See All Reviews
Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CP6500
Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CP6500
$145.12
List Price: $349.00
You Save: $203.88 (58%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 148 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love not having to use the foot pedal I haven't had much time to spend getting to know the machine yet but I love the decorative stitches that I have been able to use . I especially love the automatic start and stop and the automatic needle up/down function. I bought this as a bundle with the table so the final price was just $119. It is not possible to beat that price for a new computerized sewing machine. 04/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for beginners! Wow, I ordered this machine on a Tuesday and it was delivered on Thursday! Thanks for the fast delivery. Great sewing machine so far. Does everything I need it to do and more. Easy to follow instructions; has a lot of stitches - probably more than I need but it will be fun checking them all out. This machine is great for beginners. The only negative things I would mention is it seems a little lightweight, not sure how durable it will turn out to be and the light on the machine isn't very bright. Other than that I'm very happy with it. 04/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I was very excited to get this item because I normally use an industrial sewing machine. Having computerized options are always a great feature! I LOVE the fact that the threading and bobbin drop in feature is so easy to use. It took me about 5 minutes to set the machine up and I was off and sewing! The only problem I have is that it keeps unthreading for some reason. Other than that, I highly recommend this item! 01/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great I have very little experience sewing but have found this maching extremely easy to use. I was a little afraid it might be too much for my lack of ability but it is just so easy to use and its so quiet. I like that it shows how to thread the machine actually on the machine so you dont have to look at the manual each time and also the price is amazing i was looking at purchasing the other brother which was more expensive and decided to get this as you get more bang for you buck. all in all EXCELLENT 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine!! LOVE this machine!! I've been sewing for MANY years and for the last few have been "arguing" with a 30 year old Singer. This one is a dream!! It runs sooooo smooth. I love all the stitch options and the needle threader is awesome for someone w trifocals. I've been looking at machines for sometime and when I saw the price on this I immediately purchased it because I'd already done the research... and so did my daughter and my sister. We all think it's great!!!! 01/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by sewing m/c review so far, machine appears to be a good value. used to mend blue jeans upon purchase and did a great job of stitching thru heavy layers. very easy to change stitches. way bobbin threads is nice. instructions on how to thread m/c and thread to fill bobbin in book can be confusing. 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this machine and used it once. It worked very well but was way more than I needed. I took it back and will buy a smaller less complicated one. 12/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work properly Good price and supper fast shipping but... I tried to do one of the decorative stitches and the needle hit metal. Jamming the machine. Returned to store for refund. Shipping to my home was not refunded. Oh well, might purchase another one after the holidays and pick it up at the store in case it has problems too? Maybe I just got one of the few bad ones? It was not quiet like most people said. It made a clacking noise. 12/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine for a rank beginner. this is real easy to use. it is easy to change bobbins and thread i use it for quilting and to make table runners and placemats. the above review was made by my son in law. the machine was a gift to him as he wore out our old machine. his sewing has improved by leaps since he started using this machine. this is not a cheapie machine. it is a good in-between machine. one i think i may get when my spendy machine dies. 04/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased! This Brother sewing machine exceeded my expectations with its advanced features and reasonable cost. The user guide was so easy to follow, I had the machine threaded in no time and was stitching curtains to try it out. Some of my favorite features are the needle threader, the quick-set bobbin and visible amount of thread on it when in place, the needle position button, speed control settings and the needle always ending down at the end of a run. I am impressed by the accessories included in the kit - a total of 7 different pressure foot parts, and some specialty needles are included, saving me time and extra cost buying accessories. I am also impressed by how clearly the guide explains setting up the machine for different stitches - which pressure foot to use, pattern setting and stitch length for a particular application. I have already sewn some curtains and pillow covers with this machine and look forward to trying some machine quilting. I am really enjoying this machine and sewing again! 03/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this sewing machine and brought it to my sewing class. The instructor said she would like one too --- it threads the needle itself. I am learning how to sew pajama pants now and wouldn't trade it for anything! Definitely recommend for any beginner. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tried most of the stitches, the machine works grea The promotion price was $150, I think for this sewing machine, that was a great deal. I tried most of the stitches, they worked just as described. The machine has many build-in features, like auto-needle position, auto-threading, and auto-winding, speed adjustment. They really come in handy. I'm a beginner, and this is my first sewing machine. But it's not hard to use at all, just follow the Manuel., and you'll start sewing right away. One problem though, the upper threading is terribly hard. The part you have to pass the thread through is hidden inside the machine shell. I had to use my jewelry-making pliers to guide the thread through. The problem area I was mentioning is indicated in the picture. Maybe I wasn't doing it right, but there's no way to reach in there by hand to thread the machine. I had to use tools. 09/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine so far. i bought this sewing machine strictly on the reviews of other buyers. i have used it 3-4 times and find it a great machine so far. the instructiuon booklet however needs redoing by some one who is able to describe the instructions more accurately so we, who are not engineers, can understand it. i had trouble with the threader but finally figured it out. the needle was not inserted properly. would recommend to anyone at this stage of my ownership. and yes, i would buy again, ive wanted a computerized machine for a reasonable price for a long time. the price is GREAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. 06/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect 1st sewing machine Bought this sewing machine for my daughter who is very new to sewing. She said that it was simple to to set up and use. She said that it's not as "smooth" as my top of the line Singer but she is very happy with it. 05/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine. Worked great right out of the box. Simple and easy to use and understand. Powerful and able to handle any job. I am very happy with this sewing machine and would recommend it to anyone. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for beginners! I am 40+ and just learning to sew. I think this is a very easy machine to use and have already made several envelope pillow covers with it. I haven't changed the settings because I'm doing such basic sewing but love the speed control feature. It's easier to use than any other machine I've tried. 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased as a gift but they LOVE it 10/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Singer A few years ago I bought a singer and was very disappointed with the quality of the machine. The feeddog is set too high and requires you to go to a dealer to have it fixed. I have a brother machine and was quite happy with it. This CP6500 is a very good machine. I will always buy brother from now on because the quality of the sewing is very good. Stay away from Singers. 07/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to operate I hesitated buying a computerized sewing machine because I thought it would be complicated to use. I was amazed at how quickly I was able to thread the bobbin and the needle as I had read other reviews that said this was a problem. I haven't had a lot of time to explore this new machine but I am looking forward to it. 04/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT MACHINE! AWESOME VALUE!!! I had a 30 year old Singer that I LOVED break down in the middle of a project. I was super sad to find out the repairs would cost $150, so I looked into a new machine in that price range. I was torn between a couple different machines and finally settled on the CP6500. Shipping was less than $1 to my home and took only 2-3 days to arrive. I opened the box, read a few instructions and was on my way, finishing 3 projects in 1 day without a single problem! The only thing I am not totally in love with is the backstitch. It only does 1 stitch at a time unless you hold the button down. I would like to push the button and have it do 5 stitches on its own. I love the fact that I can use a pedal or the buttons to sew with. I prefer the pedal, but that's probably because I have only sewn that way previously. But the buttons are great too. My 4 year old daughter "helped" me on 1 project and it was nice that she could start and stop sewing with the push of 1 button! I can't say enough about this great machine! 03/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I had a lot of fun with it. Doing mending and other little things. Now I can expand to other things I have been wanting to try. Thanks 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT VALUE! I am so pleased with this purchase! I had no idea you could buy such a nice machine for such a reasonable price. It does everything I need it to - it even does well hemming thick jeans. Love it and would reccomend it highly! 03/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value! I need a sewing machine occasionally for fixing and mending clothes (I never fit myself perfectly in any sizes of any brands). I bought Brother sewing machine as a replacement of my old one which was eventually broken last month and am quite pleased with the quality and value. Although it's a bit harder to sew jeans, but otherwise it works perfectly for my needs. The operation is so easy and you can start sewing in no time, too. 02/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this machine for my mother of eighty years who has sewn her whole life, she loves it. 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality and Value After diligently searching various brands and customer reviews on many websites, I decided to purchase the CP6500. I couldn't believe Walmart's every day price on this item as I have seen it listed for nearly double the price on other sites. As an intermediate sewer, I was looking to replace my old Singer with a new machine that offered greater functionality and a variety of stitches. Earlier reviews are accurate in that the instructions for threading the machine aren't exactly clear, in fact, I think they may have provided so much detail that it leads you to overthink the process and make silly mistakes. That being said, once you have it down, threading the machine & loading the bobbin are a total BREEZE! This machine performs beautifully and comes with a great array of accessories. A perfect machine for scrapbookers and cardmakers who love to add sewn touches to their creations! 02/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! This is one awesome machine! I read many reviews on different machines and decided to go with this one...great reviews and a price in my range...and I am so glad I did! I'm a beginner sewer and this sewing machine is easy to use and I love the features! I wish I could fully express how happy I am with this one. 02/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Lovely product! I am just beginning to sew and this machine is perfect. It is not difficult to use and has a simple lcd screen for easy sewing. Great product! 02/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT I ordered this Thursday night and received it Saturday morning. Within 1 hour of getting it out of the box I had wound a bobbin and finished 2 valances. And I haven't used a sewing machine in 10+ yrs. The instructions were easy to follow and set up was a breeze. The foot pedal is plastic, but seems durable. Switching stitches and speed is easy. i would recommend this machine to anyone. EXCELLENT!!! 01/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use I have always used a singer sewing machine, it has been a few years since I had used a sewing machine but I wanted to start again, I liked all the features brother had to offer for the price compared to others. So far it has been great. I wish the hand book explained a few things in more detail. This machine would be good for a beginner or someone that sews often. 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it.. My son got me this sweet little machine for this past Christmas. It is just too cool, I have made 2 little dresses for my toddler niece: one for summer and the other for Easter. I look forward to many more projects. The self threading needle took me a little while to figure out but it was worth the effort to learn. 01/22/2011
31-60 of 131 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw186
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp