Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1404 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fragile shutter = extremely bad design I had my D7000 for a little over a year when I took it on a two and a half month trip to South America. Half-way through the trip I tried to take a picture over my head using Live View; the camera made a "non-normal" sound when I pressed the release and, from that point on, would not work. The display showed "err" and nothing, other that the power switch, would work. A quick search turned up the fact that the shutter had catastrophically failed. When I look at the sensor, I can see the shutter blades sticking out of the side of the sensor; they look like a fly's wings that have been caught in a door. Total and utter failure. The search also turned up the fact that I am not the only one to experience this disaster; there are dozens of other owners that have experienced the same thing, so this is not an isolated incident. The way that the shutter failed causes me to wonder how such a thing is even possible. The camera was well taken care of, not abused, not misused. I had taken less than 10K shot to that point, well under the 150K it supposedly is rated for. I strongly suspect flawed design or flawed manufacture. Needless to say, the camera was no longer under warranty (if you design a faulty product, make sure it lasts just sightly longer than the short warranty you supply with it). When I returned, I took it to the local "Authorized Nikon Repair" facility. I put the term in quotes since I gave it to them on March 1st; it is now September 10th, over SIX MONTHS, and I still don't have my camera, but I do have a half dozen emails stating "We'll check on it and get back to you" which they never do. So, in short, would I recommend spending $1200 on a camera that lasts a little over one year, and $350 (so far) for repairs, and end up with absolutely nothing? NO! 09/10/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Shutter Type Electronically controlled vertical-travel focal-plane Paid over $1400 for the body only. After two years and and six months of use the Shutter died on me during a shooting session; forced to pay another $300 to fix it. Camera has Automatic Focus problems. The bill from Nikon stated in detail the procedure and the fixes they did to fix the camera. One was Shutter, second was Focus, third was the Software upgrade beyond what was available on their website. I wish Nikon would admit they have problems with this issues with D7000. Pixel noise take place from ISO 1200 up. 07/14/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by its good body weight is fine... sharpness is satisfying.... color is great....... body structure is soooo strong.... (mine 1 fall from my hands nearly up from 5 foot and nothing harmed, just my lense hood broke a lil bit :O ) iso performance is fair..... :) a nice package for advanced photographers.... who wants the best result in budget, from a DX body and ..... you want a canon like color and nikon like focus..??? give it a try..... :) 07/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome DSLR by Nikon I bought Nikon D5000 few years back and it really makes me to stick with Nikon. To upgrade, I bought D7000 and realized how Awesome it is. Everything in the camera is easily accessible. I use it with Nikon 18-200mm VR II. It's an excellent Combo and produce Great Images every time. As everyone say It's Best for It's Low-light performance. Dual SDCard slot is Great when you shot throughout the day on trips. It's bit heavy and I used to it. I wish Nikon should consider Swivel LCD as Serious feature and should release Future DSLRs with Swivel LCD or Wireless LCD is Great. 07/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bought it to replace my D5000, wish I had done it a long time ago. Wow is the one thing I can say. Taking my time and learning my camera. Reading the manual and watching all the cool stuff on Youtube. Going from a d5000 to a D7000 is a most rewarding challenge. I'm getting more out of my d7000 then I ever dreamed of. 07/06/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Raw processing Great pictures...if you can access them. Very dissapointed that my Photoshop will not support Nikon's NEF files. Nikon blames Photoshop, Adobe blames Nikon. Software included in package will allow to view and save photos in TIFF; defeats the purpose of having RAW files. 07/02/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by D7000 Bought the D7000 at the end of last year, i've spent days, weeks and months, trying to figure out why i get better results with manual focus then auto..... This in some of my shooting is a big problem. I've always shot Nikon since my Father's hand me down FE. I am impressed by the amount of options and controls on the D7000, but the inability to have an accurate autofocus, and lengthy experience trying to get a handle on the menu options is a game changer for me. Maybe i've held Nikon to too high of a standard, but I expected nothing but the best, and got a product that is sub par. It's sad that the Canon Elf point and shoot camera my wife has takes better and more consistent pictures, then my Nikon..... Perhaps its time to move on to a brand that can deliver. 05/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment - Focus Problems I've been a life long Nikon user and purchased this camera in October after waiting yrs to upgrade. For the last 6 months I've been using this camera on all my trips and couldn't for the life of me figure out why pictures taken indoors under low light conditions were after soft/blurry. It wasn't until I searched for problems associated with the D7000 that I learned there is an apparent autofocus issue with the camera. I can't tell you how disappointmented I am with my camera and of all the bad pictures I now have to serve as memories of some very important trips I've taken these past few months. My small canon powershot take better/crisper pictures. I've lost all confidence in this camera and Nikon. 05/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional camera in a small body ! I get professional looking pictures every time .I use my with a nikkor 85mm 1.4 and i used in the past with the 85mm 1.8 both D lenses .With either lens this camera is a killer !!! I rate this camera a 10 , top to bottom , from ergonomics to focusing speed . I have nothing to complain about !!!!! Two thumbs up all the way .If i was a wedding photographer this would be my choice for backing up a D800 or maybe back up the D7000 with the D800 ! LOL 05/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by it's the best for those who can't afford full frame if you can't afford buying a full frame camera, the most decent thing to do is to buy this one :) simple as that ... 05/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome camera! I'm a semi-pro photographer and this little gem is one of the best cameras I've ever used. The pictures are extremely crisp and I love the 39 focal points. 04/30/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by GREAT CAMERA BUT..... THE CAMERA IS GREAT, I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE RESULTS OF MY PHOTOS, BUT I AM CONCERN ON THE QC OF THE CAMERA, I GOT IT ON DECEMBER 2012, AND 4 MONTHS LATER IT STARTED HAVING FOCUS PROBLEMS. AS I WRITE THIS THE CAMERA IS AT NIKON SUPPORT. GREAT CAMERA BAD QUALITY CONTROL 04/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by D7000 Auto focusing function I have a D70 since it first come out and it's .an amazing DSLR camera. Recently I upgrade to D7000 but the auto focusing function is disappointing. I suspect the qualify control is not as good as before. I suggest Nikon Canada to offer a recall and fix this common problem once and for all for all the owners. 04/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera for the $$ I've been using Nikon for more than 30 years and have had several top-end film cameras and D1's. When i wanted an affordable upgrade without going all-in on a D4 this one seemed to meet most of my needs. There are a few things I wish it had, like a 10-pin connector, etc. but I realize those are "pro" features. The camera has always delivered tack sharp images when i do my part. 04/02/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hated it Ive been a photographer in New York over 10years and there is much better cameras thats a fact 04/01/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fine Tuning a Must I have started with Nikon with a D5000. When D7000 came out I jumped on it, I wanted more from a camera. I loved the feel and the set up of the camera. Downfall, pictures rarely came out focused. My 50mm 1.4 was the worst on the camera. I would focus and the camera would focus on something else in to the left background. I kept thinking it was me having a learning curve. I struggled with the camera for a year and 1/2. I finally after many classes and a professional photographer getting a hold of my camera it was decided I had the internet rage of backfocusing. We had to fine tune all my lenses expect for my 3rd party macro (it was perfect). I do not think for the money I should have to do every lens. Nikon would not pick up the repair costs as I was out of warrantee. I am selling the camera and now have the Nikon D7100. You probably hear me a block away when I took a shot with my 50mm and it was spot on beautiful!. I am giving the D7000 two stars for when it worked it worked beautiful. 03/31/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Camera except some quality control issue I have been using Nikon DSLR for many years now. I think Nikon quality control has gone down over period of time and this otherwise very good camera D7000 is no exception. Image quality is very good, very good ergonomics. The AF seems to work very accurate. The best thing about D7000 is, its battery life, two user settings button U1 and U2. I have shot 1500 images regularly with one full charging. With U1 and U2 recall buttons, I can quickly come back to shoot bird in flights as soon as I see them! The main problem is its sensor dust issue. Its sensor seems to attract dust all the time. I have to get it cleaned almost twice a month from Nikon Service Centre. Also, Nikon has changed mirror drive once, still I see many dust spots on its view finder! I hope Nikon will get rid of such issue in it updated version D7100. 03/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One week old, and out for repair. So, I've been shooting Nikon F3 film camera for years, and decided to go digital with the D7000 on the fact that I could keep using my AI and AIS lenses. Same lenses for film AND digital — SCORE (I still want to keep shooting on film). Unboxing the camera vey exited only to find out it back focuses like crazy. I return the camera to the store, who at first refuses to help me, but blames my "old" lenses — working perfectly for 20 years with my F3 I might ad (first my dad used them professionally and now I am using them). The store excuses the problem by telling me back- or front focus is normal for a digital SLR, normal, what normal? I call Nikon Denmark, who agrees with me that there should not be a problem using AI and AIS lenses with the D7000. However, if the store will not help me, Nikon will not be able to offer me a repair under warranty either. The camera was a week old by then. Thanks guys! Back to the store. Who tells me that I may have to use AF Fine Tune (which I know does not work on manual lenses — but the store does not listen, they talk, so they kept going on about AF Fine Tune). Finally I convince them that the body has a problem and they agree to call the repair center, who luckily agrees to take the camera in under warranty. The store however tells me that I might never get the camera working perfectly with manual lenses (even though the manual states that the D7000 is compatible with AI and AIS lenses). A $1000 camera should be able to, if nothing else, shoot a photo in focus — or am I being completely unreasonable here. So … in a couple of days I have had the D7000 for two weeks, but I have not as of yet shot a single frame in focus. My girlfriend's cheap Canon 1000D with a plastic lens performs better than the Nikon D7000 with real glass attached to it. DISAPPOINTED does not even begin to describe how I feel about Nikon right now. So, now I am waiting for my camera to be adjusted hoping and praying that it will be working perfectly when I get it back, or else I will be out $1000 and bad out of luck. 03/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A camera for the world and pros My camera has already been in a film as I was shot on video while shooting a tribal bikini shoot on some dunes. I shot for six hours for a magazine and clothing line and did maybe two thousand or more shots and the little monster didn't even need to change its battery. The buffer problem is easy to fix with the right card. It is a lowlight champ, and because its saturation, sharpness, is actually customizable, it is a brilliant design. I would only like a bigger viewer, like a 35mm film camera, but overall, it is simply a great camera and with it a talented shooter can take on mightier cameras. It was rated as a backup camera for pros but it really exceeds expectations. I want another one. In Manual settings it just rocks with its two main control spin dials and often I run four different speedlights off it. I use some powerful speedlights and the whole commander system is just great. In studio with the right glass it seizes beauty. I really don't need another camera and if I did it would be for a certain Nikon glass, the legendary 135mm 2.0, and I would go D3x or D4. The focus system is a gift from the camera gods! I would include a photo but that's advertising and guess what I like to do! I could use another one of it as a backup. 03/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst camera ever made focus accuracy 1 out of 100 sent it back for repair same problem sent it back no solution 03/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good upgrade for me!!! I bought this camera before reading any reviews, but I did compare cameras. I was replacing a Fuji S3 Pro. I need the High ISO and wanted 2 card slots, so this camera was the best choice in my price range. I haven't used it heavily yet, but its does almost everything well. There are so many options that can change how the image is recorded that I think some of previous reviews didn't change some of the settings. The only issue I see is its lack of low light / smooth surface focusing. Like the S3 Pro, there are settings that I don't think I'll ever use. The Battery Grip/vertical shutter release should be built in or come with the camera. It is very unnatural to not have the vertical shutter release. I am looking for a second/backup camera but don't if another D7000 is good or go to the D7100 (but with a different battery grip I may not do it). 03/03/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not a good camera This is my second review of this camera, I've been shooting this camera since it came out, my opinion has changed. The D7000 has a couple problems. I recommend avoiding this model. If either the camera or the subject are in motion you wont get the shot. The autofocus is terrible. Also this camera gets oil on the sensor. I wish I could afford to replace this camera. It really limits what I can shoot and increases my photoshop time tremendously. 03/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Autofocus Issue Makes This Camera Unusable I am not sure if I received a defective model, but the critical focusing at wide apertures on this camera is unacceptably flawed in the unit that I purchased. The point that I choose to focus on is always slightly blurry with razor sharp detail falling just behind the focus point almost every time. Take, for example, a simple portrait from a 3/4 perspective. The eye that I have picked as the focus point is usually slightly blurry while the further eye/eyelashes/details are in razor sharp detail. This problem extends to use in street situations in which the point that I select to focus is always slightly blurry compared to the amount of detail just behind the person/object that I have tried to capture in exacting detail. My d3100 (which this camera was supposed to replace) suffers from none of these glaring autofocus inaccuracies. I am very disappointed and will be looking to return my d7000 body, possibly switching to a Canon that does not drop the ball on simple autofocus point assignments. 02/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic DSLR! This camera has been one of the best cameras that I have ever owned. I used to have a D40, D80, and now this one. Never had a single problem with Nikon. The fact that you can have a DX body with professional features is outstanding. The double SD card slot, 6fps shooting, and 39-point focus system work so well. Thank you Nikon! 02/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet camera I decided to upgrade my DSLR recently from a very serviceable D3000 and I had a few criteria I was looking at. It had to be a Nikon, I wanted a large, bright viewfinder, I wanted a focus motor in the camera and I wanted good low-light capabilities as well as easier access to full manual control. My plan was to pick up a D90 body after the D5200 was introduced and the price went down, but that changed after I held a D7000. I was ruined. Watching the prices I realized that the D90 was only a hundred bucks less than the D7000 so it wasn’t worth considering. I’m not going to reiterate everything said in past reviews, so I’ll simply reflect on a few features I like so far. The Viewfinder- Bright, large and full of information. I can see what settings I’m changing without taking my eye from the viewfinder. Manual Settings- Very easy to access Low Light Capabilities- I normally set it at 160 (reminiscent of Kodak Portra) for normal shooting and have the automatic ISO set at a maximum of 6400 with a minimum shutter of 1/30th. I took a photo of my grandson at ISO 6400 and cropped the image after converting to black and white. Making it full screen on the laptop and zooming in on it to the equivalent of a 16x20. It still looked good with some noise that gave it the look of Tri-X-Pan. Indoor color shots of food (that’s my primary use of the camera, food blogging) at 1600 ISO are magnificent. Two card slots- Nice feature. I set it up so I shoot JPEG on one card and RAW on the second. Depth of Field Preview- I missed this feature on cheap cameras. Focus- Many people claim this camera has a ‘back focus’ issue. I can’t say that I have it on mine; I can’t say that I do. What I can say is that I find it to be the fastest focusing camera I’ve ever had. I also find that it focuses on what I want, most of the time. No camera will ever be 100% accurate. Sharpness- Pictures are sharp and clear. I set the color to vivid for everything but portraits. Live Screen- Nice, but I like the viewfinder. It doesn’t like to autofocus as well in live mode as the camera uses a different (more archaic) focus system. I haven’t used to video mode as yet, it wasn’t important in buying the camera. Overall, I’d recommend this camera to the photographer who wants superb photos and ease of control. 02/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glory Be Succinctly,this camera means business. If you are shopping for a mid range Dslr I would recommend the D7000 in a heart beat with no apologies to any nay sayers. There is something about Nikon and it's 7s the D70 opened a whole new world to so many ushering in affordable digital slrs for the masses, the D700 is a master piece which helped introduce the full frame sensor and no the D7000 which bridges the gap between Professional cameras and consumer models. This camera keeps up with me, produces amazing images and it is intoxicating to use this marvel. 02/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the quality of the camera! This was a big jump for me- I went from a point and shoot to a DX- and I am amazed at the photos it produces. I shoot completely manual- and love every minute with my camera. It amazes me and it was the perfect fit for me. Perfect for those who really want a big step into photography and want something really good, but not too crazy expensive! My favorite features are live view, because when I have my camera at an odd angle, I can tell if its focused or not; and the two card slots. Love this camera and would recommend it in a heartbeat. 02/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one flaw I am completely happy with everything about this camera with one exception. The buffer is too slow for wildlife, especially birds. I know this is a trade-off for the impressive file sizes but every now and then I miss the critical shot. I'm learning to be more discerning and wait which the D7000 allows with it's fast focusing and shutter response. All in all I'd buy it again. One of the deciding features for me is the ability to program in my old Nikkor's and use them with full metering. My 30 year old 105/f2.5 coupled with this camera makes for some incredibly sharp photos. 02/12/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I like the camera, but I seem to have problems and have had to exchange it. I love the 2 SD slot and I love the 6 frame per sec. I bought the first one and used it a lot. After the first few months, it would say It didn't have a SD card in it after I had taken 400 pictures. It would not shut off either. I had to remove the battery and then it would "fix' it for a while. I exchanged it for another. It started to do the same thing while I was shooting pictures for a gala event. I also realized that even though it was saying it was taking the pictures, It was not showing up on my SD card. It also began leaving weird shadows on the subjects of my pictures, only when I turned the camera in one direction. I have since exchanged it and am going to try it a third time. I am getting ready to go on vacation so I will be using it a lot there and we will see if it does the same thing. 02/05/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good camera but has it's faults I really like the D7000 and it was a nice step up from my D3100. The low light capibilities are good for a DX camera. My biggest complaint is the back focus issue. I miss focus very often with this camera and after may tests and talking to others I've found it's the camera. I adjusted the AF fine tune and that did help. Overall this is a great camera and for the price it rocks! But the backfocus issue has now pushed me into a D600. 01/28/2013
31-60 of 1,401 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  47 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew358
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp