See All Reviews
LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
LitterMaid 980 Multi-Cat Self-Cleaning Litter Box
$119.97
List Price: $169.99
You Save: $50.02 (29%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super litter box. This litter box is a wonderful device, keeps odors down tremendously, and I have two cats. The box emptying itself makes clean up much easier and not as often. I keep it in a separate room which makes it more acceptable to visitors and I think the cats enjoy it too, as they can keep their business more private, which seems to make them happier. 04/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very helpful product Faster quite smooth operation! Shipping was fast. But unit was damaged when arrived. Walmart.com Sent new one in less than 36 hrs. Will bring buying another one when my other unit dies. 04/07/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product This is a great product and works well for my two cats. It took them about a wk to use it. I had to pick them up and put them in it the first few days. I only turn it on when they are not in the room as they are afraid of the noise. It is a bit noisy. It appears to be well made and I hope that it lasts for a good long time. The product description said that it would come w/8 recepticals and filters, however mine only came w/4. 03/29/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not what we expected well I was under the impression that we could adjust the timer. false. it is apparently set at 10 minutes not the 20 we were told. the receptacle says good for one week for up to 2 cats. we have 2 kittens and have only managed to get 3 days out of the one receptacle. it works but is louder than expected, and does not fit the description we were given. we are seriously considering returning it. also the pet paw cleaning ramp tends to fall off the unit about every other time it cycles. 03/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!!! This box is a wonderous thing. Don't have to clean but once a week. My old box went out and my cat was very upset. Couldn't wait to get the new one. Now the cat is a happy camper again! 03/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the lazy cat owner Great product bought 2 of them the only thing that is a negative is they are a little loud 03/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works great! This is the best model I have used I only like to use the Littermaid models that are "classic" they have the plastic rack not the wire rack. The wire rack is terrible. Walmart was great! Because Walmart offered the product at such a great low and shipping was free I bought 2 litter boxes. One for my apartment and one for the person who takes care my cat when I travel for work. Having it shipped to my place or the nearest store saved me a ton of time and energy! Thanks Walmart! 02/23/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it I've only owned this litter box for about a week but I had one for years b4 having two bigger cats in one box for a single cat broke it down. You have to add a little bit of litter every few days just insure proper functions but it works great and I highly recommend it. 02/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Litter Box Works great. Cats took to it just fine. Every time the self cleaning would start, the cats would sit and stare at it. 02/06/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by walmart service not product Let's see I received it and it was defective I brought it back to the walmart store and I didn't t get the shipping refunded just said to them shipped me another one they could not do that either ... so I returned the defective unit had to pay shipping for something I could t use because it was sent to me broken ... never again .. I am not rating the product that much than walmart 02/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems like a good product Works well now, but time will tell if it holds uo. 12/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wouldn't be a cat guardian without one. This is the third Litter Maid i have owned. I have tried 2 other brands of similar products and I keep coming back to the Litter Maid. This item was sent without the carbon filters or scoop, but a quick to call to the company and it was delivered within 10 days. 12/06/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Somethings broke, need to get a replacement Have not been able to use it. Something is out of whack. I plan on taking it back and getting another one. I'm sure it will be what I'm looking for as soon as I get one that works. There are lemons in everything you buy. So I will get a replacement and then I can better rate it. 12/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I expected, Cats are happy too I've used the litter maid for 12 years now and just now had to replace it, so I would say I got my monedy's worth from it. Hopefully this new one will last as long.This one is larger and has higher sides, so it keeps "things" inside much better. 12/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome Cat BoX Quite, and powerful. I have 2 cats and works great. I have had several auto boxes this is the best so far. 11/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Wonderfully for about 6 MONTHS The Littermaid self cleaning boxes work wonderfully for about 6 months..... then just quit. Being a total neat freak, I will replace our broken one but will purchase the extended warranty this time around. Customer service with Litter Maid is HORRIBLE so be prepared to be an explorer in trying to repair this product. It will be like a Lewis and Clark expedition as Litter Maid will not be helpful in resolving problems. With all that being said, I would still purchase a litter maid box. We are a very busy household, which makes this box a win/win for us. Our furry friends don't like a messy litter box and neither do we. We no longer have the "kitty smell" lurking in the laundry room as the waste is automatically raked away after our cats business is done. As well, cleanup is a breeze as you just remove the receptacle and your done. No more having to balance the box in the trash bag as you scrape away loose remnants of kitty litter. Another plus is that these boxes work well in a home with small kids. I don't have to worry about the little ones making sand castles in the stationary litter boxes. LOL I'm willing to pay for the convenience of the litter maid.... but DO PAY FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY as you will most likely need it. Yes, I'm disappointed with the cheap plastic these are made from... but I would be lost without it. The cats like a clean area when nature calls. And with a cat in the house it is important that they use the litter box as nothing is worse than cleaning kitty urine from the carpet. Uggg So again, if you are a clean fanatic this is the product for you. Once you have the freedom of not having to struggle with the kitty litter this will make your life so much easier. Especially for young families or seniors who need help changing litter boxes. 11/15/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Broken product when receive. Im sure the product is a good product however, when I received the box it was pretty well worn out. I called the company and took care of the broken part. If anything Walmart needs to change shipping companies. 11/09/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I ended up happy! I rated it 3 stars because this product didn't work! Followed instructions for set up, plugged it in, and nothing! Return to the store was easy and I would have replaced it, but the only model on the shelf was for a single cat (we have 2 rescues). I love the model I bought! It works as promised, my cats immediately used it, it saves me so much time, and I'd recommend it to anyone. I'd have given it 4 stars without the initial problem. 11/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great electronic self-cleaning litter box This is our 2nd LitterMaid Self-Cleaning box. Our first one lasted 2 cats about 2 or so years and the electronic eye stopped working, so we went back to the basic litter box and hated it. We bought the new 980 and are very pleased with it. It has improved over the older model and I think this should last a long time. 11/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Malfunction I have had several of the LitterMaid litter boxes over the years. With each new model, they "tweak" the design a little bit. I love that this one is designed to not allow litter to slip between the spaces around the receptacle. I did not like, however the fact that it did not function directly out of the box. It would cycle to dump, but the trigger to send it back into the starting position is malfunctioning and the rake is stuck in the dump position. No amount of resetting will send it back to rest. It happens on occasion, that you get a unit that just doesn't work. Unfortunately, I got another unit (from another source), and the second unit does not work either. Same problem. Until they fix this issue, I will not buy another. 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for multiple cats. I truly recommend this product. I have tried others and always come back to Litter Maid. Truly the best out on the market today. I have four cats and they all love it too. 10/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than scooping, but ... 1. The waste receptacle is cheap material, they should provide durable one that can be cleaned and saved money. 2. My cats jump out from the side of the box after their business instead of using the slope, so that causes the small amount of litter spread out every time. 10/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by xxxxx One of the best products out there. 10/24/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some work The litter box was easy to set up and get running, but I eventually returned it because it would become blocked or stuck frequently, sometimes more than once a day. I purchased this so that I would be able to cut back on the amount of times a week I needed to clean the litter box...but with this I had to "fix" it almost daily...and you have to keep the litter level within a specific range. If I didn't notice the blockage right away it was a huge mess because the cats continued to use it. It is also sort of noisy, we had it upstairs and I could hear it running throughout the house...in a small space that would be annoying. I have 2 cats and I used tidy-cats litter. 10/08/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too smelly I really liked the idea of the self cleaning litter box. I read lots of reviews and finally was able to afford to get one, hoping that my cats would adapt. They have indeed used it, but I am going to have to return it because the smell is horrible. You really need to empty the canister several times a day or the waste just sits in there and festers and the entire room stinks. That sort of defeats the whole purpose of the unit which is to scoop and clean less often. The lid doesn't really close all the way, it's not heavy enough. Plus any large clump of waste (urine clumps) will keep the lid propped part way open. We come home from work to a disgusting stink. Nice idea, but not working for me. 09/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great..but read the owner's manual!!! I had a problem with it at first, until I realized that I had overfilled the unit with litter. Those lines on the sides are there for a reason. A little noisy when one of my cats uses it in middle of the night. Save yourself some trouble and read the manual before you assemble and operate it for the first time. 09/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy with product. Do not purchase ever again I am very unhappy with this product. I doesn't really clean the box very well. The feces gets stuck in the rake and clumps up other litter and when it sweeps through the box it forces the litter outside the box and does not always fall off into the waste container. There is still feces in the box after it sweeps through. I am still having to clean the kitty box every day "the old fashion way". The cats are not very happy either, they don't seem to like that the box is dirty until I clean it. The urine clumps up on the rake also and does not fall off the rake in the waste container. I would NOT recommend this to a friend. In fact I would suggest that my friends with cats do NOT purchase this product. 09/23/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This works great. The only thing I don't like is some of the wet litter sticks to the grate. The sound is a little loud. But I would buy this again. Just so I don't have to scoop. 09/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by LITTERMAID IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE! DON'T BUY ! I have owned 2 other Litter Maid boxes when they first became available many years ago. They both lasted approximately 6 years. After those broke I went back to scooping the litter by hand because they were expensive to replace. Recently I suffered a back injury. After reading all the negative reviews, I purchased another pair. I really thought all those negative reviews couldn't be true. I had to return one of them immediately because the motor wouldn't pull the rake thru the litter. After only one week of using the second one, the light started blinking indicating a problem. I don't know what Litter maid did to their once good product? I'm so disappointed in the product because I know what it used to be. I will not be ordering another Litter maid product. Do not waste your money!! Dissatisfied 09/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had the single model years ago with two cats and it was wonderful. This time I got the larger one for multiple cats and it has met the same expectations as last time. Love it. I would recommend this to anyone with cats. 09/10/2013
61-90 of 164 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew352
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp