Dyson DC28 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Q&A
By: Dyson
Walmart #: 007430884
Dyson DC28 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Clearance Special Buy
$369.85

Out of stock

List price $449.00
 (You save $79.15)
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart.com
 
This item is not available for shipping.
 
This item is not available for pickup or at any of the Walmarts within 50 miles of your location.
  • Patented technology doesn't lose suction
  • Lifetime washable filters
  • For homes with pets
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    About this item

    The Dyson Animal upright vacuum cleaner is a powerful vacuum cleaner that features Airmuscle and Root Cyclone technology for enhanced performance. Designed for homes with pets, this bagless upright vacuum cleaner delivers efficient pet hair pickup. It comes with a mini turbine head attachment that is ideal for removing pet hair from floors, upholstery, and hard to reach places. This wheeled vacuum cleaner comes with a flat out head attachment, which is especially handy for cleaning under low furniture and household appliances. The other accessories that come with this upright cleaner include the on-board combination accessory tool and stair tool. The Dyson DC28 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner is designed for all floor types. This ergonomic handle vacuum cleaner is certified as asthma- and allergy-friendly by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America. This Dyson Animal upright vacuum has no loss of suction and hence provides superior performance.

    Dyson DC28 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner:

  • 5-year warranty on parts and labor by Dyson
  • Root Cyclone technology doesn't lose suction power as you vacuum
  • Mini turbine head attachment removes pet hair and dirt from tight spaces such as upholstery, stairs and the car; quickly attaches to the hose or wand
  • Airmuscle technology for the most thorough clean
  • Pneumatic actuator pulls the Dyson animal upright vacuum head deeper into the carpet, opening the pile to dislodge dirt and pet hair
  • High-torque clutch means more power to the brush bar, enabling the stiff bristles to open carpet pile and dislodge dirt
  • Powered cam lifts the brush bar up for hard floors, focusing suction
  • Certified asthma- and allergy-friendly by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
  • Fingertip controls automatically adjustor deactivate the brush bar for different floor types using a powered cam
  • Quick-draw Telescope Reach wand extends instantly for stair and high-reach cleaning; no awkward parts to assemble
  • Lifetime washable filters and no bags, belts or filters to buy
  • Hygienic bin emptying minimizes risk of contact with dirt
  • Bagless vacuum cleaner tools are fitted and removed with a simple click
  • Blockage inspection ports help you quickly locate and clear blockages
  • Ergonomic carrying handle designed and positioned for comfortable portability
  • Cyclone technology re-engineered cyclone manifold helps air flow through the cyclones increasing efficiency
  • Clear bin made of tough polycarbonate; lets you see when it needs emptying
  • Lifetime washable HEPA filter captures allergens, expels cleaner air
  • Weighs 20.61 lbs. and has a cord length of 35.2 feet
  • Bagless vacuum cleaner includes mini turbine head, flat out head, combination accessory tool and stair tool
  • Specifications

    Cord Length: 35'
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Model No.: 00247
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 28.1
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 14.3 x 13.5 x 42.1
    Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
    Origin of Components: Imported
    Walmart No.: 7430884
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 2395 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    2395 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    5 stars
    1756
    4 stars
    408
    3 stars
    107
    2 stars
    58
    1 stars
    66
    92%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Just Buy It!
    9/29/2009

    Customer review by Shopper09126054

    5.0 stars by Shopper09126054

    Seriously, just buy it! My daughter used my Kirby to clean the litter box and now I refuse to even turn it on because of the smell. She did me a favor! I love this Dyson! The suction is out of this world. I was disgusted with all the dirt and hair it pulled out of my carpets! I didn't know hair could "hide" in your carpet! I thought you could see hair! I ran the Dyson over my livingroom 4 times and emptied the canister all 4 times! I thought my $1,300.00 Kirby was an investment... but now it's a joke! I loved my Kirby until the Dyson picked up what my Kirby left behind! I like that the hose is attached to the machine unlike the Kirby, and the tools are easy to attach also and they lock so they aren't falling off. The only issue so far, I feel like I'm fighting the hose a little, it's hard to extend the hose because of the powerful suction, but I will suffer because I love the suction & power! I love the push button options! I love the miniturbine. I was worried it wouldn't compare to my Kirby's hand held attachment but it's great! My house smells cleaner too! I like the washable filters which my Kirby didn't have and always smelled like animals when I turned it on. Sad when a vacuum can make you this happy!

    Was this review helpful? (182) (9)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Shopper09126054
    Pennsylvania
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Fantastic/Love it !!!
    6/23/2010

    Customer review by WhiteRose61

    5.0 stars by WhiteRose61

    I've had MANY vacuum cleaners over the last 30 years and by far this beats any Hoover, Eureka, Dirt Devil and even my last 2 Rainbows (at a third of their price!). My floors feel clean instantly. Even when I vacuumed spilled cat liter, instead of my feet being peppered with the pellets blowing out the back (like with the R'bow), it picked up EVERY one of them. the first time. The suction is unreal.... I have hard wood floors with area rugs, so there is no separation of padding for air flow beneath so I got quite a work out cleaning them due to the suction (not complaining, needed the exercise!) great on carpets, even better on the bare floors! Thought my house was clean until I dumped the canister .....the 2nd time! The amount of dust it picks up is unreal. Love it. :)

    Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    WhiteRose61
    South MS
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every few days
    WOW
    10/25/2010

    Customer review by Handgunner

    5.0 stars by Handgunner

    Outstanding vacuum. We have a Kirby cleaning system that we have owned for about 14 years. The Kirby does an outstanding job. But, the Dyson takes the Kirby hands down. We have two dogs. One of which is a black Lab. The Lab sheds year round. The Dyson is pulling hair and dirt out of the carpet that looks like it has been there for years. That's scary. If you are looking for something that will suck the socks right off of your feet. The DC28 animal is your bet. The controls are at your finger tips and it is light and easy to manage. I would recomend this to any one. Especially pet owners.

    Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Handgunner
    Washington, Indiana
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Once per week
    1-3 of 2267 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers
    5 questions
    1-3 of 5 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    How many filters are there to wash and reuse? I have a Bissel right now that works great but EVERY time I vacuum I have to wash out one of the filters as it gets covered in fine dirt and lint. It's just a pain to deal with and if you don't clean it each time you noticibly lose suction. I've never had a Dyson.
    by StillSearching11 12/28/2011
    11 answers
    • A. It has two filters that you clean every few months so it is no big deal. However IT SCRATCHES HARDWOOD FLOORS. I would not buy a Dyson again because of this.
      by AnimalLover201211/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. There are two filters you wash every three months and let dry for 24 hours before using the vacuum again. They are easily accessible as well.
      by BuyADyson11/20/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. 2 Filters. They are very easy to wash and are guaranteed to never wear out.
      by aldunn7202311/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. 2 and only every 3 months.
      by LouStu10/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. We had a bissel as well and just switch to the Dyson a couple of months ago. There are 2 filters that you will have to wash out every 3 months. It is super easy to dump the dirt from the contanier.
      by An anonymous customer10/13/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Two washable filters.
      by gmailxyz10/4/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. There are two separate washable filters, but they only recommend washing them every 90 days, so it is livable. Emptying the canister is a breeze with this machine, so the startup/shutdown process only takes a few seconds on an everyday basis.
      by dogdaddydan9/24/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. There are 3 that I know of. Hope that helps.
      by ewest3056/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. 2 filters. One is awkward to get to.
      by AfterLife2/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The dc28 has 2 filters
      by Qrickette1/25/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    I was floored to see so many reconditioned Dyson 28's 'all around',even from authorized Dyson repair places.Savings are almost 50% (I know...no warranty though).Average resale was $220.OK,good people: buy new or reconditioned??? I really need a new doggy vacuum cleaner! Thank You
    by an anonymous customer 7/5/2011
    10 answers
    • A. Might be because the brush (spinning tube with brushes at the front of the unit) is non-replaceable as a wear item - you have to buy an assembly that contains the brush and have it installation. At my factory authorize service center it will cost over $200 (sigh). Our vacuum is about 2.5 years old in a small house and when we had dogs they mostly stayed outside, weather permitting. The service center said the model 28 is the only Dyson unit without a replaceable brush. That said, my love affair is over. Good vacuum (actually the best vacuum I've ever owned as far as cleaning goes) but the next time around I'm going to try a high end European model...
      by JFSD11/24/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Don't believe you would have any problems with a reconditioned unit. Just ensure you still get the five year Dyson warrantee.
      by sup5712/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I think a Dyson is a Dyson and whatever best suits you. But I like to think that I was the first and only owner of my Dyson, and I will own it until I wear it completely out, which will take a long time. With a reconditioned one, you really do not know how long it has been used or how much it was used, and how much time you might have left with it.
      by aldunn7202311/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. We brought ours new just because I was a little scare of it being reconditioned. We caught it on sale at Walmart.com and got it for $400
      by An anonymous customer11/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Buy what you can afford. But if you plan to use it twice a week and have a few animals buy new. But if you are going to use once every couple weeks buy reconditioned. That was my choice, but I vacuum 2 times a week, cause I have 2 doggies and 3 kitty's. And I love it it does a great job.
      by Qrickette1/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would say buy new. At least if anything ever did go wrong within a 5 year span then the vacuum will be replaced at no extra charge. If you buy reconditioned, there is no guarentee how long it will last and there is no warranty. I bought mine new and love it. Plus I dont have to worry because if anything happens to it then Im covered. =)
      by Thankfulformyfamily11/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Dyson authorized repair centers may be an okay place to check out a Dyson. The DC28 Animal is incredible. Dyson direct had rebuilt vacs as well but the pricing and warranty are not the same as a new. I purchased my DC28 from Walmart new and bought for about 35% off due to their sale they were running. If you are considering the savings, make sure you are okay with all fine print!
      by PRILEYRVA1/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I personally do not like to purchase "reconditioned" or "refurbished" items. However in this situation I just might. If you purchase a Dyson DC28 for $220.00 because it was repaired, I would call that good odds. IF the DC28 would need future repairs, though one would not expect this, it may still be less expensive than purchasing new. I would not pay to have repairs made on any vacuum other than a Dyson. I recently had a problem with my DC17, but opted for a new DC28 because of the "advances" in the product. I now feel that I have an "up to date " machine and am not missing anything. By the way, the DC28 is FANTASTIC!! Go with your gut. I feel you can't make the wrong choice. Well, unless you choose not to purchase a Dyson! Good Luck!
      by Gouldsman20001/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. A reconditioned Dyson may be a great option to consider and easier on the budget. Inquire about any limited warranty that may be available to you. Which ever option you choose, the Animal 28 is the way to go if you have a dog(s).
      by Freebird131/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I'd buy new, in fact I did. Dyson comes with a 5 year parts and labor warranty, something NO ONE ELSE in the industry does. That must mean they believe they have a product that's good enough for them to go out on a limb for. As for authorized Dyson vacuum cleaner repair stores, (they repair anything that calls itself a vacuum cleaner) I've seen some 'very creative' repairs on name brand vacuum cleaners, essentially making them NOT the brand you THINK you're getting.
      by 1EarthMother1/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by alliesmom 11/4/2012
    9 answers
    • A. Same attachments as other stores
      by KevinGa12/10/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It came with two larger attachments - a stair attachment as well as an under couch one. It also has two smaller attachments - probably for upholstery, but I cant find one suitable for crevices that I am used to using.
      by TriciaJ12312/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, comes with the stair attachment, the corner attachment (which changes to the suction attachement) and the hard to reach attachment.
      by sup5712/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Hi, Yes, mine came with an uphoulstry attachment, and also a flat tile attachment. It also has some brushes on board that attach to the hose.
      by Sundaegal11/30/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes
      by GreatDaneOwner111/27/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes very basic attachments are included. However they are a little difficult to use.
      by AnimalLover201211/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes it does. It has: 1. a Flat Out head for cleaning under furniture and using on linoleum floors. 2. a turbine brush for small areas, stairs or furniture. 3. two differnt heads to use with the high-reach cleaning wand.
      by BuyADyson11/20/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes mine did.
      by aldunn7202311/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, it has several attachments for various cleaning
      by 4wrancher11/6/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 5 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list