Hoover MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Upright Vacuum Cleaner, FH50240

Q&A
By: Hoover
Walmart #: 551181015
Hoover MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Upright Vacuum Cleaner, FH50240
Loading options...
Protect your purchase with a Care Plan
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping

 from this seller
 

Shipping

Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
Free
Standard
Data unavailable
$4.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$30.06
Rush
Data unavailable
$40.60

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Want to pick up your package for free?
Walmart offers free pickup for most orders placed online - for many items as soon as today! Tell us where you are and we'll show you which Walmart stores and partner locations near you are available for package pickup.
 
See 1 more seller
Starting from $234.99
1 more seller from $234.99
| Learn more
  • $181.04
    +Free shipping
    Walmart.com
    |
  • $234.99
    +Free shipping
    bargainstation bargainstation
    Rating unavailable
    |

Other sellers on Walmart.com

In addition to Walmart.com items, we offer you products from our Marketplace Retailer partners to give you a wide range of choices.

  • Marketplace items are not returnable to Walmart.com or Walmart stores
  • Marketplace Retailers ship the items you buy from them
  • Tracking details (if available) can be found in your Walmart account

Phone: 

Email: 

 Return Policy

  • Capacity: 1.15 gal
  • Cleaning width: 13"
  • Attachments: brush, hose, upholstery tool, nozzle and more
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    Customers also considered
    Customers also bought these products

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
    The deep cleaners of the Hoover MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Upright Vacuum Cleaner are designed to clean a variety of surfaces from carpets to couches and sealed wood floors to tiled floors. This versatile, easy-to-use upright vacuum removes water, dirt and grime with pressurized cleaning and has heated drying for a fast dry time. The Hoover vacuum cleaner features a double chamber nozzle to power wash surfaces with even suction across a wide path, while the automatic detergent system provides the right ratio of detergent and water for the best cleaning results. The patented Hoover SpinScrub brushes gently loosen dirt and clean all sides of carpet and upholstery fibers, with an adjustable speed control for various floor surfaces. This upright vacuum cleaner also includes a Spill Pick-Up mode so you don't scrub in spills.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    The deep cleaners of the Hoover MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Upright Vacuum Cleaner are designed to clean a variety of surfaces from carpets to couches and sealed wood floors to tiled floors. This versatile, easy-to-use upright vacuum removes water, dirt and grime with pressurized cleaning and has heated drying for a fast dry time. The Hoover vacuum cleaner features a double chamber nozzle to power wash surfaces with even suction across a wide path, while the automatic detergent system provides the right ratio of detergent and water for the best cleaning results. The patented Hoover SpinScrub brushes gently loosen dirt and clean all sides of carpet and upholstery fibers, with an adjustable speed control for various floor surfaces. This upright vacuum cleaner also includes a Spill Pick-Up mode so you don't scrub in spills.

    Hoover MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Upright Vacuum Cleaner:

    • Capacity: 1.15 gal
    • Cleaning width: 13"
    • Attachments: brush, hose, upholstery tool, squeegee, nozzle and upholstery brush
    • Upright vacuum cleaner application/Usage: tile floor, carpet, upholstery, hard floor, wooden floor
    • Weight: 22.5 lbs
    • Package contents:
      • MaxExtract 77 Multi-Surface Pro FH50240 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
      • 32 oz bottle of 2X Professional Strength Carpet and Upholstery Detergent
      • 16 oz bottle of Hard Floor Detergent
      • Vacuum cleaner has a 9' clear active hose
      • SpinScrub hand tool
      • Upholstery tool
      • Squeegee tool

    Specifications

    Color: Blue ,  Black
    Recommended Use: Office ,  Home
    Condition: New
    Manufacturer Part Number: FH50240
    Model: FH50240
    Brand: Hoover
    Features: Carpet
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 23.70 x 26.40 x 16.20 Inches
    Show
    Show

    Manuals & Guides

    Best seller ranking:

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 372 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

    2.0 stars

    372 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

    2.0 stars

    372 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

    30%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    70
    4 stars
    28
    3 stars
    21
    2 stars
    57
    1 stars
    196
    1-10 of 367 total reviews
    30%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Holding Tank Problems
    7/9/2012

    Customer review by Loves Clean Carpets!!

    1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Loves Clean Carpets!!
    by Loves Clean Carpets!!

    I purchased my first unit at our local [@]. I used it 4, maybe 5 times. When it worked correctly, it was an amazing cleaner. After that, the water and solution would disappear just as fast as I could fill it up. Just pour out on the floor and it was gone in 30 seconds. Hoover was wonderful and replaced the machine. I only opened the new one a few months ago, due to not having a need to clean anything until spring. I got it out, opened it, set it up, cleaned my carpets no problems. Did it again a few months later (grandkids) worked fine. Cleaned it and put it away. Bought a used recliner and cleaned it, worked great...then wanted to spot clean the livingroom...boom...tank problems again. As soon as I filled it and started it, the clean water and solution sucked right down into the dirty water holding tank...gone. Ugh! Couldn't believe it! I have never stored this with solution or water in it, have always wiped the seals dry..I think this model just has issues. There was a lady returning one to [@] in front of me the other day, saying it didn't work. Should probably discontinue this particular model. Seems it has a lot of problems. But, I contacted Hoover again, feeling a little crazy with it being the second machine, but again they were happy to assist me, no hassles, customer satisfaction minded, and offered again, to replace it with the model of my choice. Thank you Hoover!

    Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/9/2012

    We are sorry to hear about the frustrating experience you have been having but we thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve it to your satisfaction!

    Loves Clean Carpets!!
    Michigan
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Leaky water tanks (both clean and dirty tanks)
    1/18/2015

    Customer review by JimmyD

    1.0 stars 1/18/2015 by JimmyD
    by JimmyD

    I just bought this unit today and after using it for only 20 minutes I found the dirty water tank to be leaking. The dirty water tank leaks dirty water out from between the seal of the main tank and the cleanout cover while carrying the tank to empty if not held just so. The dirty water tank is made of cheap plastic that deforms under the weight of the dirty water inside the tank causing a gap in the seal.

    Comment from Giselle - 1/22/2015

    Hi JimmyD! We strive for quality products and that is not what we want to see. We want to help make this right and restore your faith in our products. You will receive a private email shortly, we have a couple questions.

    JimmyD
    Wilmington, DE, United States
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Gender:Male
    Hoover QA Problems?
    5/27/2014

    Customer review by mickkie

    3.0 stars 5/27/2014 by mickkie
    by mickkie

    This is my second Hoover steam cleaner. The first one was really shoddy with leaks, brushes quit rotating, plastic parts broke, etc. etc. I limped along with it for 4 or 5 years until the brushes totally quit. So decided to try a new one. After reading many reviews (elsewhere not here) I finally decided to try this model. The design is much better than the last one and it is much easier to use and clean. However, after using it for the first time I noticed that the cleaning solution tank was becoming empty very quickly (instead of being measured out with the water). After inspection I found that the cleaning solution tank (located inside the main water tank) leaks directly into the water reservoir (bypassing the metering tube). The rest of the cleaner seems to work fine including the stairs attachment. Since everything else works fine, I think I will try some silicone sealant which I can apply through the top filling hole to seal the cleaning tank seam where the leak occurs.

    Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Comment from - 5/28/2014

    Hi Mickkie, please do not attempt to repair the Max Extract 77 on your own. That will void your warranty. We would like to further assist with this situation. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. Thank you. <br /><br />-Giselle<br />Hoover Customer Care

    mickkie
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Mean Machine
    2/27/2012

    Customer review by scarlet01

    5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by scarlet01
    by scarlet01

    I have owned 4 Hoover cleaners over the years, and I always went with the standard 12 amp motor, until now. I noticed my carpets were not standing up like they use to and didn't seem like they were really clean. For this reason I read reviews on a lot of Hoovers, spent quite a bit of time thinking it over and I believe I got it right with this one. I live very rural, have 5 grand kids, burn wood in fireplace, have dogs and cats, and a husband and 2 son's who don't always wipe their feet, so it was very important for me to get more bang for my buck. I used the cleaner the other night and what a difference! The carpet looks clean and is standing up again, love it! It is heavier than the standard one and you do have to fill and empty the tanks more but for the end result it is well worth it. As for the durability, we will see. I also purchased the 3 year warranty due to the fact I will be using this cleaner frequently.

    Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    scarlet01
    Crown City, Ohio
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Very disappointed
    6/2/2016

    Customer review by Jesse S

    2.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Jesse S
    by Jesse S

    I bought this machine in November and unfortunately I have had a lot of trouble . I'm unsure if it's just the cleaner we bought or if multiple people have this problem, however the part that holds the cleaner up broke coming out of the box. Because we needed it to clean for a family function, we decided to look past the fault and continue to use the cleaner. We don't have abnormally clean carpets and I have kept up on maintenence. I have used this cleaner maybe 5 times and the water has now stopped despensing out of the carpet portion of the machine. It only sprays the detergent portion of the tank. When it worked, the machine worked VERY well. I'm going to contact our hoover tomorrow to see if someone will work with me since it is still under warranty. Hopefully the customer service is much better than the luck we have had with the machine. If I do, I will definitely try and post an update.

    Comment from Karissa - 6/2/2016

    Hi Jesse S! Oh no, your Max Extract® 77 Multi-Surface Pro™ Carpet & Hard Floor Deep Cleaner should dispense water from both sides of the tank. We want to help. Please empty both sides of the clean water tank and fill only the clean water side with warm tap water. Turn the unit on to wash mode and pump the trigger 30 times, then hold it down for 30 seconds and repeat. This will help to flush the system. As for the handle release pedal, this sounds like something one of our service technicians may need to take a look at. To locate service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8a-6p EST. We're here for you!

    Jesse S
    Leavenworth, KS, United States
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    2nd unit and having the same problem
    3/21/2016

    Customer review by bbarn15

    1.0 stars 3/21/2016 by bbarn15
    by bbarn15

    I bout this unit last year at Sears, including a replacement warranty with them. When the unit stopped working several months ago, I took it back to Sears for a replacement. I have used the new one just a hand full of times since I got it probably 3 weeks ago. Today, I am cleaning my carpets, working fine for the first two tanks, and then just now it is releasing all of the detergent at one time and no clean water. I have read several other reviews where this is happening to other people as well. To me this is quite ridiculous and aggravating that after having gotten this type of feedback over and over something would have been to resolve this issue from happening again. It's very frustrating to buy a product ( a fairly expensive one at that) and it not work after only a handful of uses, not to mention that even a BRAND NEW ONE OUT OF THE BOX, did the same thing. I am a long time Hoover product user and this just puts a bad taste in my mouth, probably preventing me from ever purchasing another product in the future.

    Comment from Karissa - 3/23/2016

    Hi bbarn15! That sure doesn't sound like Hoover quality. We want to help. Please keep in mind your Max Extract® 77 Multi-Surface Pro™ Carpet & Hard Floor Deep Cleaner carries a two year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects. This sounds like something one of our service technicians may need to take a look at. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We're here for you!

    bbarn15
    Memphis, TN, United States
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Worst Carpet Cleaner I have every owned
    7/16/2016

    Customer review by fjng1313

    1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by fjng1313
    by fjng1313

    This machine is the worst, The first time I used it there was little drips of water coming out of the back of the machine not really a big deal at the time. Used it to do a quick clean. The next time I used it was going to clean my couch, did like two passing on the cushion and no more water was coming out of the hand tool, thought it was broken until i moved the main body and found out that all of the water had drained in to my carpet. The carpet was soaked. This machine is a not worth $200. Save your money. It's a shame I can not give a rating of less that 1. This would score a -10 for sure

    Comment from Karissa - 7/18/2016

    Hi fjng1313! Oh no, your Max Extract® 77 Multi-Surface Pro™ Carpet & Hard Floor Deep Cleaner should last longer than this. We want to help. Please remove the clean water tank from the platform of the machine and check the black rubber seal. Ensure the seal is not misaligned or broken. Place the tank back into place until it clicks, then turn the unit on to wash mode. Pump the trigger on the hose 30 times, then hold it down for 30 seconds. Water should begin to dispense. If not one of our service technicians would be more than happy to inspect the machine for you. Your model carries a two year warranty from the purchase date on the receipt that covers for any manufacturing defects. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

    fjng1313
    Charlotte, NC, United States
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Does not compare to my Platinum cleaner
    5/15/2016

    Customer review by ybddar

    2.0 stars 5/15/2016 by ybddar
    by ybddar

    I bought a Platinum cleaner some time ago and unfortunately the motor went up after 4 years where I only used it about 2x year. It was still under warranty so it was decided to replace my cleaner with this MaxExtract. I will say it does a good job of cleaning the carpets, but it just isn't as good as my Platinum. My main gripe about this cleaner and this is why I am only giving it 2 stars is because it throws out entirely too much water and soap onto the carpet. I've even tried pressing the trigger down only halfway and that does not help. I have not had a carpet cleaner do this before at all and I have been shampooing for years. This doesn't have anything to do with the seals either- they are fine. I use up almost an entire bottle of shampoo and have to stop at least 4 times and still don't finish one floor that includes 2 small rooms. Shampoo is not cheap either, when you're buying the good stuff, I use the PowerPro or Platinum and the latter is $20 a bottle. If there could be a way to adjust the amount of shampoo and water that comes out then this cleaner would be a lot better.

    Comment from Karissa - 5/20/2016

    Hi ybddar! Your Max Extract® 77 Multi-Surface Pro™ Carpet & Hard Floor Deep Cleaner should not dispense an excessive amount of water while holding the trigger. Please ensure only Hoover cleaning solution is being used as other brands or household cleaners can cause damage to the tanks and the machine. If the unit continues to dispense an excessive amount of water while holding the trigger down one our service technicians may need to take a look. Your model carries a two year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

    ybddar
    Baltimore, MD, United States
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    The worst
    6/26/2016

    Customer review by ctlindley

    1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by ctlindley
    by ctlindley

    My husband bought this for me in November and I was so excited to use it. I used it on the floor in the kitchen (vinyl) and on my hardwood (sealed). It scratched the hard wood (on just the #2 setting...not on #3) and it didn't clean the vinyl floor very well. The squeegee would stay attached to the front so I got water EVERYWHERE! I thought at least it would work to clean carpets---I was wrong. Just pulled it out after 6 months being in the closet and the brushes won't work. I've followed all the troubleshooting that Hoover recommends and looked for a tech to help--none within 100 miles :( So needless to say I have an overweight piece of garbage taking up space as it can't clean carpet or hard floors.

    Comment from Michael - 6/27/2016

    Hi! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. We want to help. For further assistance in this matter, please call 1-877-889-2009. We hope to hear from you soon!

    ctlindley
    Montana
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    NOT A STEAMER-NO HEAT
    2/28/2013

    Customer review by FirstTimeMama83

    3.0 stars 2/28/2013 by FirstTimeMama83
    by FirstTimeMama83
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I ordered mine online and the shipping was excellent, i got it on the 3rd day after i placed my purchased. It took me 10days until i took it out and used it for just a day. Compared to the bissell that i used to have for 3years, i find this cleaner very efficient except for two very important considerations. First for the price, i think its too expensive for this not to have a built-in heat, which lead to not helping getting stain out when using it. Second the water tank where it holds clean water and detergent leaks only after 4th refill. If you had a great stain that needs a good clean like chocolate syrup stain or dish soap on carpet like i did, this didn't do a very good job for me. It is so hard to find a good carpet cleaner out there that would last and do the job but this is not a keeper because it is impractical to keep something priced doubled. I returned mine and will probably settle for a cheaper carpet steamer that actually produced heat and do the job better.

    Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    FirstTimeMama83
    Hale, Mo
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Never
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    1-10 of 367 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 367 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 372 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 17 questions
    1-3 of 17 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by jickjack 11/1/2011
    11 answers
    • A. both
      by gbcfv9/30/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Carpet cleaner - rug shampooer
      by canistergirl5/10/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This is a carpet shampoo machine.
      by Fiesty544/17/2016
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Carpet and hard floor cleaner.
      by LDhuntr504/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It's a carpet and floor cleaner. It also has an attachment to clean upholstery.
      by hoodgrown8/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It is a rug shampooer and hard floor cleaner. Such as ceramic and wood flooring.
      by Cheifers6/25/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It is a shampooer. It has nozzles at front and mutiple spin brushes after sprayers. It works well! The vacuum part is powerful and has to be to extract the water from carpet. It is recommended that it not be used solely as a vacuum. It does not have the finer filter media to trap large particles that can damage the motor. make sure the two screens, one for dity water and one at front of machine, are cleaned regularly and at end of use.
      by MesaDweller8/2/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It is a rug shampooer. It also will clean hard tiled floors or vinyl flooring. There is a squeegee-type attachment for hard floors. There is also an attachment for spot-cleaning upholstered furniture, and an additional tool for doing carpeted stairs.
      by jazzyrose1/25/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This is a lean, mean, carpet cleaning machine. Great product.
      by scarlet014/17/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Rug shampooer
      by MsLazz482/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 17 questions See all
    1-3 of 17 questions
    Customers also viewed these products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  YEAR Years See details

    Warranty Information: 1 YEAR WARRANTY
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Returns

    Returns are easy at Walmart
    Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.