Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
  • Store or back up photos, movies, music and documents
  • Carry files with you while on-the-go
  • Access your files with both PC and Mac computers
  • About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

  • Store or back up photos, movies, music and documents
  • Carry files with you while on-the-go
  • Access your files with both PC and Mac computers

    Seagate External Hard Drive:

  • 1TB capacity, so you can comfortably store all your files
  • Store up to 120 HD movies, 444 standard definition movies, 250,000 four minute songs, 500,000 four megapixel photos
  • Easily protect your data with automatic backup software
  • Keep your most important files private with software encryption technology
  • Experience fast data transfer with a USB 3.0 interface
  • Get started quickly with pre-loaded software
  • Software is Windows 7 compatible and works with 64 bit operating systems
  • Plug and Play with Windows operating system, and share files with your MAC
  • Save energy with an environmentally smart utility that can power down your drive when it's not in use
  • Complete ready-to-go solution, includes external hard drive, cables and software
  • Enjoy peace of mind with a 2-year limited warranty
  • Specifications

    Hard Drive Capacity: 1 TB
    Video Game Platform: PC
    Street Date: -2208988800000
    Capacity: 1 TB
    Size: 1 TB
    Form: 2.5"
    Manufacturer Part Number: STAA1000101
    Model: STAA1000101
    Brand: Seagate
    Show
    Show

    Manuals & Guides

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 41 questions
    1-3 of 41 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    When im on the go and i need to access somthing do i need to plug it into an electrical outlet or can i just plug it into my laptop and go.
    by an anonymous customer 11/29/2010
    9 answers
    • A. No it uses a USB cable so it connects to your computer. It is powered through your computer's power.
      by jrroberts12/20/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You should be able to plug it into your laptop as long as your laptop usb provides enough electricity to charge it. My desktop usb ports do not, so I had to plug my drive into a hub that includes a powercord.
      by MediaNerd5/19/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. plug and go. uses power from your laptop
      by cldocx5/16/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This drive requires 100ma to work (I checked in Device Manager).
      by dncorp4/29/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no power cord needed
      by Boilerpete13/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, it is powered by your laptop. Yes, it is a plug and go.
      by SomaliPirate3/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. It is powered via the USB port.
      by hOSUton2/11/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Just plug and go. No external power cord required.
      by TheGMan51/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This unit does NOT require an additional power cable. It is powered solely by the USB (or FireWire) connection from the computer, and the computer can be either a desktop or a laptop/notebook.
      by SeagateAlan6/8/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    If listed as 3.0 it SHOULD HAVE the 3.0 Cable included NOT the 2.0.
    by theincubus 4/19/2011
    6 answers
    • A. The included cable is 3.0 with backward compatibility support for USB 1.0 and 2.0. So, go for it.
      by SSinha6/30/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They use USB ports and are the same connection.
      by jrroberts5/28/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The 3.0 usb cable is included. The box should say 2.0 compatible.
      by MediaNerd5/19/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The description is wrong. Mine came with the 3.0 cable.
      by cldocx5/16/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Don't worry the cable is suitable for port usb 2.0, it fit to any computer.
      by shopgirlmxtol5/12/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The primary difference between USB 3.0 and 2.0 is not the Cable. It is the actual USB Port. If you have the problems that I stated in my review of this product (Seagate 1TB FreeAgent GoFlex Desk. Freezing on Start Up Slash Screen, Not Shutting after Computer Shut Off, etc.. In some cases I gave the solutions (painfully obtained thru experience, Computer Tech, above average user).
      by dncorp12/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 41 questions See all
    1-3 of 41 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    86%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    43
    4 stars
    11
    3 stars
    3
    2 stars
    1
    1 stars
    7
    1-10 of 53 total reviews
    86%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED!!!!
    6/28/2012

    Customer review by VOLZBRZ

    5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by VOLZBRZ
    by VOLZBRZ

    I am in Army and have been on multiple deployments. ALL my fellow soldiers have portable hard drives. I finally caved in a decided to buy one. I had absolutely NO idea which one to get. Most of the people I know either have the Seagate or the Western Digital 1 TB. I looked at both and and read several reviews. After scouring the internet, I decided on the Seagate, which was on sale at Walmart.com for $97 (plus $4 S/H). It arrived in less than a week (and I am overseas). It was too easy to use. I took it out of the box and plugged it into my laptop. Within minutes I was good to go. I haven't had any issues. I didn't get the case with it and I travel quite a bit (on helicopters mostly). This thing has taken quite a beating and works perfect. Some people complain that the USB cord it too short. Not an issue! I love it and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for the most bang for their buck!!!!

    Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    VOLZBRZ
    Outside the U.S.
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Nice Drive
    1/9/2011

    Customer review by TheGMan5

    5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by TheGMan5
    by TheGMan5

    This Seagate 1 TB external drive is pretty nice, although I would have expected for WalMart to have it better priced than the competition but WalMart didn't. But the drive is pretty nice and does exactly what I need it to do. Too bad it came pre-loaded with all the stupid unneeded movies that I don't need and that I would have to buy in order to view. Just get rid of it and save yourself that space.

    Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    TheGMan5
    El Paso, TX
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Handy Device
    2/10/2011

    Customer review by hOSUton

    5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by hOSUton
    by hOSUton

    I bought this to replace another SeaGate external hard drive that is less portable, requiring an AC adapter. This drive is powered by the USB and is faster than the older one. I am in the process of moving data from the old to the new which is taking longer owing to the older drives lack of speed. The new one is more compact and is just slightly larger than drives with lesser capacity.

    Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    hOSUton
    Houston, TX
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    2 in 1 tool
    11/25/2011

    Customer review by bikerboy83

    5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by bikerboy83
    by bikerboy83

    as a computer tech i am always looking for that one tool that will make my job a little easier and with the purchase of this drive i found one for you not only get a superb portable hard drive you also get a usb sata connector that allows you to connect any sata hard drive to it and pull data off of it if klyou have the right software to do so but i have done many data recovery jobs to where i had to plug it into a desktop to do the job but with the connector on the hard drive i can now go anywhere to perform this service so i will just go ahead and say coming from a tech of more than 15 years now wow on this product and you will not be disappointed for getting it

    Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    bikerboy83
    springfield, mo
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Great product
    2/18/2011

    Customer review by Jelfman

    5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Jelfman
    by Jelfman

    I bought this and reformatted it to work on my PS3. I am very happy with it, I put my whole movie library on it. Now I can watch all my movies through my PS3.

    Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Jelfman
    Bakersfield, Ca
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Seagate is still Seagate
    12/11/2011

    Customer review by Fred48

    5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Fred48
    by Fred48

    Seagate has been making world-class hard drives for longer than most of their customers have been alive. The FreeAgent GoFlex is just another perfect Seagate product. I removed it from the package, briefly scanned the instructions, plugged it in, and it worked. It couldn't be better.

    Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Fred48
    Las Vegas, NV
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Seagate FreeAgent
    7/8/2011

    Customer review by katmasyaf

    3.0 stars 7/8/2011 by katmasyaf
    by katmasyaf

    I just bought my Seagate and it was really easy to install. I can't complain about the price because at Best Buy the same product was Forty dollars more. Everything moved over really easy.

    Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    katmasyaf
    Loda Il
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Works great with Linksys E4200 Router
    12/12/2011

    Customer review by BVTechnodad

    5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by BVTechnodad
    by BVTechnodad

    I purchased the Seagate 1Tb USB drive to serve as a network drive with the Cisco Linksys wireless router. The older 500Gb Seagate Freeagent drive was not supported, but this new drive works great with the router. The included trial Memeo backup and autosync software make the backup process automatic. Too bad that full versions of each are not included with the drive purchase.

    Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    BVTechnodad
    Bella Vista, AR
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, NOT WORTH THE FRUSTRATION
    11/10/2012

    Customer review by elmo4jr

    1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by elmo4jr
    by elmo4jr

    I thought I was getting a bargain when I bought this Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1 TB hard drive. What could go wrong? I was buying a reputable brand. I was wrong. Since day 1, I had problems. I connected the hard drive to my laptop and nothing. I had to wiggle the connection for it to be detected on my laptop. I thought I could let this slip, no biggie, since I was just going to store my pics and music. Well, I started using it to play my Wii backups and now, it'll lose connectivity and that has really started to bug me. The game freezes and I have to restart the Wii. It is either connector problems, or the hard drive goes into a sleep mode. I should have done some research before buying this. I was suprised to see a lot of people having the same exact problem . Well, word of advise... DO NOT BUY!!

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    elmo4jr
    Brownsville, Tx
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Great Product
    5/15/2011

    Customer review by cldocx

    5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by cldocx
    by cldocx

    I've had this drive for three months now and so far it has been excellent. The included software is a pile of junk so I recommend using something else. That doesn't have anything to do with the performance of the drive itself. This is my 6th Seagate drive and none have let me down yet!

    Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    cldocx
    South Hill, VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    1-10 of 53 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 53 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?
    Consider these popular products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.