Port-A-Cool KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 200 sq ft Cooling Capacity, Silver/Black

Q&A
By: KuulAire
Walmart #: 550385599
Port-A-Cool KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 200 sq ft Cooling Capacity, Silver/Black
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

The KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 200 Square Foot Cooling Capacity is one of most efficient and environmentally friendly ways to keep cool, indoors or out! You can rely on the PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooler for all your cooling needs during those hot summer months. This evaporative air cooler is extremely powerful at 375 CFM and cools with no harmful refrigerants. Its large airflow capacity allows for superior cooling that can cover up to 200 square feet and can lower the temperature 10 to 25 degrees. Evaporative coolers differ from air conditioners and work most effectively in dry climates. Super-portable and easy to move with its heavy-duty casters, the PACKA45 KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit comes complete with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty for added peace of mind.

About this item

The KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 200 Square Foot Cooling Capacity is one of most efficient and environmentally friendly ways to keep cool, indoors or out! You can rely on the PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooler for all your cooling needs during those hot summer months. This evaporative air cooler is extremely powerful at 375 CFM and cools with no harmful refrigerants. Its large airflow capacity allows for superior cooling that can cover up to 200 square feet and can lower the temperature 10 to 25 degrees. Evaporative coolers differ from air conditioners and work most effectively in dry climates. Super-portable and easy to move with its heavy-duty casters, the PACKA45 KuulAire Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit comes complete with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty for added peace of mind.


Port-A-Cool KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit with 200 sq ft Cooling Capacity, Silver/Black:

  • 1 of the most efficient and environmentally friendly ways to keep cool, indoors or out
  • Extremely powerful and cools with no harmful refrigerants
  • Super portable and easy to move with heavy-duty casters
  • Evaporative cooling units create natural effect and provide a constant flow of cool, refreshing air into hot, uncomfortable environments
  • The heart of an evaporative cooling system is the evaporative pad: a pump pushes water over the pads and a fan pulls the air through the pads
  • Water evaporates within the pads and the air passing through the pads is cooled
  • No assembly required
  • Easy to maintain
  • An all-natural, effective cooling technique
  • You can use it in conjunction with an A/C to boost the cooling
  • 3-gallon water capacity
  • 3-speed operation with remote control
  • Swing louvers, timer and casters for better use of cooling
  • Uses high-efficiency rigid media and tap water to generate cooler air with no assembly required
  • It is ETL rated, cost efficient and ready to operate, right out of the box
  • Dimensions: 31.5"H x 13.5"W x 15.8"D
  • Weight: 22 lbs
  • 375 CFM

Explore this item

Specifications

Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
Multi Pack Indicator: No
Model No.: PACKA45
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 22.95
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 15.8 x 13.5 x 31.5
Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
Origin of Components: Imported
Walmart No.: 550385599
Show

Comparison Table

Brand Image
Outdoor Rated
Outdoor Rated
Cooling Capacity
Cooling Capacity
Water Flow Control
Water Flow Control
Tank Capacity
Tank Capacity
Weight
Weight
Speed Settings
Speed Settings
Timer
Timer
You are viewing
KuulAire PACKA45 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
200 sq.ft.
200 sq.ft.
 
No
No
 
3 gallons
3 gallons
 
22 lbs.
22 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 7.5 hours
up to 7.5 hours
KuulAire PACKA34 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
125 sq.ft.
125 sq.ft.
 
Yes
Yes
 
3 gallons
3 gallons
 
14 lbs.
14 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 9 hours
up to 9 hours
KuulAire PACKA43 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
175 sq.ft.
175 sq.ft.
 
Yes
Yes
 
4 gallons
4 gallons
 
16 lbs.
16 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 8 hours
up to 8 hours
KuulAire PACKA44 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
175 sq.ft.
175 sq.ft.
 
No
No
 
4 gallons
4 gallons
 
15.7 lbs.
15.7 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 9 hours
up to 9 hours
KuulAire PACKA50 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
350 sq. ft.
350 sq. ft.
 
Yes
Yes
 
5 gallons
5 gallons
 
23.9 lbs.
23.9 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 8 hours
up to 8 hours
KuulAire PACKA53 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
No
No
 
325 sq.ft.
325 sq.ft.
 
Yes
Yes
 
4 gallons
4 gallons
 
24.5 lbs.
24.5 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 8 hours
up to 8 hours
KuulAire PACKA55 Portable Evaporative Cooling Unit
 
Yes
Yes
 
400 sq.ft.
400 sq.ft.
 
Yes
Yes
 
8 gallons
8 gallons
 
28 lbs.
28 lbs.
 
3
3
 
up to 7.5 hours
up to 7.5 hours
Show

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 170 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

170 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

170 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
32
3 stars
14
2 stars
22
1 stars
50
1-5 of 147 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Finally a mini, portable swamp cooler!
5/18/2012

Customer review by Sonyfan2011

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Sonyfan2011
by Sonyfan2011

I work from my home office and my job has a "no noise tolerance" policy. I can not have an open door or window at all. I thought I was going to melt into a puddle & die until I saw this beautiful, life saving machine at walmart.com! I did not care what it cost, I had to have it. This machine is a portable "swamp" cooler! This is a wonderful item and I highly recommend it. The cons: #1. It is loud. Like if it's near you and you're trying to watch TV, you have to crank up the volume. As for phone calls, I've tested it and it just sounds like "white noise" on the other end of the phone. So my customers hear me just fine and don't notice a thing at all. It's just slightly hard for me to hear them. #2. I also do not care for the white "bobbing" device/water level indicator. It is deceiving. I over filled the machine twice and made a mess on the floor. But lesson learned, I haven't done it since. The "bobbing" device never moved while I was pouring the water in. I kept checking it though, thinking it should be moving any time now. And it never moved. Until....oops! It suddenly sprang up and water gushed out all over. Now I just keep track of how many quarts I'm pouring into it. It holds 3 gallons. I should mention the "bobbing" device is located on the side at an awkward angle on the bottom half of the machine, making it difficult to read. I was on my hands and knees with a flash light. So other than being loud, I'd say I would buy this again in the future if I ever needed to. I love the remote control, the portability, the pretty LED lights, the ease of use right out of the box, everything.

Was this review helpful? (108) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sonyfan2011
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awsome
4/21/2012

Customer review by Ralo10

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by Ralo10
by Ralo10

well I just got my new unit on 19th april 2012 . I live in hawaii so in the summer time my condo get pretty hot and there is no A/C in the building so anyway I got the unit and took it out the box follow the insturction and place it in our bedroom turn it on I n about 20 minutes my whole room was nice and cold It was too cold in the middle of the night i found myself having to turn off the system. and just using the fan.... you must follow the insturction for the unit to work ...one window must be slightly open and the door too for it to work properly.. IT IS WORTH THE MONEY....

Was this review helpful? (247) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ralo10
HAWAII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent item, unless you live in high humidity
5/18/2012

Customer review by Swentz

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by Swentz
by Swentz

I found that this item works pretty well when you have it in the "cool" position and when you have cold water. It is important that your water be cold for the item to be of good use. I put very cold faucet water into mine and I also add some shredded ice cubes and it makes it work like a charm, even on hot days. I also do what the instructions recommend and set it up with an open window behind it. That improves its efficiency for some reason. Remember, add cold water! However, I live in a nice and dry state with no large bodies of water so the humidity here is low. I can tell that the ac emits quit a bit of humidity into the household because of its water use. If you live in an area with high humidity then I wouldn't bother with this machine because its likely just gonna make things worse.

Was this review helpful? (143) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swentz
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Greatly suprised!
6/24/2012

Customer review by Bo209

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by Bo209
by Bo209

We spent the begining of summer reviewing affordable but useful cooling options. Knowing we didn't have much money to spend we worried that what we could afford may not be as good as we would hope. I'm a strong believer in you get what you pay for and if you buy the less expensive product it will probably not work as well. I Was So happy to be WRONG! This product is priced low compared to other evap coolers I had found, but just right for our budget. It got here ready to plug and go, I added water and turned it on in 90 degree heat. Immediately it cooled our front room to livable!!!!! we were so excited! No it does not cool the entire house but its clearly stated 200sq ft cooling. It more than handles that size room. If you expect it to be as cool as an air conditioner then this is not for you. But if you want strong cool air to help cool your home this summer I would definitely recommend this product to you!

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bo209
Stockton,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A nice option to air conditioner
5/25/2012

Customer review by nymama2p

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by nymama2p
by nymama2p

I read the reviews on walmart and kuulaire sight. Walmart had it for less. My apartment is 500-600 square ft. This keeps my living area cool and at night rolls in to bedroom and cools that down. You do need to keep a window open a little it does work better that way. I like that it is quite and moves were I need it. Very happy with it! thank you walmart.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nymama2p
Syracuse,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-5 of 147 total reviews See all
1-5 of 147 reviews

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 19 questions
1-3 of 19 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by tony24 6/26/2012
12 answers
  • A. No it doesn't.. self contained
    by fthers7/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, there is no assembly required. A child could set up and operate this unit, even though I don't recommend it.
    by Sunset457/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No hoses required.
    by Sechele7/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No hoses necessary.
    by Sechele7/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it does not. You can only add three gallons of water to the holding tank. the pump pulls water up into the pads and recycles it into the tank until it has evaporated. Then you refill
    by Bo2097/13/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. NO!!
    by N5PZP7/11/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. does not go in the window
    by pepop7/11/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. no
    by pepop7/2/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it does not. But the directions do recommend having a window or door open during use.
    by kknlola7/7/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No. There is no hose to vent. You are told to leave a window open slightly behind the unit and across the room though.
    by Scrpiolady6/30/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by sweatinginadorm 7/6/2012
12 answers
  • A. Ran mine for 5 hrs and it didn't cool the room down even 1 degree.
    by Bassman225/10/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Exactly. It does cool down about 5 degrees, but that makes a big difference. It is a fan with water. The water cools down the fan significantly. Sit in front of it in your dorm room and you will say "nice.". It is noisy so you probably won't be able to sleep.
    by Boesy5/1/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. My experience with this unit was that it made the room extremely humid but not noticeably cooler!
    by AuntieMoo8/3/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I think this product would be PERFECT for a dorm room! See my review of the product on its page. I use the unit every night in my master bedroom which is much hotter than the rest of the house. Probably by at least 5-10 degrees (the rest of the house is probably 75 degrees). This unit works great in my bedroom and keeps me cool at night. I even had to go back to using a blanket which I was not doing before I got this product. The cool setting is definitely a noticable difference. It's not as cool as an actual air conditioner but I think it works great and is very simple to use. I fill it up every night, use it on medium with the cool setting turned on and it doesnt quite run out of water by morning. Give it a shot, I don't think you'll be sweating anymore if you buy this produdct!
    by Peaches865/1/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, as long as you chill the water prior to putting it in the unit.
    by lilyanna15/1/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. My experience (in Denver) has been that it can make a room significantly more comfortable. When the thermostat outside my window says it's 95 outside (on the shady side of the house), the room feels nicely comfortable, maybe like 75-80.
    by BrightHawk5/12/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I've been using it to supplement my roof top swamp cooler. We've had a bunch of 90+ days recently, some days at 100. This helped cool my living room down to 75-76. Not bad at all considering how hot it was.
    by AmpaShops7/18/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It will drop temp in a 10x10 room and easy 10 to 15 degrees. Its the moisture that makes you feel cooler.
    by brazer7/18/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The unit can cool down a room 10 degrees if kept filled with cold water and finely crushed ice. Of course, the cooler the outside temperature, the better the unit performs.
    by Sunset457/17/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It really cool down more than 5 degrees, it will take a little time but it will do the job. Works much better when you use cold water, the cooling process is faster.
    by Sechele7/16/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 5/31/2012
11 answers
  • A. This is not a window unit, can be use in any room.
    by Sechele7/16/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It will draw more air if you have a window open yes. In our house we keep our kitchen window open about two inches so that the air can flow easier.
    by Bo2097/12/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I DON'T USE IT WITH AN OPEN WINDOW!! I TRAT IT AS IF IT WERE A TRUE A/C UNIT!!
    by N5PZP7/10/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Not if you are using cold water to cool.
    by UptownKJ6/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. doesn't go in the window. sits on the floor close to a cracked open window. you can move it where you want
    by nickname120006/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, you don't. Just put in anywhere in any room & it does it's thing.
    by judyfidgets6/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No you don't. You can place it anywhere, and that is a plus feature of this I think. You can keep as many windows open as you like. You can really feel the cool hitting you.
    by alexa6/25/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I keep it on my fire place hearth nowhere near a window and it works amazing.
    by Kaykay316/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, the unit is placed on the ground and very portable
    by chittermecritter6/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No we use it in the middle of the room, I believe as long as there is some air flow (not sealed in a single room) it does fine
    by Toadious6/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 19 questions See all
1-3 of 19 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Product Recommendations

Your recently viewed items

Clear this list