See All Reviews
Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder
Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk. I attempted to call support. They sent me to a web page that helped me in no way. 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have another one of these Blu Ray/DVD recorder and have been happy with it. When we needed another we bought the same brand. 08/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic DVD recorder. Not many left to choose from nowadays. This is a good basic recorder, with no bells or whistles. Remember, this does NOT record off the air. The DVD tray is rather slow to open and close, a little spooky, but it does what it's advertised to do, and that's record on DVD. For the price, it's a good backup to your combo DVD/VCR that you can't find for sale anymore. Small and compact, get it while you can. 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BOUGHT THIS DVD RECORDER LESS THAN A WEEK AGO..SO FAR IT SEEMS FINE. WE HAVE AN OUTSIDE ANTENNA AND WANTED TO RECORD SHOWS TO WATCH LATER. WE ADDED A DIGITAL CONVERTER BOX (SUNKEY-$30) AND IT HAS DONE EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED IT TO DO. HOPE IT CONTINUES TO PERFORM GREAT. WE ALSO BOUGHT AN EXTRA 3 YEAR WARRANTY JUST IN CASE IT QUIT WORKING. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for the price I did extensive shopping for a DVDR and there are very few on the market. Walmart beat out every other price which was 14 to 39.00 higher. Shipping store to store eliminated shipping costs too. At the moment I am a happy customer as the item works well and does have a turner too. It will operate independently when the right input is set on the TV. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy camper I bought this as a replacement for my 6 year old Sunaii (nuff said!) which was constantly popping up "error-disc not recordable" messages despite using the recommended discs. Please use only discs recommended for this recorder, such as sony, jvc, verbatim, etc. DO NOT USE THE MEMOREX brand discs-you are just asking for problems. The player was very reasonably priced and looks good with my other electronics. The remote and menu are easy to use, and the recorder writes and finalizes very quickly. Discs take about 15 seconds to load but i believe this is normal with all dvd recorders. It came with a/v cords but my tv only accepts component and hdmi. I usually use hdmi anyway so no biggie there. My only real problem is with the recording mode timer lengths which are 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 hours but you can always manually stop recording and finalize yourself. I am just lazy and always automatically finalize at the end of timer recording. I only burn one movie per disc just to ensure i get the best possible quality. Also, the 3-year warranty is only 17 dollars. Get it! I hope this helps. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by so far, so good...have had problems with other recorder/players, frezzing. records a nice picture, easy to use and plays on other brands. I record lots of tv shows from a regular antenna on rewritable dvds. Thanks, toshiba for still making dvd recorders! 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good dvd recorder I found this Toshiba DVD Recorder to be a relatively nice recorder at a reasonable price. The recorder lacks a Tuner, so you will need some sort of input device, such as an external tuner or a composite video input/output switch. There is an upgrade for this device that comes with a built-in tuner, but it obviously costs more. In any case, after a little bit of studying the manual and so on, I was able to record some events on TV. The Recorder knows copy righted material and does not allow you to copy them. I tried to copy an old VHS to a DVD disc for storage purposes, but it did not allow me. One thing, if you call Toshiba's 800 number, do not select the DVD line, because you will be disconnected. Choose the TV line to get through the machine and get help. As far as customer support, they're so so. I like Samsung customer support. 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this to replace an older unit. Works great and very easy to use. 05/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good DVD player Very easy to set up and use. Have recorded several DVDs already with no problems. Plays well, but does have an annoying high pitched hum when you put a DVD in the player, but the annoying hum does goes away when you are actually watching the DVD. I ordered the DVD on Sunday and it arrived on Monday! Overall good purchase. 05/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Returned product. Instructions too difficult. 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Works great Be aware there is no built in tuner so it limits your options. 03/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Upon receipt I open the packaging and thoroughly read the instructions. This unit was to be a replacement for my eight-year-old Sony DVR. After figuring out how to do the wiring I unwrapped unit and noted that it would be necessary to open the front door of the unit. Upon examination this proved to be very difficult and I believe that if I did Forsett it would breaIk some of the plastic. To rectify this, I attempted to contact Toshiba technical support. After wasting an hour trying to get in touch with them over the Internet and phones, (and receiving incorrect instructions on how to phone them) I was able to connect to an organization that says they were Toshiba tech support. However, if I wanted to use them I would have to pay them $48 even talk to them. This was completely unacceptable. Considering the problems I was already having I decided it would be cheaper to repair my eight-year-old Sony unit, which I did for hundred and $50 (it now works fine and is superior to what I think the Toshiba would've done.) If I were Walmart I would not carry Toshiba products 06/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by is good and easy to control 05/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This recorder does not have a built in tuner. The specifications are silent regarding the need to have a seperate tuner. If you are looking for a recorder with its own tuner, this isn't it. I had to return it. 09/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by low playback audio low playback audio. I return to store. 06/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I returned the DVD recorder it was not what I wanted. 12/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Limited options I bought three of them, and one of them burned out in less than 10 hours of use. I guess I should have taken the amount of factory refurbished ones available as a bad sign, but because there are a limited amount of manufacturers selling DVD burners nowadays, I was kind of stuck with it. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This replaced my regular dvd recorder. Really like that it upscales dvd's when playing AND gives the HD recording ability. 10/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It quit working after 6 months. Maybe I just got a bad one, but it died after 6 months. If you get one, get a warranty with it I think. 10/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Toshiba is worth the money My previous Toshiba recorder (similar model) was a bit quieter. This one however met my expectations and is of better quality, than similar price units from other manufacturers. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good price and it meets our need. 09/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! The tray makes noise when it goes in and out....but seems to work OK. The recording and playback is awesome. 09/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK for most operations A little annoying getting used to the different functions and controls. But, works well. 09/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by did not work had to return, broken, new out of box. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Than Expected This dvd player/recorder is just what I've always wanted. I just recorded a TV program and played it back, and I could not tell the recording from the actual Tv program. The picture quality is wonderful. The price was more than reasonable, only $44.99, for such a quality product. 08/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by does its job had to replace a sony gsx300, it lasted 8 years. not many choice available. . there is no automated setup feature, convenient for each power failure. programing the record function seems tedious. with time and experience, i maybe overcome these software challenges. BUT, you CAN'T beat the price. less than hundred dollars, including tax and shipping. thanks you toshiba, i hate getting up at 7:30 am on sunday for the formula one races. 06/03/2012
31-58 of 58 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw312
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp