See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best bike out there super comfortable, super smooth. good components. exceeded my expectations. definitely worth the price. didn't think you could buy so much happiness with $400. a little heavy but that's alright. was assembled impeccably too. thanks walmart. 12/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bike for the price - I had it assembled before picking it up and had to bring it back to Walmart because had some gear adjustments and minor details, they were very nice and helpful. 10/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike !!! I am 72 years old (retired engineer) and was looking to modify a bike into a cruiser / hybrid with all the bells and whistles. I also did not want to take a second mortgage on my house in the process. I did an extreme amount of research and was really impressed with the 29” Mongoose XR-PRO MTB from Walmart. You will not find a MTB with all the features that this bike has for $379.00. The only major upgrade I made was a wider and softer seat which I knew would do automatically. I added the following creature comforts. Mileage Computer Rear Beam Cargo Rack Rear Kick Stand Water Bottle And Holder Adjustable Stem Stem Riser I typically ride 10 miles a day and really enjoy this bike. I know this is not the typical use for this bike but it matches my requirements to a “T”. If your requirements are similar to mine you will love this bike. I ordered this bike on line and the delivery was 4 days. It was easy for me to assemble and only required minor adjustments. If you are not mechanically inclined at all, you should have it assembled by your local bike shop. I hope this review was helpful. 02/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why Run?....Ride Instead! When I ordered the bike, it was not clear how much assembly it would take before you were able to ride the bike. Shipping was as promised and arrived in a double boxed package to protect the bike from any damage. Opening both boxes showed the bike in a compact partially assembled package. It was an easy removal, one piece bundle. On the box, they display the tools needed to assemble the bike which can be found in most any home tool box. Assembly was very easy and fast. I had the bike assembled in about a half hour taking my time to ensure it was complete. After getting the tires filled with air (they come partially filled), I took it for a quick ride in the driveway. I did not need to make any adjustments to the gears or brakes and decided to go for a longer ride. I spent about two hours riding the bike, learning the gears and testing the brakes and then hitting the trails. The Mongoose is a great bike and looks great. I will get a gel-filled seat, but the seat that comes with the bike is nice. The duel suspension system made the riding a pleasure and off road more controllable. The disk brakes on the front and rear wheels proved well coming to complete stops quickly and under control. Overall, a very well built and well worth the price bike. 12/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Bike for the Money Didn't want to shell out $800 for similar components on other bikes, tried this instead. Rides nice. So far, so good. Some hard trail riding and it's stood up thus far. 03/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay off the trails for road use only Works great on the road, no problem my husband took it to a trail for the first time and just by riding uphill one of the rear sprockets/gears bent about 90 degrees. A bent gear from just pedaling uphill and it wasnt even that steep. Not to mention half way through the trail it started to sound like a old squeaky matress. I would suggest this bike for road use and for looks. It's not really a mountain bike in my opinion. 08/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by strong bike regardless of all the bad reveiws i seen on this bike its by far the smoothest riding bike i have owned its quite except the brakes cus there not worn in yet shocks are great not too soft not too hard im 6'2 255 pounds and this bike fits me great it was easy to set up only thing i had to doo was put on handle bars a tire and the pedals then adjust brakes and gears after that i rode it most the day no problems whatsoever well worth the money a lot better than i thought it would be for the price and if something brakes most everything is replaceable. 02/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike for Beginners Technically, I bought this for the durable alloy frame as this is the only original part(s) left other than the Zoom neck which is extremely rugged as well. This bike had all the features I was looking for: Full suspension Disk Brakes 29" Wheels 24 speeds, etc. Finding all these features for under $400 makes this an exceptional value, even if they are low end components. Since the dimensional tolerances are standard, I was able to upgrade every part I desired to include: Rock Shox TK Recon Gold 100mm front fork w/remote lockout Rock Shox Monarch XX rear shock w/remote lockout Shimano Deore XT shifters/27 speed drive w/170mm cranks Avid Elixer 5 hyd brakes KS LEV 27.2 dropper post Salsa 680mm bar Mavic Cross Ride wheels Serfas RX saddle Since I bought it in May '13 I've put over 3,500 miles on this over the according to my Runtastic bike app and the frame is like new and is as durable as the $1,000+ frames I've had in the past. Essentially, this was supposed to be a back up bike for my carbon Trek but it turned into a project and actually prefer this over the Trek as it is much more forgiving when I take a spill in rough terrain which is a good testament to just how good this frame is engineered. The one improvement I'd like to see is better hardware as corrosion has forced me to replace the fasteners with hard to find/fabricate stainless steel components. 11/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money ! Ordered two of these for myself and the wife. We dont do all the downhill racing etc, just wanted some stable bikes for local trails. My wife was specific about wanting a FS bike (Full suspension) since shes recently had both Hips replaced and wanted the extra spring on the rear end to stop any jolts. The bikes were easy enough to assemble, no tools came with ours but its common tools (Allen Wrench, Spanner etc) so not a big deal. One of the bikes had a damaged front brake cable and broken bracket on the front fork for holding said cable. The bike was able to be ridden but a quick call to the Maker and new parts were shipped out. (Cant go wrong with a brand that will offer end user support like that) The ride is great, although the Disc brakes are not the best and take some time to *bed-in* correctly. Rear spring may as well not be there imo, probably the cheapest option. Will no doubt upgrade it when I can, the wife likes it, personally I think its 90% in her mind but whatever :) The tires are pretty terrible and I'll be replacing them as soon as possible, they are pretty cheap and nasty. Over all though, for $400 its a great bike. You have good options to upgrade with new tires, better suspension (front and back) better brakes etc. Is it a Trek ... no, but then your not paying $1000+ for it. For the money, I'd say its about the best FS bike around in that price range (300-500$) and well worth the cash we spent on our two. We've been riding them for about a week and so far all is well. Enjoying the good weather and our local bike trail. Overall I'd recommend this product, Great support from the maker, fine bike for the cash and has upgrade options unlike alot of the mass produced bikes that just dont take standard after market parts. Thumbs up!! 08/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Appears to be a great value for a FS 29" MTB Walmart will not give me enough time to let me really try this out, so here is what I think so far.... Appears to be a really good value for a full suspenion type 29" Mountain Bike - especially if you refuse to spend $1500 to $2k for a bike. I took it to a bike shop to have it put together - the younger mechanic just rolled his eyes, but the older guy put it together for me and gave me some feed-back. Shock is just average, but seat, brakes and gearing all seem to be better quality than he would have expected. May need wider tires for muddier conditions. It rode great the 5 miles or so that I have riden it so far - 1 week's worth. It did come with 2 left peddles, but the people at Mongoose answered the phone in California and had me the new set overnight. So far great service! My bike may be a one-of-a-kind - the metal emblem on the front was installed up-side down. Hope this is helpful - maybe I'll up-date my review at some point, but if I dont - it means that I am satisfied. 02/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bike For Price This bike iss affordable for the features it has and is very easy to assemble. Bike has good shocks for entry level mountain bike and has disc brakes. Assembly is a snap: Handlebars, Front wheel, Seat and Pedals - that's all you have to put together. After a few adjustments, I went for a 7 mile ride and it worked fine. I will be taking it to local bike shop for a tune up just to make sure gears and brakes are dialed in, but really this bike provided a good ride out of the box. Oh yeah - I'll, also be rpelacing the seat with a gel seat, but that's just personal comfort. 07/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by would not recoment YET heres the story, bought it from walmart.com using site to store. got it in about 5 days which was great. picked it up from the store today. when everything was said and done, it took almost 45 minutes to put together and tune the brakes and gears. it was very easy. i think i used one wrench, two allen keys and a phillips head screwdriver. im 5'6" and 140 and its a little big for me. i have very short legs which is probably the problem. but its a little tall. now comes the upsetting part. first ride after everything got dialed in, did a little bunny hop over a tree limb,(maybe 4 inches off the ground). i heard a pop, clank, and the rear wheel locked up. i looked back to find that i pulled the head of a spoke out of the rim, and snapped the rear derailleur in half. now i dont totally hate this bike yet. as of now i am not a fan but im going to return it and try my luck again. about the bike: the brakes are great once tightened and tuned. the gears are great once tightened tuned. the shifters will take a little getting used to. both are thumb switches. but it shifts very nicely once set up. which by the way is very easy. putting it together took about a half hour. the front shocks are a great. there are knobs on top of the shocks them selves but i dont think they are real adjusters. the rear shock is basically useless. it does nothing to dampen the bumps, but it could also be due to the fact that i am rather light. the seat is not the most comfortable thing iv sat on but it gets the job done. over all it looks great, and rides great. im going back to walmart to try to exchange it for another one in hopes that it wont break that easily, but if that doesnt work. i think im going to go to a bike shop and get a nice hardtail for $400. 07/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great foundation. Bike, It's a good buy, worth the money. There is a few things that need an upgrade like the rear shock, but over all good parts and frame. I picked this one up already put together. It was scratched and the head had water in it (couldn't figure that one out). I only knew because from time to time I would see rusty water. The brakes needed adjusting as well as everything else, but I know from experience it is going to get scratched and worked on many times, so it didn't bother me much. Over all very happy with it, but with Walmart not so much. 06/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike Great price! This is def a great bike for the price, has all the things I was looking for and I didn't have to fork out at least $700 or more at a bike shop. Highly recommend!! 05/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best bike sold at a general store I ordered this bike site to home. I paid 341.10 on the internet. Took one week to get and was boxed great. Took two hours to put together and tune everything right. I could go on but just check out www.bigboxbikes.com under 29er thread,first page topic :walmart mongoose xr pro 29. There is over 97 pages of info on just this bike in that topic alone. This site can and will tell you everything you need to know about this or any bike out there. Great bike to upgrade as money allows. Get one you wont regret it at any price. 10/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my second bike - first one developed a loud clicking noise while peddling. Local bike shop could not determine the cause and rather than pay the facility to tear it apart I returned it to my local Walmart. Refund was painless and, because I really like the bike - just wanted one sans the click, click, click, I immediately reordered another one right there at the store. Arrived earlier than expected (very nice) and have not had any problems with this one. I do understand products can sometimes come with minor problems; what matters to me is how 'after the sale' resolutions are handled. I really appreciated the 'no-hassle' policy and would recommend this product and where I purchased it. 12/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice bike. Met all my expectations. This is an awesome bike and already have had expert bike folks admire the style and construction. I feel like I made the correct decision - and I'm not an expert bike dude - so that really makes the deal seem worthwhile to me. Shipping was fast and arrived in great condition when it was scheduled. Overall a very positive experience. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for a fair price Very pleased with overall quality of bike.Slight adjustments needed(as with any bike)out of the box but bike rides great.Bike mainly used on smooth roads,but seems to handle trails very well also.Have only put about 75 miles on bike so far and very happy with my purchase. 10/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This bike is really bad, don't buy it , you will regret. The front wheel is too big , when you step forward and make turns, it will entangle your feet. When I purchased the 2nd day, the front break was broken...Returned it on the 4th day... 06/26/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Assembly and condition when unpacked Couple of items worth noting. 1. The bike handle bars has stickers missing. 2. Factory preparation quality was off as the front brake cable needed reworking in order to assemble the handle bars with our any tension on the brake line. In other words the rider should be able to turn the bike without restriction. All in all the bike looks sharp and to be a performer. I'll provide a second review once my left sprained ankle has healed. 08/19/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by corners cut sprocket system very cheaply made. Warranty wouldnt do any good as i assume the damaged parts would have been of the same poor quality. Frame seems fine to support the weight (~235#). Seat seems ok so far for durability. Will be upgrading sprockets soon as they don't feel reliable & shift a little funky even tho it is new. Wish I would have had the cash to get a standard model not their "made for Walmart" one. There is always a reason for price differences :( 09/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mongoose XR-PRO 29" I bought this for a practice bike to save wear on my Motobecane FS, which I race. I now take this bike to the races with me for a back up bike. I want to race it just to see what it will do but haven't yet. For a bike that cost less than 1/2 of my race bike, it works well and is easily adjustable. I like the easy up/down shifting, very precise. Overall, a great value for the money. 07/11/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not A Bad Bike At all well the bike isn't that bad at all just a few issues when you ride it... your feet will hit the tires when turning and i suggest taking it to a bike shop and paying for it to get tuned up as well..... some of the gear have a hard time going into but that might just be me... this is my first 29inch bike and overall it is a great bike and would recommend it to anyone that's ready to ride on some rough roads and trails.... 06/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great bike for the money. Get ready to pay an additional charge for the bike being put together and tuned correctly. Once my bike was put together, I couldn't change gears or stop the bike. Most of the people putting the bikes together, don't experience the adjustment and tuning the bike needs. My suggestion is take to a bike shop. It cost me $85.00 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the money. Lots of fun to ride & no problems. Handled rough terrain well. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 69 yr old rider Great bike,Excellent Price 06/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I needed for a great price! We went into Wal-Mart looking for a basic bike just to ride for casual bike rides, not wanting to spend a lot of money and after about three hours of price comparing, reading online reviews, and test driving, I decided on this one. It is just awesome. Sleek, comfortable, very nice disc-brake system, quick release front and back tires, excellent button click up or down gear system. I paid a little more than I was expecting to pay for a bike that day but came away with a bike I will have and love for years to come. I ordered online and had the bike shipped to my house where I easily assembled it in about half an hour. This saved me some money as the price was cheaper online and gave me a mint condition bike that I am very happy with thus far. I am looking forward to many years of use and making some customized improvements to give it a personal touch. 06/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer This bike is awesome! I was hesitant to buy it but now that I own the bike I can't understand why! For the price this bike screams quality 06/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mongoose XR Pro 29" Arrived double boxed, no damage. Instructions are a little vague. The front brake disk rubbed slightly on the fork when the wheel was tightened...took a little filing down of a small burr on the fork to fix but nothing major. The gears worked very well right out of the box. The brakes need a little adjusting. The seat is comfortable but even for an average height person (I'm 5'8") the seat could use a little more height adjustment. The components seem to be fairly good quality for a budget-priced bike. I'm confident this bike will do all I need and then some. It's a good looking bike, too. 06/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% happy No complaints and 100% happy with the XR PRO mountain bike.Thanks! 06/12/2014
31-60 of 79 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew487
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp