See All Reviews
Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
Backyard Discovery Montpelier Cedar Wooden Swing Set
$649.00
List Price: $799.00
You Save: $150.00 (19%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 50 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE!! THE QUALITY OF THIS PRODUCT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY!! WE SPENT A SOLID DAY AND A HALF PUTTING IT TOGETHER, THE DIRECTIONS AREN'T SPECIFIC ENOUGH TO TELL YOU THAT THE WOOD DOES HAVE TO FACE A SPECIFIC DIRECTION, (HAD TO TAKE APART A FEW PIECES AND FLIP THEM!). THE CLUB HOUSE ISN'T VERY BIG!! WE ARE TAKING OURS APART AND SENDING IT BACK!!! 06/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tons of missing pieces!!!! We received this in 2 boxes but I am thinking there should have been 3. There are SO MANY missing pieces. Step one already had missing pieces. We aren't even close to halfway through the steps and have already found 23 missing pieces!!! Not sure why this company isn't more diligent about double checking the orders. This is so frustrating. I just hope it's worth it when all is said and done. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5-Yr old daughter LOVES it Took about 20 hrs from box pick-up to completed assembly with the help of my dad. Both boxes will fit inside a full size SUV. Only needed to predrill a few of the boards that will obviously split. Expect to unscrew the roof "sunbursts" in order to fit the roof on properly. Also, pay close attention to the orientation of the frame peices as we spent enough time unscrewing and relocating the nuts. The hardware is very good quality, and the swing set is very stable once it is staked into the ground. I would recommend this for ages 3 to 7, but a 5 year old will definately get the most use from it, except for maybe the monkey bars. I will not be putting another one together anytime soon though, it is definately a big project. 11/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste Of Money! We bought this for our kids (7, 3, and 6 months) just a couple months ago. It was a complete pain to put together & we didn't get very far before we realized how cheap the material was. We were very tempted to take it down and return the whole thing, but the kids were already excited & we had spent too much time building it. My advise: don't buy. Save some money. Buy something made of real wood! This was not worth the money we paid for it, not to mention the headache of assembling it! 10/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by MY PARTS DIDNT ALL COME, HAD TO CALL AND ORDER PARTS TWICE. 10/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY!!! We were so excited this came in just in time to put up for our child's birthday only to find there were almost 20 boards missing. I read the other reviews but thought maybe we would not have any trouble. I was so wrong. I do not blame wal mart. I blame the manufacturer. Do notbuy this online or anythig else from this company. 09/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome swingset for the price! This swingset looks as nice in person as it does online. I researched swingsets for months (literally) for my 4 year olds birthday. I found one elsewhere very similar to this but the shipping was $300 (and they didn't carry it in the store#! I was so dissappointed, but then found this one that looked very similar at walmart.com- and the shipping to the store was free! We got it in 1 week and set it up in one day. Mind you, it took all of the 12-16 hours to put together. We had 3 people working on it for 16 hours #we also had to work around leveling the backyard issues, which added additional time#. The directions were relatively clear, a few times we had to skip forward to see what it should look like, but other than that it was fine. I was worried about not having all the parts #I've ordered from Walmart before and didn't always get all the parts) and the only thing we were missing was a small bag of screws that we picked up at the hardware store. My kids LOVE this swingset and it looks great! We had no problems with putting it together- made sure it stayed level the entire time and had to make adjustments to the ground to do so... but it turned out beautiful. We added a little edge around the base with rubber bark, in order to not scuff the wood when weed wacking and to make mowing easier. The other main complaint I saw was the boards being too thin. For under $1000 all swingsets are made with thinner material. You have to spend 1500-2000 in order to get 4x4 boards all around. Like I said, for the price, this was the best swingset we could find. I've even attached a picture! 08/06/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok for very young or tiny children The wood is cheaper than cheap and some pieces come cracked. I doubt the weight limit is correct. It looks good and we bought it before they raised the price an extra $200.00 which I think is crazy I wouldn't pay the$599.00 I payed again. I think with swing sets you have to save up and just spend the e xt Extra and get good strong wood otherwise you throwing your money away by "renting" it because it won't last like it should . I'm hoping it will last long enough until we can buy a properly made one that is a tually as good as it looks. 06/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by unlimited adventure We bought this for grandchildren who live 600+ miles away. Scheduled one day to get this put together. With help from experienced handiman in the family we were able to put it together in a day with just a couple straggler tasks for next day. Finished product was all expected and more. Optimistic will provide many years of play for both children. Followed suggestion to chalk mark each piece to make easier to find. Sorted by pieces. Lastly instructions were not specific for how pre-drilled boards were to face so need to be attentive to that when assembling (this is where experienced handiman was helpful). Overall, expecting hours of summer fun! 06/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Smaller then it seems Not a bad set for the money I guess! The wood is really thin, club house is really small, my 7 year old is almost too big for this set, I do have a 1 year old that will be able to enjoy so thats a good thing. Took about 10 hours in the sun putting this set together, the slide, ladder and bench did not have pre drilled hole as stated in the directions. I picked it up for $599.00 on sale so I guess its a deal. I would recommend for kids no older then 6. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bang for the buck! We just got this item put together, it only took my husband about 2 days mostly all by himself. I did organize the parts and hardware but other then that he did it alone. The directions could have been a little more clear but other then that no complaints there. The wood is the quality I expected for the cost and was all in good shape we didn't have any cracked boards and only one that was slightly warped. My kids have been all over it since we got it put together and I don't think they will come inside for at least a week. I plan on sealing it and I am sure it will give my kids 10 years of fun! Very very happy with this purchase! Oh and we weren't missing any pieces either. 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great swingset!! We bought this using the ship to site option. It was very easy to put together if you laid everything out and sorted it. The directions could be difficult to read at times, but take the time to look it over closely. My husband would rush to build it and not pay attention to the pictures on the direction book. We were missing a few pieces (the slide and one of the chains for the swing was too short). I called the number on the book and they sent us the parts immediately. We built a section at a time in our barn, then we carried the pieces out to the yard. It is very lightweight so make sure that you anchor it down. My daughter has been out almost everyday on it since we put it up. It was very easy and didn't take that long. About 8 hours (to assemble the sections) if there are two of you working on it. Then when you connect the pieces together and anchor it down it is another 2 hours. 05/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice produce.....follow the directions! nice product, came packaged very well. Just make sure you have 2 people (had myself and my wife) reading the directions and putting together. Some of the directions were vague and had to read a few times to determine which side of the boards go up/down. Make sure you look at all the screw/nail holes for proper alignment. Would recommend having the drill handy for quick pre-drilling holes so no wood will crack (worked good) as instructed. Take the time to inventory all wood sections/parts before starting. Overall, once we got rolling, was a fun project to put together. Took about 2.5 weekends (did not work continuously all weekend, just casually). Looks great when finished. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Swingset at a Great Price Excelent product for the price. It takes patience and attention to detail to assemble, but it is not difficult if you have some basic skills. Can you use a level? A drill? A hammer? A socket set? Then you can do it! We did have one issue where the side rails to our stairs split, but I called the company and they sent them out no questions asked. Some people complain because the wood is lightweight....what do you expect for $599? If a person wants they can feel free to spend the $3,000+ dollars for a comparable upper end set, but why? The kids will outgrow this before it's life cycle is complete. If you follow the directions with assembly and then use the ground stakes provided it is plenty sturdy enough. I have an eight year old and a five year old and both are able to get on the swingset and have had up to three friends on as well. It's not going anywhere. 05/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by KIDS LOVE IT!!! I am very happy with this set! We read all the reviews & made sure we spent time to get everything in order before we started & it seemed to go just fine! It took my hubby & his friend about 3 days (only a few hrs a day) to complete it. The wood seems thin, but so far it's pretty sturdy - especially once we anchored it! I would definately recommend this, the price is perfect & my girls love it, looking forward to many more years of play on it ahead! 05/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good set but not without issues We purchased this set for our 2.5 year old and we are happy with the finished product. It's the perfect size for him and will last a long time. We love the extra security the enclosed playhouse brings and the wave ride swing is a favorite of our son. But there were plenty of issues we had that you'll want to consider before purchasing. We were missing 3 steps/pages from the manual though I was easily able to print them online. Some of the instructions also were not clear whatsoever- we're still not sure which way the door is supposed to open and we think the wave rider bracket is wrong- it works like the one pictured in the manual but it's obviuosly not the one pictured! There were many issues with the pre drilled holes being off and wood cracking. Cedar is a soft wood though so take that for what it's worth. My husband and I assembled this and it took a little over a week with working 1-3 hours per day. My best piece of advice if you're going to assemble yourself is to go through the manual and put together all the necessary hardware for each step together beforehand. I labeled plastic baggies with "Ladder-Phase 1" with the required hardware for that step. Made things MUCH easier! We love our set and don't regret purchasing! 05/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We ordered this swing set and had it shipped site to store, and it arrived early, which was great!!!! We seperated all of the parts first, they were all labeled, which is a BIG plus, we were missing 1 board and 2 hinges for the playhouse door, but the company shipped them RIGHT away with no hassle. It took about 15 hours total to put this swing set together, which in my opinion is not bad because my husband is not really a "handyman"!!!!!! We like the swing set, and I hope we get many years out of it!!!!!!! 06/19/2011
31-48 of 48 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew353
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp