15 Seconds

Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
Advertisement

15 Seconds

Format:  Hardcover,

324 pages

Publisher: Harpercollins

Publish Date: Jul 2012

ISBN-13: 9780061655975

ISBN-10: 006165597X

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$16.24
Not Available at this time

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information
TO INJECT VIDEO

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

15 seconds can tear your life apart . . .

Henry Steadman didn't know what was about to hit him when he pulled up to a red light. A successful Florida plastic surgeon, he is in town to deliver a keynote address at a conference when suddenly his life becomes an unrelenting chase to stay alive.

Stopped by the police for a minor traffic violation, the situation escalates and he is pulled from his vehicle, handcuffed and told he is under arrest. Several other police cars arrive and the questioning turns scary, but just as Henry is released and about to move on, a blue sedan pulls up and the officer is suddenly killed. As the car speeds away, there is only one suspect left behind-Henry. In that moment, his idyllic life becomes a free fall into hell as he becomes the target of a police manhunt, as well as being pursued by a cunning, unnamed perpetrator bent on some kind of vengeance.

When Henry turns to a close friend for help, and he, too, ends up dead, Henry realizes he's being elaborately framed. But in a chilling twist, the stakes grow even darker, and he is unable to go to the police to clear his name, without bringing on dire and deadly consequences.

With breakneck pacing and nonstop action, 15 Seconds shows what can happen when even the best life is turned upside down in an instant. It is also the story of an innocent man, framed for murder, who has to save the person he loves the most, all while being drawn closer and closer to an inevitable face-to-face standoff with a man determined to destroy his life.

Specifications

Author:
Publisher: Harpercollins
Publish Date: Jul 2012
ISBN-13: 9780061655975
ISBN-10: 006165597X
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 324
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 1.08
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.4 x 1.09 x 9.27

About the author

Biography of Gross, Andrew

Andrew Gross was born in 1952 in New York City. He grew up in Manhattan and attended the Barnard School for Boys. Both his father and his grandfather on his mothers side were successful clothing manufacturers; they ran the Leslie Fay Companies. Gross received a degree in English from Middlebury College in 1974. In 1982, he received a Masters in Business from Columbia University. He eventually went back to work for his family's publicly-held apparel firm.

Gross attended the Writers Program at the University of Iowa. He took three years to finish a draft of his first book Hydra, a political thriller, in 1998. After dozens of rejections from agents and ultimately publishers he received a phone call from James Patterson. Gross met with Patterson and discussed the early concepts for what ultimately became the Women's Murder Club series. Gross worked with Patterson on several books in this series, including Second Chance and Third Degree, both of which went to Number One.

Then, they branched out on different themes together, co-authoring the bestsellers, The Jester, Lifeguard, and Judge and Jury. In pursuing his solo career Gross wrote such works as The Blue Zone, which debuted on the NYT bestseller list in the United States. A year later, It was followed up by The Dark Tide ( 2007), which was nominated for Thriller of the Year by the International Thriller Writers Association. The Dark Tide featured the Gross fictional detective Ty Hauck of Greenwich, Connecticut, who became the lead character in his corruption and political conspiracy-based bestsellers Don't Look Twice and Reckless. In 2012 his title 12 Seconds made The New York Times Best Seller List.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2012-06-29)

Plastic surgeon Henry Steadman's well-ordered life suddenly turns into a nightmare when the state trooper who stopped him for a speeding violation is killed by a drive-by shooter. Now a suspect and the target of a manhunt, Steadman finds that the old friend he's contacted for help has just been shot to death. Then the man who put the whole setup in motion threatens the life of Steadman's college student daughter. Protesting his innocence and desperate to rescue his child, Steadman reaches the police hotline, where his call is taken by community outreach director Carrie Holmes, who's recently suffered her own losses but takes on his 'cause at some risk.

Verdict: Characterizations aren't the strong suit for Gross (Eyes Wide Open), a former James Patterson coauthor. But he excels at plotting, and a strong plot motivated by vengeance drives this thriller. With its rising body count and nonstop action that builds to a harrowing climax, this is an adrenaline-fueled ride, with special appeal for fans of Gross and Patterson.

[See Prepub Alert, 1/16/12.] - Michele Leber, Arlington, VA

(c). Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Library Journal (2012-10-15)

In a story reminiscent of The Fugitive, prominent Florida plastic surgeon Henry Steadman finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time and accused of murdering a police officer. As Steadman goes on the run to find allies and figure things out, another murder occurs and his daughter is kidnapped by the person framing him. Well written, without banality, and exceedingly fast paced, 15 Seconds will capture readers immediately with interesting protagonists and several intriguing intertwining subplots. The material is well performed by narrator Christian Hoff, who does a wonderful job conveying the anxiety, tension, and action.

Verdict: Fans of Michael Connelly, David Baldacci, Karin Slaughter, and Harlen Coben will enjoy this title.

- Nicole A. Cooke, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

(c). Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Henry Steadman didn't know what was about to hit him when he pulled up to a red light. A successful Florida plastic surgeon, he is in town to deliver a keynote address at a conference when suddenly his life becomes an unrelenting chase to stay alive.

Stopped by a policeman for a minor traffic violation, Henry is pulled from his vehicle and handcuffed. When he is released, a blue sedan pulls up, shoots the officer, and then speeds away, leaving only one suspect—Henry. In that moment, his idyllic life becomes a free fall into hell as he becomes the target of a police manhunt, as well as being pursued by a cunning, unnamed perpetrator bent on some kind of vengeance.

With breakneck pacing and nonstop action, 15 Seconds shows what can happen when even the best life is turned upside down in an instant.

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms