Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 666 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I upgraded from my Nikon D60 to this D5100 and I love it. It takes wonderful pictures and it's not to difficult to use. 03/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect entry level DSLR. Was torn between this and the D3200 for a while. Finally decided on this D5100, and I think I made the right choice, as far as entry level DSLR's go. Takes amazing photos with kit lens, even better one when paired with an FX lens like the 50mm 1.8g I just bought for it. Also, very easy to use in manual mode. Highly recommend. 03/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bro !! I recently bought this camera , and I am so stoked , think I am going to go buy another one just so i can use one in each hand at the same time ... kinda like Josey Wales did with his six-shooters !! this camera is awsome !! if you are looking to buy a camera ... look no further !!! thank you Nikon !! 03/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera, especially considering the pricetag I had very hard time finding a decent DSLR at a price I wouldn't mind spending - but, with D5100, I believe I've found that camera. This is my first DSLR after many point-and-shoots, and I'm amazed with all the features and possibilities it offers. And even basic camera features are outstanding on this one - for example, autofocus is quicker and sharper than on any camera I used before, by a huge margin. 03/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great alternative to the D5200 I have been using a P510 and this was my first DSLR. I learned a lot on the P510 including shooting in Shutter and Aperture priority but found that cameras limitations and decided it was time. I was going to get a D5200 and skip the 3100 and 3200 altogether. After some research I realized that the differences between the two with the most important being the additional autofocus points on the 5200 (11 vs 39) and the megapixel difference (16 vs 24) were not significant enough to spend the extra money on my first DSLR. This camera so far has been great, the picture quality is fantastic and the menus are easy to use although slightly different than I had with my previous Nikon so there is a bit or a learning curve. I love the control I know have over the picture settings and the creativity it allows me. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking at the 3100, 3200 or 5200. 03/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Powerful Camera for a cheap Price The Camera is just Impressive, moving from a Pro consumer camera to this one is a huge leap for me......... My expectations are over exceeded ! Thank you Nikon for building such a great camera ! 03/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Camera - Amazing Sharpness The camera is amazing, the colors, the sharpness ! Just amazing 03/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice I had Canons for some time but as life moves on I needed a new camera...I shopped MANY, I even bought the New Sony and took it back in 24 hours and purchased the D5100...Let's just say I never regretted it...It's an awesome camera, ton of features and the ease of use is wonderful. You wont be disappointed!!! 02/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great camera, some limitations I've had the D5100 for a year or so and so far I'm happy with it. This is my first DSLR. The pros: - It has the same sensor as the D7000 - Produces 14 bit RAW files (a luxury for this price in my opinion#. - Exceptional image quality and dynamic range. - Performs amazingly well in low light. - The time-lapse function is also very cool and it's something you don't get with other entry level DSLR's #or even the D7000#. - With a third party grip and two Nikon batteries, I found the fps rate did the job when shooting sports and it made the camera easier to handle. The cons: - It has no focus engine, you need to buy AF-S lenses if you want autofocus. - Not weather sealed. - Not suited for videography. - No dedicated buttons #iso, wb, af mode, metering). Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this camera but if I could go back, I would go for a weather sealed, sturdier body with an AF engine... 02/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am completely in love! I recently bought this camera, I wanted a small upgrade over my very trusty Nikon D3000 because I do not need a high end professional DSLR for my photography technique (HDR), all I need is a high quality censor and great ISO capacities, well I was already very impressed by my trusty Nikon D3000 but this D5100 is of course much better, I really recommend it! 02/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best consumer grade DSLR on the market when it came out. Best consumer grade DSLR on the market when it came out. Although it looks like the younger brother, D5200 has come on to the scene. There really isn't that much difference between the D5100 and the D5200...Better processor, more megapixels, higher d-movie frame rate (up to 1080p 60i). The bodies look IDENTICAL lol. Takes pro photos!!! The video is awesome too!!!! I have no complaints about this awesome camera. Great job Nikon!!! I took the photograph of the CD with water droplets with the D5100!!!! You sure can do some pro and creative stuff with D5100. 02/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful camera with such great features!! Love this camera. It is so easy to take beautiful pictures with such detail. I've always had smaller camera's and was a little nervous about this camera with all the bells and whisles. Love, love, love it!! Easy to use!! 02/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera, Great Features. Very Easy to use, Good picture quality I'm shooting with 18-55mm VR. I really like this camera strongly recommend to buy this product. 01/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by D5100 Love this camera. I had a Nikon d50. This camera completely blows that camera away. The response is much faster with the d5100. I love the new display. The ability to move the LCD display makes it easier to take picture at weird angles. I have nothing bad to say about this camera. 01/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera for pictures and videos Absolutely amazing camera. I have had mine since summer 2011 and I love it. Fist of all I have a little side job and I take pictures for people and it takes outstanding portraits and I have not had any problems with it. I also take video footage of my boyfriend doing all his crazy sports including BMX biking and skiing and no matter how fast or what the lighting is like, it takes great videos. I would definitely recommend this camera! 01/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price! Great little camera, very easy to use once you learn the functions. Great photo quality. all the presets come in handy when you are too lazy to do test shots. and the flip out lcd is a back pain saver!!!! and if you use full frame lens on it, the photos come out as sharp as they would on a full frame camera. 01/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Great DSLR I have used 35mm SLR camera's for a long time and wanted to move up to a DSLR. I looked at the Canon and the Nikon line of DSLR camera's. The choice was simple the D5100 is not the cheapest and not by far the most expensive, it is the best for the money giving you ease of use I mean point and shoot or as you feel more comfortable you take full control and get perfessional grade photo's from start to finish. I enjoy this camera it is my favorite and the paise I have gotten from everyone really means so much more. 01/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade from a D70s or instead of the D3200... Traded up from a D70s body to the D5100, fantastic dal since Nikon dropped the D5100 body pricing to promote the D3200. In comparison to the D3200 I feel the D5100 has better manual focus, a warmer and more accurate screen image, wider selection of shutter speeds. Mega pixels in the current arena means nothing when you break the 12-14 range. For the money, its clearly a better body. 01/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing features in small package cheap and best perfect in focusing and perfectly comfortable. 12/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it... from my first dslr which is d3000 i was torn between d3200 and this d5100. after researching i found out that i should go for this one. the 24 mp d3200 is very tempting but if your on a tight budget like me ill definitely wont hesitate to go with this. very good with low light situation even if your ISO is set to 100. nuff said... reasonable price for a great dslr. 12/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Camera My eyeglasses are progressive lenses so I really like that I can use the live view monitor at night to focus. It works really well. During the day I do just fine with the camera's auto focus. I would recommend this camera as it has nice features and is easy to use. 12/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Upgrade from D3100 I have had the camera for a week now, and the features and quality are incredible. I loved my D3100, but this is a major upgrade. The camera sensor is fantastic, high ISO, quick focus, and excellent continuous shooting speed. I purchased the AFNikkor 18-105 G ED to go with it, and it is a perfect fit. I have only scratched the options and in camera effects, but the potential of this camera is unlimited The movie mode is much better than my older model. I am extremely pleased with the D5100. 12/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent beautiful camera, beautiful photos. no complaints, long battery life. 12/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite Nikon so far! This is my fourth Nikon and I am pleasantly surprised with its capabilities. Extremely user friendly and I love the movie mode. I can carry one camera now on my vacations, as opposed to carrying my SLR and my video camera as before. Havent found anything I don't like about it so far! Great camera for a beginning photographer. 12/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome . . . . . . i have this cammera .is awesome . is warm color .i love this cammera 11/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for new users From the very first day and I could start using camera features easily, I would recommend this product for any one thinking of buying a DSLR Camera. 11/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite camera yet. I bought the D5100 in July 2011 and have taken over 10,000 images with it. I was told that it is a good low light camera. It has proved to be that and more. I've yet to be disappointed in it's capabilities. I take photos of trains and city scenes at night. Using the Scene settings makes it easy to get awesome results. When I take daytime photos, even into bright sunlight, I can still get a great result. I'm glad I bought it and brag it up, every chance I get. 11/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Pleased D5100 owner I'm new to DSLRs and to Photograhy as a serious hobby. I've done some over the years with point and shoots and still use my iPhone now quite a bit. But nothing compares in my mind like having more control over your shots. I did quite a bit of research before I picked this camera. Once I narrowed it down to the fact I wanted a Nikon product over other manufacturers it was a case between D3100/D5100 or D7000. I felt that D3100 was an a good choice but it's guide mode would have been less than useful to me within a few months. The D7000 very much interested me, but a lot of the features were well above my need now (possibly ever) so it boiled down to the D5100 having the same sensor as the D7000 and the nifty swiveling LCD for weird angles. When I purchased the unit it came with an 18-105mm lens which I still use a lot. I've since purchased the 50mm f/1.8G for portraits/street and the 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G for wildlife. I'm having a ball with this camera and would recommend it to anyone getting into photography as a hobby. 11/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic pictures in a cute light package. Got this camera after upgrading from D3100 which is a great little camera,But am glad i did as the superior 16.2 megapixel cmos sensor(same as the D7000) and the tilt 921000 dot screen make it feel great to use in any given situation.Am already taking more manual pics although as a point & shoot its great an using the effects mode which adds creative fun to your cropped photos.Although kit lens is good i have a 35mm 1.8g as my prime lens which is fab an a 55/300mm as my wildlife an landscape lens.Have a few very experienced friends who recommend this camera if starting an then getting better lenses if on a budget.Glad i did. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by D5100 makes a great travel DSLR I was looking for a compact DSLR to take with me on a cruise vacation. I own a D3S, which would have been too heavy to carry around all day. For me, the D5100 seemed just the right size. I've paired it with a set of Nikon 18-200 VR and Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 zoom lenses. It gives me just the right amount of manual controls for creativity. Overall, I'm very impressed with the camera and glad that I bought it. 10/25/2012
31-60 of 666 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw251
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp