The Essential Barbra Streisand (2CD)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

The Essential Barbra Streisand (2CD)

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $3.10 (21%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 2)

1. Listen Sleepin' Bee
2. Listen Cry Me A River
3. Listen I Stayed Too Long At The Fair
4. Listen Lover Come Back To Me
5. Listen People
6. Listen My Man
7. Listen Second Hand Rose
8. Listen He Touched Me
9. Listen Don't Rain On My Parade
10. Listen Happy Days Are Here Again
11. Listen On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
12. Listen Stoney End
13. Listen Since I Fell For You
14. Listen What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?
15. Listen Way We Were
16. Listen All In Love Is Fair
17. Listen Lazy Afternoon
18. Listen Evergreen (Love Theme From A Star Is Born)
19. Listen My Heart Belongs To Me
20. Listen You Don't Bring Me Flowers
21. Listen Main Event/Fight
22. Listen No More Tears (Enough Is Enough)

Disc 2 (of 2)

1. Listen Woman In Love
2. Listen Guilty
3. Listen Comin' In And Out Of Your Life
4. Listen Memory
5. Listen Papa Can You Hear Me?
6. Listen Piece Of Sky
7. Listen Putting It Together
8. Listen Not While I'm Around
9. Listen Send In The Clowns
10. Listen Somewhere
11. Listen All I Ask Of You
12. Listen Children Will Listen
13. Listen As If We Never Said Goodbye
14. Listen I Finally Found Someone
15. Listen Tell Him
16. Listen I've Dreamed Of You
17. Listen Someday My Prince Will Come
18. Listen You'll Never Walk Alone

About the Album

Although Barbra Streisand has recorded for the same company, Columbia Records, throughout her career, her work has not been particularly well represented on compilations. Four single-disc best-ofs dot her discography, but the listener who wanted to do something as simple as purchase an album containing the original studio recordings of both her first Top Ten hit, "People," and her first number one, "The Way We Were," without plumping for the four-CD box set Just for the Record , was out of luck. Complicating the compiling of her career highlights is her position as essentially an album artist, despite having scattered 11 Top Ten pop hits across 32 years. The ideal collection would have to do justice to her popular early albums of the '60s, her mid-career singles hits of the '70s, and her renewed album success in the '80s and '90s. Here it is. At a CD-busting length of over two and a half hours, this 40-track double-disc set encapsulates Streisand's recording career in chronological order from her 1963 debut album to 1999. (Two previously unreleased tracks sound like outtakes from her later album projects. "Someday My Prince Will Come" probably got left off of A Love Like Ours, while the gospel-tinged "You'll Never Walk Alone" must have been intended for Higher Ground.) Intelligently picking signature performances from her best and most popular albums, it largely eschews a raft of singles that got into the bottom half of the Top 40, but leaves out only one Top Ten hit, "What Kind of Fool." The singer's versatility and her ability to impose her immediately identifiable vocal style on a variety of material are emphasized in recordings that range from Broadway show tunes to disco. A collection like this has been needed for a long time as a gateway to Streisand's bountiful, indeed overwhelming, catalog. ~ William Ruhlmann, Rovi
Artist: Barbra Streisand
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 2
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.23
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.5 x 0.5 x 7.44
UPC: 0069699861232

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5★ by 5reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5★ by A Classic in Every Aspect I like this CD a lot because it has all of the hits that I want but the sound quality was not so good. I guess I'm a youngster and therefore am used to the music quality/type of the new millenium. 07/09/2007
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Barbra Steisand If you are a Barbra fan, this CD is for you. A lot of her greatest hits. I liked the second CD the best. Not too fond of talking during one song or the applause track. 12/29/2007
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a WalmartŪ Credit Card and spend $75 today. Plus, learn how to save an additional $10. Apply Now

The Essential Barbra Streisand (2CD)
The Essential Barbra Streisand (2CD) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)