Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect power machine As a rails developer and gamer, this laptop was an excellent choice for me. The laptop is extremely fast the keyboard is really comfortable. I don't use the numpad on the side, but I guess it's nice to have any way. The mouse touchpad is nice as well and it looks like they've done their best to support gestures and scrolling a-la-ipad a little better. Sound on the laptop is EXCELLENT. I was pretty surprised the JBL speakers were so loud. Super clear audio, I love it. The blu-ray player is a big plus as well, but I really don't use it much, as I already have blu-ray players at home and blu-rays during travel will easily kill the battery.. Battery power. My biggest complaint here. I suppose given what's inside this beast I can't really complain, but don't expect to get more than a few hours of "work" done on this laptop. Gaming? Better have that plug handy, I think my battery drained out after about an hour and a half of Diablo3. Not too bad I guess, but not that great either. All in all, extremely satisfied with my purchase and would definitely recommend to the serious developer/gamer/businessman who needs or wants the power. 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money well spent I needed to replace my aging (over 3 years old) 15" xps laptop. I did a lot of research and even looked into alternate manufacturers. At the end of the day, I am sold on Dell's customer service. They really know how to solve a problem. I have now had the new laptop for about 3 months. I was worried about the power cord issue noted in some of the earlier reviews. I am glad to say that the power cord has never given me a problem. From a point of view of graphics, this laptop is great. I have been able to push graphics on games to the maximum levels and haven't had performance issues with the games I run. The only downside is that the left front corner of the laptop (where your left wrist lies on the work surface) can get hot after a couple of hours when you are running a graphic intensive game. However, switch out of the game for a minute and the fan catches back up with it and the top of the PC cools down again. Overall, for the money (I bought the 3 year extended warranty as usual), I don't feel I have wasted any money on this laptop. By the way, this is approximately the 12th Dell PC that I have bought over the years. All of them have been reliable. While they may have had problems, I have always bought the warranty and have always had the problem fixed and been back up and running within 24 hours at the most. 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very fast, excellent overall, and ruggedly durable I've been very please with the XPS 17. I use it for very graphics-intensive work (3D CGI animation, and HD video editing) and also the occasional graphics-intensive computer game, and I've been 100% satisfied. Sound quality is also top-notch. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by XPS 17 I made a mistake once and bought a non Dell laptop. With the performance and support that I recievde from Dell , I will never make that mistake again. Since then we have bought 5 latops and they have been exceptional. My new XPS 17 is better than promised. 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Screen; Great Price Pros: Great graphics and powerful (enough processor) Cons: Can be a nightmare to cool! 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good, faulty hardware Bought the XPS 17 l702x, with the i7 2.2 (turbo boosts to 3.0), regular 900p LDC screen (no multi-touch, no 3d), 6GB DDR3, 750GB hard drive, USB3+eSATA, Blu-ray writer. The Good: Great i7 performance, full sized keyboard + number keypad, USB3, 50-60MB/s sustained eSATA hard drive i/o, JBL speakers, discrete graphics card (NVidia is great for graphic performance) that supports HD external monitors at 1080p and 1080p 16:10 (1920x1200). The Bad: Screen Glare (bought the no-glare film), chick keyboard (slows down my typing speed), faulty motherboards (Intel video card went bad, and now the replacement motherboard has a bad NVidia card/HDMI), only a mousepad is available (prefer the mouse button in the keyboard), mousepad interferes with typing (can't help accidentally swiping the pad while typing), no Bitlocker / disk encryption support (missing the TPM chip on the motherboard), missing the pause/break key on the keyboard (device manager shortcut key), blue-ray movie playback software not included, 900P screen resolution is designed for 20" screens.. which means the 17" screen has text shrunken 15% (font size 10 is really font size 8). 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like a new bike. In the old days you wanted a cool bike... these days you want a cool laptop and this is the one. I had given up on pc games until I found this sweet deal. It's like a lower end Alienware. Powerful! 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great desktop replacement Pros: - Keyboard Layout and backlit - Ports (Including USB/eSATA combo) have worked flawlessly. - 1080p screen is beautiful! - Touchpad is easily disabled/enabled through the function key. - Great Power with the i7 - Graphic Card is good if you use programs such as Photoshop. - 8GB DDR3 is upgradable to 16GB. Definitely a selling point for me. Cons: - Left hand might get uncomfortable from the heat(Below keyboard, left of touchpad) - Would've liked more Graphic card options - Sound Card issues with certain USB headsets (It crashes flash, sound, and doesn't let it shut down properly whenever I have my Razer Megalodon headset connected. Audio jack headsets recommended) Overall, I'm extremely happy with my new Dell 17in. 06/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by XPS 17 - 10 month review I purchased a XPS 17 with an i7 processor, 2 500Gig hard drives, bluray drive, and 1080p LCD in September of 2011. Pros: - 1080p screen is great for viewing documents and movies. Blurays look great. - eSATA, USB3.0, and HDMI ports work with out issue. - Putting the laptop to sleep or allowing it to hibernate works well. - Plenty of battery power(got the 9 cell). - backlit keyboard is very nice for use at night. - Good desktop replacement. It is fairly portable, but big. - I used to buy a USB mouse and disable the touch pad on older laptops. Not this one, it works well and makes a good replacement for a mouse. Cons: - There is some sort of bug with the audio drivers that can cause stuttering in some circumstances. You can read up on it in the forums. It's not a big issue, just annoying if you run into it. - The WiFi works pretty well, but it can get hung up, especially if you connect to allot of different WiFi networks. - Give the machine plenty of room to breathe. It gets warm and the fan can get pretty loud. Make sure there is always good airflow around it. 06/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms I would definitely buy this computer again...it is fast and has all the power and features I need and want. I would use the 1K gC to buy one for my husband..All our desktops are Dell and we would not think of another brand. As salt is to the sea we as a family are to Dell computers...:) Awesome products! 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product This is a laptop with performance and capabilities of a desk top. Intel generation 2 i7 processor, large RAM configuration (8GB), large fast HDD storage. I will be using this laptop to replace a desk top and be able to travel with it. I use it for capturing TV shows, making home movies and music. The screen is sharp and clear and the 3D is excellent. 05/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by XPS high L702X The Pros of this laptop is the processing speed is great. I have never really had any problems with this subject. The lighted keyboard is great and very useful when typing those late assignment at night. This laptop is user friendly and great for students. The only cons on this laptop is the battery life. When fully charged my battery life only lasts a little over 2 hours and that is with my screen brightness on a quarter of full. Overall I recommend this laptop if you are a student or just someone that wants a laptop with performance. As a person who has owned this laptop for over a year, I would recommend it to my friends. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dell's touch screen model didn't suit me. After lots of communication Dell replaced it with a 3D screen model. Fantastic model ever, a bit bulky. But I like it... 05/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay Away from this Laptop There is a serious design flaw which they don't mention. You will have issues frequently with popups in windows saying the AC charger is not recognizable. Your battery may go dead because it came unplugged without you knowing. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Laptop This is a great laptop. I use it for on the go audio and video processing. It has the power to handle my needs. It is great for school and the screen size is excellent. This is heavy for lugging around but I was ready for that. Be ready to buy a miniport adapter if you are going to use this with SmartBoards or similar overhead projectors. Most do not yet have HDMI input. I still love the laptop. 05/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by frustrated with the power cord I purchased this XPS L702X laptop several months ago. Overall it is a great computer. Pros: Lots of power and speed. Plays movies and streamlines great Cons: A bit heavy (but that is expected) and the power cord falls out constantly. I use this as a 'laptop' as it should be. The power cord falls out several times a day. When I have it on my lap and shift, it will come loose. Having to plug it in all the time has become extremely annoying. Due to the power cord issue, I can not give this a 5-star--otherwise everything else is top notch. I have tons of files and pictures stored and you would not even know from how quick it works. My kids have played games on it and the graphics are great, not to mention no lag in game play. I have the backlit key board which I love. Like the fact that if I am using it in bed, I can turn down the screen brightness as well. A big touch pad but, I do wish it had the slide rule on the side of the touchpad--just my personal preference. No problems at all with it connecting and staying connected to our wi-fi. We do take it with us when we travel and it can be a bit bulky. If you plan on carrying this a lot, then I would not recommend it as it is heavy but, it is very sturdy. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Laptop! Pros:Perfect laptop for desktop replacement. Sound and display are great! Very fast startup! Only wish I would have ordered the keyboard backlight, as the keys and keyboard are both black, the individual keys don't stand out. Cons: None! Best computer I've ever had! 05/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent support Excellent support, after Dell diagnostic identified hard drive failure, Dell support sent overnight replacement for both hard drives 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PERFORMANCE I have had XPS 17 3D since 5 months. It's nice laptop with great performance pros: HD nice colors high performance portable PC cons: heat and sometimes noisily sound 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this laptop I purchased this laptop at the end of February because I needed a fast 17" laptop with 1080HD. I have been using it full-time as my main computer and absolutely love it. I have it set up to dual-boot Win7/Ubuntu Linux 12.04. It runs both OSes flawlessly. This laptop is solidly built: not flimsy or cheap-feeling at all like some laptops. Considering the size (17"), I am very pleased with the battery life. I can get 5 hours per full charge without problems. The matte screen makes using it outside in bright daylight not a problem. The keyboard has a nice, positive, feel to it. The keys do NOT feel mushy or spongy in the least and are not very noisy. It is very similar in typing feel to my Macbook pro. That's a good thing! I added a second hard drive without any problems. The ability to have a second hard drive was definitely a selling point for me. I really cannot think of any cons to this laptop. Yes, it is heavy, compared to much smaller ones, but I expected that due to its size. 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good laptop Very good laptop. I was initially shy about it because of the price, but was very glad I bought it. It's snappy just on its own, but I added a 128gb ssd and now it's a beast. Very solid design.. no flimsy feeling parts, particularly the hinges that the screen are on... those feel like they'll last forever without getting loose. Battery life is good, usually get about ~4-5 hours of light use (browsing, development, etc.) Lasts about an hour while gaming (modified power settings to run full out even while on battery). One complaint - replacing a hard drive requires removing 8 screws, and they're very tiny. Positioning on some of them means that it's very easy for them to drop into the innards of the laptop, and space in there is at a premium, so they can be hard to get out. Another thought: When working on the internals, be careful to make sure that the screen ribbon cable is very firmly and correctly re-attached. Took this laptop apart initially (looking for a screw... see above), and upon putting it back together the screen flickered, even though I was careful the first time. Had to go through the whole process again to re-re-attach the monitor cable. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This computer is the best thing that has happened to me. I have been waiting to get a good, powerful computer for a long time and was also in 2 minds about getting a XPS desktop or a laptop. I decided to go for the XPS 17 laptop considering portability and haven't regretted my decision ever since!! 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent all around laptop for the money. Good for everyday use. Looks nice and has decent speed/memory. No complaints. I am glad I bought it. 05/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by USB 3.0 ....NOT! I thought this was a great laptop until I tried using the USB 3.0 ports. They randomly lockup and you must reboot to get them back, although they just lockup again minutes later. If you need USB 3.0 functionality then this machine is NOT for you! 05/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightning Laptop The XPS 17 that I have owned for a month is by far the best laptop I have ever used. It is unbelievably quick, has a beautiful display, comfortable keyboard and the case looks good too. I have had no problem setting it up or using it. All procedures were clear and simple. I would buy another in a second. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Laptop Rocks! A+ I love this laptop....it has a nice wide screen and the blue-ray dvd player is awesome....I am impressed with the 17'' screen which allows you to see a lot on the screen....the speed of the laptop is really fast and it comes with a good amount of memory too....I would highly recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a great laptop and great value! 05/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by not exactlly perfect Great screen and keyboard, however the case is less than sturdy. As soon as I put my hands down on the aluminum case to type the case flexed, yes the metal case flexed under the weight of my hands on the left and right side. Plus ad soon as I turned the sound on the JBL subwoofer caused the case of the computer to buzz. I have tried to turn the sound down but the sub, if it's on buzzes the case. 05/03/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A bit clumsy I already had an i5 laptop made by Acer. I totally loved it however the hard-drive crashed and had to be replaced so I took the opertunity to upgrade to the new i7. I already have an xps desk top so I decided to get this xps laptop. I play a lot of high end games. It is heavy,and unbalanced, the power connection is very loose, the mouse connection is on the wrong side. The grafics were better on the i5, the sound was better. In fact within two days I had to get an engineer out to replace the power connection and the fan assembly. When it eventually boots up it does run well, however still not 100% happy. 05/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Laptop, a true beast! Oh gosh, where do I start.. this laptop is simply breathtaking. I have never had a better laptop then this. I ordered a Dell XPS 17 with an Intel i7, 8gbs of ram and a Nvidia GT 555M. I however did not order the 3D screen and backlit keyboard. (I'm not a fan of 3d, and it really hurts my eyes) The styling is fantastic. The laptop is finished with metal that makes it look very strong and loaded with quality. The keyboard is exceptionally smooth, and has the perfect amount of sensitivity. The battery pack doubles as a stand, and helps airflow to the laptop. Most of the time this laptop does stay cool, but under stress (gaming) it does tend to heat up. But not enough to make you overwhelmed. The fan is quite, even during gaming. One of the first things that impressed me with this laptop was the sound. JBL has done a fantastic job with this one. It sounds like I have a portable movie theatre. Possibly the best sound quality I have ever experienced in a laptop. Gaming.. oh gaming. Now this one is my favorite part. This laptop features and HDMI port, so what I do is hook this badboy up to my 50" Plasma TV. I can run The Elder Scrolls IV: Skyrim at MAX settings with little to no lag. In fact, I haven't found a single game to this day this laptop can't play. The battery life on average is 5-7 hours. But under stress I would say 1-2 hours. Sleep mode and hibernation can prolong your battery life to at least a day. Pros: Beastly performance, fantastic visuals and sound. Great price Cons: Only 3 USB ports. (1 regular, 2 USB 3.0- some of my devices don't work on the 3.0 ports) While I have my hands on the keyboard, my arms tend to block the speakers which are placed on the top; this sometimes muffles the sound. It's not a big deal. I also experienced a very strange stutter issue when playing music and gaming. After uninstalling McAfee Antivirus the stutter mysteriously stopped. I haven't had the issue since. 04/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product. I purchased my XPS to replace a 15" inspiron laptop and opted to 'customise' a few areas including going for the 2.40ghz processor, the higher resolution screen (not 3d) and a blu ray DVD+R. When I initially received the XPS I was very happy with how quick it was to access from sleep mode but found this deteriorated as more and more programs found their way into the start up menu. I've just been through and cleaned out the start up and have my smile back again. I really like the XPS' screen and graphics, aluminium case (cool) and the backlit keyboard. Aside from that the keyboard feels nice to tap away on and the oversized battery not only gives good run time but also places the keyboard in a nice position for typing. The only quibble I would have is that the unit is a little heavy and if I was looking for something more portable, I would probably opt for the 15" (not due to the weight but overall size). I might also have personalised the top if any of the designs had really caught my eye and if it hadn't have been an extra $100. As I said, a great unit and I would recommend one to my friends. 04/30/2012
31-60 of 185 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew186
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp