Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 82 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Storage Solution I've bought other storage containers ove the years but nothing comes close to Roughneck Storage Box. The height of the box allows books and albums to be stored upright. Each member of my family has one for keepsakes. Those boxes are stacked four high in my storage room and the bottom two boxes shows no sign of distress from the weight on top. The lid stays on tight and the handles allow you to have a firm grasp on the boxes. I'm also using the Roughneck boxes to store Christmas decorations as I'm not worried about the boxes being "crushed". 02/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roughneck Storage This container is perfect for all my Christmas decorations. By wrapping some of the not so breakables individually, I can save space by not having to use so many boxes to store everything. There's no worries about anything getting squished in this container! 02/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Arctic Luggage! These Roughneck Storage Boxes, we call them totes, are one of the best and most versatile inventions known to man! THESE ARE MAILABLE AT THE POST OFFICE! I teach in remote Alaskan fly-in villages, and this is a teaching staple! Most teachers use these boxes exclusively to mail and ship (by air, snowmachine, boat, barge, etc) everything. We drill holes through the lids and lips of the boxes, then use zip ties to close them up! The U.S, Postal Service accepts these, even the 17 gallon size. They are very common and I've never had one break or anything-they are guaranteed! Even in temperatures of 40 below 0, they do not split open or otherwise fail us! I write my name and other "home base" info on the sides in case the address label comes off, which has happened. These boxes can hold a load of things, and while you'll need muscles to move them, they are still taken at the post office. They are also handy for storing water once you're in a village-an essential in some places. We've used them for a small bathtub, and I think I've stored everything imaginable in them! I've been meaning to write to Rubbermaid for years, to ask them to drill holes in them for us ahead of time so that they would be uniform, but I've made a template for mine now. I've seen school district offices use these for books and other teaching supplies, library requests in the Alaskan "Bush". We use them to cart food in when we "go to town". Thousands and thousands of pounds of a variety of things are carted around in these Roughneck boxes in Alaskan villages regularly! Even when I stop teaching someday, I'll always have these dependable boxes around! They just last and last, don't crack like other brands. THERE IS NO EQUAL TO THESE ROUGHNECK BOXES! No adverse weather conditions affect these boxes! They are handled roughly and just keep going and going! 02/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Buy !! The Roughneck Storage Box is fantastic. We bought these years ago and they are still holding up. The are very sturdy and strong. They stack on one another just perfect. Very long- lasting. 02/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roughneck Storage Box I have used these boxes quite often and overall give it 5 stars. The only suggestion I would think would make it better is to have a slot on either the side or front to put a 3x5 paper indicating contents. 02/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdiest Container I've been using these containers for years. I've never had anything break when stored in these containers from Christmas items to children's momentos. 02/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Ever Storage unit I only use Rubbermaid products. I have found this storage unit to be excellent. I t keeps everything dry one time we had several on the back of our truck and a rainstorm came upon us.When we got home and were able to check the contents- everything was perfect! i LOVE THIS PRODUCT!! 02/09/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lid doesn't fit storage perfectly I was on the market for storage, and someone recommended me this product. I bought 8 of them. When I was at home, I put the lid on every storage, 5 lids would not fit storage box perfectly (they did not lock at all - either the lids were too small or a bit too big). I went to the store to exchange them. Please make sure to put and lock the lid to the storage box to see that they fit before you leave the store to prevent you from having this problem. When I was at the store to exchange this products, I met with 2 customers who had similar problem. 01/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Long Term Storage Solution I have countless numbers of these in use now and plan on getting more. They keep my items dry and safe. They stack so nicely and I love the color of them (which to some would be unimportant but I'm all about blue!). I recommend these often as they are an excellent value for the money (like almost all Rubbermaid products are). 01/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very durable... Great storage unit, very durable...hot and cold weather! 10/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest Organizer...EVER I have more than 35 of these Rubbermaid Roughneck Storage Boxes. I use them for all of my holiday storage. It keeps all my decorations clean and dust free. It keep the crushable items safe. They stack and can be labeled easily. I use different colors for each holiday. In our office, I also use them to store files and all the dreaded papers we must keep. I use them in the garage to store all of our camping gear. It makes our camping trips a snap - everything is already to go and everything fits perfectly in our car. Weather is no problem, because the containers keep everything dry and ant free!! I have had some of these containers for over 10 years - and they still are in great condition and still look good. I would definitely recommend Rubbermaid Roughneck Boxes - they are very versatile. You can literally use them for anything! 10/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Next Move In this transient society some of us are always thinking about the next move. These boxes are great for the thinkgs that we can't bear to get rid of but don't use. They can stay packed without worrying about bugs in the cardboad. Speaking of cardboard, the cost of moving boxes goes up and up. These were almost the same price as the comperable sized moving box and they have handles and don't show the wear of repeated use the way boxes do. I can pack non-breakables myself and save a significant amount on the movers bill. The beautiful display that a quilter's fabic creates in a closet just isn't worth having to refold and reorder over and over again. My craft supplies can have permanent homes in these boxes. A quilting project can be put away at any point (company coming?) in this sized box without worrying about having to re-iron all the pieces because they were jammed into a small box or bag. Winter clothes/summer clothes, these boxes fit under the hanging garments in he closet or on the shelf. The same goes for linens - flannel sheets and heavy blankets switch with regular sheets and light quilts easily. The lids may not be as tight as some of the others but it is enough for most purposes. A quick swipe of movers tape around the box keeps things safe during a move. Two stacked with a tablecloth over them make a neat end table. The linens for when someone sleeps on the couch lives in one and the rest of the do-dads for rotating display fills the other. If you don't like the indentations under the tablecloth, you can get an inexpensive glass top or wood cut to fit. The same set-up in the bedroom provides space for an extra afgan for napping and all those books you keep telling yourself you'll get to. It isn't stylish for nightstands to match so no one will notice. 10/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Useful for more than storage In addition to storing gardening supplies—compost and potting soil right now—I've discovered the Roughnecks make ideal soaking containers for plastic pots and windowboxes. Fill the container with hot water, cleaning agent (I've used Simple Green), and a bit of bleach to kill any fungus growing on the pots. Let them soak for a few hours, or even days, and you have clean pots for next spring with minimal scrubbing. 10/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Storage I have used these for my seasonal decorations for over 15 years. They keep them in great shape even when my basement flooded. 10/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Storage!! I love the Roughneck Storage Boxes. I have used them for over 25 yrs. They are great for storing seasonal stuff and they were really great when we were moving. They kept everything clean, dry, and in great condition. They are also great because they stack very easily-especially in the trailer. I still have some of the original ones I purchased back in the early 90's. I suggest these to everyone I know. 10/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this! I love the fact that I can fill these with off-season clothes, blankets, craft stuff, etc. and when they're stored in the garage, nothing gets dusty! they keep so tightly shut, I don't have to worry about anything! 10/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outlasted Them All I have had this container since I was in college of 1998 & I still have it to this day... So you can just imagine the wear & tare it has had on it! It is still storing all my precious memories. Now I would call that durability! 10/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Storage Box Available I have tried a LOT of other storage containers over the years. This is the ONLY one I will purchase now. It is very durable, stackable, and the lids interchange with other size containers. I like that it seals well enough to keep out moisture, spiders, and dirt. 10/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I buy and use many of these storage boxes. They are sturdy, easy to stack, and, of course, waterproof. Great for safely storing things in the basement if you have an older home (which might get seepage during a heavy storm). Keeps things from getting musty smelling. I recommended them to son and DIL for storing my granddaughter’s extra clothes and bulky toys while they were in apartment with the idea that they could be used for other kinds of storage when they got a home. The other advantage for moving the toys meant you only had to put the lid on (plus a little tape) and they were ready to move, which did happen. They also bought two more (on my suggestion) to move liquids that could leak during the move. They now are storage for sporting equipment, holding recyclables in garage, and storing outgrown clothes by size. 10/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 GREAT ITEM!!! This product is very durablity and realible. I've had most of mine for years and they've held up really well. I continue to use them to this day. 10/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roughneck is right!!! In the summer of 1997, I purchased a bunch of roughneck storage boxes to pack my belongings for college. They have lasted through six moves to various dorms and apartments. Since 2005, I have been using two of my 10 gal boxes as recycling bins. Every now and again, they are blown out into the street where they are bumped and/or run over by the cars on our street. Even flattened and mangled, I can pop them back into shape and they are rarely worse for wear. Today I did a scavenger hunt through the neighborhood to find the bins for our building that were blown away by the wind. The bins my upstairs neighbors used were cracked into pieces and unusable (definitely not Rubbermaid). I found mine dented, scratched, crushed and STILL useable!!!! I reshaped one and brushed the dirt off the other. I can't praise you enough for such a durable product! These containers are practically indestructable!! 10/07/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Handiest Purchase I bought this container for pet food storage. It has worked well for ten yrs. This last time when I moved I found the side had split. Now I have to buy a new one. I thought this would last longer. 08/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy! I've used these for breeding various insects over the years. They work great. The stackability could use a little bit of fixing, but otherwise they work wonderfully. 07/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Picnic Tote We use this size as a tote for our picnic supplies. We like to travel by car alot and the kids love to stop and have picnics when we do, so this is our go to size box for picnic supply storage. I can place everything we need for our picnic inside and it gets to the site in perfect condition. Even when DH puts the suitcases on top of it! Summer is a great time for picnics and this tote just makes it so easy to have everything organized and ready to picnic whenever we want! 06/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Camping We also use these for camping. One for cooking gear and tableware, and one for dry food storage. Using one for storage of non-perishable food gets the food to our campsite in great condition. No more wet cardboard boxes, burst bags or squished bread. And if something does manage to spill, the mess is contained within the bin so our vehicle stays clean. I would highly recommend these to people who drive to their campsite or rental cabin. 06/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for travel We use this size bin to store travel size games and small books for the kids when we travel and when we go camping. Everything stays organized and accessible. This size fits perfectly in the space between the seats in our van so both kids can reach what they need. 06/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deluxe Container Garden I planted potatoes, radishes, lettuce, celery,asparagus and onions at my duplex complex. Now the other 11 residences are doing the same....not just for sweaters anymore. Great Radishes! 06/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I have several of those. The oldest pair is teal green from the early 90's (back when teal was the color on everything) and the youngest pair is purple. I have used it to store things, laundry (performed its task far better than laundry baskets back then). The older ones r well used and it still continues to serve me well. Here are a couple pictures of them. 02/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wish I could get these on line! We go through hundreds of these each year for our business. Both the 14 gal and the 18 gal totes. I wish I could order these on line instead of having to go to a local store to buy them. 11/11/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better these are o.k. but the problem is that the vertical base design is slightly flawed. the idea for the top is to allow stackability, but because this is so tall, it threatens bulging inward. another problem is that not much fits neatly inside of it, and therefor waste space, instead i recommend the 14 gallons, they are more stable and fit in tidier places the benefit of this bin is if you are storing liquids, then you are able to hold more, but i still feel that it is less stable. 11/03/2008
31-60 of 77 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew96
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp