See All Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by 24 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "MUST READ" book for for all dog lovers! I was so glad to find the paperback of "A Dog's Purpose" for sale at the Maui Walmart. I bought two copies to give as gifts to dog lover friends. This is a beautiful book that is a "must read" for anyone who has ever loved and been loved by a dog. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing story that will touch your soul! This is the most beautifully written dog story of all time. If you know a dog lover this would be the finest gift ever. I have loaned my copy of the book to several people and they all loved it, laughed and cried. This is a perfect summer read 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it This book made me laugh, cry, and appreciate my furry family members so much. Once I started this book I read it straight through, I could not put it down. The author tells the story about a journey of a soul through the voice of the dog, but this is not an ordinary "dog book." This book will stay with you long after you have read the last page. Buy them up for the holidays NOW. 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heart warming and emotional For animal lovers everywhere. Have a box of tissues nearby. This is the story of a precious spirit of a dog who began as a pup living in the middle of nowhere and he/she reincarnated into better lives to reach his boy and his purpose of life. I have read this story twice. It's a feelgood story that makes you laugh and cry! You become intimately involved with this wandering spirit and all he goes through. You really can't put this book down till you are finished. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very special book, needs to be read! If you are a dog lover (and even if you aren't), this is a book that needs to be read by you. To view the world from the dog's perspective is fascinating and wonderful. Mr. Cameron takes the reader into a whole new world and explains love from the dog's side of life. This book will have you laughing...and crying. It is one of the best books that I have ever read and it really touched me. I highly recommend it! And it's very appropriate for anyone who has had a four legged friend die, it really does help. I recently sent the book to my ex-husband, he lost his beloved Scotty dog Jasper to cancer. He loved the book and thanked me for it! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by From a Dog's Point of View Just finished this book and I thought it was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is written from a dog's point of view and I think that the author captured what might be how a dog sees the world through his/her eyes. This book is for any dog lover. I laughed, I cried and most of all took a new meaning to how I view my dogs. A worthwhile read. Buy it! 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by You will never look at your dog the same way again I purchased this book a year ago to read on a plane ride/vacation. The title tugged at my heartstrings. After finally purchasing another puppy after a long 7 years since we had put down our first dog, something about it just called to me. I couldn't put the book down. I couldn't turn a page fast enough, but wanted to digest each and every word slowly. I went through every emotion, often at the same time. I laughed. I cried. I smiled. I found myself wanting to get home from a trip simply to see our two dogs. One of which was a recent rescue which only made me relate to the story and the book even more. This book is a must read for any dog lover and for any one who has ever lived out a dog's life during their own. I have but one copy of this book but have lent it countless number of times, always to get it returned by a friend with the same reaction, "I must tell so and so about this book. I loved it!" Read it because your heart tells you to. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful book! This was such a touching book. I read it in two days and just felt so connected to my own dog when reading it and when finished. My niece is reading it now. She is in 5th Grade!!!! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by if you love dogs, or not, you MUST read this I read this book because the premise sounded cute, but I've already read it twice now and I absolutely love it. Each night I would read a chapter, cry, and get out of bed to hug my dogs and let them know I love them--it touched me that much. Each story was uniquely tied to the next, giving purpose to each and building upon themselves. I could 'hear' my dogs thinking and talking the same way, and as much as I cried, I found myself cracking up--Cameron really got inside a dogs head! You will have a new found respect for your dogs, a fresh way to view them, and feel more love coming from them than you thought you did before....and a new way to look at those in your life, and why they're there. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by You will not put this book down! I read this book-stayed up all night. I alternately laughed and cried. Can't say enough about it. Noticed that at my local library it is an upcoming book club choice! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This one's A KEEPER! I am definitely keeping this book for my personal library! It is beautifully written; following the various adventures (and travails) of a lovable dog's soul. There are some sad moments, but overall, it will bring many smiles. A Dog's Purpose is a MUST-HAVE for all dog owners, as it reveals a comfortable perspective. I plan on buying several as gifts for my dog-loving friends and family! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional book and a must read! If you've ever owned or been "owned by" a dog you've got to read this book! Even those that haven't had the opportunity to have a dog in their lives will love this book. Heartwarming, insightful and full of laugh-out-loud moments this book will delight you and at times make you cry reading the sincerity in which it was written. A Dog's Purpose is more than just a story, it touches upon finding answers to why are we here? Enough said... other than you won't want to put this book down! Loved it! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Read!! I loved this book from the minute I started reading it and I couldn't put it down. If you are a dog lover, or know someone that is, I suggest you get this book. It will make you laugh, and it will make you cry. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic reading This book is a must for every animal lover! You will laugh & cry throughout the book. Very well written!! 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my top five books of all time... I read this book early on in hardcover and I can't recall when I've ever loved a book so much! I laughed, I cried, I simply could not put it down. A truly profound book, with deep spiritual implications about the purpose of life, and the eternal nature of our souls. This is a book I have bought by the dozen, no lie, because it's something I give to every dog lover in my life, and especially to those friends who have lost a beloved dog. There simply isn't another book out there that comforts as this book does, and reminds us that Dog is God spelled backwards, that dogs do have eternal souls and will be waiting for us at the rainbow bridge. Love, love, love this book and just can't stop telling people about it. Any dog lover would love it as I do, and if you aren't a dog lover, well, I'm not sure I want to know you...:) LOL kidding, but seriously, even my sister who doesn't like dogs loved this. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog Lovers would love this! I love the way the author writes. He makes the book so interesting, and tells the story through the dogs eyes. You will laugh and cry reading this book. Truly amazing and unforgetable! 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Book!!!! This is a beautiful book written from a dog's perspective. A must read. I have already bought this book three times to give as gifts. 03/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This is such a wonderful book. You will laugh, wonder, and cry. It makes the dog lover's heart reach out to all dogs. Who really knows what they are thinking. When you look into their eyes, the possibilities are endless. Great read. 10/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was compelled to read this book after a recent loss of our dog,friend,family member of nearly 17 years.Butt head died on Feb26,2011.I only lasted 10 days and I had to find another to rescue.But, to my surprise our new family member rescued us. "Sirius" is the same breed,Black lab and Boxer.Not only does he look almost identical but he acts like Butt head.He has helped heal our broken hearts.This book as told from the dogs perspective is quite a lesson into how much truth lies in the reference that dogs are mans best friend.But I'll warn you,have a box of tissues and don't be surprised when you read this story there will be correlations to the time you shared with your own pets.A steal for the price.You'll laugh and cry and be very glad you read this New York Best Seller by Bruce Cameron. 09/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great book I ordered 2 of these books. A friend loaned me hers, and I loved the story so much I knew I wanted it in my personal library. The other copy I am giving to a friend for a birthday gift. Loved using the site to store shipping. First time I ever did that, and there was no problems whatsoever. 08/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent read a very good book would reccommend to all dog lovers 07/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Story!!!! I could not put A Dog's Purpose down until the very last page! Not only is it a must for dog lover's, but also a great family read. It was so nice to read a book with no profanity or adult situations, a great story doesn't need all that to be a classic! This book truly is a classic! 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Dog's Purpose I recently finished this book and it is by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is realistically written from a dog's point of view. Be ready to laugh and cry as you proceed to the very surprising end. I can never look at my dog again without wondering what is his purpose! 07/05/2011
1-24 of 24 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw193
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp