Similar items in stock

Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Stay on track wherever you go with the Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS. With a 5" touchscreen, More than 6M Points of Interest vs. 8M POI's, and spoken turn-by-turn directions, this Garmin nuvi GPS navigator makes finding directions easier. This portable GPS navigator's intuitive interface greets you with two simple choices: "Where To?" and "View Map. " All you have to do to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided through your journey is simply touch the screen. With speed limit indicator, this Garmin nuvi GPS shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. Lane assist with junction view alerts you of an approaching turn or exit, whereas turn-by-turn directions help you reach your destination quickly and easily. The Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS with speed limit indicator displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Stay on track wherever you go with the Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS. With a 5" touchscreen, More than 6M Points of Interest vs. 8M POI's, and spoken turn-by-turn directions, this Garmin nuvi GPS navigator makes finding directions easier. This portable GPS navigator's intuitive interface greets you with two simple choices: "Where To?" and "View Map. " All you have to do to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided through your journey is simply touch the screen. With speed limit indicator, this Garmin nuvi GPS shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. Lane assist with junction view alerts you of an approaching turn or exit, whereas turn-by-turn directions help you reach your destination quickly and easily. The Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS with speed limit indicator displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation.

Garmin nuvi 50 4.3" Portable GPS:

  • 5" WQVGA color TFT display with 480 x 270 pixels resolution - Garmin nuvi GPS presents information clearly and brightly for optimal navigation
  • Voice navigation - Internal speaker clearly tells you where to go
  • Lane assist with junction view - Never miss your exit again with this portable GPS navigator
  • Built-in speed limit indicator - Keep out of trouble
  • More than 6M Points of Interest vs. 8M POI's
  • Battery - Rechargeable lithium ion

Specifications

Run Time: 2 hours
Recommended Use: Automotive
Resolution: 480 x 272
Memory Card Type: microSD
Duration: 2 hours
Manufacturer Part Number: 010-00991-01
Battery Life: 2 hours
Model: nuvi 50
Accessories Included: Car power adapter, USB cable, suction cup mount
Screen Size: 5\"
Interface Type: USB
Brand: Garmin
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 5.60 x 4.40 x 3.40 IN
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 180 questions
1-3 of 180 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 180 questions See all
1-3 of 180 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
202
4 stars
80
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-10 of 218 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

5"Screen Major +++
12/14/2011

Customer review by CaptKallisto75

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by CaptKallisto75
by CaptKallisto75

The Nuvii 50 was an upgrade for my older and still functioning Nuvii 360. It was time to upgrade the maps on the older unit and the cost of a new Nuvii on sale out weighted purchasing a map upgrade or spending a few more bucks to get a new unit on sale @ Wally World. The bigger screen is a major plus and it seems to respond much faster than the older unit. The only downside that I really had was loading the lifetime maps the first time..this takes almost 3-4 hours depending on the connection you have. My connection was via a wireless hotspot so it took a good 3 hours. So be forewarned when you go to load your maps the first time..do it when you have some free time. After that you are done and its works amazingly fast and perfect. There are a few changes from the older Nuvii's that you have to get used too but the newer changes make it much simpler to operate. Overall I am overjoyed with my purchase and was extremely glad that Walmart carried this model since it did save me a few bucks in the long run.

Was this review helpful? (181) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptKallisto75
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simple to use, accurate most of the time
11/30/2013

Customer review by starshine1951

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by starshine1951
by starshine1951

I bought another model, the 40LM, but I had to write a review here after reading the complaints about the lack of Lifetime Maps. Duh? If the model number has LM after it, it comes with lifetime maps and a USB cable for updating. If it has a "t" in the model number, then it also comes with free traffic reports. Anyone who buys a product has the responsibility to do some basic research or shouldn't have a driver's license in the first place. Complaining that a GPS does not come with free lifetime map updates when it isn't advertised that way is like complaining that a 1 bedroom apartment doesn't have 2 bedrooms. Read the description!! Where does it say "comes with lifetime maps?" Anyway, for $69 this is a steal. I just got the 40LM and am thinking of exchanging it for this budget model. Maps don't change that much, although often points of interest do because businesses close or change location. Heck, I'm still using my 3.5" Nuvi 260 that I bought over 6 years ago and that cost me about $300 and it did not come with free map updates. In any case, no GPS is perfect, but a Garmin GPS is easy to use, speaks the street names, and usually lasts for years.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starshine1951
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Does not state RECALCULATING.
12/9/2012

Customer review by songkrai

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by songkrai
by songkrai

This is a good unit and works perfectly right out of the box. Large screen. Easy menu. A good value for a US streets GPS. No lifetime map updates. Apparently no current/newer Garmins state the word RECALCULATING. Some/many must have complained to Garmin as this long time Garmin feature has been eliminated from all newer Garmins. Unit does recalculate route but does so silently. My extensive driving does require the spoken word RECALCULATNG if I do get off route. This is a feature that I require for my driving needs. Some do not care for this feature so this Garmin model would be fine. The potential problem of not verbally stating the word RECALCULATING is that you could be off route for many streets making all sorts of turns and not even know you are off route unless you physically look at unit while driving. And even then you may not know why you are making all of these turns. I returned this Garmin model 50 and purchased a Garmin Model 1490LMT that does state the word RECALCULATING. If verbal recalculating is not a concern of yours this will make a fine GPS purchase. Garmin 50 worked perfectly right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
songkrai
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good GPS for the money
6/20/2014

Customer review by ThoughtfulShopper3

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by ThoughtfulShopper3
by ThoughtfulShopper3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to replace a prior 3-year old Garmin, that started having trouble acquiring satellites. This one gets satellites fast. We like the split display when we are approaching a major highway exit, and it even shows what the exit sign looks like. On the negative side: the instruction booklet is small and has no words-- it's all pictures, and was not at all clear. At a minimum, a "getting started" in English would have been useful. We had to log onto the website from our computer to get info about the device. Someone in a review said the product did not come with a dashboard mount, so I ordered one when I ordered the device. But this was NOT true-- the device did come with a dashboard mount, so now I have to return it. What one might want to order to go with it is: a USB cable and carrying case.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThoughtfulShopper3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware of false Walmart advertising
6/25/2013

Customer review by gobold

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by gobold
by gobold
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The local add said "includes lifetime maps". This model did not include lifetime maps, so I returned it on the same day I picked it up. I never used it, and can't really rate the product itself. Map updates cost almost as much as buying a new unit. I would never buy one without lifetime map updates again, so I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gobold
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing one key component
6/24/2013

Customer review by PeterRay

2.0 stars 6/24/2013 by PeterRay
by PeterRay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unit comes with free lifetime map updates...but the box didn't include the cable one needs to connect the unit to your pc/laptop so you can get the map updates, and/or the "Dashboard", and/or the other features that are only available by connecting the unit to your pc and going online to Gamin. Was not informed/did not know that this key component was not included with the unit, and this cable is quite expensive. Unit works fine, but was quite frustrated to discover I'd have to make an additional cable purchase in order to get the "free" map updates - Garmin and WalMart, how is something "FREE" if I have to buy something to get it?????

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeterRay
Milton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garmin Nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS
12/21/2012

Customer review by GWheez

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by GWheez
by GWheez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this GPS during Cyber Week and I have not regretted it since. I didn't need an instruction manual to get me using this GPS. It came partially charged, I just clicked on the start button and everything was just as simple as touching the screen and typing in information. I love the 5" screen! It came with an attachable mount which works perfect and I can position it just near my rear view mirror and take it off when I'm done. I appreciate all the information it gives me such as the speed limit, the amount of time it will take to get to my destination and the length in miles/feet til I'm there. Yes, I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GWheez
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Lifetime Maps
11/26/2012

Customer review by 5sigma

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by 5sigma
by 5sigma

According to the Garmin website, there are no lifetime map updates for the Garmen nuvi 50 5". This may make a difference for this otherwise nice GPS.

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5sigma
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Best GPS out there.
6/3/2012

Customer review by enialb

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by enialb
by enialb

I had another brand previous to the Garmin. Truckers recommended it. If there were 2 streets close together you could take the wrong street. The Garmin in better because it verbally tells you the name of the street you should turn on. (Less chance of accidents)

Was this review helpful? (100) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enialb
Dallas, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could not be happier with this product!
12/20/2012

Customer review by ellimac29

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by ellimac29
by ellimac29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This review is for the Garmin Nuvi 50 which I purchased online on Cyber Monday from Walmart for $69.00. My wife and I could not be happier with this product. For us it is an updated 5 inch screen. At certain highway exits it turns into a split screen (right side showing a picture of the exit, signs and all). At certain intersections it even warns of traffic light cameras with a chime and small warning window. At most locations it shows you the current speed limit, the speed at which you are traveling at any given time, and shows your speed in RED if you are over the limit. A complete lengthy owners manual can be downloaded from Garmin online from their web site which I did. Since its' purchase I've ordered the friction (bean bag) dashboard mount and the leather side entry case specifically designed for the Garmin Nuvi 50 (also fits the Garmin Nuvi 50 LM with lifetime maps) from Amazon and couldn't be happier with those purchases also. My old Garmin Nuvi 200 still works flawlessly after four years which is why I stuck with a new Garmin GPS unit. By the way my wife wants to use it most of the time. Hope this helps if you're undecided. Gary

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ellimac29
Smyrna, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-10 of 218 total reviews See all
1-10 of 218 reviews

Customer Reviews | 317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  90 Days or longer See details

Warranty Information: 1 Year Limited Warranty
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.