Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

Q&A
By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000608381
Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Customers also considered

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Nikon D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time auto focus.
 

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.


The Nikon D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time auto focus.
 

Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Camera:

  • 16.2 megapixel resolution with high-quality still images and video recordings
  • Featuring 1080p Full HD Movie Recording, Picture Control, Special Effects Modes, Dust-reduction system, Advanced Scene Modes and Optical VR Image Stabilization
  • NIKKOR 18 - 55mm zoom lens

  • With Focus Modes, Auto Focus System, TTL phase detection, Glass Lens
  • 3.0" Vari-Angle LCD display with image editing features

  • Featuring Brightness Adjustment, easy-to-read menu system, color TFT LCD screen, in-camera editing
  • Built-in flash with flash sync modes

  • Additional Features:
  • 1 SD/SDHC/SDXC memory card slot (memory card not included)
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery up to 600 shots
  • ISO Modes: 100-3200
  • File Formats Supported: NEF (RAW), JPEG, MOV, MPEG-4/H.264
  • 5.0" x 3.1" x 3.8"; 19.7 oz
  • Built-in GPS
  • Eye-Fi compatible
  • Includes ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

  • Compatibility and Warranty:
  • Compatible with PC or Mac
  • 1-year limited manufacturer warranty

  • What's in the Box:
  • Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Camera
  • Battery, charger and power cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD with software and digital manual
  • Specifications

    Type: 3" LCD display ,  3 x zoom lens - 18 - 55 mm - f/3.5-5.6 G Nikon AF-S DX VR
    Focal Length Equivalent To 35mm Camera: 27 - 82.5mm
    Flash Modes: Fill-in mode, rear curtain sync, slow synchro, auto mode, flash OFF mode, red-eye reduction
    Features: AF illuminator, flash +/- compensation, wireless off-camera control
    Self Timer Delay: 10 sec, 2 sec, 5 sec, 20 sec
    Additional Features: Audio recording, date/time stamp, digital image rotation, camera orientation detection, histogram display, AE lock, AF lock, in-camera red-eye removal, cropping an image, resizing an image, GPS ready, LCD live view mode, face-priority AF function, highlight point display, Active D-Lighting technology, Dust Delete Data system, face detection, built-in help guide, Scene Recognition System (SRS), in-camera RAW processing, HDR image enhancement technology, Eye-Fi Card Ready, Live View Scene Auto Selector, distortion control, perspective control, 1080p Full HD movie recording
    Connector Type: 1 x USB 2.0 1 x HDMI output 1 x composite video/audio output 1 x microphone
    Software: Nikon ViewNX 2
    Model No.: Nikon D5100 Kit
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 4.0
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.0 x 5.0 x 3.1
    Walmart No.: 608381
    Show

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 20 questions
    1-3 of 20 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    I need a camera that is fast. What I mean is, is that I have only a short period of time to take pictures while flying over a place, and the camera I have now takes forever to take another picture one right after another. Also they are sometimes blurry or the zoom is too slow. Are the pictures clear with a lot of zoom? Thank you for your answers.
    by Jess 10/11/2012
    4 answers
    • A. Since I've had this camera for such a short time, it's a little hard to answer your question, however, if I had to make a guess, I'd say it would be great. I would, however, purchase a good-quality UV/haze filter to help cut through the normal haze you encounter when taking photos from the air. Hope this helps.
      by SweetAdeline12/1/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it takes 4 pictures per second
      by bshgrl11/28/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This camera can take up to 10fps, It is very fast and can overload writing to the card if you don't use a fast SD card. As far as zoom is concerned, this is a DSLR not a point and shoot. By that I mean if you want to zoom, you have to turn a zoom ring on the lens, it is not motorized. The only thing motorized is the autofocus, but from an aircraft, I would suggest setting it on manual zoom since you will be doing infinity shots snyway. You can get several long zoom lenses to interchange where a point and shot comes with a fixed lens that cannot be changed out. That way you wont have any blurry shots.
      by An anonymous customer12/6/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. If you use the sports feature on this camera, you can take 4 frames per second, so it's pretty fast. Not as fast without changing your settings. There is a manual and auto focus. I find that using the manual focus is better for focusing quick shots
      by Misa740011/9/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 20 questions See all
    1-3 of 20 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    94%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    544
    4 stars
    101
    3 stars
    14
    2 stars
    11
    1 stars
    23
    1-5 of 681 total reviews
    94%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    This thing is AWESOME!
    6/13/2013

    Customer review by DILock

    5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by DILock
    by DILock
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I absolutely LOVE my new camera! I take it everywhere with me! The on time, (from being off to switching on and photo ready), is great, so you won't have to worry about missing those "perfect photo" moments. Lots of customization capabilities and a big perk for me, since I'm a beginner, is that the Auto mode works like a charm! Its great! I'm going to include a couple photos I took while hiking Mt. Mitchell, NC, taken in landscape mode and with the 18-55mm lens that is normally included with this camera. The autofocus is my best friend hahaha, but you've got a choice for manual or auto focus, plus, Nikon has tons of lenses to experiment with! Ahh! So exciting! Overall, I couldn't be happier with my purchase... If you're stuck on the fence between cameras, I highly, highly recommend this camera. Its great for the price and you won't be let down!

    Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    DILock
    Shelby, NC
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    nikon d5100 is a MUST HAVE
    12/16/2011

    Customer review by cruzz903

    4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by cruzz903
    by cruzz903

    I have had this camera for 1 month now with the kit lens. i use it mostly for skating video's for youtube. it was a tough decision between the canon t3i. why? cause of AF-F on d5100 and manual controls on the t3i for video. generally speaking controls isn't such a big deal unless you are in bizarre conditions such as low light or when you want to create an artistic video. i have been begging for a firmware update which enables manual video control. if nikon does this, the nikon d5100 will become a godly camera! i am part of an amateur video production group we all had d5100 (mostly cause of the price, the screen and the AF-F) 5 of my friends in the group already changed to either t3i or 60d. i am the only one sticking with the d5100. the pictures on this baby are just amazing. the batery life is enough bought another battery and it can last me up to 2 hours straight video shoot 1080p the screen is also amazing. compared to the d3100 this screen just destroys the d3100's. also it's fairly light viewfinder is nice but in nightclub's it's just impossible to take a picture.

    cruzz903
    Aruba
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    This product is JUST what I was looking for
    9/8/2011

    Customer review by AMAZING

    5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by AMAZING
    by AMAZING

    I am 14 years old and have been doing photography for the past 2-3 Years. I am currently showing my art in a gallery around where I live. I like to photograph nature and animals-mostly dogs and horses. I horseback ride and when it is time for my shows my dad, who is quite the amateur, is able to take AMAZING pictures. Also, the modes and effects they have are GREAT! I use the color select and silhouette modes the most next to auto. The auto mode has done no wrong for me yet. The only complaint I have is the movie mode. The quality is AMAZING but once you download the movie to your computer there can be a lag in it. That is my own small complaint but over all its a great camera and has amazing qualities.

    AMAZING
    Philadelphia, PA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Worth the jump
    1/19/2012

    Customer review by Magnum

    5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Magnum
    by Magnum

    I had a D50 which worked great for me, but before a recent vacation trip I wanted a camera with more resolution and capabilities. Being a Nikon diehard i bought the D5100 and have never been happier. The pictures are sharp, crisp and of course the camera used my lenses I had from my D50. an easy upgrade. On thing I did not count on using much was the 1080p video feature. But it has been a very good feature. Unfortunately I loved the D5100 so much I bought a D7000 for pictures and I take my D5100 as my backup and for video on picture shoots now.

    Magnum
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Just what I needed
    8/25/2011

    Customer review by Chris

    5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by Chris
    by Chris

    I got the D5100 for a trip to Tanzania because I needed the following features: 1. The ability to take multiple shots rapidly, as soon as I release the shutter, to capture wildlife. I learned from trying to capture whales and bears in Alaska that point-and-shoots can't do it - they have to "think" before each shot and end up missing the action. The D5100 shoots multiple frames per second in the Sports/Action setting and got great shots of a leopard kill, hunting lions, and birds in flight. I never missed a shot because of the camera. 2. High-def video right from the camera - no separate video camera needed. Video quality is amazing. 3. Ease of use for a high-quality camera. I'm not technology savvy, but figured out the basic functions of the D5100 quickly and easily with minimal reading of the manual. I'd recommend the D5100 for all the reasons above, and the battery life was great - over 2 weeks with heavy use the battery lasted for almost 3 days at a time before it needed changing.

    Chris
    Williamsburg, VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    1-5 of 681 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 681 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.