Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great affordable all-around toaster/oven/rotiss Backstory: Three years ago bought a EuroPro T/O/R from Walmart for $79. Worked so well that we've since only used our regular oven one time to bake a big batch of cookies. The EuroPro died yesterday. No longer available. Went to Walmart for cheap T/O to tide us over while I hunted for replacement. Found this GE T/O/R and bought it, $50 well spent. Turns out that it is the exact same unit as my ole EuroPro except for GE logo and a few cosmetic changes! With a few improvements. Good: Toasts a minute or so quicker than the EuroPro, convection fan is quieter, control panel easier to read, rotisserie spit easier to install into meat, vastly better instruction manual. Bad: New offset rack design slips out of its track when offloading a heavy casserole dish. Almost dropped it into the counter until I caught on. So I am using the offset rack from the ole EuroPro. Timer doesn't ding most of the time. Minor irritation; EuroPro did the same thing. Summary: I do much of the cooking around our house and use a toaster oven along with a nuker, gas grill, and stove-top skillet for what I cook for the two of us. This T/O/R is my favorite! I've looked at other Toaster/Oven/Rotisseries and the only one on the market that appears to be anywhere close to this one is the George Foreman model that you now have to buy directly from the maker, Salton for $100. This one at my Walmart is $50. All around no brainer! 12/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish that I could give this GE oven a 5 Star rating all around. But.... I have one pet peeve with this oven. First:> This oven has served me well for about a year plus now. I use this oven every day. In fact, I have substituted this oven for many of the tasks that my kitchen oven usually did. I can bake, reheat, and cook casseroles in this oven without the chance of burning something in my large oven. Once you get a convection oven, you realize that a convection oven is more than just a mere toaster oven. I love this GE oven. Now for my pet peeve; GE dropped the ball when they made the rotisserie spit parts. These parts are essential for securing a chicken or a roast to the rotisserie rod. My fork like holders that attach to the rod are made of cheap metal that rusts after scrubbing them after usage. The chrome came off after only using the rotisserie a few times. I have to really give then a Brillo pad scrubbing before use to get the rust off. I think that most people would not even use the Rotisserie part of the oven after the first rust appeared on the rod holders that are inserted into the meat. Also, you can only use a 4 lb chicken or smaller. This is hard to acquire sometimes. I will buy the larger Black & Decker Rotisserie oven soon. I would buy another GE if it was slightly larger and the spit parts did not rust. Otherwise, I have really enjoyed this oven. I am using it right now. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome oven I had been searching all over the internet and checking reviews trying to decide which one to buy, I gave up after a couple days. Until I went on my weekly shopping trip and their it was, at the end of the isle. The perfect size, a great look, convection, and a super price, two year warranty and for 3 bucks I extended it with a walmart warranty; worth the price. I have had it a few days short of a month and I don't have one regret about the purchase. I can toast; its quick, make a fresh pizza; walmart has the perfect round pound for it; I have both the large size; for the gas oven and small which is perfect for this oven; their the real heavy ones and not pricey at all. I made muffins; six large and they were great; I do recommend flipping front to back half way through your baking time, otherwise the rear ones darken up to fast; I think it is a rear clearance issue; pan just about at the edge. I rotate pizza too. I did accidentally bake my muffins on toast; yep dumb or so I thought, they came out perfect. So moist and light outer texture. The outside was just as moist as the inside. I have only one issue and it is not just on this oven i first say it on my son's toaster over; which is not half as nice as mine..LOL. The timer is the on off button, it may be the new think but I like to be sure my stuff is off and yes this has a little light but I still would prefer and on/off switch; quick fix, new outlet has an on/off with a light. I can't say enough about this oven I really do love it and I highly recommend it. I almost forgot, I was able to stack it on my top of my microwave like I had my last one; which was super small. It fits perfect, my only concern was how much heat it with throw with all the watts it has and it's not a concern. I have it a couple inches from the wall, another appliance and the bottom of my overhead cabinets and I feel a small amount of heat coming from it. Great for indoor cooking in the Florida summer heat and I won't heat up the house using my gas oven. 12/18/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by worked great ,for a while bought this oven about a year maybe a year and a half ago. At first it worked great , really like the features for the price. but after about a year it will not maintain temp. still works for toasting and warming things, but if you try to cook anything the oven will warm up but will not maintain the temp till the end of the cook time. Wal-Mart and GE have a warrenty agreement but make sure you save your receipt. 12/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would think very hard about purchasing. I am not a review type person but I did feel I have to write in about this product. I have used toaster ovens for years and I was very happy with our B & D , however it is no longer available, hence we purchased this one. While this oven/toaster is beautiful to look at, it definitely has a problem with temperature / heating control. We are big on toast, bagels, waffles and with a huge family it can be quite tiresome when you put something in to heat and you return 10 minutes later, it still has not heated. Waffles and toast do not get toasted and have a very uncooked appearance and texture. My sister in law has had this toaster for 6 months and she is also ready to throw it out. She has problems with the heating element and the amount of time it takes. Aesthetically it is a fine product, but for my and my family's daily use , I really consider it to be an inferior product with poor performance, and therefore do not recommend it. 01/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks great - Works Terrible! This thing looked amazing - convection feature, size, rotisserie, everything. Price was nice too. When I finally started using it though, I discovered what a piece of junk the others who'd left poor reviews of it here said it was and how spot-on their negative reviews were. I SO wish I'd believed them! It IS big - too big for the under-powered heating elements it's equipped with. Maybe not that they're under-powered, but the thermostat seems to cut them off, even when set to the highest temperature for about 85% of the cooking time. This is at bake, toast, broil... haven't tried the rotisserie yet because I can't really wait for a chicken to take nine hours to cook! The ONE thing tat DOES get hot though is the top - you could probably fry bacon in a cast iron pan on the top of this thing! Forget toasting. Your bread will be sitting in there turning hard, dry and still white without getting to any kind of toasty goldenness for a good 20 minutes. 8" frozen pizza? If the instructions say 10 minutes in a toaster oven on the middle rack at 450 degrees, you'd better count on more like 40 minutes. I want to cook a casserole in this but don't really want to take the chance! I'm really sorry I bought this and I miss my old De Longhi which finally bit the dust after 15 years of admirable, faithful service for all those years. I'm SURE wishing I didn't sully its memory by replacing it with this piece of garbage :-( 01/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by My husband and I purchased this GE Toaster Oven in Oct 2009. Until a week ago I would have said this is the PERFECT little oven!! It does everything a big oven does...I baked small cakes, casseroles, rolls, cookies, toast, pizza, subs...my husband heats sandwiches all the time. It reheats foods beautifully, especially the ones you really don't want to nuke in the microwave. It was wonderful, and please understand I used this little oven everyday 2-3 times a day. Seemed like something I was preparing for every meal could go in it. Then last week after about 2 1/2 years it failed. The bottom heating element is gone and the top one barely heats. I am VERY disappointed at the durability of this oven. I know we live in a throw away society...and maybe I remember the 60's and 70's too well...when things were built to last. But, I really expected this oven to at least last 5 years...really is that too much to ask??? If you don't mind replacing your toaster oven every couple years this is the perfect little oven. I'm not even sure anyone makes one that will last longer...a sad sign of the times!! 04/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 12 inches does not fit in an 11 3/4 inch oven Product claims to fit a 12 inch pizza, but the oven is only 11 3/4 inches wide! Convection baking does not work. Does not cook evenly. Must turn food or it burns on 1 side. 01/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by My rotisserie parts wore out! After about 8 uses the fork ends were stripped, and the screws would not stay in. Without the fork ends tight the rotisserie is useless. I called GE to order new spit parts, but was told they could not send me the parts and to take the entire oven back to walmart to exchange it. I was able to exchange it this time, but if the spit pieces don't last and replacement parts can't be ordered, the new oven won't be usefull as a rotisserie for long! I also, like some of the other reviews state, had trouble with the spit parts rusting! 03/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Update of earlier review Walmart won't let me update my previous review, so this is by the backdoor. The lower heating element in my previous one failed after two months of heavy usage so I returned it and bought another. It is a great toaster oven--when you take the time to figure it out. Buy one, experiment, and learn to live with it. Read the WalMart and Amazon reviews. Even at three times the price, you won't find better performance or reliability. After all, it is a $50 tabletop appliance and not a $5000 gourmet range. My new one seems to work well although the thermostat is wildly inaccurate. When used as an oven, the actual temp is 100 degrees too low. The workaround is to preheat the oven for at least 20 minutes, then use an oven thermometer to monitor your baking temp, making temp adjustments as indicated. The Rotisserie setting gives full heat, mainly because the upper heating elements don't shut off. Broil, if preheated, will work since it uses the same upper elements. Toast? Figure out which rack location gives you the results you want. To repeat, this is a $50 machine that lets you toast bread and cook stuff without having to heat up your regular oven just to fix two fish sticks for the kids. The Rotisserie alone justifies owning one. $50 well spent! 02/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The window trim at the top is metal- caution I brought this oven back. It took forever to heat up. But when it did- whoa! The number one reason is the metal trim at the top of the glass, behind the handle- it looks very modern- but it gets very hot- hot enough to burn you. When you open the door, you have to be very careful. Not good for a home with kids. 02/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than a Toaster Oven This is the best little (Toasts 6 slices of bread at a time) Oven I have ever seen or used I've cooked everything from hotdogs, Pizza's, biscuts, and even rotisseried a roast (man, was that tasty). It has all the controls you need to do it all! It is one well built, cooks everything, little Oven. It's Awesome! 01/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great when you live alone. I had an older toaster oven that I used a lot but I got this toaster oven in December and I use it every day. I'm a widow whose children are grown so I live alone. I can bake cakes, cookies oven fried chicken and pork chops, even pizza and I don't have to light my regular oven for a small amount of food. I've got several smaller baking pans and I can use them on both racks when one isn't enough. I can stagger my cakes and bake both layers at the same time. The rotisserie was a little tricky at first but it works well too. I recommend it for singles and small families. An added bonus is you don't have to heat up the kitchen like a regular oven does. 02/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A lot for the money I originally purchased another toaster from Black N Decker. The timer was broken out of the box and kept burning my toast. After doing some research found that product to be a fire hazard. So I purchased this one by GE. My old toaster was GE and it served me well. This one is a bit large for my kitchen, but it has a lot of features for the price, including the rotissarie, so I am happy with the purchase. The timer sticks on occasion when toasting, but at least it turns the oven off and doesn't burn my food or catch the house on fire. :-) 01/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've had this oven for over a year and we actually prefer cooking in it. I make pizza, cookies, pies and even meals like meatloaf...I'm spoiled with it, I hardly use my large oven anymore. I can't imagine my kitchen without one now. 01/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would Not Recommend It is large and takes up a good deal of space. Took 27 minutes to make some chicken strips and fries. My old toaster convection oven (which lasted 9 years) did it in 12 or 13. Timer stuck the 4th time I used it. The price was right and the door opens and closes better than most but, I am returning it. Have ordered a more expensive and smaller oven called the Viante, hope I have better luck with it! 01/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I agree... ...with the reviews that state this oven doesn't carry enough punk to heat/cook foods. I've had my oven for over a year. It DOES dry out toast before browing and most foods I've cooked have taken much, much longer than they should have - even on 450 degrees F. It was a great buy price wise. It fits perfectly on my counter top and looks great, but forget the cooking part. Reheating, yes - but cooking, no. It really annoys me when these electrical products do not list the wattage! That's the first clue on how great it's going to work! I'm searching for a new oven... 01/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by GE Junk? I bought this because of the value and features. I couldn't wait to try the rotisserie. I live in South Louisiana which means sweltering muggy heat for sometimes 9 months a year. I have a gas stove, and wanted to be able to bake without heating the entire back of my house. But after two attempts of cooking baked chicken, it was obvious the oven was NOT doing what it was supposed to. For example, if the recipe directions said to bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, I would have to bake an ADDITIONAL 30-45 minutes at 400-450 degrees. The pros are that it fits on my counter top, and it is easier to clean than the oven of my stove. I would NOT recommend it. 06/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Timer Does Not Work I started with the clean out step. Get rid of the packing smell. Timer did not work. Now I'm worried that this is a major problem. Is this what GE is putting out on the market. Now I have to repack it the day after I bought it. Is this a problem with this Oven? 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not A Good Toaster Oven I gave this all 1's except for appearance.. I had a euro pro for 8 years, i used everyday. This looked a bit bigger and had a rotisserie so i tried it. First was a 3 slices of frozen pizza. Old oven by euro pro it took 11 min. The new GE. 23 min.. 35 mi. tv dinner took 55 min. and still was a bit under done. It heated up, but is a very slow cooker. Times were almost double. Which saves nothing over the big oven.. I returned it, got the euro-pro extra large toaster oven at k-mart for 43.00 . Things are back to normal. I would not recommend this item......... 02/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad job of toasting With a gas stove/oven and an over-stove microwave/convection already in my house, I just wanted a slightly larger TOASTER-oven that would accomplish several things: (1) toast bread of different sizes, shapes, and textures (so a conventional toaster won't work for that); (2) bake small casseroles or meat dishes without having to heat up my kitchen with my big gas oven; (3) have timed baking for conventional baking. But since I can use the convection (not the best, but marginally okay) for job 2, the most important thing was having a toaster that worked well. My previous toaster oven had a tendency to over-bake in the center of the oven, so I was looking forward to better, easier, more even toasting -- especially since I eat toast about 300 days a year but only bake small casseroles about 40 times a year (if that). Big disappointment. The toast has to sit so far away from the heating elements that it takes a long time. Today I set a piece of bread in the toaster on LIGHT. Then I tackled a chore and forgot my toast for about 30 min. When I returned, the toast was an ash and the kitchen was full of smoke. My old toaster would never have done that. It would have turned off. This one is supposed to. . . . So now that I've spent a full hour cleaning the carbon off a brand-new toaster oven, I'm taking it back. 01/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GE 0.75 cu ft Toaster and Convection Oven, Black/C Purchased a Euro Pro Toaster/Convection Oven a couple of years ago. The Toaster/Broiler part of the oven stopped working. I checked and reviewed several different brands of ovens and decided to purchase this one based on price, size and warranty. My local Walmart was out of stock so I purchased on line and had it shipped to the store for pickup. The oven, toaster and broiler part worked except for the timer. Turning the timer dail the oven would come but the timer part wouldn't work. I returned it to my local store. Since the time I purchased on line and picked up the first oven, the store had received additional stock so I got another one. This one works great. These are good little ovens. They are very convenient to use without having to heat up the larger oven. 05/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased an oven in the store, but it was defective (wouldn't make toast just warm dried out bread) Returned it but they had no more in stock. After several weeks they still didn't have any at our local store so I ordered one shipped to store. This purchase was to replace this models predecessor that we enjoyed for 8 years. The oven arrived & we picked it up & it performed perfectly. We use this oven often (4 to 6 times a week) To make roasts, biscuits, cookies, garlic bread, and other things as well. It's a real multitask-er. Cooks very evenly, in short an excellent product for the money. 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Durable The product does what it says and it's very durable. This unit has been dropped three time from the counter. (Don't ask.) Despite the dents and broken handle it still works fine. The fan is a little more loud than normal but what do you expect. The door came off the hinge after the last drop but I was able to jury rig it to work again. It also cooks well and I've tried a different variety of items. I've cooked eggs, biscuits, cookies, ham, chicken, pork tenderloin, pork ribs, pancakes (turned out more like cake) bacon, pork chops, frozen burritos, browned hamburger meat, cooked hamburger patties, roasted onions, other veggies and much more. 02/13/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice looking but underpowered We ended up returning this oven. While it is roomy, comes with a lot of accessories and looks nice, it didn't do the job. Toast was barely browned on the dark setting. Roasted diced potatoes were still crunchy after 1 hour baking on the convection setting. 01/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by NO GOOD I BOUGHT ONE ON 7-15-12. I USED TO HAVE THE $39.99 BLACK AND DECKER... IT WORKED PERFECT,BUT I WANTED TO CHANGE TO ONE THAT WOULD COOK A 12 INCH PIZZA... THE AD FOR THIS GE ONE SAID THAT IT HAD A 5 YEAR WARRANTY... WHEN I READ THE BOOK THAT CAME WITH IT, IT SAID THAT IT HAD ONLY A 2 YEAR WARRANTY... ALSO, IT TAKES ABOUT 40 MINUTES TO COOK A 12 INCH PIZZA, AND IF YOU DO NOT TURN THE PIZZA AROUND WHILE IT COOKS, THE BACK OF THE PIZZA WILL BURN... THIS UNIT IS GOING BACK FOR REFUND... I ORDERED THE $69.00 BLACK AND DECKER,BECAUSE IT SAYS THAT IT WILL COOK A 12 INCH PIZZA... I HOPE THAT IT WORKS AS GOOD AS THE $39.99 ONE 07/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks great...cooks BAD! Wow...I have never written a product review until I purchased this product. I was looking for something that would quickly reach the selected temperature. I also work/commute 12 hour days and did not want to preheat my large oven during this hot summer. Next morning after the purchase I attempted to bake cinnamon rolls (from the can). After what I thought was ample time to preheat I put them in the oven and set the timer for the recommended baking time. When the timer sounded I saw the rolls were still raw. I reset the timer again for the same cooking time. In the end it took almost 45 minutes to finally bake after I set the thermostat to 450. Just thought it needed to "break in". Few days later tried baking pizza and again it took an hour. Checked the trouble shooting paragraph in the users guide...it says if not getting up to temp then the door is open and therefore to resolve the problem is to close the oven door. Seriously? After that I went and bought an oven thermometer. After having the oven at 450 #and not opening the oven door# for over an hour, the temperature peaked at about 380. I thought I bought a DUD and considered exchanging it for another. After seeing the good and bad reviews it looks like about half the ovens manufactured are not performing as advertised, I decided to get my money back. Shame on you GE, I expected more from you. Wish I still had my 20 year old toaster oven back, it's performance far exceeded what GE is putting on the shelves. Bottom line is I wasted a lot of my time and effort giving this product a chance to perform. If you're a busy working Mom, don't take a chance of wasting your time on this "convection" #LOL# oven. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Help!!! My Old Oven Broke & This Has Been A Great Temporary Replacement!!! I Bake Cake, Brownies, Cookies, Full Size DeGiorno Pizza, Chicken, Steak, Pork Chops, Fish, Even A Pan Of Lasagna... This Has Been So Great I Still Haven't Fixed or Replaced My Oven Yet & I've had My GE Toaster Oven for Over 10 months. 05/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely great!! I purchased this toaster oven about three weeks ago and it is by far the best I have owned and the price is GREAT!! I love the rotisserie function it has which I have used twice; once for a whole chicken and for a pork roast. Both came out perfect (much better than the rotisserie on my grill). I have also baked a large cake in this oven which came out great. We use it everyday for just about anything from frozen products such as french fries to broiling steaks, baking chicken or fresh fish. In addition to working great I also like the stainless steel look and the size. It is larger than most toaster ovens (on the inside) but it does not take up a lot of space. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love to cook rotisserie chicken I bought this particular convection oven because of the rotisserie feature but mostly to save energy from using a big stove for just two people. Myself and my son love it. We have cooked two rotisserie chickens on it so far. The only thing I am a little worried about is the glass door that opens downward like a mailbox. I am afraid I might drop something while taking it out of the oven and crack the glass. So far I haven't been clumsy. The glass is rather thick so I am sure that it could withstand a lot. We have only used the conventional oven twice since we bought the convection oven. Can't wait to cook a whole pizza on it. Great value for the money! 03/14/2012
1-30 of 77 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew134
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp