Rated 4 out of 5 by 256 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just Awful I absolutely do not recommend this camera, I really regret buying it. I have had nothing but problems. The battery life is abysmal, the memory card I bought doesn't work in it, and it won't upload pics to my brand new computer. It would have been a better investment to buy 400 jr. bacon cheeseburgers. 08/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good camera Overall!! Camera works great as described. Small learning curve but it takes excellent pictures once you have learned the setting (action, outside, dim light etc). We bought it primarily to take pictures of our kids at their school sport activities and outside shots. In low light settings you need to use fill flash where my other camera in similar situations did not. Now that we know to do this everything is good. Their is a lot of info on the net to help you with this camera. Very happy with our purchase. Buy and extra battery with the purchase. It takes roughly 200 to 250 pictures and it needs changed. 08/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value and performance for money Great camera for price. Pros: Exceptional color rendering. Easy to use features. Love the 36X zoom but must be done with tripod to steady camera. Cons: Short battery life, does not do well in low light and night shots when not using flash. Wish it had accessory flash shoe so I could use a strobe or high intensity flash. Have had other digital cameras same result, for low light you still can't beat film. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best camera I have ever owned. While I am still learning all of it's features, the camera takes excellent pictures and the Nikon support techs have been excelletn helpn walking me through items that wern't working for me. 08/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Camera with some minor drawbacks I bought this camera for the slow motion capabilities exclusively. I am using it for Springboard Diving and Golf Swing Analysis. The slow motion capabilities are unbelievable, and did not disappoint. You do need a lot of light for the high speed recordings, but that was to be expected. The camera is very easy to use - I was always a fan of Canon cameras, and bought this to try out the slo mo, but I must say that Nikon is much more intuitive to me than my Canon G3 was. I am not a good photographer and rely heavily on the automated settings - which are excellent! Setting it to auto, or one of the pre-configured scenes usually takes a great picture. There are a few battery drain issues, that I believe is fixed with a firmware update which I have yet to apply, but it is not a big concern because I have spares. The only real problem I have found with this camera is that when powering on the camera, the lens cap must be removed first or it tries to extend the lens and grinds against the cap. I don't know if this can be fixed with a firmware update, but I hope so because this is a huge problem and I can see the motor on the lens getting burned out if you do this too many times. This was a HUGE miss by the Nikon team. I knew about this before buying the camera, and you should too. I don't forget to remove the cap - but I am very leery of lending the camera to my wife or kids because they might forget. If it were not for this, I would give five stars for sure - but overall I am still very happy with the purchase and would buy it again! 08/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good camera for the money, easy to use ,alot of good features 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good but could be better.... Bought it to take on vacation, mostly for bird shots so really liked the zoom. While it takes great pics there are 4 features I really dislike. 1. Battery life stinks. Frequently go through 3 batteries in my shooting and have to go home early. Hate it that I cannot find a multiple battery charger for the EN-EL5's. Goes from full battery to dead with no indication on the camera most of the time. 2. Adjustable LCD is okay, but wish I could twist it when extended. 3. No RAW capabilities. Seriously?! I would buy more batteries if this did RAW.... 4. Poor low light performance - no matter what ISO/settings adjustments I make I cannot get decent pics in medium shade. 08/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need a manual I need a paper manual and Nikon doesn't offer it. I have called customer service line and they WERE NOT helpful. It is crazy to think a person can run around taking pictures with a lap top next to them to go through the instructions on the camera features. I NEED A PAPER MOBILE MANUAL NOT A SILLY DISK. I can't tell you much about the camera if I can't use a manual to try its features. FRUSTRATED AND NOT HAPPY WITH NIKON 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW, I HAVE 5 DIGITAL CAMERA'S, THE P500 IS 'BEST" WOW, THIS "NIKON" P500 IS ONE SUPER CAMERA!!!!!!!!!!! I MUST GET A CLEAR FILTER TO PROTECT MY LENSE!!!!! WHAT IS THE MM OF THIS CAMERA LENSE?? WOW, I'VE OWNED THEM ALL!!! BUT THE "NIKON" IS THE "CREM-DELA-CREM" 08/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by 36 zoom and the panoramic feature missing to be able to attach the flash, it is for point and shoot camera, I have an SLR digital camera, the color is a lot better. 08/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not buy I would stay away from this camera. Battery life is very minimul. Took 50 pictures and had to re-charge the battery. Tried taking pictures again and the battery failed after 50 pictures. Tried another battery the same. Really disappointed. Did like the size of the camera. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Camera I have only had this camera for a couple weeks but so far I love it! It is exactly what I wanted. I am replacing my older panasonic lumix dmc-fz30. While this was a good camera for me I wanted something with a wide angle lens and more zoom. I was also looking for something a little smaller and easier to carry around. The lumix is pretty bulky and heavy. I love some of the features like Pet Portrait mode. As I play more I am sure that I will find more features that I love. Right now I am using it to do some Senior portraits and have been very happy. 08/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great quality for the size of the camera. For the Size of this camera, the quality is quite nice. It is perfect if you want something a little better than a normal compact point-and-shoot digital camera. Sometimes with the zoom you kinda have to work with it. Also I have found out that it doesnt do well in low light situation but if you turn on the flash, it fixes the problem. If you know your photography then this camera may be a little to simple for you since you are not much in control with it. Overall it is a great camera! 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, good pictures. We just purchased the camera as an anniversary present to each other. We figured after 30 years we deserve a new "toy". We initially had the problem where it didn't hold a charge. A call to tech support was sweet - only on the phone for maybe 5 minutes. I was told that there was a firmware upgrade that solved the problem. I downloaded the firmware upgrade and installed it and everything seems to be working great now. I love the ability to move the display at an angle. You can put the camera on a tripod at a height that makes sense for the shot and see what you're doing without being a contortionist! 08/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera I really wanted to get this camera before i went away for vacation and i love it! the HD video features are amazing. but the bad this is when you try to shoot in HS the picture come out really dark even in a well lit area but other than that i do not have any problems with my Coolpix p500. 08/09/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The product is very good. I am sending it back for a problem with fuzzy views in the viewfinder. It started fine, but now is dificult to see if the pic you are shooting is as sharp as I need. Nikon has been good for me. It is my third camera in the past 8 years, and the P500 is really good. It takes very long distant shots without tripods ... makes the shots with less effort (Yes I will take several, but most are great.) Clearly this P500 has many improvements, which allows me to to get a variaty of ways to get neat shots. I'm glad that I got this new product. 08/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by not satisfied wit its video recordin feature at all. cant use zoom while video recording as image gets blurred totally.. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great zoom on this baby Having owned 2 other coolpix models prior to purchasing this one, the first thing I noticed is how much easier the controls have become. Very logical and easy to use Thanks for listening. I bought this camera specifically for the 12 mega pixels and the 36X zoom. I was not disappointed. The 810mm equivalent zoom usually needs a tripod but that isn't really a problem for me. I would highly recommend this camera for anyone from beginner to advanced hobbyist. 07/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Camera for the price The P500 is a great camera. Great picture and video quality for its class and an awesome array of settings and filters to play with. Overall I really like this camera as a starter. 07/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Amazing The Nikon P500 is one of the best cameras I ever had, The zoom its amazing and the combination whit the VR reduction make a great job The battery: It´s not the best but if you want high performance you should risk time in the battery the solution is buy another battery The focus: Take few seconds but it´s not bad The Full continuous shooting its amazing Finally this product its very recomendable for the begginers and the less experimented photographers 07/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The menu screen was my favorite feature After reviewing several digital cameras online we finally decided on the Coolpix P500. One of the biggest reasons we bought it was the easy to use menu and quick start manual that had us up and running and taking excellent pictures right away. The 36X optical zoom with 12.1 megapixels was pretty cool too. I bought an extra battery because with any camera of this caliber it will eat up your battery so the extra battery is great to have. 07/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased the camera 3 weeks ago and have not tried all of the many special features. So far, with the basic photo stuff makes, this a very good camera. The optical zoom is incredible provided you use a tripod to keep it steady. The one snag is that it has a known bug, in that a fully charged battery will die within a couple of days whethher the camera is in use or not. There is a default setting for 'Charge by Computer' that when turned off is suppose to fix this and so far after 6 days, the battery is still showing almost full power. Nikon support's solution was to just update the firmware and did not acknowledge that there was a problem in thier software.. This is a known bug with some of the P500 cameras, which I had seen in reviews and blogs. It's dissapointing that NIKON has not admitted to the flaw, but just gives a generic answer to update the firmware. Even with the snag, the bottom line is that I am very happy with the Nikon P500 camera. 07/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good camera had to buy a battery charger as battery doesn't last too long...downloaded the support info and hopefully that will do something as I get mad when you turn it on and it is dead...other than that great photos and ease of use. Work photos are now easier with the great zoom capabilities. I am enjoying this camera and hope the battery issue is over. Thanks 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needs AC charger Great camera. I use it on inspections of buildings. The only problem is that although I have a spare battery, you must plug the battery charger into the camera. Every other camera I have owned comes with a charger that allows you to remove the battery from the camera to charge. Did Nikon do this to force people to buy another charger? So far no store has the plug in charger. Bad idea Nikon. 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Camera I,m is beginner photografer, when i using nikon, i became a good photografer, nikon P500 is user friendly, simple to use it, and the feature is complated, i like very much nikon camera p500, is like slr camera... 07/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its operation is very simple. It has many features that makes it a joy to take pictures as well as recording action with the video capability. A fun camera. 07/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great zoom The camera has great zoom, and is very easy to use. I have a P100 that is almost impossible to focus. Love this one!!!! The user manual is on a cd, i can't get it to open. THEY SHOULD include a manual with camera. 07/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by mediocre at best The main problem with this camera is it's inability to focus. There's no reason to have such a wide range of focal lengths if it cannot focus on them. 07/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by marvellous zoom I would like to recommend this camera who want best of the class in compact digital cameras. This camera is awesome. I love it........... 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great camera so far - lots of features Lot of features, light, comfortable and the red is an awesome color. Wish i had an owners manual, the ability to take pics while in video mode, something that recognized that the lens cover was on, a plug in adapter and longer life battery. Those things would make it heads and shoulders above the competition. 07/15/2011
121-150 of 250 total reviews
Previous 3 4 5 6 7  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw491
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp