Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1328 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My D7000 I've had my D7000 about two months now and am really enjoying it. I've upgraded up from a D40, which was much simpler to use, I was advised by photo friends of mine that when I upgrade, do the D7000, as I was looking at the D5100 too. I'm glad that I did, it's challenging for me and gives me more options to explore. Although I'm a fledgling amateur, it helps me explore the many different types of photography, recently got into nature, using a 50 mm prime lens, very happy with those results and portraiture using models, which is a first for me, again I wasn't disappointed in the equipment. There's plenty of room to grow with this D7000, so it should last me many years. 08/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AN excellent camera for the price! An excellent camera for the price. Many easy to use features. Will satisfy my needs for many years. 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun to use Replaces a D80. I wanted movie taking capability and the ability to use my old lenses. I did a lot of reading and research concerning a replacement and settled on the 7000. I have no regrets. Many of the reviews were too complicated and technical and failed to tell you how much fun the camera is to use. Taking movies is easy and the movies produced are perfectly good. I like the flexibility of the controls plus the fact that many of these controls have been in the same place over multiple cameras. The manual is a little obtuse and some of the functions are better described by Internet reviewers than the manual itself but out-of-the-box taking pictures was easy. The 6/per second shooting rate is very nice. There are subtle differences between auto and P so I would suggest the user test out the various settings before fixing on a regular choice. Old AF nikkor's work fine. 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Imaging Hercules with Mamoth features!! Highlights Great image quality Weather sealed Autofocuses shooting video Wide dynamic range Movie continuous focus 39 focus points, out of which 19 are cross type. More Details Significantly better image quality More dynamic range 13.9 EV Better color depth 23.5 bits Lower noise at high ISO 1,167 ISO Video autofocus Contrast detection Longer battery life 1050 shots 2 storage slots Smaller, sturdy, strong Magnesium Alloy Body. More compatible lenses available(169 lenses!) Better boost ISO 25,600 Lighter Slightly cheaper 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too much camera for me! I purposely bought too much camera -- I'd been taking good shots with point and shoots in P mode -- the D7000 compelled me to learn manual mode shooting, and it's been a real treat. I've had it a year now, and it's enabled me to take photography up several levels. I'm now getting great shots, no longer by accident. I love my D7000, and the Nikon brand. 08/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Photos But Camera Had Problems So impressed with quality of pictures especially with low light shots. Unfortunately within a week, camera had error messages and the shots became terrible. Had to send it back for factory repairs and was upset I didn't have it working during our vacation. When I got it back, the problem seemed to be fixed except now the video wasn't working correctly. I would have to press the video on button 3+ times just to get it to stay on. You would press it and think you were recording only to realize that it didn't stay on. So now I just know to press it and wait to see if it stays on when I'm trying to record. Another problem with video was when it was in autofocus, it would continually focus in and out and when you watched it, the video was mostly out of focus. So I just focus it manually when doing video. I just learned to live with its issues since it was a hassle to return especially since we're in the military stationed overseas, not assigned to a base. Other than that, it takes great pics and videos. Maybe I was just unlucky and got the lemon of the batch. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best yet! I have used the D7000 for about a year now, and am astonished at the quality of the pictures even if I let the camera do all the work. I came from and still have a D200 which I was quite happy with, but this camera leaves it in the dust. As I do a lot of on-the-fly photography where there is not much time to change settings I have come to appreciate what the D7000 gives back with not much input from me. I also appreciate the 16.5 megapixels as it leaves me more room to crop. Just as an aside, my standard lens is a 28-300 Nikon that I bought with the camera. I love it! Very versatile and sharp. I use several other lenses including a 10-24 Nikon that is great for landscapes and tight quarter situations. Very happy with my purchase of the D7000. Wish there was some way to upgrade to a higher MP count as some of the newer cameras have. 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two features of the D7000 that changed my life Other than vacation pictures I shoot only nature macro. My 105mm f/2.8G AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor almost never leaves the camera. I upgraded from the D50 I bought with the 105 and besides the pixel count two features changed my style. First and foremost in Aperture mode, where I am exclusively, the second thumb wheel on my D7000 controls ISO. I treat this like time, now I can set aperture for necessary depth of field and set ISO (time) as needed for motion freezing. Chasing insects in full sunlight at f/16 and above 1:2 magnification with a shutter at least 1/1000 works for me. The instant control of aperture and time without changing exposure is game changing. Past ISO 1600 it gets a bit noisy and by ISO 6400 with or without Hi-ISO noise reduction, it changes the bokeh in a way I don't like, but it allows focused pictures of small fast things I could not get without a flash, which I usually don't use. The second feature I love in the D7000 is the built in Commander flash mode. I use a hand held SB-R200 flash for fill when shooting difficult flowers like Symplocarpus foetidus. The shutter is slow sync and the built in flash is set to 10% level. The third feature I have recently started using is the autofocus fine tuning. In macro if you focus on the closest part of the subject, you are wasting half of the depth of field. I find autofocus fine tune settings of -10 to -20 have improved my photos. No other Nikon prosumer cameras have this combination of features critical to me. I have had the D7000 for a year and am close to 10,000 shutter releases, I have never taken pictures like this but the 7000 makes it so easy and rewarding. 08/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Amazing photos, great utility, faulty shutter... I've really enjoyed using this camera for events and on location portrait work outside the studio. The images and color depth are great, and the on board editing and review tools are very useful. My only complaint is currently being dealt with by Nikon Photo Service Center in Melville, NY. I was using the camera for a live event and the shutter had a critical failure, with parts actually breaking and coming loose within the camera body. When I removed the lens later to inspect it, the shutter was severely damaged during regular light use and completely inoperable. It appears that there is no damage to the CCD (fingers crossed), but I certainly hope I'm not asked to pay for repairs for this kind of critical failure, especially since I own several other Nikon DSLR cameras and have had no shutter issues with any of them after nearly a decade of continuous use. 08/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great camera! I've really enjoyed this camera, fast focusing, very good on low light conditions, durable battery, light for all day uses... i really love it! 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera for the price We purchased the D7000 about 11 months ago. We liked the camera from the beginning but had problems with the SD Cards. We sent the camera back to Nikon and they made some repairs, but the problem persisted. When the initial firmware update was released, we applied it and had no problems since. We think the camera is great. We have taken about 6000 photos aand are satisfied with the results. We take a lot of photos inside without flash. We use high ISO and that has not affected the quality to ny great extent. We have even taken pictures of a candlelight servie in the church and they came out great. We have always gone with the Pro bodies (D1H, D2H and D300 Series). This camera is more that a match for them. My only misgiving now is that the camera uses a DX (APS-C) Sensor instead of the FX (Full Frame) Sensor. 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best DX Camera Available Today This is my 5th Nikon DX camera (D40, D80, D90, D300s) and by far the best. The D7000 isn't as sturdy as the D300/s, but it takes better pictures, which is really what it's all about. The sensor is simply superior to the prior Nikon DX generation sensors.... much less noise, better clarity, overall better results. My photo buddies shoot with a variety of Canon DX cameras, including the top of the line 7D, but in my opinion, even though the D7000 is more fragile than the high-end competition, the photos are clearly better. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding do it all camera! I am a semi-pro photographer and I have tried a good number of cameras during my tenure. I have found the D7000 to be a great mix between a vacation camera and a professional camera. It is the type of camera that takes outstanding photos, good enough to use for a wedding yet still light enough to take hiking. It is one of my all time favorite Nikons. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pro-like DSLR I bought this camera 10 months ago, and from this time I must admit that this is quite good piece of HW, Definitively I suggest to buy a kit with 18-105 lens. For the start is a multipurpose lens and for a while you have no need to get it off. Body is quite robust and together with battery grip is awesome. Camera works quite well, AF fast and accurate (in my case few corrections by AF-Fine tune function were necessary). From all the AF modes I'm using basically AF-S, AF-C (9 points) works fine, other modes like 3D matrix, AF-A or whatever I haven't begin to like them yet. Matrix metering is working well, some times undex exposure by 0.7 EV is necessary in sunny days, or with Sigma 70-200 F2.8 almost every time. But you can set these preferences as default, thus not a big deal. So generaly this is a good camera and I definitelly sudgets to everyone who is look'in for cheaper brother of D700/300 and is willing to downgrade from FullFrame sensor (in my opinion in exchange of cheaper lenses...) And you're not going to print images for more than A3 (print from this camera is still awesome)... 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera the d7000 is an excellent camera with a whole lotta stuff packed in side of it 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Step Up from my D70! Pros: - 2 memory slots - second memory slot can be overflow or targeted for videos - 16 megapixels - great battery life - more than 750 shots - flexible configuration - lots of scenes, but you can also define your own - literally hundreds of settings - 39 focus points - good integrated flash - videos are decent I bought this as an upgrade for my aging D70 just three days prior to a two-week vacation in Mexico. Also purchased a compact field guide and was glad I did. I took almost 2,000 shots over the two weeks in a variety of situations. The camera performed great - got some outstanding shots. More reading and practice will make me a better photographer, but now I have a great tool to work with! 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible The D7000 is the best camera that I have ever owned and I have owned more than a few DsLRs and 35mm SLRs. The colors and lights are better rendered than most high end professional cameras and you will be amazed at the lack of ISO noise, even up in the 3200 range. Pair this with a quality Nikon lens or two and you will be ready to shoot for several years. 08/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Camera but had some Issues This is a wonderful camera. I'm quite happy with the size, performance, IQ, and color. The only problems I had were: oil spots on the sensor followed by a failed mirror. I'm unsure if the mirror failure resulted from the sensor cleaning / repair. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work horse !! I'm a full time professional Photography studio doing Studio-outdoor senior work, weddings,copy work and also full time action shots for baseball, football, basketball and soccer. I use the nikon 80-200 2.8 for my sports work and I use the nikon 18-105 3.5 for my wedding-studio work .and also have the mb-d11 for extra battery and vertical shots. I only have one problem with my camera and that is battery life! I don't use the video on my camera much, just because I don't have a lot of time to do so. I would recommend this camera to any professional in any field of photography!! 08/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by D7000 I would not recommend a D7000. I bought this camera to replace a D90 and have been displeased since I have purchased it. It does not give me consisdently good shots. Out of 100 pictures I will have only a handful that will be in focus most will be a tad out of focus. This happens not matter what type of auto focus setting I am using. I even sent this camera back to Nikon to fix a pixel problem and informed them at that time about the "soft" focus problem....still have it (the problem that is). I feel I have to take three time the pictures to get enough good pictures to use. This camera does have a lot of bells and whistles but they don't mean much when the end product is unusable. 2 pictures attached. I count pictures in focus if I can count the eyelashes (provided they are portraits) 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the D90 but the D7000 blows it away! I've had a D90 for a couple years. I love it. But I've only had the D7000 a week and I love it even more. Glad I finally decided to upgrade. I really like the solid and natural feel of the D7000. The extra controls on the body make it much easier to use and the menu system is pretty intuitive if you've ever used any other DSLR. I've read many reviews saying the D7000 is the best camera of its class that Nikon has ever made. I'll go with those comments and raise you one more. Great job Nikon. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera at the high amateur end. Easy to use features, with great options for taking a variety of pictures, without having to resort to manual settings. 08/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nikon D7000: One step up from amateur SLRs Lovely piece of kit that I would recommend to any amateur digital photographer wanting to upgrade to first class semi pro SLR photography. Untold functions included in this lightweight but fully functional camera body. Had some issues with the autofocus that has a slight offset on my camera despite an after sales intervention. Great value for money. Ecxellent fun discovering another world of photography. Great with Nikon Capture or Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Portrait Machine I'm a professional headshot photographer based in New York City and use the D7000 for all of my work. The D7000's ability to reproduce skin tones accurately while rendering vibrant colors makes it the only camera I use for my headshots. This camera coupled with the Nikor 85mm 1.4D creates portraits that are sharp as a tack with files that are a joy to work with in post production. The build is what you would expect from Nikon: Solid with all the controls in the right places. I really enjoy Nikon's ability to continue to upgrade their equipment while maintaining consistency in operation. Thank you Nikon for making an outstanding camera that greatly exceeds it purchase price! 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Nikon Advanced Amateur yet Have enjoyed D70, D80 and D90. D7000 beats them all. Great features and friendly to use 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lives up to my hopes! I am a beginner photographer but the photos I have gotten from this camera make me look like a professional. The sports photographs I have gotten have been superb! I bought a good zoom lens and have gotten stunning shots from my daughter's soccer games that are crystal clear even after cropping the photos a good deal to show the action from all the way across the far side of the field. No more tiny photos of my daughters from far away and no more fuzzy photos of them at full speed. I have shots that make them look like they are running in the air and I was on the other side of the field when I took them. I really can't say enough about the sports setting. I have also begun using the more advanced features and see that I will be easily able to go from beginner to advanced with the same camera. This is everything I had hoped for and more! 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful camera. A wonderful camera. Takes sharp and clear pics. Almost as good as a D800, under normal conditions. For every day use, at one-third the price, just as good as D800. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quite a camera. Great collection of features, takes a little while to learn them all. Ultimately worth the time investment. recommend the use of one of the fine books on D7000 to speed up the learning process. Great in hand- held in low light situations. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Creative Window The D7000 is a camera which unlocks deeper understanding of photography. It provokes the owner to explore the use of speed, aperture and iso to help explain the world. Life is better using a D7000 if you are interested in the field of photography. The Nikon D7000 is solid to use, substantial in its capability and leads you competently toward a creative use of your camera. For me, I am always challenged to take a better shot and I am amazed I usually get a keeper! In short, since buying my D7000 I feel that my photography IQ has been increasing. I recommend this camera to anyone who has feels that photography is a serious hobby and who wants to embrace a camera with professional capabilities. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use for the beginner I am so happy with this camera I bought another for back up. Just one of the features and there are many I enjoy is the low light. It may dusk and the shots come out so well. 08/05/2012
31-60 of 1,327 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew213
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp