See All Reviews
Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope
Celestron PowerSeeker 70AZ Telescope
$49.97
List Price: $99.00
You Save: $49.03 (50%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 too complicated my daughter was so excited to get a telescope for Christmas. And she was equally disappointed when we got it all set up and had nothing but difficulty with it. She said that while she appreciated the gift, to please return it. She'd rather have a pair of good binoculars. This is definately something that you need to see in the store and not purchase online. 01/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Missing DIRECTIONS AND CD BOUGHT THIS FOR MY GRANDDAUGHTERS 10TH BIRTHDAY, SHE REALLY WANTED A TELESCOPE AFTER REVIEWING TELESCOPES FROM OTHER COMPANY'S AND PRICES ===SETTLED ON THIS ONE---GAVE IT TO HER ON HER BIRTHDAY, AND SHE CANNOT STILL USE IT, DID NOT COME WITH DIRECTIONS OR A CD OR I QUESS THIS WAS A WORTHLESS PURCHASE, SINCE IT JUST SITS IN HER ROOM, AND I WASTED MY MONEY, CONTACTED COMPANY AND IT WILL TAKE UP TO 6 WEEKS TO GREAT DIRECTIONS AND INSTRUCTIONAL CD, AM I HAPPY NO NO NO AND A FURTHER NO. 12/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good for beginners Worked well, fast service 09/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alright for the price and for beginners 09/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lot of effort ie needed to view smaller celestial Lot of effort ie needed to view smaller celestial bodies. I'm going to sepnd some extra money and go for computer controlled device instead. 07/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Deal I bought this telescope for my Grandson for his Birthday. For the money, this telescope is a great buy! 05/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficult to use Returned it I don't know if something was wrong with mine. But even on clear night, it was almost impossible to focus on the moon. Blurry at best. I tried all three lenses and researched it. The red-dot spotter included was very clumsy to use too. 02/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice telescope Very nice telescope for a beginner like myself. It was a Christmas present from my wife so I have only used it for 2 days. But so far it has been easy to set up and use and does everything I'd like it to do. It seems to be very sturdy and well-made. I feel it will work great for my amateur star gazing. So far I am very happy with it. 12/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beginner telescope I bought this telescope for my husband and son. Spectacular views of the moon! We also used it on land and we could see deer on a mountain top well over a mile away. Still trying to figure out the mechanics. Had a hard time getting it to focus/zoom on Venus, but we are beginners. Great product for the price! 12/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was a hit as a Christmas present for my 10 yr old daughter. We are still working to fine tune the lenses, but are anxious to see the moon. It has taken several days to get the hang of the thing, but I think we got a good deal. Great construction and great price. 12/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still learning how to use it but it is pretty cool. More than what I expected for the price paid. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect if this is your first time Bought this for my son for his 10th Birthday or maybe I bought it for me since I've never looked through one and have always wanted too??? IT WAS AWESOME, WE HAD A BLAST!!! I'd say the first week we were out there every night but it's winter and pretty cold. Looking forward to the summer for sure. It was so cool to see the moon up close and so crystal clear. We even thought we saw tire tracks... Probably not though... Still trying to get use to all the cool little features and gadgets or I guess yall call them lenses but so far, so Great! 12/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was very happy with my purchase. I bought two of these telescopes for my grandsons for Christmas and they love them. 12/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome telescope I bought a telescope for my 12 yr old son for christmas, I did put it together because it is something that will be a open gift for christmas morning. I did sneak it out one evening to look through it and was very surprised at how much I could see. I was so impressed at how of high quality it was that I bought another one for my friends son. The value is hard to pass by. Excellent gift for anyone that loves looking at the stars. 12/22/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor quality Bought this telescope on Black Friday for my 9 year old. The specs vs price seemed like a great value. Brought it home. Assembly was very easy. The user guide included in the box only describes the assembly process and not how to use the scope and find the target using the laser guide. Had to search online to find the user guide. After few initial viewing and adjusting, the tripod's azimuth lock became loose and the scope could not be locked on the target. Took it back to Walmart and exchanged it for another one. Right out of the box, one of the bolts that attaches the scope to the tripod could not be tightened. Same problem, the scope could not be locked on a target. It was full moon and we could not see the craters, we tried all the three lenses and the magnifier that came with the product. Ended up returning it back. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great telescope for a beginner I bought this for my husband for our 5 year anniversary since he has always had an interest in astronomy. Where we live you can see the stars well, but I wanted him to be able to see more, and now he can! I wasn't sure how much we would actually be able to see with it, since it was so cheap, but it was just what we wanted!! He is so pleased, and I would definitely recommend this product! 12/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great telescope <3 Highly suggest to buy for price & value. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value My expectations were not very high since this is definitely an entry level telescope. I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of setup as well as the overall quality of the device. With the red-dot finder scope, I was up and running in no time. Was viewing Jupiter and all 4 moons the first night. You could easily make out the cloud bands on the planet. The only negative I can think of is that the included barlow lens is pretty bad. Plus, with only a 70mm aperture, its fairly useless as the telescope does not pull in enough light to actually use it with the higher powered eyepieces. However, I knew that would be an issue going in and I just don't plan on ever using it. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic buy!!! I paid $39.95 for a telescope worth a hundred or more bucks. Black friday 2011! Yes, I can see craters on the moon in daylight!!! Amazing fun at night with the stars!!! Comes with a laser sight which is very helpful to accurately pin point your target view. Comes with 3 different eye pieces and the instructions come with a DVD. It is a huge telescope and very impressive to show off to your friends and family. Everyone will enjoy your telescope! 12/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by CHRISTMAS GIFT I am giving this an excellent rating although it is still not Christmas and my grandchildren have not had a chance to use the telescopes yet. I bought two, one for each grandson, and the parents are thrilled with them, so I think I did good. I anticipate they will be loved and enjoyed!! 12/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super 1st telescope I was looking to buy my 1st telescope and was leaning towards a $99 Orion Space Probe3. I got this though because of Black Friday Deal $39.99 and I'm not disappointed. Not to say I don't have issues with it. The tripod isn't great, I'm still trying to tighten it up so scope doesn't bounce around when focusing. Tracking objects is challenging. I don't like the eyepiece at the bottom of the scope, I'm 6'1" and I'm having a hard time getting in a comfortable position. Now both concerns I knew when I purchased but for $40 I couldn't pass. I see now its $60 still a bad price for this. I wouldn't pay any more than that. All that said, this is a good starter scope, if you can get a deal it becomes a GREAT starter scope. 12/12/2011
31-52 of 52 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew362
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp