Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display

By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000608381
Nikon D5100 16.2MP Black DSLR Camera, 18-55mm VR Lens, 3.0" LCD Display
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

The Nikon D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time auto focus.

About this item

The Nikon D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time auto focus.

Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Camera:

  • 16.2 megapixel resolution with high-quality still images and video recordings
  • Featuring 1080p Full HD Movie Recording, Picture Control, Special Effects Modes, Dust-reduction system, Advanced Scene Modes and Optical VR Image Stabilization
  • NIKKOR 18 - 55mm zoom lens

  • With Focus Modes, Auto Focus System, TTL phase detection, Glass Lens
  • 3.0" Vari-Angle LCD display with image editing features

  • Featuring Brightness Adjustment, easy-to-read menu system, color TFT LCD screen, in-camera editing
  • Built-in flash with flash sync modes

  • Additional Features:
  • 1 SD/SDHC/SDXC memory card slot (memory card not included)
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery up to 600 shots
  • ISO Modes: 100-3200
  • File Formats Supported: NEF (RAW), JPEG, MOV, MPEG-4/H.264
  • 5.0" x 3.1" x 3.8"; 19.7 oz
  • Built-in GPS
  • Eye-Fi compatible
  • Includes ViewNX 2 CD-ROM

  • Compatibility and Warranty:
  • Compatible with PC or Mac
  • 1-year limited manufacturer warranty

  • What's in the Box:
  • Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Camera
  • Battery, charger and power cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD with software and digital manual
  • Specifications

    Focal Length Equivalent To 35mm Camera: 27 - 82.5mm
    Type: 3" LCD display ,  3 x zoom lens - 18 - 55 mm - f/3.5-5.6 G Nikon AF-S DX VR
    Flash Modes: Fill-in mode, rear curtain sync, slow synchro, auto mode, flash OFF mode, red-eye reduction
    Features: AF illuminator, flash +/- compensation, wireless off-camera control
    Self Timer Delay: 10 sec, 2 sec, 5 sec, 20 sec
    Additional Features: Audio recording, date/time stamp, digital image rotation, camera orientation detection, histogram display, AE lock, AF lock, in-camera red-eye removal, cropping an image, resizing an image, GPS ready, LCD live view mode, face-priority AF function, highlight point display, Active D-Lighting technology, Dust Delete Data system, face detection, built-in help guide, Scene Recognition System (SRS), in-camera RAW processing, HDR image enhancement technology, Eye-Fi Card Ready, Live View Scene Auto Selector, distortion control, perspective control, 1080p Full HD movie recording
    Connector Type: 1 x USB 2.0 1 x HDMI output 1 x composite video/audio output 1 x microphone
    Software: Nikon ViewNX 2
    Model No.: Nikon D5100 Kit
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 4.0
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.0 x 5.0 x 3.1
    Walmart No.: 608381

    Customer Q&A

    Questions & Answers 20 questions
    1-3 of 20 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.

    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).

    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    I need a camera that is fast. What I mean is, is that I have only a short period of time to take pictures while flying over a place, and the camera I have now takes forever to take another picture one right after another. Also they are sometimes blurry or the zoom is too slow. Are the pictures clear with a lot of zoom? Thank you for your answers.
    by Jess 10/11/2012
    4 answers
    • A. Since I've had this camera for such a short time, it's a little hard to answer your question, however, if I had to make a guess, I'd say it would be great. I would, however, purchase a good-quality UV/haze filter to help cut through the normal haze you encounter when taking photos from the air. Hope this helps.
      by SweetAdeline12/1/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it takes 4 pictures per second
      by bshgrl11/28/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This camera can take up to 10fps, It is very fast and can overload writing to the card if you don't use a fast SD card. As far as zoom is concerned, this is a DSLR not a point and shoot. By that I mean if you want to zoom, you have to turn a zoom ring on the lens, it is not motorized. The only thing motorized is the autofocus, but from an aircraft, I would suggest setting it on manual zoom since you will be doing infinity shots snyway. You can get several long zoom lenses to interchange where a point and shot comes with a fixed lens that cannot be changed out. That way you wont have any blurry shots.
      by An anonymous customer12/6/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. If you use the sports feature on this camera, you can take 4 frames per second, so it's pretty fast. Not as fast without changing your settings. There is a manual and auto focus. I find that using the manual focus is better for focusing quick shots
      by Misa740011/9/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 20 questions See all
    1-3 of 20 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    4 stars
    3 stars
    2 stars
    1 stars
    1-5 of 681 total reviews
    Would recommend to a friend



    outstanding "prothusiast" D-SLR

    Customer review by PTNDSLR

    5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by PTNDSLR
    by PTNDSLR
    Top 25 contributor

    First of all, it's important to understand where the D5100 fits in Nikon's capabilities. It is considered a "high-end enthusiast" D-SLR which means that it shares the same image sensor as the high-end D7000 without some of the higher-end features. If you're like me, very few of the D7000's features justify its extra cost and weight. The D5100 offers nearly the same image quality as its bigger brother in a less-expensive, smaller package, while adding a few tricks the D7000 doesn't have including an articulating display that helps you frame hard-to-reach spots. Compared to its lesser-priced but still excellent brother the D3100, the D5100 offers improved image quality, speed, and resolution, along with a higher-resolution articulating display. For me, this is the sweet spot in Nikon's consumer D-SLR offerings. The 18-55VR (3x) f3.5-f5.6 kit lens provides surprisingly good performance and image quality, although you'll likely outgrow it quickly. I have uploaded a few sample images taken with the D5100 and 18-55VR to show its performance and surprisingly good bokeh (pattern of blurred background) in large-aperture and macro shots. For lens upgrades that include an AF-S autofocus motor, if you don't mind changing lenses, the Nikon 55-200VR is an outstanding value with excellent image quality, or consider the Nikon 18-105VR (5.8x) lens included with the D7000. If you don't mind some distortion and image softness, the 18-200 VRII (18x) lens may be your perfect "walkabout" lens. For me, I bought the pricey but outstanding Nikon 16-85mm VRII. Don't forget the Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8 (if you can find it). Low-light performance is outstanding with this camera, and the level of detail captured by the D5100 is excellent, even at higher ISOs. You're best capturing in RAW or RAW+JPEG mode (three different JPEG compression levels are offered) if you need to go back and fine-tune exposure or other settings after the shot. Nikon also offers "Active D-Lighting" which is a highly effective method for improving dynamic range of a photo to equalize the difference between high and low-light areas of a photo. Interestingly, the improvement in image quality compared to my D5000 isn't dramatic. Given the incredible improvement I saw when upgrading from my Nikon D60 to the D5000 perhaps I had unrealistic expectations for this new sensor. But in most image settings, even low light, the improvement is noticeable but subtle. That speaks more for the outstanding quality and low-light sensitivity of the D5000 sensor (which is shared with the D90) than it speaks against the D5100. With the D5100 you get higher resolution for improved cropping, and the 14-bit RAW images offer greater dynamic range for more flexibility after the shot is taken. Speaking of RAW format, as with any new camera, there is a bit of a wait until updates are available for your favorite camera software. Both Nikon and Adobe have recently added support for the D5100 RAW files, so you can use Nikon View NX2 (v2.1.1 and later), Nikon Capture NX2 (v2.2.7 and later), Lightroom 3 or Photoshop CS5 (via Adobe Camera RAW 6.4 or later). Apple Aperture and iPhoto will have to wait for the next Apple RAW update. Compared to my D5000, Nikon has gone back and addressed most of my concerns on ergonomics and performance: - camera body is roughly 10% smaller and 10% lighter - 16.2 megapixel CMOS DX-format image sensor (shared with D7000) captures 14-bit RAW images and offers +1fs greater low-light sensitivity - ISO 100-6400 range with expansion to 25,600 ISO (D5000 minimum is 200 and expansion to 12,300) - high resolution (920k pixel) display for greater detail in image previews (although I had to bump up the default brightness one notch for accuracy) - side-mounted articulating display no longer interferes with tripod (the D5000 display is inconveniently hinged at the bottom) - dramatically improved (now usable!) LiveView mode with continuous autofocus even in HD video mode (more on that later) - full HD 1080p movie capture without the "jelly effect", in more standard H.264 mode up to 22 min (D5000 is AVI format 720p up to 5min) - slightly better control position (LiveView is now a rocker switch on the mode dial, Video Record is just behind and to the left of the shutter release) - significantly quieter shutter release (plus, a "Quiet Mode" is available although hardly necessary) - faster performance (4 frames per second) - SDXC compliant supports higher capacity cards - remote control sensor on rear now in addition to front-mounted sensor - improved battery life, and an improved battery release - battery charger now has built-in collapsable plug instead of requiring separate power cord - MUCH better eyecap design no longer comes off in my small Nikon camera bag; also an improved diopter (eyeglass) control - additional in-camera editing capabilities, including ability to trim video - new "gimmick" special effects: in-camera HDR, selective color, night vision, etc Let's start with the display - moving the hinge to the side not only makes the articulating display usable with a tripod, it makes the camera body shorter, so that it matches the height of most popular Nikon DX-format lenses and no longer leans forward when set down on a table as the D5000 did. It makes a surprising improvement in shooting comfort also. Nikon has improved the rubberized grip of the body and the thumb rest in the rear, although some have said that the grip is a bit shallow for larger hands. For my average-sized hands it is very comfortable. In summary, I'm quite happy with the D5100. It provides the optimal balance of top image quality (even in low light), lightweight and compact (for a D-SLR) body, articulating display (the only D-SLR from Nikon to have this), and HD video (not perfect) that can leverage the outstanding collection of Nikon lenses (understanding that only AF-S lenses will autofocus). Notable comparison with the higher-end D7000: - same 16.2megapixel image sensor with 14-bit RAW image capture for outstanding dynamic range, low-light performance, and detail - ruggedized plastic body lacks weather seal (it's also smaller and lighter weight) - no builtin focus motor for older lenses (you'll need to buy an AF-S lens if you want autofocus) - fewer autofocus zones (11 vs 39) and lower-resolution matrix meter - pentamirror viewfinder (smaller, not as bright, 95% coverage) vs pentaprism viewfinder (100% coverage) - no flash commander mode (unless you buy an external flash with TTL triggering) - slower continuous performance (4 vs 6fps) - 1 SD card slot instead of 2 - no top-mounted LCD display - fewer dedicated controls for advanced settings (you must use the menu system more frequently) Notable comparison with the lower-end D3100: - higher resolution 16.2megapixel sensor with 14-bit depth - high resolution (920k pixel vs 230k) display, articulating for hard- to-view shots - higher low-light sensitivity - faster performance (4fps vs 3fps) - better battery performance (660 vs 550 images on the same EN-EL14 battery - slightly larger and heavier body

    Was this review helpful? (249) (14)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    NC, USA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every few days
    Top 25 contributor
    Surprisingly good

    Customer review by Geezeroid

    5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by Geezeroid
    by Geezeroid

    For years i have been using an Olympus DSLR and have gotten adequate pictures from it. I got the Nikon as a test. Actually i got it from Walmart because of their generous return policy because i did not think there would be much difference. I could not have been more wrong! The picture quality of the Nikon is orders of magnitude better than my Olympus. Spend the extra bucks and get the Nikon. It is really worth it.

    Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Excellent Camera for Everyone.

    Customer review by ELTAN

    5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by ELTAN
    by ELTAN

    This is my first dslr camera. I've done many research on other dslr cameras and this is in fact the best unit. Easy to use, great features, and looks cool. The turnable display allows you to take pictures from different angle. if not mistaken, by far this is the only nikon camera that has this feature. camera bottons are easy to access. overall, this unit is highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Houghton MI
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every few days

    Customer review by photoc

    5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by photoc
    by photoc

    This camera takes exceptional pictures- nice , sharp images. I couldn't ask for better results. I am so pleased!

    Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    gvlle, sc
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every few days
    Comparable to much better cameras

    Customer review by aSpendthrift

    5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by aSpendthrift
    by aSpendthrift

    The photo quality of Nikon cameras is exceptional...this is the third one I've owned. If you can't, positively can't...and I couldn't...afford to spend more money than this, this is the camera you're looking for. You won't regret the investment.

    Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 681 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 681 reviews

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.