Check out these related products

Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video

Q&A
By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000606755
Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP 36X Black Ultra Zoom Camera, 3" LCD Display, HD Video
Loading options...
Sold by Beach CameraBeach Camera | Return policy

Shipping not available

 

Shipping

This item is not available for shipping.

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
  • 12.1-megapixel resolution
  • Nikkor 4.5-94.5mm zoom lens
  • 19 scene modes
  • Consider these popular products

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    Zoom your world with the high-powered closeness of this classy Nikon Coolpix P50012.1MP black digital camera. The outstanding Nikkor 36x optical zoom lens breaks boundaries with the incredible power to shoot closer and wider than ever before, with superior clarity. The convenient anti-reflection coating on the lens and faster continuous shots make this digital camera with HD video a maximum performer. This trendy Nikon black camera records scenic videos in 1080p full-HD format in crystal clear clarity.

    Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    Zoom your world with the high-powered closeness of this classy Nikon Coolpix P50012.1MP black digital camera. The outstanding Nikkor 36x optical zoom lens breaks boundaries with the incredible power to shoot closer and wider than ever before, with superior clarity. The convenient anti-reflection coating on the lens and faster continuous shots make this digital camera with HD video a maximum performer. This trendy Nikon black camera records scenic videos in 1080p full-HD format in crystal clear clarity.

    Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.

    Nikon Coolpix P500 12.1MP Digital Camera:

  • 12.1-megapixel resolution - Delivers excellent picture quality
  • Nikkor 4-144mm zoom lens - Offers f/3.5 to f/5.7 aperture and features a Nikkor 36x optical zoom lens
  • 3.0" TFT LCD display - With anti-reflection coating you can view pictures and menus easily
  • MPEG-4/AVC/H.264 movie file format - Record movies in 1080p full-HD format on this Nikon Coolpix 12.1MP black digital camera
  • Continuous Shooting: 5 shots at approximately 8 frames per second - Get perfect action shots without sacrificing quality
  • 19 scene modes - Provide creative options for taking eye-catching photos with accurate color
  • Red-Eye Fix - Automatically fixes the problem
  • Memory Card Specifications:
  • Compatible SD/SDHC/SDXC memory cards
  • Internal Memory: 102MB
  • 1 SD/SDHC/SDXC Slot
  • Specifications

    Aspect Ratio: 16:9
    Self-Timer Delay: 10 sec, 2 sec
    Camera Lens Type: Zoom lens
    Focal Length: 22.5 - 810mm
    Color: Black
    Exposure Modes: Program, automatic, manual, aperture-priority, shutter-priority ,  Multi-segment, center-weighted, spot
    Optical Zoom: 36x ,  20x & Up
    Display Technology: LCD
    Digital Zoom: 4x ,  4 x
    Resolution: 921,000 pixels
    Memory Card Type: SD Memory Card, SDXC Memory Card, SDHC Memory Card ,  SD card
    Display Resolution: 1920 x 1080
    Color Category: Black
    Battery Type: Nikon EN-EL5
    Primary Shelf ID: 1106406
    Connector Type: 1 x USB 2.0 ????????? 1 x HDMI output ????????? 1 x composite video/audio output
    Battery Life: 220 Shot
    Minimum Shutter Speed: 2 sec
    Model: 26256
    Number of Megapixels: 12MP - 13MP
    Screen Size: 3"
    Brand: Nikon
    Flash Type: Pop-up Flash
    Maximum Shutter Speed: 1/1500 sec
    Original Languages: Italian ,  Russian ,  German ,  Chinese (Simplified and Traditional) ,  Swedish ,  Turkish ,  Ukrainian ,  Arabic ,  French ,  Portuguese ,  Indonesian ,  Finnish ,  Spanish ,  Thai ,  Norwegian ,  Polish ,  Romanian ,  Korean ,  Japanese ,  English ,  Danish ,  Hungarian ,  Czech ,  Greek ,  Dutch
    Focus Type: TTL contrast detection ,  Automatic
    Shooting Programs: Landscape, portrait mode, close-up, museum, party/indoor, back light, night portrait, pet, food, fireworks, night landscape, dawn/dusk, panorama assist, sports mode, sunset, beach, snow, black and white copy
    Has Flash: Y
    Compatible Devices: SD ,  SDXC ,  SDHC
    Manufacturer Part Number: 26256
    RAM Memory: 102 MB
    Accessories Included: Carrying strap, battery charger, lens cap, USB cable, audio / video cable
    Digital Video Formats: High Definition (HD)
    Sensor Resolution: 12.1 Megapixel
    Contains Batteries: Y
    Features: Color ,  1 x Li-ion rechargeable battery ( included ) ,  Audio recording, cropping an image, in-camera red-eye fix, face-priority AF function, D-Lighting technology, face detection, Blink Detection technology, Motion Detection Technology, Scene Auto Selector, 1080p Full HD movie recording ,  ED glass ,  Face Detection ,  Standard Video Mode ,  Image Stabilization ,  High Definition Video
    Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 4.60 x 4.10 x 3.30 IN
    Show

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 29 questions
    1-3 of 29 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by Chrissy11 5/17/2011
    4 answers
    • A. With flash there are no issues. In fact there is a small pre-flash that sets the exposure for the main flash. It is so fast most people don't know it is there. It saves you from having to retake the picture with changed exposure values. W/O flash and in very low light as in candlelight you have to use manual focus and you may need to rest it on something steady. In normal room light at night I have had no problems. There are no miracles. You do need some light. But you have quick review which you can zoom on the 900,000+ pixel rear screen to see if it is good enough or you need to take it again. The rear screen is amazing if your experience has been with the 300,000 pixel screens which most cameras have. Leave the camera in auto with the flash up and it is idiot proof. And I am an idiot who can swear to that.
      by Jull432/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The picture quality indoors is great. As soon as I bought this camera, I shot few pics indoors and they all looked great. You might want to tweak the camera a bit to make them look even more better.
      by EasyToShopOnline28/28/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. With the flash, the quality is great. The lens is equiv. to a 22 to 810mm, not know for low light w/o flash.
      by wedgeone2/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The P500 lets you select aperture and shutter priorities, and includes a Manual Exposure Mode that puts you in complete control. And shooting at night is a breeze with the Advanced Night Landscape and Advanced Night Portrait Modes.
      by NikonStaff2/2/2012
      Written by a verified representative from NikonStaff
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 29 questions See all
    1-3 of 29 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 258 reviews | 4 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    258 reviews | 4 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    258 reviews | 4 out of 5

    81%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    126
    4 stars
    73
    3 stars
    17
    2 stars
    21
    1 stars
    21
    1-10 of 250 total reviews
    81%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    I'm not a pro and love this camera.
    10/14/2011

    Customer review by Freebird56

    5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Freebird56
    by Freebird56

    I'm 55 and a little challenged at photography terms etc, but I do have common sense. I unpacked the camera, loaded the battery/card and started shooting. A few have not turned out so well due to my trying out the amazing and different options, but that’s a learning curve for sure. I just went out and took pictures of the full moon this morning and am amazed that I captured the craters in textured detail. I posted a few pictures here. I also love the tilt lens. This is great for things like the moon shots using a tripod. It takes out the least movement and makes a great picture. I used the timer which is easy, but at 55, I am a little shaker than I once was. I love this camera. I've taken pet pictures, garden, flowers and gatherings inside the house and all turned out amazing. I didn't even need a flash inside with the right settings and my home tends to be on the dark side. Battery life has been good, but keep in mind with a huge auto lens that adjust with the battery power, the more you use it the more drain,. I bought two extra batteries and a charger for an upcoming trip from another site that isn't Nikon brand, but all reviews gave them 5 stars. I love this camera; it has a lot of bells and whistles, but you have to feel comfy just playing with them and figuring it out. Hey, that’s what is great about digital. You aren't wasting film or money on developing. Just go out and have fun! Don't take yourself too seriously at first and practice different things and I think you will love it. I will suggest writing down what settings you used for say the first 5 on a flower, and then change settings and see what it does.... experiments don't work if you can't look back. There may even be a feature for this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Freebird56
    South East Alabama
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    11/18/2011

    Customer review by midwestphoto

    5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by midwestphoto
    by midwestphoto

    As an amature hobby photographer who wants to take very clear photos, I spent a lot of time on research before buying my latest camera. After reading about a hundred camera reviews, I was leaning toward a Nikon D3100 which came with the 18-55 mm zoom lens or the Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a similar size lens. Next I Started thinking about what exactly I do with my cameras. Almost every picture I take is taken outside, and many at a distance. Living in a rural area I take thousands of pictures of barns, combines, tractors and wildlife. The standard lens that came with these cameras would rarely get used. I would need a longer lens for the pictures I take. The wildlife pictures I take, deer, birds, squirrels and horses are normally taken quickly and at a distance. Next I started reading the reviews on the longer lenses, 55-200 mm and 55-300 mm. Most of the reviews were positive but I read a few from photographers who broke their lens in a short period of time. I thought I was the only person who had ever done that when I scratched a four month old lens two years ago. Then I thought, do I want to spend $1,000 or more on a camera and lens that is a little too technical for me and I may break the lens? To make a long story a little shorter, I found this Nikon Coolpix P 500 with a 36X zoom lens for about half the price of the cameras I was interested in. I ordered this camera and have used it for over a month now. It is quick and easy to use and takes really clear pictures. With my previous camera I would take good pictures but I would delete a high percentage of the pictures because they were not as clear as I expected. So far, with thie P 500 I have been deleting very few pictures. This camera is easy to use, takes pictures I can enter in contests and pictures for shows and displays. Would I buy it again? If I only had a few hundred dollars to spend, yes I would.

    Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    midwestphoto
    Alexis, Illinois
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    exceptional camera for someone wanting to upgrade.
    11/3/2011

    Customer review by rettamay

    5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by rettamay
    by rettamay

    After receiveing the camera, we took a little while to learn some of the features. Then that same day we took our 3 girls (ages 9-12) out to take our own school pics with the fall colors as a background. All I can say is WOW! I couldn't beleive the quality of the pics. They are right up there with some professional pics we have had taken. As we were headed home down the river the sun was just setting, so we stopped and put the camera on the sunset mode. A deffinite postcard pic for Idaho as the sunset was reflected off the river. I have been telling all my friends and family about it. So happy I upgraded to this camera!

    Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    rettamay
    Osburn,Id
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Great zoom on this baby
    7/30/2011

    Customer review by Freelenz

    5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by Freelenz
    by Freelenz

    Having owned 2 other coolpix models prior to purchasing this one, the first thing I noticed is how much easier the controls have become. Very logical and easy to use Thanks for listening. I bought this camera specifically for the 12 mega pixels and the 36X zoom. I was not disappointed. The 810mm equivalent zoom usually needs a tripod but that isn't really a problem for me. I would highly recommend this camera for anyone from beginner to advanced hobbyist.

    Freelenz
    Viera, Florida
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Great Camera with some minor drawbacks
    8/19/2011

    Customer review by Mike W.

    4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Mike W.
    by Mike W.

    I bought this camera for the slow motion capabilities exclusively. I am using it for Springboard Diving and Golf Swing Analysis. The slow motion capabilities are unbelievable, and did not disappoint. You do need a lot of light for the high speed recordings, but that was to be expected. The camera is very easy to use - I was always a fan of Canon cameras, and bought this to try out the slo mo, but I must say that Nikon is much more intuitive to me than my Canon G3 was. I am not a good photographer and rely heavily on the automated settings - which are excellent! Setting it to auto, or one of the pre-configured scenes usually takes a great picture. There are a few battery drain issues, that I believe is fixed with a firmware update which I have yet to apply, but it is not a big concern because I have spares. The only real problem I have found with this camera is that when powering on the camera, the lens cap must be removed first or it tries to extend the lens and grinds against the cap. I don't know if this can be fixed with a firmware update, but I hope so because this is a huge problem and I can see the motor on the lens getting burned out if you do this too many times. This was a HUGE miss by the Nikon team. I knew about this before buying the camera, and you should too. I don't forget to remove the cap - but I am very leery of lending the camera to my wife or kids because they might forget. If it were not for this, I would give five stars for sure - but overall I am still very happy with the purchase and would buy it again!

    Mike W.
    Potomac, MD
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Great Camera
    6/7/2011

    Customer review by wedgeone

    5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by wedgeone
    by wedgeone

    This camera is awesome....the only 3 downside reviews I saw were dead wrong....battery life is as good or better than any....flash is killer for such a small unit, shot an un lit room at night and the flash lit the entire room evenly w/o harsh shadows, exposure was perfect. Some complain of low light capabilities, with a tripod no problem. That is to be expected with a lens equiv. to 810mm. 36x opitical and 4x digital is incredible. Looking for a great camera at a good price this is it....AND 1080P HD video...it has it all.

    Was this review helpful? (120) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    wedgeone
    West Virgina
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Great Camera and Great price
    7/11/2011

    Customer review by EasyToShopOnline2

    5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by EasyToShopOnline2
    by EasyToShopOnline2

    I was looking for quite a while for a camera with good zoom and handy features. I had 2 cameras in mind. Sony HX100V and Nikon P500. Both camera's go head to head but Sony has much better features like 3D support and good features for night time shooting. Since I already had an DSLR which is also Nikon, I decided to go with the one which was cheapest. I'm amazed at the quality of pics it take though it has only 12.1 MP. Night time pics were also great. Easy to use and a lot of features for my use. I would totally recommend this camera for anyone who is a beginner or even works for someone with some shooting experience.

    Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    EasyToShopOnline2
    Beaverton, OR
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    Sold my Nikon DSLR for this camera, love love it!
    10/2/2011

    Customer review by MantyPhotos

    5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by MantyPhotos
    by MantyPhotos

    This camera is great!!! I had a Nikon D60 that I sold since I have purchased this camera. I no longer carry a camera, flash, 70x300mm lens and the bag the Nikon P500 does it all and reaches a lot further that my zoom lens. The P500 does more than I even thought it would and cant say enough great things about it. You must read the owners manual to understand everything that this camera can do. You will not be disappointed with this camera the photos or the 1080HD video. This will be my fourth Nikon and I bring it everywhere, I just cant put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    MantyPhotos
    Sheboygan, WI
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    7/12/2011

    Customer review by Valik96

    5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Valik96
    by Valik96

    Excellent features for the price. Especially the 36X zoom. Best of all it is a Nikon.

    Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Valik96
    ocean grove NJ
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    Great camera for blurry photos
    5/22/2011

    Customer review by NikonBlake

    2.0 stars 5/22/2011 by NikonBlake
    by NikonBlake

    We owned a lower-priced Coolpix that always took great photos easily in many lighting conditions. Unfortunately, it got stolen. We replaced it with the Coolpix 500. Although it was double the cost of the older Coolpix, we were attracted to it by its powerful optical zoom and its HD video capabilities. However, the Coolpix 500 has been a disappointment. Unless you are in full sunlight or within flash range, its pictures are always blurry, particularly when you are zooming. Perhaps a professional photographer could take advantage of the Coolpix 500's numerous manual override features to get a clear picture, but we have not figured out how to take sharp pictures in low light with any level of zoom. As to the HD video, it does better in low light than the camera's still photography features, but since the video doesn't have a pause feature, you end up shooting multiple files for the even the shortest of events. For example, a birthday party turns into a dozen 1 minute video files. Avoid this camera.

    NikonBlake
    Fort Worth, TX
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    1-10 of 250 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 250 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 258 reviews | 4 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  Limited warranty - 1 year 1 year warranty See details

    Warranty Information: 1 Year
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.