Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier, White FAD504DUD

Q&A
Walmart #: 551132636
Frigidaire  50-Pint Dehumidifier, White  FAD504DUD
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

The Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier helps you control the percentage of humidity in your room. It is designed for continuous operation and can be placed near a suitable drain. This White FAD504DUD dehumidifier operates at low temperature and uses less energy. It not only removes up to 50-pints of moisture from the environment, but also absorbs prevailing bad odors. This user-friendly basement dehumidifier features select options at the touch of a button. An antibacterial washable filter removes bacteria and airborne particulates for a cool and clean environment. It comes with a water bucket that is conveniently placed in the front for easy access. The splash guard and carry handles of the bucket help for a hassle-free disposal. This Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier shuts off automatically when the bucket is full for safety and convenience. Integrated casters in this basement dehumidifier allow you to move the unit easily from room to room.

About this item

The Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier helps you control the percentage of humidity in your room. It is designed for continuous operation and can be placed near a suitable drain. This White FAD504DUD dehumidifier operates at low temperature and uses less energy. It not only removes up to 50-pints of moisture from the environment, but also absorbs prevailing bad odors. This user-friendly basement dehumidifier features select options at the touch of a button. An antibacterial washable filter removes bacteria and airborne particulates for a cool and clean environment. It comes with a water bucket that is conveniently placed in the front for easy access. The splash guard and carry handles of the bucket help for a hassle-free disposal. This Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier shuts off automatically when the bucket is full for safety and convenience. Integrated casters in this basement dehumidifier allow you to move the unit easily from room to room.

Frigidaire FAD504DUD 50-Pint Dehumidifier, White:

  • Dual fan speeds
  • Low-temperature operation
  • Full bucket indicator
  • Auto shut-off
  • Digital humidity readout
  • Continuous drain operation option
  • Anti-microbial mesh filter
  • Slide-out bottom filter access
  • 1-year full and 5-years sealed system warranty
  • Measures: 16.08"L x 11.32"W x 24.65H
  • Model# FAD504DUD
  • Specifications

    Primary Color: White
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 39.75
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 24.6 x 16.08 x 11.32
    Assembled in Country of Origin: USA or Imported
    Origin of Components: USA or Imported
    Walmart No.: 551132636
    Show
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 1375 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    1375 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    1375 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

    93%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    896
    4 stars
    350
    3 stars
    50
    2 stars
    24
    1 stars
    55
    1-5 of 1247 total reviews
    93%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Works perfectly, great buy
    7/21/2011

    Customer review by wallyconvert1

    5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by wallyconvert1
    by wallyconvert1

    This product works very well in my basement which had become quite damp and stored items had developed a musty smell. Within 48 hours of receiving this unit all is well. I literally removed it from the box and plugged it in! I did not have a drain hose connected initially, and the bucket filled up within the first 18 hours. The hose was very easy to attach and works perfectly....no need to empty the bucket. Filter is very easy to remove and clean as well. Since it is in the basement I can't comment on the noise level, however, I can say that I don't notice any additional noise in the house, and I would say it is fairly quiet. I read many reviews, and this product was consistently rated well. Walmart had the best price online by far.

    Was this review helpful? (235) (43)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    wallyconvert1
    west michigan
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    6/22/2011

    Customer review by BRRRAAAAAPP

    4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by BRRRAAAAAPP
    by BRRRAAAAAPP

    Thought it was a tad pricey but that can be expected for one of these appliances. Been running for almost a month now and no signs of problems. Love the drain feature on the back for the reason of not having to constantly empty it. High setting fan isn't real quiet but not too loud either. Nothing a person can't get used to. After just one day in my 980 sq ft basement there was a HUGE difference. If it continues to work this way for a long time is say I'll be very happy with the purchase. Filter is also easy to remove and clean.

    Was this review helpful? (369) (72)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    BRRRAAAAAPP
    Granville, IA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    It works even better than we'd hoped!
    9/25/2013

    Customer review by CurleeLee

    5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by CurleeLee
    by CurleeLee

    This unit is small enough not to get in the way, as attractive as dehumidifiers get, extremely effective and easy to use. It's hard to roll on the rollers without it tipping over (at least for me, and granted, I'm not very coordinated and was rolling it on thick carpet) so I'd recommend rolling it empty. It took the first basement room I put it in from 69% humidity to 49% in a day --- according to the indoor/outdoor thermometer thing we have set up down there. It's controlling the humidity in a fairly large space filled with furniture and totes very well, from day 1. An added benefit is that it wasn't included in that massive recall that was announced a few days after we got it! I researched dehumidifiers thoroughly before purchasing, considering all the aspects. The reviews did say that it was noisy, but there are 2 speeds and if you need to be in the area, running it on Low greatly reduces that problem. And, it's white noise, not like it's clanking or whistling!

    Was this review helpful? (73) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    CurleeLee
    Zanesville, OH
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Love this dehumidifer
    7/12/2011

    Customer review by dmmoody

    5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by dmmoody
    by dmmoody

    I did not hook up a hose to this at first , but it takes so much water out of the house I couldn't keep up with emptying it. GOOD product, does a great job.

    Was this review helpful? (146) (35)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    dmmoody
    Louisville, KY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Does a good job.........BUT
    7/14/2011

    Customer review by bstnh1

    4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by bstnh1
    by bstnh1

    This unit sucks a lot of water out of the air and does it fast. But it's not without it's problems. As mentioned on other websites, the Frigidaire dehumidifiers have a serious design defect when it comes to the the direct drain for a hose. It is extremely difficult to get it to drain into the hose and not the bucket. I had to plug the drain hole leading into the bucket in order to get the water to flow out the hose for direct draining. If you turn it off, be prepared to wait an hour or so before you can turn it back on. It simply will not turn on for about an hour if you turn it off. Also, it gets the humidity in a 70 degree basement down to 52 percent but that seems to be its limit. It will continue to run, but the humidity drops no lower. I gave it a decent rating only because it removes a lot of water and does it fast. As far as ease of use and other features, there are better options out there.

    Was this review helpful? (168) (49)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    bstnh1
    Southern New Hampshire
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Top 1000 contributor
    1-5 of 1247 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 1247 reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 130 questions
    1-3 of 130 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by mrbill246 7/26/2012
    12 answers
    • A. My answer is based on my observations from late summer into mid autumn in mid New Hampshire. When I first started to use this dehumidifier in late summer in an already humid basement, the unit ran continuously for a couple days. (Note: the basement is approximately 1000 sq ft. I would say this is at the upper limit for this midsized unit, and when I first started operating the unit, I wondered if it could handle the space.) Initially, after it reached the set humidity level, the unit cycled on very frequently. Now that the outside air is cooler and less humid, the unit runs much less often. I also have noticed that the fan can be running but the compressor is off. You can check if this is the case by lowering the target humidity setting and listening if the compressor starts. If the compressor is running most of the time in your space, you need to close off the area from the rest of the house or you should consider getting a larger unit.
      by ReadyMan8/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (44) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes
      by BeneeB7/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (5) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This is hard to answer. Somwtimes it does keep running, for some reason. Other times, it sits quietly, because it has reached its level of dehumidification.
      by RayMitt8/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (9) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It shuts off automatically.
      by Janexxx7/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (5) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. i believe the fan runs continuously as i've never heard it stop.
      by Annonnymus7/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (5) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, unit shuts off once bucket is full
      by JBRIAKAY8/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (8) (7)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. To continue maintaining that level of relative humidity.
      by cc808/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (5)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes, it keeps running
      by leaveitortakeit8/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I did some research and the correct answer is the fan does shut off after the desired humidity level is reached, but not right away. The fan contunues to run for a few minutes, after the compressor stops, to dry the coils.
      by mrbill2467/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (56) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes it does. It would be nice if it shutdown and restarted as needed.
      by Billk446/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (11)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by mandersmay 5/25/2011
    11 answers
    • A. go big that is always safe 70pint
      by netsik4/6/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. If using for the entire house, I would say the 70. My house is approx. 1400 sft and I use it just for my basement and it does a great job. Anything larger I would say get the 70 or it will run constantly. The size of my basement called for a 30 pint and I went with the 50 so it wasn't running constantly and it still runs most of the time but I have set to 50% and the fan on low. Just my thoughts, hope it helps.
      by JAndy705/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (7) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Upstairs bedroom/bonus room or bathroom/living areas - low moisture 30 pints -high moisture 50 pints: Utility/basement areas - med moisture 50 pints high moisture 70 pints (from the dehumidifier box)
      by scoutertale5/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (7) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. My house is about 1100 sq ft with a full basement. I purchased a 50 pint one for my basement & I'm so glad that I did. I can go days without emptying the bucket. According to research I've done, you'd probably be better off with a 70 pint for 1600 sq ft. http://www.allergyconsumerreview.com/dehumidifier-guide.html
      by ozzwing5/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. get the larger if you are adding this for use with air coditioners. add the hose option to a nearby drain
      by fm9035/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would go with a 70 if you're doing the whole house
      by Chinook1194/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would go with the bigger one, that is alot of area.
      by KClovinit3/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. My house is approximately a 1340sq. ft. colonial and the basement is 23'x23'. I bought the 50 pint dehumidifier and my basement is now bone dry.
      by thgfeijpp98muytgbnju5/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (7) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I bought the 50 mainly over the recommendations it got . The 50 was better than the 70
      by dmmoody5/29/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I agree at least 70 pint. It makes a huge difference if it is one level, 2 level or just the design of the home. It also matters how wet or musky your home is. The more wet, the higher the capacity. Also if you have a ranch don't expect one unit to get multiple rooms. Again all depends on how your house is configured.
      by kokura6/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    After trying several different brand I have noticed that most of them put off a lot of hot air? Does this unit produce a significant amount of hot air while running? My house Is not insulated really well and when it is humid outside I use it to draw the humidity out of the inside air to make it seem a little cooler inside.... But I do not want to ADD to the hot air inside.
    by an anonymous customer 6/30/2012
    11 answers
    • A. I understand. While my house is pretty well insulated, I still don't want to add unwanted heat. This unit doesn't make the air it discharges really hot, like previous models I've owned, but does probably heat it a few degrees, but not uncomfortably.
      by RayMitt7/6/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, air blows out top of unit, one of the first thing I noticed was that the air was cool.
      by wcjminx8/3/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. some heat, minimal less than a whirlpool dehumidifier i owned
      by mysqr9sons5/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. we had a 20 year old Friedrich which drew a lot of hot air into the room. this new machine does not. we can finally work in the basement now. if you're "living" with it (same floor) it's not a super quiet machine. i don't know if there IS a dehumidifier that's quiet. this is far better than what we had though and we wish we'd bought it sooner.
      by Annonnymus6/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. of course there will be some heat but i feels more like when u stand in front of a fan in a hot place, you feel the air but its a little worm
      by leaveitortakeit8/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I think the heat is a relative measurement. This does warm my little house a bit- I noticed that the AC turns on a bit more frequently with the dehumidifier turned on however decreasing the humidity makes the house feel cooler so I can keep the AC set at a higher temperature. I have noticed that my total electric bill has gone up about $20/month with continuous use I think it is a reasonable expense to keep the humidity under control
      by TDC16/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Basically not much hotter than ambient air, so nothing really noticeable. I have mine in my basement and I don't feel any heat.
      by dameek115/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, the energy used in operating the compressor system, and given up by the water vapor when condensing to a liquid both add to the heat given off by the unit. To maintain 50% RH, it raises my basement about 10degF.
      by xyzz1026/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This is a matter of physics. There is absolutely no way to not produce heat. The heat is a result of the heat being removed from the cooling coils. These coils when cool cause the hot moisture in the air to condense into water and drip into the collection bucket. The more heat - the more cooling - the more moisture condensing - the dryer the air.
      by Yorklynyankee6/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Very little heat compared to some past units I have owned ...
      by BrianKeith6/4/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 130 questions See all
    1-3 of 130 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: 1 year See details

    Supplier Warranty: Full 1-year warranty parts & labor; Limited 5 year warranty-sealed system
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list