Rated 3 out of 5 by 721 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice phone and all but if you do any type of travel not worth the time cause will only work under sprint and not roam so as to always receive coverage 03/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Satisfied until... I have always been satisfied with Straight Talk until I purchased this phone for my husband and myself. The second day my husband phone started freezing up and had to keep removing the battery to reset it. We took the phone back to Walmart and exchanged for another one but that one is still doing the same thing. On the third day my phone started doing the same thing with freezing up and taking out the battery. When it freezes up the phone gets really hot. Also I am unhappy that the Android phones are on Sprint and not Verizon because I never had a problem with a signal but now I do. Very unhappy right now!!! 12/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I couldnt decided to get this one or the other Samsung android phone because of the price difference, however if I didnt like it I did have up to 15 days to return it and get the other one, but I like this phone a lot. It works just like an regular android phone, its sleek, light, fits in the palm of your hand and it processes pretty fast. The only thing that I dont like about it so far is the camera, I am not quite satisfied with it yet and there isnt a light with the camera, so quality isnt always good, but I can get some to turn out. This is as said in another review ran through sprint not verizon, and I am originally from southwest wisconsin and I did say that it would work there, and I can get some spotty service, but otherwise now that I live in a big city and dont get back that way much, I can deal with it. Overall, I think this is a great phone. It was pretty expensive at first because of the price of the phone, the $45 card, and then the 18 month insurance, but it is definitely worth every penny. 10/21/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bought this phone after seeing a friend had one. After having the phone for about 5 days or so, I noticed the phone started freezing. I would try to end the call and my screen would freeze, after 10-20 seconds the phone would start responding once again. Also, coverage works in my home area, however if I go into a building, the signal is lost, therefore I have to wait until I leave the building I'm in to make or receive a call. I will however say that the ability to work the features are simple and easy so long as one is average with computer technology. The Droid Market offers tons of apps, with many of them being free. At first the battery does seem to drain quickly, however after downloading a free app from the market I was able to shut down applications that weren't needed 24/7, extending my battery life. The ability to change the locking features as well as the customization of the phone was fairly easy. My friend's phone has been working for months with no issues, so I'm assuming it's a hit or miss on the acting up... Please make sure to research before you buy, and understand that with everything that involves computer info or technology there is a chance for issues. Also, keep your receipt just incase you need to return the phone within the alloted time. Great features!, however this particular phone it's self is having issues. Will return for a different phone that isn't an Android, only because it will be needed in other parts of the USA that doesn't have Android towers. 12/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome phone ....and minutes pkg Great Verizon network andriod phone...AND NO CONTRACT OR DATA PKG PRICE !!!!! I've been every where my old verizon phone worked and this one does too !!! The ease of use ..and the touch screen is great..it promts you along so it's sooo easy. 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome!! I love this phone. Before i had it i bought the Nokia E71 that is like 200.00 at walmart. But it kept messing up onme the memory on a 4gb card would fill up so quick. But this phone i have had for 2 months (about as long as i had the other) and it is so great. it has the coolest apps many many of them are free. free ringtones, and music downloads really cool. screen very sensitive so not like have to push down hard or repeatedly. Love it!! 11/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1review4u2decide For the money I feel this is a good phone it fits my needs. But I think if your live your life on the cellphone you may not like it. The qwerty touch keys needs to get use to them if you have big hands. I would suggest this phone but please use it before you decide you don't like it. 02/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First android phone, really nice to use with straight talk. Sprint network not as good as verizon, but it works in my area. I would recommend this phone for $150 and $45 a month you can't beat it, but first check sprint coverage in your area. 10/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good phones--horrible service The Samsung phones are OK however my experience with Straight Talk service has been horrible. They don't seem to have the ability to interface their payment system with their cell phone accounts. Buying minutes by credit card and putting them in Reserve results in Straight Talk immediately charging your card and then failing to put the purchased Reserve minutes into your account. This means that at the start of the next monthly cycle, you will have NO SERVICE. They do not let you know this so you find out the next time you attempt to make a call or receive one. When making a call, you get a message saying insufficient money in your account. Messages to a person calling you will tell them Verizon customer not available. I have spent hours with Straight Talk cust svc over the last two months getting them to manually update my account. They always act like this is routine standard operating procedure. DO NOT use Straight Talk if you ever need a phone in an emergency. 04/02/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Started great, now bad! When I first received this phone, it worked great. All the apps worked, it was easy to learn and use. Phone had good reception, never dropped a call. Then after 6 months or so the battery started dying after only a few hours of non use. It would get hot too. I sent it back and they repaired it, but it never has worked right since. Calls get dropped, no one could hear me and the phone got hot all the time. It also goes blank and turns itself off for no apparent reason. Love Straight Talk's plan, so recently got new SIM card from ST for my new A T & T phone. Works great. 04/05/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I went from Alltel HTC DESIRE to this JUNK!?!? Okay it works somewhat simular to my old HTC that I broke. I opened it and was like are you kidding me, it is like a toy, Plastc Screen, touch on the screen isnt what a real smartphone is like, definatly a downgrade, and I will be looking elsewhere. The camera ofcourse is junk and no flash? aren we in the year 2012 almost??? It has the market, but this phone dosent spell check, the screen is way to small, I find it really hard to type correctly. It dosent even have a real phone ringtone, it is like buying an old track phone when they first came out. I HATE IT! on another note, service is so so in my area, it likes to jump in and out of service in town, it should roam.! I could go on and on. I just can tell you if you want a real smart phone go to HTC, I assume the HTC is the same weather it is prepaid or not! This phone must be a joke b/c it is a bad excuse for a real phone. The sad part is my HTC from Alltel was free!!!Im going back to Alltel.. that is a done deal for sure. 12/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by no good if you live in south dakota phone does not work in our area even though the website said it would 10/31/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good phone however... I was a longtime Verizon customer before switching to Straight Talk because let's face it... Verizon is horrible! I researched this phone for awhile before I bought it. I like this phone but it will just shut off only after a few hours and then when I try to charge it again it won't work. I take out the battery, put it back in, unplug the charger, plug it back in, repeat, repeat, repeat. It took me about 3 hours tonight for it to actually start charging again. It's like it's completely dead and not even responding to the charger. I don't understand that part of this phone. I've been contemplating taking it back to Walmart and exchanging for another one and hopefully I won't have the same issue. I don't know. That's the only gripe I have about this phone though. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Phone for the Price! The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for. Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore! So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised. 12/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed at all Okay so when I first found out about the Android market being on Straighttalk, I knew I had to get one. So I was going to purchase the Galaxy Proclaim because for a good two weeks, the ST website said it would work in my area when I entered the zip code. Well one week I noticed it wasn't on their website and they took it off. So they told me that the Proclaim wouldn't work even though it is a verizon phone and that is all anyone ever uses in my area is Verizon. So they told me that I should get one of the phones available like the Precedent or the Huawaii(sp?) phone and I read the reviews on the hueweii phone (sp?) and they made me decide for the Precedent since my mother in law has that phone and it works great for her. So after buying this phone today, I was disappointed from the start. 1.) I don't get service at all in my house even though Straighttalk said I would. 2.) As soon as I was charging the phone for the first time, I kept getting this beeping noise and seeing the message (Unable to charge system. Please see owner's Manual.) I have no clue why it keeps showing me this message. It is BRAND NEW and nothing is wrong with it. 3.) The phone gets really really warm too. I have no clue why and I don't know if that is Normal but I read on here that other's had the same problem too. It gets a lot warmer when I am charging my phone but even the first time I started it up, I noticed it was warmer then most phones I have ever noticed. So this weekend I will be running uptown and returning this phone and waiting for the Proclaim to come out and I will give that phone a try. I really am impressed with Straighttalk (bill & non android service wise), I just wish they had better Android phones with better Android Service. 06/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ok for first 30 days...then downhill. I've been using this phone for almost 2 months. The phone's 3G data service was pretty peppy for the first 30 days. The next 30 days, however, the data speed dropped to a crawl and has never improved. I used the speed test Android app to test the network speed on numerous days. Actual download speed test results were: 14Kbps, 21Kbps, 61Kbps, 67 Kbps. These speeds are definitely not 3G. Web surfing is slower than the days of modem dialup. Forget about viewing streaming media. If you are getting this phone for the "Unlimited" 3G data access, beware. Though it may be unlimited, the speed is nowhere near 3G. As far as phone features, the only big disappointment is that the camera does not allow you to focus. This makes using the barcode scanner apps almost impossible for line barcodes. Everything else works well for a phone of this price. 11/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I just ordered this phone, and just recived it, ive only had it for about four days now and is already making mistakes, like some of the other reviewers have posted, very sensitive, does delete my contact names, only in inbox though, and does run low real fast on battery, on the upside its the best phone ive had, i have to turn it off and back on once everyday it feels like LOL but its not to bad, i can update photos and put the on facebook just in one click, works just like a mini computer, but has some problems, all fixable once you turn the phone off and let it rest for a bit, but every phone has a glitch in it. its not perfect but it reaches my expectations, and you can save pictures off on a text message, hold your fingre on the picture until a optional thing pops up, than just press save, i had to find that out on google, lol ive pretty much found out all the cheats to this cute phone; i havent tried the apps yet, i have tried the games though, took to long to download for me. i recument this phone, only to a certin leval though, and trust me, i love to text and talk my life away on phones, the back does get hott fast, but i just deal :) it works for now. 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this phone tor my daughter, she's never really satified with anything, but within the few weeks she has had this phone not one single complaint, she loves it. 11/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features I just purchased this phone. I love it. It has many features such as voice search, youtube, facebook, and google search. You can download hundreds of other apps from the android market. The coverage area is fantastic as well. I can access my emails, the web and text messages with ease. I would definitely recommend this phone to my family and friends. 02/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Magnificent ! This phone is great! It meets all your expectations and it has excellent apps. The camera takes clear pictures, and the wifi is good, and the android market is incredible. The only thing I don't like is that the phone freezes quite alot and I have to restart it. Maybe it's because of all of my downloads, but don't let me ruin your chances of buying this! 01/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great phone -- Great plan !! This is an early Christmas present for my daughter. She loves it! I don't think I could have bought anything that she would have liked better. The straight-talk program is more than half the price of her previous cell phone plan, and the phone is great. Now she can get on Facebook anytime she wants. I would recommend this phone and plan to anybody. 12/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 Sold in this area. Wouldnt work in this area. Bought this for my daughter online only to find out it couldn't be activated in this area. Waste of money. Had to return it to Walmart locally and buy her a more expensive one. 01/17/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Android Phone For A Pre-Paid & Price This Phone is a basic Android phone gets the basics done for the android market but it has a slow processor that at times stalls but overall a great bang for the buck specially with out a Contract. 11/27/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by StraightTalk Samsung Galaxy I did a ton of research on this phone and the coverage in areas I knew I would be in outside my zipcode. The phone is great except for a couple of little quirks. StraightTalk, however, dropped the ball! Okay we know it is the worst customer service out there. It is in India and operates on script reading and apologies without much help or accuracy. I called specifically to check on service in the zipcodes I would be visiting-less than 80 miles from my house. I was assured there were at least 3 towers in each location so I bought the phone. I needed Android 2.2 so I could use SquareUp to make charges on my phone at my arts festival. Ten miles away from town, I lost service. I had no service at the hotel, the civic center, on the street facing in any direction. I called customer service from local Walmart and was told THIS WAS THE ONLY STRAIGHTTALK PHONE WITH NO ROAMING CAPABILITY. WHAT WAS MY ZIPCODE WHERE I BOUGHT THE PHONE? Needless to say I could make no charges (income lost) or call home for 3 days! I returned the phone-don't need a phone that I can't use outside my neighborhood! Returned for now to my old phone. IF YOU TRAVEL DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE FROM STRAIGHTTALK. I am shopping for an affordable carrier and will buy a more expensive phone if necessary. When I find it, StraightTalk will be kissed bye-bye. What a shame, with a little concern, Straight Talk could be a top notch company. 11/22/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Excellent phone, TERRIBLE COVERAGE(Sprint Network) I purchased this phone from walmart and it would not work inside of that very walmart. I had terrible reception at home, I was never able to hold a conversation longer than 15 minutes on that phone without it dropping the call(sprint) and that goes for home,walmart,or anywhere else. The phone itself is nice it has lots of free apps,nice camera,swipe keyboard etc. I loved the phone, but returned it because Sprint has terrible coverage and beware you only have 15 DAYS to return it to walmart. 10/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the phone easy to use. Still learning how to use all of the great things about this phone. But I like the phone very easy to use. The only thing some of the instructions in the booklet could go into a little more detail for more clarity. 12/11/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience I've had this model of phone for one year, in that year Straight Talk has replaced the phone FOUR TIMES!!!!! It lasts about three months and then mysteriously stops charging, the battery is weak to put it mildly, it has no storage for apps. Is seriously NOT worth the money spent. I am currently ordering a replacement phone after saving up my money to get a better phone. I cannot wait to be done with this phone once and for all. I will gladly be tossing this one in the trash. 02/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good smartphone for price! This smartphone does everything my smartphone from a leading cell service did. It doesn't have very much storage tho, so I have to delete my messages daily so I have room for more. I had downloaded a couple of apps for games I like, but thought it might be taking up storage space so deleted them. But this phone is capable of downloading any app from the androd appstore! I like the touch screen feature compared to using actual keys. 01/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor value! This phone is just a headache, the battery does not charge rite,it freezes up all the time. And powers itself down. And does not have enough space!! I've wanted to snap it in half or throw it against the wall. I would not recommened this phone. 11/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a really great phone for the price. I needed an android that accepted credit cards for my business and this phone is perfect for just that. Love the ease of the phone. 10/29/2012
31-60 of 606 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew233
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp