Western Digital My Book 2TB Essential USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBACW0020HBKSN

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Western Digital 2TB desktop hard drive is an elegant, high-capacity storage solution for all the chapters of your digital life. Your files are automatically and continuously backed up by visual, easy-to-use software, and drive lock security protection keeps them right where they should be — safe. Smaller, sleeker and more elegant than previous My Book external hard drives, the My Book Essential hard drive takes up minimal space on your desk. You can even double them up and let them sit neatly together like volumes on your shelf.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Western Digital 2TB desktop hard drive is an elegant, high-capacity storage solution for all the chapters of your digital life. Your files are automatically and continuously backed up by visual, easy-to-use software, and drive lock security protection keeps them right where they should be — safe. Smaller, sleeker and more elegant than previous My Book external hard drives, the My Book Essential hard drive takes up minimal space on your desk. You can even double them up and let them sit neatly together like volumes on your shelf.

Western Digital My Book Essential 2TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive:

  • Visual backup displays your content in categories and shows the progress of your backup
  • Automatic, continuous backup instantly makes a second copy whenever you add or change a file
  • Bring back lost files whether you've lost all your data or just overwritten an important file
  • WD SmartWare Control Center lets you customize your backup, set drive security, run diagnostics and more
  • Drive Lock protects your data from unauthorized access with password protection and 256-bit encryption
  • Illuminated Capacity Gauge lets you see at a glance how much space is available on your Western Digital 2TB desktop hard drive
  • USB 2.0 Interface offers convenience and compatibility among multiple computers
  • WD GreenPower Technology lowers internal drive power consumption of the Western Digital 2TB desktop hard drive by up to 30 percent
  • Plug and play compatibility with Windows PCs

Specifications

Multi Pack Indicator: No
Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
Model No.: WDBACW0020HBKSN
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 2.85
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.56 x 6.9 x 7.94
Walmart No.: 7204340
Show
Show

Manuals & Guides

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 40 questions
1-3 of 40 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
Back
by DBoy40 5/8/2012
5 answers
  • A. yes.
    by nachoman1911/21/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I am using it by doing manual backups, and am not presently using the backup software included. So, if I am correctly understanding your question, yes, you plug it into an electrical outlet, and into the USB port on your computer (it is 3.0 but is 2.0 compatible) and can access it as an external hard drive, which should show up in your list of drives. It does in mine.
    by whozis8/24/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. You can use any backup software or none at all. You also don't have to install their backup software during installation.
    by Tex426/23/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. That's what I'm doing. I use it as a place for movies, music, books, etc.
    by vahog5/28/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. You can copy files directly to it as well as use the backup software. I choose to not use the backup software. Instead, I use the Windows backup. I also use it as a DVR for my WinTv board that I have in the computer.
    by An anonymous customer5/28/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 40 questions See all
1-3 of 40 questions

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-5 of 97 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very Satisfied with Purchase
8/21/2011

Customer review by gardener5

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by gardener5
by gardener5

My internal hard drive reached its capacity since I do a lot of digital scrapbooking and house a website on it. I purchased this hard drive after reading the reviews. One thing I learned is to buy it on line and pick it up at the store. Walmart's in-store price was higher and if I had purchased it on line, I could have picked it up in 10 minutes at the lower price (grrr). Anyway, the external hard drive was easy to install and I backed up my hard drive in just a short while. The one thing that took me some time to figure out (I searched the user manual) was how to use the drive to save things to it rather than just a back up. I realized that if you right click and hit "send to" you can transfer it over and then use it as your drive. Maybe other people already knew that. After all of that, I've only used 2% of the external hard drive so this one should last quite a while! Also, this external drive is noise-free. Some other reviews for hard drives made mention of the noise. All in all, this is a great value, easy to use, and lots of storage space!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gardener5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hardware great! Software has a small fixable bug.
11/8/2011

Customer review by Rositaandfamily

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Rositaandfamily
by Rositaandfamily

I've had this WD 2TB product for about a month now and have no complaints with the hardware and am happy with the performance at this time. Hopefully it will continue to provide reliable service for years to come. I did have one complaint though with the enclosed software. If you run the optional continuous backup software, it may be irritating to you. For example, when I did a shutdown, it took too long! It was backing up something, maybe shadow copies, who knows, that I went out and got groceries and came back. It was still doing something but not shut down even over an hour later! I was afraid to just kill the power. I removed the software and loaded only the basic operation with password enabled. Now all is fine! Shutdowns back to normal! I had upgraded to USB 3.0 with a WD PCI-e card. Good idea! Fast backups! I also purchased Acronis True Image 2012 for around $50. It backs up everything with a complete drive image!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rositaandfamily
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works like it was designed
1/6/2012

Customer review by stvnkrn

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by stvnkrn
by stvnkrn

We have the Dish Network and use a DVR to record our programs. The DVR will only hold approx 100 hrs (you would think that would be enough). Dish recommends adding an external hard drive to expand your storage but it must meet certain specifications. The Western Digital My Book Essential with 2TB meets those specs. Walmart carries this product both online and in our local store. They had the best price too. I ordered it online and selected the ship-to-site (which saved shipping costs), then picked it up the next day with no waiting in line. The box had all the cables and power supply needed. I plugged it in and followed the instructions from the DVR. It works great! We can xfer recordings to it or watch from it. We are extremely happy with this product and would recommend it anyone with a DVR (check the specs for yours).

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stvnkrn
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Compact, Easy to hook up, and lots of storage !!!
7/15/2011

Customer review by EnjoysWalMarting

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by EnjoysWalMarting
by EnjoysWalMarting

I had purchased a WD 1TB external hard drive one year ago, and was totally satisfied with it. Both of them were so very easy to hook up, and the first time your computer is turned on after installing the External hard drive, it automatically installed all the necessary drivers. Plus: I have an XBox 360, and I have allowed the xbox to access my computer, and therefore access the external hard drive. This is without a doubt one great deal. If you need storage space, want a virtually trouble free product, and an extremely consumer priced product, this is the way to go. Thank You Wal - Mart.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnjoysWalMarting
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product great but warranty policy is crooked
1/26/2012

Customer review by ldt465

3.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ldt465
by ldt465

I have had no problem with the drive it works perfectly but when I went on line to register the warranty I was informed that the warranty had expired 2 years before I made the purchase. I called and found that they begin the warranty period on the date of manufacture instead of the date of purchase. Then they keep them in a warehouse until the warranty runs out. I checked the warranties on the 2 WDTV boxes that I have bought in the last 30 days and they were well into their warranty (about half expired).

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ldt465
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-5 of 97 total reviews See all
1-5 of 97 reviews

Customer Reviews | 134 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?
Consider these popular products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Warranty Plan

Walmart Product Care Plans
A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

Product warranty:  2 Year See details

Supplier Warranty: Limited
Safety Requirements: N
Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.