Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1441 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Drive This Seagate 1 TB external drive is pretty nice, although I would have expected for WalMart to have it better priced than the competition but WalMart didn't. But the drive is pretty nice and does exactly what I need it to do. Too bad it came pre-loaded with all the stupid unneeded movies that I don't need and that I would have to buy in order to view. Just get rid of it and save yourself that space. 01/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Handy Device I bought this to replace another SeaGate external hard drive that is less portable, requiring an AC adapter. This drive is powered by the USB and is faster than the older one. I am in the process of moving data from the old to the new which is taking longer owing to the older drives lack of speed. The new one is more compact and is just slightly larger than drives with lesser capacity. 02/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I bought this and reformatted it to work on my PS3. I am very happy with it, I put my whole movie library on it. Now I can watch all my movies through my PS3. 02/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Seagate FreeAgent I just bought my Seagate and it was really easy to install. I can't complain about the price because at Best Buy the same product was Forty dollars more. Everything moved over really easy. 07/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 in 1 tool as a computer tech i am always looking for that one tool that will make my job a little easier and with the purchase of this drive i found one for you not only get a superb portable hard drive you also get a usb sata connector that allows you to connect any sata hard drive to it and pull data off of it if klyou have the right software to do so but i have done many data recovery jobs to where i had to plug it into a desktop to do the job but with the connector on the hard drive i can now go anywhere to perform this service so i will just go ahead and say coming from a tech of more than 15 years now wow on this product and you will not be disappointed for getting it 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED!!!! I am in Army and have been on multiple deployments. ALL my fellow soldiers have portable hard drives. I finally caved in a decided to buy one. I had absolutely NO idea which one to get. Most of the people I know either have the Seagate or the Western Digital 1 TB. I looked at both and and read several reviews. After scouring the internet, I decided on the Seagate, which was on sale at Walmart.com for $97 (plus $4 S/H). It arrived in less than a week (and I am overseas). It was too easy to use. I took it out of the box and plugged it into my laptop. Within minutes I was good to go. I haven't had any issues. I didn't get the case with it and I travel quite a bit (on helicopters mostly). This thing has taken quite a beating and works perfect. Some people complain that the USB cord it too short. Not an issue! I love it and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for the most bang for their buck!!!! 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seagate is still Seagate Seagate has been making world-class hard drives for longer than most of their customers have been alive. The FreeAgent GoFlex is just another perfect Seagate product. I removed it from the package, briefly scanned the instructions, plugged it in, and it worked. It couldn't be better. 12/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I've had this drive for three months now and so far it has been excellent. The included software is a pile of junk so I recommend using something else. That doesn't have anything to do with the performance of the drive itself. This is my 6th Seagate drive and none have let me down yet! 05/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of money I purchased this hard drive in order to transfer my pictures, videos, and documents. I had a large volume of these. There is a lack of information on the package and the instructions. Upon hooking the device up, there was no opportunity to selectively choose what to do. It automatically began to back up my entire computer system. I decided to let it do so, which took over 20 hours, it continually had error messages, and had to be restarted. I do have a lot of files, but not 20 hours worth. After the completion of the backup, I had difficulty finding the files. I wanted to double check to see if they were there before I deleted them on the computer. They were not. Only the file folders were there with no content. I then manually with the advanced option backed them up and were able to confirm their presence. After taking a few days off, I returned to the computer. Everytime, I turned the computer on, it started to reback up again. It would not stop unless I paused scanning. Letting it continue would slow the computer to a crawl. I then attempted to proceed to delete the files on the C drive. When I did so, they would also erase on the new hard drive. Although, it was not supposed to do so. I even consulted their web site, which stated the same thing. I attempted to go through the support, which strangely is unable to connect with on their help line. Their is no customer chat, no on line email, or telephone. I would not buy this product for any reason. It is terrible. I have now wasted my money and time. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great with Linksys E4200 Router I purchased the Seagate 1Tb USB drive to serve as a network drive with the Cisco Linksys wireless router. The older 500Gb Seagate Freeagent drive was not supported, but this new drive works great with the router. The included trial Memeo backup and autosync software make the backup process automatic. Too bad that full versions of each are not included with the drive purchase. 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Portable External Hard Drive ! It is simple and easy to use and save your archives! 08/27/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as PC and Mac compatible as advertised! I bought this Seagate drive so that I could use it interchangeably. I am a mac user and my photography friend is a pc user. It did not work as stated out of the box. It would read files but not write to the drive. Only with a lot of internet research (and Seagate's website is not very user friendly), was I able to discover that I had to install a different driver to get the Seagate drive to both read and write files to both mac and pc. A lot of wasted and frustrating hours spent to finally get the "out of the box" usability I had expected. 08/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Software is SLOW 36 hours to back up 556 gig is crazy. I emailed tech support and asked is there any way to speed it up. No reply from tech support. After I clean this thing off it's going on Ebay to try and get my money back. 01/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seagate 1TB I bought to backup my data. Very light, cheap and easy to use drive. I had it picked up at the store to save on shipping and since I wanted immediately. Placed the order at around 12.30 pm and had it picked up at 5.30 ! Awesome deal ! 10/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hard drive is easy to use. I didn't have any problems setting it up. It works as it says in the description. 08/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless The preloaded software is basically advertisement to buy other seagate software. It does the same as drag and drop or copying except slower! Also, the backup software won't recognize the drive even though my computer recognizes it. Every five minutes or so I would get an error while trying to back up my other external hard drive and would have to start over. So then I tried to just drag and drop which worked. Now less than half of the time will the hard drive be recognizes by my computer even. The fact that it will not be recognized and crashes repeatedly makes this product useless. Do not rely on this for storage. Luckily I had not deleted everything from the other drive. I will be taking this one back this weekend as well as the one I bought my mother. 05/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Click of death Nice for the price, and even better if you could trust it. From the beginning it has been clicking at random times. Doing some research on this issue tells me it will NOT survive long. My friend bought one at the same time I did, and hers is doing exactly the same. Click, click, click. Don't waste your money. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hard Drive for the price I got it the same day I ordered it. It works pretty good so far!! 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by sound purchase Good value for a product that is certainly becoming a daily necessity. I use this daily and have had no issues with it. 10/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 good product Probably bought 10 times more storage than I will ever use, could have gone much smaller. It seems to have only copied my pictures, no documents which I am not happy about. My hard drive just crashed so all docs are lost. It also copied every single icon that was on the computer to my pics file!! Needless to say I spent a couple of hours deleting junk. I'm glad to have my pics but I could have done that with a memory card... 10/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by TB For A Small Fee - Worth The Price Your average portable 1 TB Hard Drive goes from $89 to about $149 depending on where you go. Seagate has always been my recommendation to others who ask me which brand I would recommend. I buy by reviews online and spoken. This product I've had for a few weeks now but with it's USB 3.0 Feature I was able to save over 300 GB from my desktop to the Seagate 1TB In under 3 hours. USB 2.0 would have tooken me over 9 hours to achieve. What it comes with is the device + USB 3.0 Cable so take advantage of the 3.0 feature if your computer supports it trust me it's worth it. Anyways conclusion. I recommend this product to anyone and everyone especially if your going to do back ups or system images from several computers. I'd buy this product again in the next year or so once I fill the current one up :) 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This hard drive is just what I needed and the storage space is great. I like to take lots of pictures and something this size is great for that. It's also faster with the 3.0 USB. 09/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works well but has no instructions. All they tell you is how to plug it in, saying it will automatically start within two minutes. Mine did not, but they helped me with that by telephone. So far, I have contacted Seagate four times, because I had no idea how to operate this device. I may yet need to contact them again. I don't think there is a "Dummies" book about this, but probably I shuld check. It does seem to be working properly. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by External Hard Drive I received this item promptly. Opened the package. Pluged it in and it configured automatically on my XP system. I am very happy with this. Larry 07/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good It was exceptionaly easy. Plugged it in and it worked. Was able to download a considerably large data base.. Would definitely recommend. 06/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal! Its a little "thick"...but still easily carried in my purse! I love it.... 06/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't work with PS3 Doesn't connect to my ps3.. Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1.5 TB. 04/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works... Kind of! I got the 1TB to transfer from my Mac to a PC. The PC had no issues but the Mac (v. 10.5.8) will not recognize the drive. Instead I have to transfer files to a USB stick, then transfer them from the USB to the drive using my PC. This may take awhile.... 04/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by what a piece of junk Woe to Mac purchasers of this dud. The FreeAgent GoFlex is a very poorly thought out product for this user and his family, and the first and not surprisingly the last seagate product we will ever buy. An inadvertent, unejected unplug ruined it, and no amount of disk utility or reformatting or downloaded fix-it from seagate does anything that will help bring it back to life. It is a useless thingie -- not heavy enough for a doorstop, but just enough for a paperweight -- that was a very big waste of our time and credit card reward points. sooooo over it, and never again... 04/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I recently purchased the 1T Seagate hard drive. My XP system recognized the drive immediately. I loaded the backup software w/o issue. I am very pleased with this unit and would recommend it to anyone looking for an external drive. 03/27/2012
1-30 of 1,433 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  48 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw160
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp