Nikon D3100 14.2MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens, 3" LCD, HD Video

Q&A
By: Nikon
Walmart #: 000609532
Nikon D3100 14.2MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens, 3" LCD, HD Video
This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Similar items available online

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Nikon D3100 14.2MP DSLR Camera has a 14.2MP DX-format CMOS Image Sensor that delivers beautiful photographs and prints well beyond 20" x 30". Nikon's Guide Mode with intuitive controls and on-board assistance helps you take better pictures every step of the way.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Nikon D3100 14.2MP DSLR Camera has a 14.2MP DX-format CMOS Image Sensor that delivers beautiful photographs and prints well beyond 20" x 30". Nikon's Guide Mode with intuitive controls and on-board assistance helps you take better pictures every step of the way.


Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera:

  • 14.2 megapixel resolution with high-quality still images and video recordings
  • Featuring Programmed Auto, 1080p Full HD Movie Recording, Picture Control, Subject Tracking, Dust-reduction system, Scene modes and Optical VR Image Stabilization
  • NIKKOR 18 - 55mm zoom lens
  • With Single-frame mode, Auto Focus, Contrast-Detect TTL AF, Glass Lens
  • 3.0" TFT LCD display with image editing features
  • Featuring Brightness Adjustment, easy-to-read menu system, color TFT LCD screen
  • Built-in flash with flash modes, pop-up, i-TTL balanced fill-flash

Additional Features:
  • 1 SD/SDHC/SDXC memory card slot (memory card not included)
  • Rechargeable Lithium-Ion battery
  • ISO Modes: 100-3200
  • File Formats Supported: NEF (RAW), JPEG, MOV
  • 4.9" x 2.9" x 3.8"; 16 oz

Compatibility and Warranty:
  • Compatible with PC or Mac
  • 1-year limited manufacturer warranty

What's in the Box:
  • Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera
  • Battery, charger and power cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD with software and digital manual

Specifications

Type: 3" LCD display ,  3 x zoom lens - 18 - 55 mm - f/3.5-5.6 G Nikon AF-S DX VR
Focal Length Equivalent To 35mm Camera: 27 - 82.5mm
Flash Modes: Fill-in mode, rear curtain sync, slow synchro, auto mode, flash OFF mode, red-eye reduction
Features: AF illuminator, flash +/- compensation, wireless off-camera control
Self Timer Delay: 10 sec, 2 sec
Additional Features: Digital image rotation, camera orientation detection, histogram display, in-camera red-eye removal, cropping an image, GPS ready, LCD live view mode, face-priority AF function, highlight point display, Active D-Lighting technology, face detection, built-in help guide, Scene Recognition System (SRS), in-camera RAW processing, text input to Exif header, 1080p Full HD movie recording
Connector Type: 1 x USB 1 x HDMI output 1 x composite video/audio output
Software: Nikon ViewNX 2
Model No.: Nikon D3100 Kit
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 3.6
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 10.35 x 7.3 x 8.13
Walmart No.: 609532
Show

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 102 questions
1-3 of 102 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by an anonymous customer 11/21/2010
11 answers
  • A. It is included in the kit.
    by cajunphotolady11/23/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes battery charger comes with it. You will need a carrying case.
    by ericksreview10/26/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes, the battery charger is included with the camera.
    by picturesforfun10/26/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. YES IT IS
    by TNMOM2THREEGIRLS1/30/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, I have this camera and it comes with the battery and the charger.
    by An anonymous customer10/26/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, it is!
    by PictureMomTN11/16/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I'm not a 310 user but if you go to bhphoto.com you will fide comolete specs and what is included in the package.
    by PhotoTed10/26/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, mine came with the charger. I believe it comes with all the kits
    by tyvek10/26/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes -- it is included.
    by JoVo5412/14/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Of course it is. I’m taking pictures on the highest quality without NEF and it takes over 1500 pictures to drain the battery. Reasonable amount of it have taken with the built in flash. Stills and also HD video which is “only” limited to 10 minutes at the time but that makes no difference since that does not affect how many times you take that 10 minutes.
    by StevenLoveTakingPictures11/8/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
My mom is wanting a new camera for her birthday and loves this one but we can't determine if this has a built in flash or not. Answers would be greatly appreciated.
by ladydawgs49 2/12/2011
10 answers
  • A. Yes, there is a pop-up flash. It also has a hotshoe for attaching other flashes.
    by Nikonian11/18/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It comes with a built in flash. You can purchase an external and attach to the camera as well.
    by famefoto11/12/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. In the description and specs of this product it does tell you that it has a pop up flash on it.
    by MrsBennett235/22/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does have a built in flash. It will pop up when you need it!
    by cass32n4/28/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes, the camera determines if a flash is needed and it automatically pops open and you can just press it back down to close it
    by jonesb784/6/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes it does have a built in flash.
    by HavaMom3/17/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It does have a built-in flash, and it works very nicely. But I think eventually I'll invest in an external one, mainly for greater options on light conditions.
    by D3100owner3/11/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes
    by Bryce2033/7/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. YES
    by EXTREMELYSMART2/22/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It does have a built in flash that pops up when it's needed.
    by cajunphotolady2/20/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
Can you see the picture in the LCD screen as your taking it?
by Cheergirl00 3/30/2011
7 answers
  • A. Yes, you can see it for a few seconds after the photo is taken, or you can push the button and review all the photos on the memory card if desired.
    by FokkerAir12/1/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, it does offer Live View shooting. That's a battery hog, but it works.
    by Nikonian12/1/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. As soon as you take the picture,you will see it on the LCD instantly.
    by famefoto12/1/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes you can! You can either look through the view finder or use the screen. There is a little switch on the camera that lets you flip flop between the two of them. Hope this helps!
    by cass32n12/1/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes you can see it
    by cazulo4/19/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. yes, you can very easily switch to live mode and see the picture on the LCD screen
    by jonesb784/6/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, this camera has the Live View option.
    by NikonStaff3/30/2011
    Written by a verified representative from NikonStaff
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 102 questions See all
1-3 of 102 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 1464 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1464 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1464 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1181
4 stars
207
3 stars
35
2 stars
15
1 stars
26
1-5 of 1413 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Perfect Portrait Camera
5/22/2011

Customer review by MrsBennett23

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by MrsBennett23
by MrsBennett23

I bought this camera as a new addition to my Portrait Photography business. This takes much better pictures than my previous camera!!! I love this camera and use it constantly! The battery life is very good...about 600 shots before it dies. Pictures are clear and crisp. I would recommend to anyone. The only MAJOR flaw on this camera is with the video. Two things... make sure you have a modern computer, not anything older than 2 years or else it can't handle the viewing capability. I have to upload directly to youtube to see the video in good quality. Not lagging. And second...BIG thing here... when you auto focus with the video recording. it makes some pretty loud noise. I recommend shooting video in Manual focus mode.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBennett23
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!
9/27/2013

Customer review by LPCTX

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by LPCTX
by LPCTX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I originally purchased the sony nex3 from another store and after trying it for almost 2 weeks under different light conditions I was convinced I was not getting the quality I expected from a camera well over $400 so I returned it and did some research, fortunately the D3100 came to my attention after seeing some sample pictures and reviews. After trying it for over a week and have compared the pictures against the ones taken with my previous purchase and some others taken with my lumix point & shot I can really tell that the quality of the pictures I am getting is pretty good, I am not an experienced photographer, just a regular person who wants to keep memories on nice crisp pictures. I love the quality under low light or no light {which is hard to get} and with a decent amount of light the automatic focus does a great job, I would say that I love over 90% of the pictures I have taken which is a lot. I am still learning how to use the camera as it has lots of functions and options but I am quite happy with the purchase and the value for the money. It is not a cheap camera but it’s worth it. The automatic mode function does all the job perfectly fine. The battery life is just fine for my needs. Would recommend to any person wanting great pictures. The small lens that comes with the camera does not have a very powerful zoom but it is decent, so invest on the additional lens that is also offered by walmart, I wish I had done it as it was only $50 extra, did not think about it, next time...

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LPCTX
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera. Love it!! Everyone should have one.
7/21/2013

Customer review by Cowgirlchick2013

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by Cowgirlchick2013
by Cowgirlchick2013

I've had this camera for almost a year. I love it. Its definitely a beginner camera. I would use this camera when I would shoot sports at my school. I bought this camera myself, at being only 14. I have shot many photo shoots with it and it still produces great quality photos. I love the pictures it takes at night to. It really turns out awesome. I also went to a museum of butterfly's and took an awesome close up of one Everyone that has seen my Nikon D3100 has told me that they want to save up for one now to! I would definitely recommend to EVERYONE!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cowgirlchick2013
West Rutland,Vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this camera.
6/10/2012

Customer review by PeaceLoveLorhan

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by PeaceLoveLorhan
by PeaceLoveLorhan

Okay I got this because I wanted a new camera (I had a Canon Powershot) This camera has EXCEEDED my expectations and I LOVE it. The pictures are clear, and the flash works AMAZINGLY.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeaceLoveLorhan
New Bern, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loving my new baby
1/30/2014

Customer review by PhotoHappyMommy

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by PhotoHappyMommy
by PhotoHappyMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it. It takes amazing pictures and the auto modes make it easy to use while the manual modes are helping me meet the challenge of taking my self taught photography to the next level. I loved my Nikon Coolpix 500 and this is not much more expensive but does sooooo much more. I have now gone from a compact, the the Nikon Coolpix 500 and now this. I have also used a Sony and a Cannon comparable to my 2nd Nikon, and I personally just wasn't as impressed with them as I have been with the Nikons.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotoHappyMommy
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-5 of 1413 total reviews See all
1-5 of 1413 reviews

Customer Reviews | 1464 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.