T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

By: T-Mobile
Walmart #: 550010371
T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

    The T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Smartphone is an affordable and feature packed 4G Android 2.3 smartphone that offers an easy way to access rich entertainment and productivity capabilities.

About this item

    The T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Smartphone is an affordable and feature packed 4G Android 2.3 smartphone that offers an easy way to access rich entertainment and productivity capabilities.

Detail Specs for the Samsung Exhibit II 4G Handset:

  • 4G Capable
  • High Resolution Screen
  • Display: 3.7" 16M TFT, 480x800 pixels
  • Real Web Browsing
  • Enterprise-ready Device
  • 3.0 Megapixel Rear Camera with LED Flash
  • VGA Front Camera
  • Complete Google Experience and Integration
  • GPS Navigation with Google Maps and Navigation
  • Visual Voicemail
  • Preloaded Games with Bejeweled 2 and Tetris
  • Expandable Memory of up to 32GB
  • Stereo Bluetooth Technology
  • Slacker Radio
  • T-Mobile TV HD
  • Wi-Fi Calling
  • Voice Search
  • Kies Air to Wirelessly sync your phone to your PC
  • Polaris Office- Easy document viewing and editing
  • eReader- Preloaded with Blio for Books and Zinio for magazines
  • Music Player
  • AllShare
  • Frequency: GSM: 850, 900, 1800, 1900 UMTS: Band IV(1700), Band II (1900), Band V (850) HSPA+ 14.4Mbps/5.76Mbps
  • Dimensions: 4.54" x 2.35" x 0.45"
  • Weight: 4.0 ounces
  • Platform: Android 2.3, Gingerbread
  • Battery: 1500mAh Li-ion
  • Talk Time: Up to 5.5 hours
  • Standby Time: Up to 364 hours
  • Internal Memory: - 4GB ROM, 512MB RAM
  • Expandable Memory: Up to 32GB memory card
  • Processor Speed: 1GHz

    What's in the box:
  • Lithium Ion Battery
  • Travel Charger
  • Data Cable
  • Start Guide
  • SIM Card
  • Terms and Conditions
  • Health & Safety Guide
  • Product Registration/Media Hub card

  • Specifications

    Service Carrier: T-Mobile
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: T679
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.35
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 4.54 x 2.35 x 2.45
    Walmart No.: 550010371

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    329 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    4 stars
    3 stars
    2 stars
    1 stars
    1-5 of 283 total reviews
    Would recommend to a friend



    I love this phone!

    Customer review by dennis96411

    5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by dennis96411
    by dennis96411
    Top 250 contributor

    I love this phone! I picked it up at a Wal-Mart store because of ease, and the exclusive $30 monthly plan with 100 talk minutes, unlimited text, and unlimited web (first 5GB at 4G speed per month, rest of the month slows down to EDGE). It does come with a lot of junk T-Mobile loaded up with, but I rooted the phone with SuperOneClick easily, and installed an application which allowed me to uninstall the bloatwares (Root Uninstaller in Market). This phone has very decent specs: * 1GHz single core Qualcomm Snapdragon processor (S2) * 512MB of RAM * Dual-facing camera with LED flash on back one * 4G network - HSPA+ (Up to 14.4Mbps) * 3.7" TFT high-res touch-screen (Like 480x800 or something) * PREPAID! LOW MONTHLY PRICES! Everything I do on this phone is snappy. If I do somehow go over my talk minutes, I just use GrooVe IP with Google Voice for free calls (Uses data). All apps are compatible with this phone unlike most prepaid carriers that limit the phone's functionality. Although I did have a huge disappointment finding out that 4G is not available in my house, so I'm limited to EDGE. But my Wi-Fi should take care of that! (25Mbps down/1Mbps up :D) There are currently no custom ROMs for this phone, but it is rootable and can be customized. I recommend getting LauncherPro from the Market to customize the homescreen. There is one problem I ran into: the microphone does not function correctly in any application other than the stock "Camera" app. This shouldn't be a hardware problem, but a software problem. I'll look around for some answers. I still can't believe the $30 a month plan! After tax it was only $32.05, so really, I'm not complaining. Be sure to get a microSD card though (Up to 32GB), and a class 4 one too, because if you like to put a lot of music and apps on the phone, you only get ~2GB internally. Overall, I'm satisfied with this phone.

    Was this review helpful? (1119) (59)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Burlington, NC
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:14 - 18
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every day
    Top 250 contributor
    Great phone for the price

    Customer review by tmobilemom

    5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by tmobilemom
    by tmobilemom

    This phone is half the price of any other smartphone and it does alot of the same things. My son is using it with the T-Mobile $30 monthly 5GB plan. He texts all day and plays online games with it and never runs out of battery; but he does charge it overnight. He has downloaded apps and games onto it, used the internet, read his email, used facebook, played with the mapping, watched youtube videos, uses wifi, etc. The touch screen works perfectly, including the keyboard and the zooming in and out with the pinch of your fingers. We don't live in a 4g area, so I can't comment on that, but it is fast enough with our house wifi. He can make and receive phone calls in the house when his freind who has an Iphone on AT&T can't. Where else can you get a 4G android phone for under $200? Try it! You can always return it if it doesn't live up to your expectations.

    Was this review helpful? (511) (33)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Exhibit II 4G T-Mobile $30 Unl Web/Text w/100 mins

    Customer review by CellPhoneBuyer

    5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by CellPhoneBuyer
    by CellPhoneBuyer
    Top 500 contributor

    If you are looking for a smartphone that can get unlimited web and text on a 4G network - this one does. It supports Adobe Flash 11 and personal email as well. The way the $30 unlimited web and text with 100 minutes of talk time plan works you get 4G speeds when web surfing up to 5G downloaded after that T-Mobile reduces the speed. 5G is a lot to me I have come no where close to that amount when surfing the web every day I have had the phone. It's screen responds very quick when interacting with it with it's 1 GHz snapdragon processor. It has Android 2.3 and is compatible with most apps in the Android Marketplace as well. It also has WiFi calling so it can make calls across the web. I am very happy with this phone and plan and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? (899) (74)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Top 500 contributor
    Excellent Value for the buck

    Customer review by atruebelieverinkarma

    5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by atruebelieverinkarma
    by atruebelieverinkarma
    Top 1000 contributor

    I bought this phone about a month ago. I am not a tech freak, so I don't generally try the most advanced stuff, but at the same time try to keep up with technology. The reason I switched to this phone, was that I was sick of paying upward of 65 dollars for a contract, and I must say I don't regret moving on. -This phone has everything in one of those 500 dollars phones but technically it is just half a step behind. -The camera is 3.2MP (similar phones with 5 or 8 MP are 150-250 dollars more expensive). it does not have a dedicated camera button, so you have to press the screen, which is annoying. The pics are not too bad, the videos are ok. I cant zoom comfortably, although there are options to zoom, but could not get it to work yet. So basically it is ok for on the go photos and videos but dont use it for wedding photos or videos. -It has a powerful processor which you can use to work several applications at a time, but when I had one too many applications it sometimes slowed down a lot. nevertheless it is almost always good. -I watch youtube videos on it, excellent streeming. -I downloaded a lot of android market apps and games and everything work fine. -I downloaded many books, movies, audio books on the external SD-card, and everything work fine on the phone, although the phone is not as big as a kindle so reading might not be comfortable if you cant look at a small font. -I cant figure out yet how to download stuff directly to the SD-card while the sd card is in the phone. but after download you can easily move it from the phone to the sd card. -phone voice is good, net is super fast (4G). no complaints. -from what i read in previous reviews people may have problems with applications or recharging, which has nothing to do with the phone itself. and it is easily remedied, so you can signup with t-mobile for automatic recharging (they charge taxes though, I dont know if walmart does). -like i said sometimes it slows down and i have to close some applications. it did freeze on me once or twice (but that's less often than my computer freezes on me) FINAL WORDS: It is an excellent top notch smart phone. Of course nothing is perfect and if you look hard enough you will find limitation for everything. I would definitely recommend it. I bout the 30 dollar unlimited text web card and 100 mins, and i installed Skype which i am already a subscriber to and have a Skype phone number and i use the Skype for all my phone talk (cost me extra 2.5$ a month for unlimited talk, and 2.5 for phone number (when people call my Skype number (from there phones) the phone rings)) hope that was helpful

    Was this review helpful? (612) (49)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every day
    Top 1000 contributor

    Customer review by MSKAM

    5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by MSKAM
    by MSKAM

    I purchased the Samsung Exhibit II 4G Android Smartphone from Walmart (along with a $30 prepaid T-Mobile card) a few days ago. I went online and activated the phone with no problems. However, because I purchased a "Speed" refill card (blue) as opposed to the regular (pink) refill card, I had difficulty adding the plan (unlimited text/web + 100 minutes) to my account. So after repeated failures I was forced to call customer service for assistance. The representative was very nice and helpful and assured me that the plan had been added and the minutes credited as desired. He was right; I received a text message the next morning confirming my purchase. With that being said, this is the best smartphone and voice/data plan on the market. I've been wanting for a smartphone for awhile (particularly the IPhone) but was unable to buy one due to the fact that the data plans are so overpriced and thus too high for my budget. Hence, I've been stuck using a "dumb" phone for years. But when I came across this deal, I thought it was too good to be true. So I did a lot of research and read countless reviews and learned that this deal was indeed as good as it promises. I CONCUR!!! If you want a Smartphone (that does just about everything the IPhone does) but cannot afford the enormous data plan fees the other service providers charges...then this is the phone/plan for you. It is unbelievable!! This phone is easy to use, has a fast processor and internet speed, and is loaded with multiple applications and customizable options. The touchscreen is an added bonus and navigates easily and efficiently. In short, it does almost anything you want it to do (except bring you a glass of water). I highly recommend this phone and T-Mobile's prepaid voice and data plan. It's very affordable and the best part is the fact that it does not require an annual contract. What more could you ask for? Again, it's still almost too good to be true. You better run out and get one before T-Mobile realizes what a bargain this is and inadvertently change their minds....I'M SO SERIOUS!!!! It is sooooooo worth it!!!! I am one happy camper right now. I FINALLY HAVE A SMARTPHONE with DATA ACCESS!!! YAY ME!!

    Was this review helpful? (90) (8)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 283 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 283 reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Questions & Answers 415 questions
    1-3 of 415 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).

    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    by mkmlf 7/6/2012
    6 answers
    • A. Yes you can keep your number, No there are no roaming and yes it comes with a home charger
      by chuck79pacecar7/1/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The phone comes in a nifty package along with a standard wall charger, a SIM card, battery, and the user manual. You insert the sim card and turn on your phone (charge it all the way first) and as soon as you turn it on you will fill out a bunch of options and at the very end it will promt you to cal a number and there you will speak to a representative. When i called they didnt ask me if i wanted to a request a ceratin number, they simply asked me for my area code and then they gave me some options. But then agian, i didnt really care what numer i wanted so i didnt ask! im pretty sure you could request a number, who knows if they will add a little extra one time fee, but its worth a try, just make sure the number you want is either already a t-moblie numer or is cancelled if its from a different provider. as for roaming, the basic $30 a month barely covers 100 minutes, unless using WiFI. But then again, you may change you plan to fit your needs! I currently have $50 a month for unlimited calling (in the US) .. I believe there is a plan for $60 for unlimited calling anywhere!!!(along with data, messaging, etc. pretty great deal
      by Gonza93937/1/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes, it will ask for existing numbers during set up. no roaming. yes, home charger.
      by ClarkLee7/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes you can use your existing number, yes there are roaming charges and yes it includes a home charger
      by Bradf557/11/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes u can i brought mine from verizon. no roaming charges, yes charger included
      by mfcordova7/11/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes-you can port your existing number to the new phone. (Of course, the old phone then goes dead.) Yes, 110V charger is included, as well as USB cable so you can charge it from any PC/laptop. And you WILL need to charge it at least once a day. And roaming is NOT included on prepaid plans (SURPRISE!!), so when there is no t-mobile tower in sight, you have no signal!! (no talk, text, or data!) But t-mobile will gladly sign you up with a contract plan (post-paid) that DOES include roaming. It'll just cost more than than $30/mo. :-(
      by An anonymous customer7/1/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    I am interested in the $50 plan which has 4G data speed until 100MB. After that, do you get 3G or 2G speeds?
    by infinitequestions 7/9/2012
    6 answers
    • A. You can call the service number and get a $60.00 plan that allows you 2 gb of data using 4 G speed. That's not offered In the stores, only by calling the provider and requesting this package.
      by Isabellaquilts12/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. At home I only pick up like 1/2G ... really terrible. But when i go into the city it will switch to 4G and i seem to run it out in less than 2 days! so i will recieve a message that says you will now run at basic speed. i cant tell you what it is but to me it seems to run exactly the same! very quickly! $50 is great for the bigest reason of unlimited calling. I love it. But if its data you want, there are data packages you can buy and stay with 100 minutes. just go into your "My Account" app on your phone and you can change your plan from there! it will give you tons of options. just pick the one that suits you best!
      by Gonza93938/24/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. with T-Mobile, it drops to 2G whenever u enter reduced speed.
      by ClarkLee7/24/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I just received a text from t-mobile telling me I reached the 100mb mark and will now get 2G speeds, so 2G it is until next month
      by Bradf557/11/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it goes down to 2g, u can still surf but dont think at 2g speed ur going to watch net flix you tube and internet radio
      by mfcordova7/13/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. 2G
      by NJC417/11/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 415 questions See all
    1-3 of 415 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.