See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 69 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good value for an e-bike I purchased this bike as my second e-bike (my son has permanently borrowed my first one!) I really have enjoyed this particular bike - set-up was straight forward; the battery charged up and was broken in easily, and I've had good results in terms of the speed and distance. I especially like the pedal assist feature as well as the twist and go throttle. I always pedal continuously, so it is a very nice feature, and it makes a significant improvement in the battery life 08/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Deal at Walmart, great bike. I bought this bike to commute to work and it has exceeded my expectations. Well built, very solid construction and good battery life. The Power Assist function is excellent and like the cruise control on your car cuts off as soon as you hit the brake. Everything has been very well thought out and the only improvement would be a better padded seat as due to the weight you do feel every bump! 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mediocre bike, excellent value as a commuter I had a couple of these before getting rid of the last and going with the Currie Eco-Ride. These Trailz bikes are heavy, the components are cheap and the sealed lead acid battery will stop working unless you charge it after every ride for at least six hours. But they are the cheapest electric bike you can get, and if your commute is five miles or less (in hilly terrain, maybe six on flat), these could be the perfect commuter bicycles. If you ride any further, you will drain the battery below 80% or so and it will never recover. As I say, they must be charged after each ride, which means plugging it in at work for six hours or so, and plugging it in at home right after you get home (the battery is removable, although you could charge it on the bike). If you don't recharge the battery right away it will (again) never recover. The lead acid battery should last from March/April to October/November and a replacement is only $120. You could also upgrade to a much lighter lithium battery for around $450; I don't know what range it has, but they are much more forgiving of being drained or set aside without being charged. The lithium battery would make it possible to ride to a grocery store, a friends house, a movie theatre, etc. Now the combined cost of the Trailz bike and the lithium battery would be about the same as an Eco-Ride, but as least you are paying over time with the Trailz 11/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biking with no hills I look forward to riding it every time.As im cruising around I think wow im on an electric bike,life is good and theirs not much difference in the more expensive ones.If your thinkin about getting one get it,you wont be let down. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is just what I needed!!!! I have multiple sclerosis and have a very bad problem with balancing myself. Being half deaf doesn't help. This bike makes things much easier because you can pick up your speed immediately and that lesson my chance of loosing my balance and hurting myself. I also was very happy that Walmart.com allowed me to order online and have it shipped to my home. It was completely assembled too. Thanks for being there when I needed help. Regards, Electicalbiker 08/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weak Motor & only for asphalt roads My city has hills. When traveling on level terrain, this the motor pulls great. Traveling up the hill is a different story. I myself, can not pedal up the hill. The motor, itself, can not pull the bicycle up the hill. When we work together, me pedaling and motor pulling, we can travel up the hill at like 5 mph. Five mph is slow, but it is faster than walking on foot, up the hill. My non-electric bicycle can travel on bumps, forest roads and etc & it has no problems. With this bicycle, I am forced to slow really down when traveling on bumpy roads or through forest. If I do not, the wheel scrape against the metal, damaging the bike. Also, my battery becomes disconnected. On my other non-electric bicycle, I could make sharp turn and be OK, With this bike, if I make a sharp turn, the pedal scrapes against the asphalt. Despite all of this, I will use the bicycle, mainly since I can travel up the hills with this bike. From now on, I will really need to be careful and slow down, on bumpy road & non-asphalt roads and on turns. If I would pay few hundred more dollars, I could get a mountain electric bike, but it is not worth paying extra few hundred dollars. Reading other reviews from other sites, this bicycle might break down often. For this reason, I purchased a 3-year warranty from Walmart for $45. I recommend that you also purchase warranty. 09/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value for low priced entry into electric bike Purchased 8/17/11 for $399.84 on walmart online. Haven't ridden a bike since I was 13. It is pretty heavy with the battery, but you rarely need to carry it. Was easy to assemble in an hour or so. Have had for 2 1/2 months and ridden it everyday. I weigh 290 lbs and even though this is above their recommended weight it still makes it so much easier to pedal. The shifter is easy to go up or down gears. I added a two-tone bell from Amazon to alert dog walkers of me coming, a front and back flashing light for night time from Amazon, and two LED mini flashlights mounted to the handlebars attached by zip ties. Changed the saddle too for an extra wide one for comfort from Amazon. I also cut an ice cream pail into a rear fender to prevent mud and water from flying up and hitting my back. Words great! I ride it 2 miles to and from work everyday and it's still going strong. I just plug it in after each day. Definitely pays for itself and it's fun to ride. I've had to adjust the front brakes a couple times by tightening some bolts. 11/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Good Value for your First Electric Bike First off, I was a bit hesitant about buying an electric bike from Walmart. I bought the extended warranty for insurance. The bike was a "ship to store" delivery and arrived as scheduled. I went to the local store and picked up the item after inspecting the slightly damaged package. The manager ensured me if there were any problems, just bring it back. The bike is heavy. weighing in at about 50-60 pounds with the battery attached. The construction is average and the bike went together in about 30 minutes with minimal trouble. I did find that the front wheel had been damaged during transit, considered returning the bike but decided to have the local bike shop repair the wheel for $12 the afternoon of purchase. Overall, I am pleased initially with the bike, it has good pickup and takes me up hills easily. You cannot ride the bike without the battery assist because the motor is geared to the back wheel, and if the battery dies, some people will have to walk the bike home. If you are looking to purchase your first electric and want to save on the expense of buying a top of the line bike, this is a good choice. The extended warranty is a good value for this item since the technology is not mainstream. 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband (a major couch potato) who said he would exercise if he had a bicycle. Knowing how out of shape he is I thought getting a bike that I knew he would be able to get back home, no matter how tired he was, would be a good idea. The bike is very sturdy and well made. The battery is easy to charge and the electric motor easy to use (he uses the pedal assist and is very happy with it). So far he's used it every day and in fact traveled over 5 miles the first day with the assist of the electric motor. I was worried about the comments in the reviews about the weight, but he has not had any complaints about it. 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Commuter Bike Let me start with I have wanted an electric bike for a long time but they were always too expensive and too small. I am 6' 4" and weigh 250 lbs so finding a bike that would work for me was not easily accesable for a long time. I have had the Ezip Trailz electric bike for about a month now and use it to commute back and forth from work 6.2 miles each way. The bike is very heavy, like reviews suggest, but even with my size the electric motor makes it very easy to ride. The bike has two modes (1) you throttle and ride it like a scooter, this is not possible for people of my size the battery will die very quickly! (2) PAS Mode or pedal assist, you pedal the bike like you would normally do and the electric motor kicks in when it senses you need help. I only use the PAS mode and it gets me to work in about 30 minutes and I get a light workout and don't show up to work sweaty. YOU HAVE TO CHARGE THE BATTERY after everytime you ride no matter how long, otherwise it will retain a charge memory and not fully charge. One time at work I forgot to charge the battery and it ran out of juice halfway home, you DO NOT want to ride this bike without the electric help it is very heavy to pedal, but you can if needed, ride it like any other normal 7 speed bike. Setup was a breeze and I am not handy at all, took me only a 1/2 hour or so by myself. The one thing you do need to do is adjust the gear derailer, it is a little nob on a wire on the back of the rear gear derailer. Flip the bike up on the seat and hadlebars and have someone pedal as you twist the tension nob until the gears don't click when you shift and pedal. I did not do this until a couple days after riding and once I adjusted this it was a much smoother ride and better shifting. I highly reccomend this bike to anyone that doesn't want to spend a lot of money but wants a great cheap commuter alternative. 06/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Value on the Market I'm disabled but not quite ready for the wheel chair so this was a great compromise for me. Pros: Incredible deal, easy to assemble, simple to use, components are transferable to next bike, the peddle assist works great; just like cruse control. Cons: Very heavy bike; (85#!), Lead acid batteries add to the already heavy weight, Lithium-Ion upgrade is available but more than doubles the cost of the bike, low range (about half of what is advertised; about 8 miles for an average sized person), rides like a heavy tank of a bike.... because it is, I guess you get what you pay for, but even with the drawbacks this e-bike gave me some of my freedom of movement back at a price I can afford; that is the very best thing I can say about it.... I wouldn't recommend this to other DP's unless you can use a standard bike safely, but if you can this will extend your world by at least a few more miles. Also, If you're losing weight and need a way to transition I think this would work well for you. As a commuter, if you live within five to ten miles of work this bike could save you lots on gas. Finally, this really is a tank of a bike and not one I would have bought for myself, but if you know anything about bikes, all of the e-bike components are easily transferred to your next bike where you'll cut at least 60# off the weight and extend the range too. I can't see how anyone could go wrong buying this e-bike. I would highly recommend it. 10/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nicely priced. Assembly was not easy for me (I had never assembled a bike before though). Easily will go 15mph on a flat road. Will climb hills if the battery is more than halfway charged. It's extra weight makes it more difficult to go up hills if done manually. The weight also makes it easier for it to tip over when walking the bike. Overall it does meets my needs and is a lot cheaper than a motorcycle (although I do recommend a light if you plan on using it at night). 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great bike. Shopping with WalMat was great I ordered it on line and had it delivered to local store. I saved about $150.00. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value I have had this bike for about 9 months now and love it. It is heavy, but most electric bikes are. I bought an extra battery pack and doubled the range. Eventually I will switch to Life PO 4 batteries and cut the weight and extend the range even more. This bike is a great value for the money. I also have a Currie electric trike that I use to carry groceries and other large loads and love the trike, too. 12/02/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by The bike is made well but is really heavy and hard to move the battery is only good for 5 miles Even with pedaling it only last about 8 miles Over all if you live close to your work or like to take short trips it does a good job 01/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by warranty The bike itself is nice even though it is heavy. My issue is with the warranty. Curry Tech only provides a 6 month warranty on the bike and only a 3 month warranty on the battery. I have had to have my bike repaired 3 times after only owning this bike for 4.5 months. Also, Curry Tech is in California, and will only ship the parts to you at your expense. If I were going to purchase a bike, I would not buy anything from Curry Tech. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! I bought this bike for my husband and he loves it! We live in a town that has a lot of hills around so it really helps to get up the hills. my husband liked it so much that I decided to buy one and I don't have one negative thing to say about this bike! 11/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inner tube was screwed up bought this off of walmart.com for $440. i rode it for the first time for maybe 10 minutes before the back tire went completely flat. tried to fill it up with air and it kept leaking out from the rim of the tire. returned it to a store and got my money back. they don't pay you shipping back and the 2 year service plans don't cover tires. tires are classified as 'consumable parts'. 10/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Work transportation for over 3 years I bought my first eZip Trailz in Jan. 2007. I wrecked that one, sold it and bought the one I have now in Dec. 2008. They went for $348.88 at that time. I ride the bike to work almost every day, just over a mile. It has worked out well for me. I seriously doubt I can get anything close to the milage claimed on a full charge. I weigh 200 lbs and can get 4 to 5 miles on a charge with moderate pedaling. The origial battery lasted 2 years and 9 months. I decided to save some money and buy 2 replacement batteries off eBay to replace the 2 batteries inside the battery pack. Those only cost $47 including shipping but only lasted 5 months. You get what you pay for I suppose. It's a good bike, held up well, if you only need to go 4 or 5 miles and can recharge when you get there it is the best bang for the buck that I've found. 02/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good bike My husband (77 years) purchased this bike to go bike riding with our neighbor. He uses it each day to go up and get the mail, 1 mile. Says he likes it, other than it is a little heavy. 10/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value, great performance Arrived quickly, assembled easily (one battery railing was a LITTLE bent, but easily bent back), great value (I owned another company's electric bike before this, for 3 times the price but not much more performance), looks like a regular bike too (that can be a plus). I've let my electrical contacts get a little wet and corroded over the 3 or 4 years I've owned this bike, emailed the Ezip customer service, they promptly and politely phoned back with complete instructions, etc. For any of the bad reviews, I'd say, you have to maintain the batteries as instructed from the start, watch tire pressure, etc., and in general think a little differently than with a gas vehicle, but this is a great entry-level electric vehicle, for an unbelievably low price and great "bang for the buck". 03/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Purchase I love my electric bike and I think a great many people do too. I ride over to a coffee shop everyday and lock my bike up outside. On more than one occasion I have found people studying it. It rides great and it gives nice assistance going up the hills near where I live. The only down side is when the battery is half full, it won't assist up the hill anymore and the light switches to empty and it is hard to tell when the battery is really empty because when it rides flat roads it switches back to half full. I guess the solution is to get a second battery for when one switches to empty. Even so, I think this was just the right bike for me. It was priced really well. When people ask me I tell them what I paid for it and they usually can't believe it. I recommend this bike to anyone who lives where it is moderately hilly and to someone who doesn't have to travel too far from home. By the way, I am 5'2 and the men's bike is just the right height/size for me. The women's bike was not available when I made this purchase. I just put a basket in front and it looks plenty girly. 10/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for short, less than 3 mile, trips. I decided to try the offer of $.97 delivery direct to home and was not disappointed. I am glad I did not decide to pay for expedited shipping as the large box showed up in only two days. I would recommend that you have an extra set of hands to help unpack, I did not and used a razor knive to cut one side out of the box for access. Follow the instructions on how to positions the bike for assembly and it certainly take less than an hour to fully assemble. An open end and allen wrench are provided to assist in the assembly. I would recommend that you have a bicycle pump available so that the tires can be inflated before the first ride. What I did the night before assembly was to locate the battery and charger so that they could be connected overnight That way once the bike is ready to roll you will have a full battery. The brakes were way out of adjustment with the front wheel essentially locked up with the shoes against the rim. A quick adjustment following the user manual and the bike was ready to ride. Not quite ready, don't forget to adjust the seat and handlebars to suit your comfort. I chose to make small adjustments over the first week to get things right. I live a bit less than 2 miles from home to the closest MetroLink station and I used to walk it in an easy 30 minutes, using the new eBike now takes only 5. Same results at the work end, I get off of Metro at the airport terminal and then a quick 5 minutes to work. Battery life may become an issue being of lead-acid construction so I am already looking into Lithium Polymer replacements which are 1/3rd the weight and can be recharged many more times and much faster than the lead-acid battery. Downside is the cost of the battery. I am totally satisfied with the overall package but will be adding more safety items and accessories like mirrors, padded seat cover, etc. I figure that the gas savings alone will save me over $200 per month after paying for a monthly Metro pass ($68). The only downside is riding in the rain in the summer, miserably hot and muggy, but well worth the short discomfort. Always wear a helmet when riding, the bike can get up to 20 mph and with no rear suspension the tail can step out on bumps. A fall is no fun and it messes up the paint job on the bike. 06/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good if not a lot of hills it's okay, not to good for hills, range isn't has far has they say, but all in all a lot better than peddling the whole way 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for around town. At first I thought I might get laughed at - this being kind of geeky and all - but almost every day someone will stop me and ask about it. Usually I get "That's so cool!" or "Where did you get that?" Comes about 99.9% assembled AND adjusted, (just put on the front tire, handle bars, peddles and seat and you're ready to go). This is VERY important; They put it together at the factory, and just break it down for shipping. Actual set-up is too easy! You only need 2 wrenches and they even give you those. Great battery life, lots of torque and very well built. The only thing is, is that it doesn't have any shocks, so it's a little bumpy. I might put on a springier seat. Oh yeah, you gotta pump up the tires yourself, but if you can't do that... 03/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike, be nice to have battery mounted on center as it makes bike lopsided with only one battery installed. Other than that bike could be made a little lighter, but overall we love the bike. To date bike has worked well batteries charged well and last adequately. 09/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike, Great Value The order process and delivery were excelent. The bike meets all my expectations except for the distance advertised. I get about 10-15 miles round trip depending on how much pedal assist power I use. I weigh under 200 lbs, so that should give you a ball park for your expectations. I enjoy using it and it does do as much as I need for now... 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike! I ride this bike to and from work (about 7 miles roundtrip) with some massive hills (Pennsylvania Mountains). I can make the entire trip without pedaling at all, but I usually add a little going up hills for the exercise. Getting there is mostly uphill and the 3.5 miles takes me about 20 minutes and the return trip about 15. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Yet I rec'd my bike the install was perfect to the letter after charging battery just took my first ride on bike... WOW love it very simple not difficult to handle once you get accustomed to the tag / pas throttle either way great bike not heavy at all i have'nt rode a bike in over thirty years very good to have if your wife won't give in to a motorcycle much safer very good for the enviroment can't wait to order 2nd battery happy trails to all who choose this bike ! 03/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great around town bike I'm 65 and do not want to drive a car around town plus I want to get more exercize. This bike is great. I can pedal most of the time and let the motor assist me when I need it. No move shifting gears to pedal like a mouse on a treadmill when I come to a hill. I used to ride a ten speed and walk up steep hills. No more. And if i am just a little tired the motor can do all the work. I have had several people ask me about the bike and be amazed the can get it at Walmart and at a great value price. They expect it to be twice that price. 03/05/2012
1-30 of 65 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw120
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp