Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron (Color May Vary)

Q&A
By: Remington
Walmart #: 000250718
Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron (Color May Vary)
$14.85
List price $19.99  (You save $5.14)
FREE shipping on orders $50 +
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
FREE pickup
Sold by Walmart.com
 
Showing options for 07095
Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
Rush
Data unavailable
 
Showing options for 07095
Location
Buy online for pickup
  • Plate float
  • Auto shut-off after 1 hour
  • Salon-length swivel cord and hinge lock
  • About this item

    Diminish frizz and flyaways while boosting style control with the Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron. It eliminates static charge by actively promoting a neutral electrical balance in the hair during styling. To help save you waiting time, it heats up in 30 seconds and can reach a temperature of up to 410 degrees Fahrenheit. This professional-grade ceramic plate flat iron features precision digital controls with temperature lock to give you smooth and silky hair. Its long, salon-length swivel cord offers enhanced maneuverability so you can move around a bit without worrying about tangles. The Remington Digital Anti Static Ceramic hair straightener features long, ceramic plates that allow for less damage, as well as floating plates that allow for easy glide. It is also equipped with a turbo boost feature, a hinge lock and a one-hour auto shutoff for added convenience.

    Experiment with new hairstyles everyday and get salon-style results in minutes with the Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron.
    Remington Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Straightener:

    • Long, ceramic plates with anti-static technology
    • Digital, precise controls with temperature lock
    • 410 degrees Farenheit salon-grade high heat
    • Plate float for easy glide
    • 30-second instant heat
    • Auto shutoff after 1 hour
    • Salon-length swivel cord
    • Hinge lock
    • Turbo boost feature
    • Ceramic plate flat iron is designed to diminish frizz and flyaways while boosting style control

    Specifications

    Primary Color: Assorted
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Model No.: S5500
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.3
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 2.13 x 5.5 x 14.13
    Assembled in Country of Origin: USA or Imported
    Origin of Components: USA or Imported
    Walmart No.: 250718
    Show
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 429 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    429 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

    5 stars
    335
    4 stars
    54
    3 stars
    13
    2 stars
    9
    1 stars
    18
    92%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    straight and steady!
    3/8/2011

    Customer review by BeautyQueen23

    5.0 stars by BeautyQueen23

    After my super expensive flat iron ceramic plate had fallen out, i decided a twenty dollar straightner would do just as well. As i was so happy i was right! This straightner heats up in less than a minute, and although the plates may seem small, they can get any hair job done. Personally i have thick curly hair, but if this straightner can flatten out my kinks, im positive this product can make your hair beatuiful too.

    Was this review helpful? (365) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    BeautyQueen23
    east hartford, ct
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    finally found the right straighter
    7/10/2011

    Customer review by awesomeness123

    5.0 stars by awesomeness123

    ok so first of all this product should be $100 for its value. my hair is thick curly poofy and only managable in the water. it usually takes me 4 hours to straighten my hair, this time it only took an hour. simply amazing. a day after my hair is still shiny and not a frizz in sight. i wish i could upload pictures or a video. if you have poofy hair with tight curls this is the answer to your prayers. just add some olive oil (for hair) after your done to give your hair some moisture and added protection against frizz. if you dont buy this for $16 you are insane and missing out on beautiful hair.

    Was this review helpful? (150) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    awesomeness123
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:14 - 18
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Once per week
    Great Bang for your Buck!
    2/25/2011

    Customer review by Stormee73

    5.0 stars by Stormee73

    Needed a dual voltage hair straightener for my trip to Ireland. Been using now for a couple weeks. Works better than those expensive ones. Heats quickly!!! Works great! Im glad I purchased! Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? (164) (13)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Stormee73
    florida
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    1-3 of 405 total reviews See all

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers
    52 questions
    1-3 of 52 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    Can I change the heat on the flat iron?
    by mancala2000 8/12/2011
    12 answers
    • A. Yes you can! It is offers 3 heat settings from 310⁰ to 410⁰.
      by Remington Product Expert10/7/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Of course! Just hit the plus or minus button on the flat iron. Hold down the minus button to lock the temp. Hope this helped. :)
      by MalMal994/5/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes you can. The lowest heat setting is 310 and the highest i think is 410.
      by LinaGr1/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, there is a little digital screen that allows you to adjust the heat to whatever temperature you would like. The book inside suggest the temperature best for you depending on your hair style. I have it only on 310 degrees and it does great and it goes up to 410 degrees.
      by AshleyLynn1240812/9/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes
      by Muffie9193211/7/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes there is a +/- button which can increase and decrease heat.
      by syreen11/6/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You definitely can! There are even instructions to tell you which temperature is best based on the texture of your hair.
      by alihugrl11/2/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes you can, it has different settings. Although the 410 degrees its super hot.
      by ili1610/5/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. It tells you what the temperature is on a digital display. It goes from 310 up to 410 degrees (in increments of 20).
      by AuntieKiss10/3/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes! When it turns on it is set at 370 but you can turn it down.
      by Alice0109/12/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by asian123 8/26/2012
    12 answers
    • A. Sure! It is not designed for curling, but depending on your curl technique, it could do that for you! The ceramic plates are slightly curved at the edges to help curl as you twist the iron.
      by Remington Product Expert2/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes! The ceramic plates go edge to edge on this straightener, and those edges have a very nice curve to them. The entire flat iron is a nice rounded shape and I've had great success getting soft curls with it. However, don't expect ringlet curls as this flat iron is 1" across and cannot curl hair tight enough for ringlets. It would be a decent replacement for a 1-2" curling iron though!
      by TJeneJ2/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Depends on how much curl you want. I am able to curl the ends of my daughters hair with this iron no problem and very easily. It does seem to curl easier with a slightly higher heat setting.
      by HickoryMama2/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. YES! I love it as a curler.
      by djude832/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It works really well for curling. That's what I mainly use this flat iron for. Your hair glides right through easily.
      by lilmimi962/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes I do both curly and straight styles with this straightener.
      by NCmomma852/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes it is very simmple never had trouble with sticking and very light weight.
      by ashi19902/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yeah defiantly!! I have super thick hair and i am able to curl my hair with it. just put my hair in and twirl it until you see your ends then pull.
      by emmze9262/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Oh my gosh YES! I love the curls it makes!
      by ONECOLLEGEKID2/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. You can curl you hair with these flat irons and any other rounded flat irons. If you want to learn different techniques on curling your hair, I advise that you go to youtube.com
      by Maqqie2/22/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by an anonymous customer 7/7/2011
    12 answers
    • A. The Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron works on all hair types.
      by Remington Product Expert8/29/2013
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. If you flat iron in small sections yes.
      by JJfromthetwincities10/26/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes, it works great and fast!
      by island55/12/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yeah! It straightens amazingly! If you look at the instructions it says 310-330 for fine, fragile damaged hair. 350-370 for normal easy to straighten hair. 390-410 for thick, difficult to straighten hair. :)
      by MalMal9912/9/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I haven't tried it on my hair in the humid summer, but my thick curly hair is silky straight this February.. I didn't think it was possible outside of a salon. (I didn't even blow dry it straight first--just air dried and straightened.)
      by mountaintop5712/9/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I use this on my teen's hair which is slightly wavy, very course and thick. It makes it pin straight without even the highest setting. It does go up to 410 degrees if needed, though.
      by AuntieKiss10/3/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. i have thick and wavy hair 2 and it works for me and curls come out good 2
      by sassy10048/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. I Have thick wavy hair and it works great.
      by sns327118/15/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. yes it is
      by TinkerGirl237/27/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would say yes that this is good for thick course hair and wavy hair also.
      by TinkerGirl238/15/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 52 questions See all

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: N/A See details

    Supplier Warranty: N/A
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list