Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 632 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The camera operates with minimal ease and the photos are fabulous I first purchased this camera on the 3rd of July 2012 and I assembled it in the parking lot of the church were we were going to watch the fire works. Well as soon as it got dark I started taking the photos and just about every pictures was in perfect focus and the detail of the smoke etc from the display was outstanding. I would recommmend this camera for any one with little or many years of experience All the pictures were hand held no support was used at all 07/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent pictures, Ease of picture management. For what use I have been able to get out of the camera, I think it is fantastic at capturing shots. There are many features to re-learn from years of point and shoot , but I am looking ahead to great images. I have had an issue with the battery charger (even buying extra batteries to no avail) and have been without the use of the camera for almost four weeks. Hopefully, the service center will get me a replacement soon. Finding a replacement charger at a local store has been impossible. Why no marketplace? 07/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Manual capability and ability to use old nikor lenses I have very limited use of the Nikon D5100, because I only bought the body and using old Nikon lenses which I had with Nikon-FE. However, my macro lens is in India. I took some pictures with Nikon EM regular lens. I have to estimate speed and aperture size to get right exposure. It works out well. I takes little more time to shoot the picture. I have to specify ISO speed and aperture size to get the picture. When I will have my macro lens in November, I will be able to take good close up pictures with more depth. If I have to take pictures, at present I have to shoot from 10 to 15 feets to get get reasonable depth. Unfortunately, the design of the camera is different, and does not meet 35 mm. standard, I have to see how it all works out. Anyway I liked the manual feature. The cost of film and development time is not required to see the result ot shooting. I have not used movie features of the camera. I liked the camera on the whole. 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This one is amazing I just wanted to shoot several portraits for better than point and shoot cameras so I bought without thinking, no reading reviews and no knowledge of Nikon. I shot thousands film camera photo before and this D5100 is the my first DSLR. I could not believe the quality of photos from this little camera for money. I got 2 lens set and used 55-300mm for portrait. when I used this lens I felt like I was shooting photo with lens because of camera was so light and smaller than D90 up. I may need a little bigger and heavier body but this one does everything I need. I will keep this camera even I get FX model in near future. 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Camera I am still learning the camera and all the features, but looking forward to getting another lens to really see what it can do!! 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera, fantastic options I had always wanted a Nikon and finally took the plunge. I wish I had done this 40 years ago. This camera is easy to use so my family members can use it but there are so many options which i have learned and will use such as Portrait, Landscape, and Candlelight. It also has all the custom settings available for the more technical user. 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Make big smile on face :) I love my Nikon D5100 camera. I trying to achieved my photography passion with this camera. This is a powerful camera with light weight and it's 16.2 megapixel makes more powerful. I used almost all functions,like some time I click through remote,some time watch my picture and video review through HDMI on my Sony Bravia 3D TV . It looks awesome. This is just a great camera. Thank you, Nikon. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recently bought this camera. I was in between D7000 and D5100. I'm a happy camper! I did extensive research on what to buy just to make sure I get the most bang for my buck. And so far I love my camera I recently took it on a trip to North Carolina and I'm so glad I did. I bought mine with the 18-55 mm lens and I felt it was especially good and crisp on this camera. The tilt screen is really handy with doing self portraits or pictures with friends. I am still learning how to use the camera and have had it about a week. So far no complaints! Very user friendly it even shows which setting are best for what you may be trying to shoot right on the screen. With and ISO the same as the D7000 and the camera much cheaper I had more money for another lens. I'm very happy with my purchase. Here are some pictures I have taken on auto mode as I figure out manual on Nikon cameras as I'm not used to it. Though I am not a complete amateur, I have had 2 years of photo classes and have worked with manual on film cameras for over a year. I have been taking photos for 3 years. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Nikon d5100 Only had my Nikon d5100 for a week but I am already in love with it! The auto functions are super easy and I can't wait to learn how to use the other features. My eye sees the photo, but my Nikon d5100 makes the finish product fabulous! 07/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a Great Camera One of the best cameras I have ever owned. Great features to make you photos beautiful! 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome, easy to use, high quality camera There is much to learn to use this camera, but from the start, it is easy to take excellent high quality photos. I would highly recommend an additional longer range lens. I added the Nikkor 55-300, which takes detailed clear pictures at large distances. Great for action and outdoor. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeping the Legagy Going On I have been shooting Nikon from the FM days, and have kept up with the changes in the equipment we use, but not HOW we shoot. Nikon glass rules, and the 5100 is happy that any lens from the "good old days" will still take great photos. 07/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by D5100 I really like the camera The size and weight is perfect. I have a d7000 and it is substantially heavier. I also really like the photo scene modes, which are for beginners, but i find they work for me as a very experienced photographer as well. For example, the portrait mode - just works, and saves me a lot of time switching dials. On the d7000 there is much more flexibility, but frankly, much of it is just confusing and unless you use it every day (and dont switch cameras) you are likely to make mistakes with the settings. I also find the focusing on the d5100 to be easier than on the d7000 which is supposedly more capable. On the d7000 I sometimes get shots out of focus and I just dont know why. But on the d5100, the autofocus seems to instinctively work better. I do wish the camera had 2 things - internal focusing motor, and high speed flash sync. But other than those omissions, it works very well for me. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love at first sight i feel in love with this camera the first time i seen it. but after playing with it (taking photos) i knew that this camera was ganna be a member of my family for a long time. pictures are priceless. im not a photographer, but take pictures every single day of my kids! picture quality is awesome. still finding new things my camera can do each day! 07/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Functionally i like this camera. I basicaly like this camera, but in only 2 month of usage, I faced the sutiation that command dial doesn't work properly. I just took aroud 1,500 photos under normal circumstance.....I ask Nikon more higher product reliability. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing quality I have waited on a camera like this forever and absolutely love it. I hope it lasts for many years to come. 07/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had a conversation with the Pro,s.all use Nikon..they like the D-5100 ..very nice camera i,m still learning all its features, but i,m amazed at the picture quaility and ease of use. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful This is my first "real" camera and so far I have really enjoyed it. It has all sorts of wonderful features and with a telephoto lens; definitely worth the investment. Great quality. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera for the price and quality. This was my first upscale digital camera coming from film cameras, point and shot and now the D5100. I found this camera was very easy to learn to use and started buying a better flash unit and extra battries and flash cards. Since my purchase I'v enjoyed taking more photos and learning the features of the software provided to improve my photos. The ease of use makes taking different subjects a pleasure. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Camera I love the ergonomics of this camera and if you add a good wide angle and tele photo lens to the system you'll be able to cover anything you wish to accomplish in photography. The special in camera effects just add to the value of this little Nikon. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera I love this camera. I wanted something better than my old point and shoot that would give me great pictures. Just make sure to get some decent lenses the 18-55 mm lens is not ideal for good picture taking. It has ton of features that I love and the pictures are great 07/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Camera broke and had to be sent back within 2 months-how disappointing I initially loved my Nikon D5100 which I got in May. Two months later I get an error message, called Tech Support and was told it has to be returned to Nikon. I was shocked that a Nikon would break within 2 months and have to be sent back for "repairs". I don't want it repaired, I want a new camera I've used Nikon cameras for over 20 years. I am very disappointed in the quality of a camera which would break after a few uses on the weekends. I have now missed some priceless shots of a Kildeer Plover birds hatching, not to mention taking images for my amateur camera club competition. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by uma grande camera num corpo pequeno e agradavel para trabalho estra camera e otima , nao tenho nada a falar mal dela ,, apesar de estar de olho na nikon d4 .. uma coisa que nao concordo com o que esta escrito aqui .. ""Vida da Bateria (fotos por carga) 660 fotos (CIPA)""" pois eu ja consegui tirar mais de 1500 fotos em uma inica noite .. entao esta camera se supera a cada dia .. asim que for conhesendo ela melhor ... eu a recomendo 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best of it class. I had the niken d40 before .but thought is the best , am so proud with this d5100 and to show off with friends 07/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The electronic part of this camera is not the most brilliant feature. The D5100 has an excellent image quality, it's a great camera for people that are starting in photography world, however it disappointed me after three months of purchase. I had serious problems with the mode dial. When I selected "S" mode, the camera system worked in Automatic mode, when I selected "M" mode, the camera worked in "A" mode. I sent the camera to the technical support, they lasted two months and then when they give me the camera back , i discovered it had been battered. This problem has really dissapointed me because I thought Nikon was a responsable brand. I thought Nikon produced high quality products. I'm sorry to be negative, but i chose Nikon because of the quality of its products. Now I hope that my camera won't have future problems. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by bottom line: easy to use, great images, user-friendly controls and menus - great camera The D5100 is my first dslr, (my first Nikon was a Nikon F) and it is a terrific camera. I appreciate the ease of using the menus and the outside controls, the relative light weight of the body, fast focusing and accurate metering, and no noise at reasonable iso settings. The bottom line is it is capable of producing fabulous images. I use both the kit 18-55 mm lens and the 18-200 VRII lens, but the 18-200 is usually on the camera. I have never felt that I was limited by the quality of either lens or camera, and I have grown a great deal by exploring the potentials of both. I frequently have prints made from cropped images and have no problem going to 11X14". (I suppose I could go larger; I just haven't tried it.)One of the reasons I opted for the D5100, rather than the D7000, was the articulating screen. While I do not shoot video, and can't comment on the D5100's video performance, the screen comes in handy so many times, and not just for low or high angle shots. I find it makes it possible to do street photography without confronting people. I can be facing 90 degrees from the people I am photographing, looking at the screen in live view, with the camera/lens pointing at them. On the negative side, and I consider these minor - negligible at this price point - the viewfinder could should show 100% of the scene, and some weather sealing would be appreciated. But as it is, the D5100 is marvelous example of technology in the service of art. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm Not Disappointed I've had my D5100 for about a month, and I discover something new on it almost everyday. I've been doing photography for over 40 years, and before I retired, I was a wedding photographer for almost 15 years. What comes easily for my 5100, used to be, what I called a difficult shot using medium format equipment. So far, and I see no reason for this to change, the exposures and focus have been right on the money. Don't leave the camera set in "P" mode only. Experiment! That's how you get better. Use the built in flash and see your results. I was really surprised with my first flash shots. Skin tones were true, and there was very little shadow. When I used to shoot weddings, I used a portable, studio location kit. I think I can get the same results with this camera, and one of the Nikon SB flashes. However, things aren't perfect. I don't know what criteria was used to determine how many exposures you could get on fully charged batteries, but I don't even come close. I think Nikon claims around 600 exposures, I'm lucky if I get 80. But, since the pack charges in 90 minutes, it's not too big a deal. What I recommend is buy a spare battery pack. And since these packs are lithium ion, the battery power won't fade in storage like the old ni-cd's. All in all, this camera has been a lot of fun to use. I don't know how many algorithms are in the processor, but there must be a bunch. Because of that, a beginner could start with this camera, and grow into it. Which makes me jealous, because all the different wedding shots I used to work hard for, this camera does with ease. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic features, great for practically everything! I have had this camera for about a year now, and I absolutely adore everything about it. The swivel screen is really handy when photographing things at awkward angles, as well as protecting the screen when it isn't in use. The fun features (selective color, miniature, etc.) are fun to play with, and, once you get used to the controls for them, very simple to use. I have young cousins, and they love playing with all of the special effects. The camera does get a bit heavy after carrying it around for a while, but I'm sure that could be fixed by investing in a better strap. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best for new photo enthusiasts!! I am a novice in DSLR world and I am still learning how to use this camera to the best of its ability. However Nikon have enough pre-defined modes to take pictures in any possible scenario. I just love the camera and it's ease of use. 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great this is an marvelous camera i bought it but is little complicated to use but has a great result... 07/18/2012
91-120 of 631 total reviews
Previous 2 3 4 5 6  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw471
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp