light weight but has all the features of a high end Desk Top recommend this highly to anyone for business or pleasure 02/08/2012
61-90 of 176 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw343
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp