Four Strong Winds: Ian & Sylvia

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
Advertisement

Four Strong Winds: Ian & Sylvia

Format:  Hardcover,

330 pages

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart Ltd

Publish Date: Sep 2011

ISBN-13: 9780771030383

ISBN-10: 077103038X

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$19.98

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
An acclaimed music historian brings us the long-awaited story of Ian & Sylvia - marking the first time that the legendary folk duo has endorsed a biography of their groundbreaking career.
Their classic "Four Strong Winds" is widely considered to be one of the great songs of all time. Bob Dylan, Gordon Lightfoot, Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, and Joni Mitchell count among their admirers. Their music, including hits like "You Were On My Mind" and "Someday Soon," has been recorded by everyone from Dylan, Joan Baez, and Johnny Cash to Sarah McLachlan and The Tragically Hip. Their influence on music - both in Canada and the United States - has endured over generations and surpassed genres. Yet until now, we have known little of the story behind the folk sensations Ian & Sylvia. In Four Strong Winds, John Einarson takes us back to Ian & Sylvia's early days in Toronto coffeehouses, to their experiences at the heart of the vibrant 1960s Greenwich Village folk scene, and beyond, as their personal and musical partnership continued to change and evolve. Based on Ian and Sylvia Tyson's own personal reflections as well as on the recollections of contemporaries, associates, and admirers, Four Strong Winds is the definitive account of this iconic musical duo and a window on a fascinating period in music history.

Specifications

:
:
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart Ltd
Publish Date: Sep 2011
ISBN-13: 9780771030383
ISBN-10: 077103038X
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 330
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.45
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.25 x 9.25 x 1.25

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2011-08-01)

Einarson (Forever Changes: Arthur Lee and the Book of Love) follows the career of the Canadian folk duo Ian & Sylvia (best known for their song " Four Strong Winds") from their early days in Toronto and Greenwich Village coffeehouses through their breakup as a band and couple in 1975 to their solo careers. The book includes extensive interviews with the Tysons and people who worked closely with them, and these interviews give insight into the inner workings of Ian & Sylvia and their country-rock band, Great Speckled Bird, a subject Ian left out of his memoirs (I Never Sold My Saddle; The Long Trail: My Life in the West). Einarson also includes many interviews with folk musicians such as Gordon Lightfoot who credit Ian & Sylvia for bringing them into the limelight.

Verdict: This extensive biography/autobiography will appeal to fans of Ian & Sylvia and folk music enthusiasts.

-Emily Hamstra, Univ. of Michigan Lib., Ann Arbor

(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

An acclaimed music historian brings us the long-awaited story of Ian & Sylvia - marking the first time that the legendary folk duo has endorsed a biography of their groundbreaking career.

Their classic "Four Strong Winds" is widely considered to be one of the great songs of all time. Bob Dylan, Gordon Lightfoot, Neil Young, Leonard Cohen, and Joni Mitchell count among their admirers. Their music, including hits like "You Were On My Mind" and "Someday Soon", has been recorded by everyone from Dylan, Joan Baez, and Johnny Cash to Sarah McLachlan and The Tragically Hip. Their influence on music - both in Canada and the United States - has endured over generations and surpassed genres. Yet until now, we have known little of the story behind the folk sensations Ian & Sylvia. In Four Strong Winds, John Einarson takes us back to Ian & Sylvia's early days in Toronto coffeehouses, to their experiences at the heart of the vibrant 1960s Greenwich Village folk scene, and beyond, as their personal and musical partnership continued to change and evolve. Based on Ian and Sylvia Tyson's own personal reflections as well as on the recollections of contemporaries, associates, and admirers, Four Strong Winds is the definitive account of this iconic musical duo and a window on a fascinating period in music history.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms