Consider these popular products

Ozark Trail - Men's Putty 2 Waterproof Hiking Boots

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
  • High-top hiking boot
  • Hydroguard waterproofing
  • Padded collar for comfort
  • Fully lined with gusseted tongue
  • Round shoelaces
  • Genuine leather upper with man-made materials
  • Rugged outsole for traction and durability
  • About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

  • High-top hiking boot
  • Hydroguard waterproofing
  • Padded collar for comfort
  • Fully lined with gusseted tongue
  • Round shoelaces
  • Genuine leather upper with man-made materials
  • Rugged outsole for traction and durability
  • Explore this item

    Specifications

    Shoe Size: 7
    Shoe Category: Men's Shoes
    Is Weather-Resistant: Y
    Size: 7
    Color: Brown ,  Gray
    Gender: Men
    Material: Rubber
    Brand: Ozark Trail
    Shoe Width: Medium
    Show

    Size Table

    Shoe Size Length Ball Instep
    6.5 8⅞ 9⅛
    7 9 9516
    7.5 9⅞ 9⅛ 9716
    8 10 9⅜
    8.5 10.25 9⅜ 9.75
    9 10⅜ 9⅞
    9.5 10½ 9⅝ 10
    10 10⅝ 10
    10.5 10⅞ 9⅞ 10¼
    11 11 10 10⅜
    12 11⅜ 10¼ 10½
    13 11⅝ 10½ 10⅝
    14 12 10¾ 11⅛
    Show
    View our Shoe Measuring Guide
    Remember to keep your measuring tape snug and straight while you're measuring in order to get a more accurate fit.

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    86%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    73
    4 stars
    32
    3 stars
    6
    2 stars
    4
    1 stars
    10
    1-7 of 102 total reviews
    86%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Can take the load
    9/22/2010

    Customer review by LargeDude

    5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by LargeDude
    by LargeDude

    I am pleased so far with the overall quality and durability of these boots. So far they have stood up to the pressure of a 400+ pound person where many brands of shoes and boots can not. Having disabilities that involve the feet and legs, I find these to be well padded and more comfortable than brands that are much more expensive. I plan to buy a second pair in a larger size for days of greater swelling so I can wear them in all conditions. They are a great value for the price.

    Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    LargeDude
    Springfield, Missouri
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Nothing like the original Putty II Design(Red)
    6/10/2011

    Customer review by broncoman529

    1.0 stars 6/10/2011 by broncoman529
    by broncoman529

    I have been a avid Putty II owner since this shoe came out at Walmart. I have previously owned 3 pairs of the the "Original" Putty II with the red trim. What an excellent shoe, I work full 9 hour shifts on my feet, I bike, hike and really put the shoes through their paces. I have tried many higher end shoes and these held up the best. On average these shoes lasted me slightly more than a year which I think is excellent based on the abuse I put them through. They usually get replaced when the soles wear out. Now with the bad, these new versions with the yellowish trim are garbage. Walmart has redesigned them totally but still have named them the "Putty II". The reason I say they are garbage is because within the first week the materiel that is against the back of your heel started to tear. This would not start happening until about the 8 month mark with the "Original" Putty II. Overall these newly designed Putty II's have lasted me only a month and a half and need to be replaced. The rubber soles have already worn through exposing some sort of steel reinforcement which I did not notice until it gouged my kitchen floor. I had to actually pull it out of the shoe because it kept slipping out with every step I took. I know I should not expect much for $30.00 but the original was incredible so why would you change it? Walmart please bring back the original Putty II or I promise I will never buy another shoe from you.

    Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    broncoman529
    Torrington, CT.
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Good out of the box / Excellent after adjustments
    6/15/2011

    Customer review by BeadleTheCat

    5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by BeadleTheCat
    by BeadleTheCat

    I got these boots for hiking, hunting and industrial exploring; I chose these because they had a nice tread and were cheaper than the rest. I had concerns about them, particularly because they're Ozark Trail, which isn't known for outstanding quality. I thought carefully, and after examining them, determined that I could make some adjustments that should increase the quality and longetivity. I'm of the opinion that something should be cared for and used until it is completely worn out. What I found is this: - These boots need broken in. The first 24-hours wearing them was very uncomfortable around the ankle area. The upper part of the boot is very still, and it will press into your leg, particularly the back. I had to walk in these for two solid days before they loosened up enough that I could grab the edges at the top (opening) of the boot and bend them in and out to loosen the material. You should clock at least ten miles in these, plus a lot of manual bending, before attempting to hike, otherwise you'll be very uncomfortable. Once the material loosened, they felt solid and are comfortable to wear. - The tread isn't as soft as many cheap shoes, which is nice. They do have a solid grip feeling concrete and rocks, yet aren't so soft that the rubber starts peeling and wears out quickly. - You need to waterproof them. I know they say they're waterproof, and perhaps they're keep small amounts of moisture out, but you need to take additional steps. Because I don't have a lot to spend, I massaged Dollar Store lotion into the real leather parts for moisture, then massaged petroleum jelly (Vaseline) into the leather parts. Rub it with Vaseline, then give it an hour. The grease will absorb into the leather. Rub it down again, then let it sit. Repeat five or six times. Eventually the Vaseline will build so that the leather resembles that of a baseball mitt. At this point, rub on one more layer and buff it very vigorously using a piece of aluminum foil. The leather will be smooth and shiny, and water will bead off of it. On the man-made material areas, you'll need MANY layers of Vaseline to make it smooth. In excess of 15, I think. It is worth it in the end. - You need to spray silicone on the tongue, else water will soak through into your socks. - The boots are very wide in the middle (they don't taper inwards properly) so you need to wear thick cotton socks to make them feel snug. If you want to wear synthetic material socks, you'll perhaps need to purchase these boots at the smallest size you can comfortable wear, else they'll feel loose. So far I tool these boots urban exploring and hiking. They held up well to both, felt solid on my feet (very uncomfortable at first, better later). After waterproofing with Vaseline, water beads off of them, and I've never had issues with water getting inside. Overall, for those who can't afford better, I recommend these boots, but be prepared to put in a bit of elbow grease to get your money's worth.

    Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    BeadleTheCat
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Great Boot for a Reasonable Price
    10/30/2010

    Customer review by crazymeme

    5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by crazymeme
    by crazymeme

    This is my husbands 2nd pr of the hiking boots he wears them alot and they hold up really well, for the price they are fantastic!!

    Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    crazymeme
    Poplar Bluff, Mo.
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    9/21/2011

    Customer review by sisann68

    1.0 stars 9/21/2011 by sisann68
    by sisann68

    my son has worn these boots for about a month, mainly to school. less than 2 weeks after he started wearing them, the sole started splitting and now the metal support bar in the sole is loose and is coming out of the hole. the hole in the bottom of the shoe goes from the heel to the ball of the foot. the other shoe has started splitting it the last week. i will never buy these boots again.

    Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    sisann68
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    good product
    1/2/2011

    Customer review by GreenLtrn

    4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by GreenLtrn
    by GreenLtrn

    Overall a well made product. Only the width needs to be adjusted for bigger sizes. If UR foot is is a size 15 it not gonna be 4 inches wide at the front. Love the design and materials though.

    Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    GreenLtrn
    Fairfax, VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    8/12/2011

    Customer review by CityCowboy

    1.0 stars 8/12/2011 by CityCowboy
    by CityCowboy

    We have owned these boots for 20 days, and they have been worn for 11 days. They already have a hole in the bottom enough to let water in. We were quite impressed with the boots when we recieved them, they look nice, and are very comfortable. They kept water out until the hole developed in the tread. Very disappointed that they fell apart so quickly.

    Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    CityCowboy
    St. George, Utah
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    1-7 of 102 total reviews See all
    1-7 of 102 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 10 questions
    1-3 of 10 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by akaiyla 12/19/2010
    12 answers
    • A. I own several pairs of size 9.5 boots. I measured them all and these are the largest size 9.5 boots that I own. Yes, they run a little large.
      by GrnXnham10/19/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They seem to be a little oversize in width. If you need smaller, try womens size. You can find B widths.
      by jj11010/19/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. they run true to size, but just go to walmart and try on a few pair
      by taylorblue11/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The middle of these shoes are fairly wide on their own. I can wiggle the shoe side to side by shaking my foot they're so wide.
      by BeadleTheCat10/19/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They are a slight bigger,but close
      by fitrider586/14/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They run true to size and are wide and heavy.
      by bassoonbiker8/7/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. my son wears a size 12. I bought a size 12, and they fit well; therefore unlike their clothing sizes it appears that the shoe sizes are correct.
      by roxy69341/13/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. true to size
      by italianwalkingmama1/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I bought these for my dad who also has a fat foot. He wears a size 11 and that is what size I got and they fit just fine with no problems. Id get your size you wear not the next size up. Good luck.
      by mandy262531/4/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You definitely need to get a larger size. Im a size 12 and bought a 15. Still too narrow in front.
      by GreenLtrn8/21/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by an anonymous customer 7/29/2010
    11 answers
    • A. I suggest you read the specifications on any produgt before you make a purchase. but, yes they do come with thinsulate linings.
      by jj1102/5/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No
      by GrnXnham1/17/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no they do not
      by taylorblue11/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, these are not a winter shoe.
      by bigsink7/5/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No.
      by bassoonbiker3/7/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The hiking boots don't have thinuslate, if they do I didn't see it printed anywhere, but they are waterproof. I was was wanting the Ozark Trail Boots, because they are stated to be insulated, but they were sold out. Therefore I did buy the hiking boots which are waterproof. I figure if you can at least keep your feet dry thats half the battle in snowy weather, and my son loves them. He wears them everyday to walk a couple of miles to, and from work.
      by roxy69341/13/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Based on how cozy to sweaty one's feet get in this boot (I don't have this issue in a street shoe), I'd say yes.
      by 1Dan11/30/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no they don't
      by hunter6311/30/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No they do not. They are only a general purpose hiking boot.
      by BestBuyWillie12/21/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no but dry feet are warm feet.
      by Dap5212/21/2010
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    Would they work good for summer hiking, are they well vented so your feet wont get hot in the summer? Also are they more of a heavy boot or lighter weight like a shoe? Do they go up to your ankle?
    by hikerdude555 1/17/2011
    11 answers
    • A. These boots offer very little ventalation. Everytime I came home from work and took them off my socks were wet. I would recommend a well ventilated boot for hiking.
      by CPTDT9/14/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The shoes breathe fairly well, okay to about the high 70s. Warmer than that and I'd be looking for something lighter. I would rate them medium heavy, more of a light boot than a shoe. They go up to just above the ankle bone on me and give excellent support.
      by spfdcatman8/19/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I prefer wearing something that breathes better in the Summer. I wear waterproof boots in the fall, winter, and spring when I'm walking in the rain or on a wet surface.
      by GrnXnham6/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They are not vented, but I don't consider them hot. They are a little heavy but tough and last forever. They go above your ankle
      by taylorblue1/17/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, I was just hiking all over Camp Manatoc and they are awesome. They will keep your feet dry, but are well vented. Lighter boot, I did not notice the weight. And even when I was walking through deep puddles and walking on rocks in a river, I though for sure my feet were gonna get wet, but they dident. I would get them
      by kpatchen7/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, you can wear them in the summer. Your feet will get a bit hot, but thick cotton socks should allow good air flow and prevent sweating. They're fairly lightweight. They go up your ankle, and are very stiff and uncomfortable at first. You'll need to walk in them for awhile to break them in.
      by BeadleTheCat6/15/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I work outside,are light and comfortable
      by fitrider586/13/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They do not breath well. My feet overheated after a few hours on a 70 degree day. The tops are right at the bottom of the ankle, and rubbed me raw the first day. Hard to pull laces snug and stay snug.
      by iamtoddicus12/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Very heavy and will be hot in summer. Do come up above the ankles. They're very wide.
      by bassoonbiker3/7/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They will be good for hiking but a bit too heavy will get used to them once you start to wear them on a daily basis .
      by amshper2/4/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 10 questions See all
    1-3 of 10 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.