Achtung Baby (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)

  • Advertisement
    • Browse Related Products

    Achtung Baby (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)

    Shop at Walmart

    Shipping & Pickup
    List Price: $29.98
    You Save: $3.49 (12%)

    • In stores only
    • Store information not available.

     Buy from Marketplace

    Shipping & Additional Information

    About this product

    Track Listings

    Disc 1 (of 2)

    1. Listen Zoo Station
    2. Listen Even Better Than The Real Thing
    3. Listen One
    4. Listen Until The End Of The World
    5. Listen Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
    6. Listen So Cruel
    7. Listen The Fly
    8. Listen Mysterious Ways
    9. Listen Tryin' To Throw Your Arms Around The World
    10. Listen Ultra Violet (Light My Way)
    11. Listen Acrobat
    12. Listen Love Is Blindness

    Disc 2 (of 2)

    1. Listen Lady With The Spinning Head (UV1)
    2. Listen Blow Your House Down
    3. Listen Salome
    4. Listen Even Better Than The Real Thing (Single Version)
    5. Listen Satellite Of Love
    6. Listen Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses (Temple Bar Remix)
    7. Listen Paint It Black
    8. Listen Even Better Than The Real Thing (Fish Out Of Water Remix)
    9. Listen Mysterious Ways (The Perfecto Mix)
    10. Listen Night And Day (Steel String Remix)
    11. Listen The Lounge Fly Mix
    12. Listen Fortunate Son
    13. Listen Alex Descends Into Hell For A Bottle Of Milk/Korova 1
    14. Listen Where Did It All Go Wrong?

    About the Album

    Reinventions rarely come as thorough and effective as Achtung Baby, an album that completely changed U2's sound and style. The crashing, unrecognizable distorted guitars that open "Zoo Station" are a clear signal that U2 have traded their Americana pretensions for postmodern, contemporary European music. Drawing equally from Bowie's electronic avant-garde explorations of the late '70s and the neo-psychedelic sounds of the thriving rave and Madchester club scenes of early-'90s England, Achtung Baby sounds vibrant and endlessly inventive. Unlike their inspirations, U2 rarely experiment with song structures over the course of the album. Instead, they use the thick dance beats, swirling guitars, layers of effects, and found sounds to break traditional songs out of their constraints, revealing the tortured emotional core of their songs with the hyper-loaded arrangements. In such a dense musical setting, it isn't surprising that U2 have abandoned the political for the personal on Achtung Baby, since the music, even with its inviting rhythms, is more introspective than anthemic. Bono has never been as emotionally naked as he is on Achtung Baby, creating a feverish nightmare of broken hearts and desperate loneliness; unlike other U2 albums, it's filled with sexual imagery, much of it quite disturbing, and it ends on a disquieting note. Few bands this far into their careers have recorded an album as adventurous or fulfilled their ambitions quite as successfully as U2 do on Achtung Baby, and the result is arguably their best album. For the 20th birthday of Achtung Baby, U2 went all out and released no less than five anniversary editions: a single-disc remaster, a double-disc Deluxe Edition, a vinyl box set, a six-CD/four-DVD Super Deluxe Edition, and finally an Uber Deluxe Edition that takes the Super Deluxe Edition and adds various tchotchkes like a magnetic puzzle, badges, stickers, and a replica of Bono’s Fly sunglasses. Only those with deep wallets will need to concern themselves with the Uber edition -- most fans will debate between the Deluxe double-disc set and the Super Deluxe set. The Deluxe Edition contains only the album’s non-LP cuts -- primarily B-sides and bonus tracks, plus the unreleased outtake “Blow Your House Down.” Although the assorted covers on this collection are a bit dodgy -- U2 have never sounded as uncertain as they do on a Euro-disco cover of CCR’s “Fortunate Son” -- the originals are by and large very good, particularly “Lady with the Spinning Head,” “Blow Your House Down,” and “Salome.” The Super Deluxe Edition adds the 1993 album Zooropa, written and recorded during the supporting Zoo tours for Achtung Baby, then two discs of remixes, the B-sides discs that pop up on the Deluxe Edition, and, finally, a fledgling version of Achtung Baby called Kindergarten, which contains nascent versions of all 12 songs from the finished album. Some of the remixes sound like little more than historical curios, but a surprising amount are either vigorous or imaginative and they all underscore how Achtung Baby truly was the first U2 album that could lend itself to these kind of mixes. And if the Kindergarten version of Achtung Baby has few real revelations -- most of the differences lay in Bono’s lyrics; many of the cuts are incomplete mixes instead of demos -- it nevertheless is a fascinating listen for those who know the album by heart. Finally, there are four DVDs: a making-of documentary by David Guggenheim, dire
    Artist: U2
    Studio Label: CD
    Edited: No
    Format: CD
    Enhanced: No
    Number of Discs: 2
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.35
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.5 x 0.5 x 7.44
    Walmart No.: 000000000
    UPC: 0060252778826
    Achtung Baby (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)
    Achtung Baby (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) from  

    Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
    use it for anything else.)