See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 147 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value I ordered this bike site to store and did the assembly myself....instructions are not the best but no real problems. Bike was exactly what I needed for riding around the neighborhood 2-4 times weekly and 5-7 mile trips for exercise. Gears work fine and the ride is very comfy. I didn't want to spend a lot for a casual bike, this bike fits my needs. 01/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Bike is light was ez to assemble -- and works great. seats seems a lil on the hard side to me - but thats ez to change. This bike is a Great Value 08/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 value does not account for qualitly. I had the powerX bike prior to this and was not happy so i give next another chance with a slightly more expensive bike. Here is my situation and i had the bike 1 month now 10 miles a day 4 days a week city streets only with no curb hopping. I weigh 226 also bear that in mind too. here is what happened replaced crank alex replaced foot pedals ( one snapped off during use) bolts that hold crank arms come loose too often and i keep heaing the bike knock.. This bike is only 1 month old and i have put 35 bucks in repairs so far. 01/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lightweight but inferior materials in gearing I bought this bike in store two days ago and today the chain broke. That was ok but then the instruction book does not give a schematic of how to replace the chain. The chain itself is not the best available as it requires a tool to be properly re-affixed. Then the gearing material is flimsy which again only is revealed in a situation such as this. I may exchange it for another, not sure yet. It does have shortcomings at this price point. 06/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike for neighborhood riding Assembly instructions lacking. Front brake cable needed attached to hand grip. Other than that assembly was intuitively easy. Make sure the front fork is pointing in the correct direction otherwise feet will bump front wheel when pedaling. Right pedal made knocking sound at first but cleared after a few rides. Gear shift is lacking. 1st and 7th gear not useable. Shifter will not shift into 1st and 7th gears even after trying the recommended adjustments. 1st gear is best for uphill pedaling, however, have to settle for 2nd gear unless I hold the hand shifter past 1st gear position while pedaling uphill and then releasing the shifter at top of hill. That means when the shifter is pointing to 1st gear it is actually in 2nd gear unless I forcibly hold the shifter above the 1st gear. So instead of a 7 speed bike it is only useable in 5 speeds that can be a strain if riding on steep roads. Roads with 30 to 40 degree slopes are OK for me. Even with the above limitations I find this bike to provide a comfortable ride and good value. 06/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok bike, but not very durable This bike is easy to assemble. If you just want to ride it on the trails around your neighborhood, this bike is ok for that purpose. Maybe, it is just the bike that I received, its right paddle makes clicking noise while riding. It is very annoying while I was riding by myself in a quiet trail. 01/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike - even better service! Alloy frame, dual suspension, good brakes, great styling - exceptional value for alot of cool features. I too developed a problem with the rear freewheel. I mailed off the Warranty Parts request form with my proof of purchase to Kent Bicycle. Four days later a new rear wheel arrived at my door. Now that's Customer Service! 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Surprise I was very hesitant about ordering a bike over the internet, but needed 2 quickly. I was very pleased. It was better than I imagined it to be. 08/04/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by No mounting holes for water bottle cage I just purchased this bike, and there are no mounting holes for a water bottle cage. However - the product photo shows the mounting screws right there on the frame. It's disappointing, so I'll return to the store tomorrow to see if maybe this one bike happened to get skipped. 03/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Excellent General Purpose Bike I bought one of these 6 years ago at $99, and then mounted a cargo rack with a basket on it behind the seat. This has proven to be one of the best investments I ever made. It has been a superb "SUB" (sport utility bike). I run around town almost every day, picking up stuff like groceries, supplies, clothes, mailing packages, etc. The tires and brake pads have given several thousand miles of use and still going strong. As a result of having this bike, I only have to buy 2-3 tanks of gasoline per YEAR now. The 7-speeds are more than enough for any general use, and much more trouble-free than 24-speed bikes. A++ 10/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by it's OK, but the front wheel is big front wheel is big, it hits my foot if I turn while paddling plus it sum time turn alone (I think the wheel is bigger than normal) 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike This is excellent bike for price. Great bike for beginner. I am 70 years old and just started to ride for health. I love Walmart, do most shopping there, also stockholder. Bruce 05/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good for the price The bike is just what I expected. A great value. I needed to replace the seat for a more comfortable one, but now I am enjoying my nightly rides. I love the fact it has only 7 gears and is easy to use. I have had numerous comments from passers by that it is a great looking bike. This was a GREAT purchase that I do not regret in any way. 12/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Bike I'm enjoying the avolon everday- it's a very nice bike 06/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value I was looking for the cheapest reliabe bike for commuting the 15-minute walk to and from work on relatively flat paved roads. I used it for occassional bike rides around Central Park. I read the other reviews about getting it properly adjusted when assembling, so I just had a bike shop professionally assemble and tune it for $50 (though the instructions look thorough enough for a competent person to reach the same result in maybe 2 hours). I used it a couple times so far and am very happy with it. The low gears are good for inclines. The highest gear is not that fast, but for my purposes, it's ok. The bike doesn't feel cheap, but I also haven't had it for very long and I've only ridden it on paved roads. It is also the heaviest bike I've had (but cheap bikes are usually heavy) and it's tough to carry up to my 6th floor walkup. The seat is nothing special, but it's comfortable. Overall, I'm very happy with it and it's a good value for the money. Pros: cheap, comfortable Cons: highest gear isn't fast, heavy 09/15/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by This bike looks good for the value, but, first of all, the brakes squeak and it is quite embarrassing to use. I got it like 6-7 months ago and it is very rusty now (in PA). I fell sideways while I was trying to stop and the front wheel became C-shaped and the front brake crashed into the wheel. I took it to Walmart and they fixed it in 10 days. I would say, do not buy this bike. 09/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome bike, but beware.... I read all the reviews on this one seeing some 118 out of 126 satisfied customers with one reoccuring complaint of cheap bicycle pedals breaking in the first week or two. I strolled in on a Saturday morning finding 6 of the men's and 8 of the women's version to try out. After a couple hrs riding them around outdoor patio Lawn & Garden, I chose the one which seemed to shift the best, but it had two wobbly tires which I had changed with more "Trued" versions from two other donor bikes available. After which I rode it around some more after the tires were changed. After nearly 4 hrs, I was content to go make the purchase and as soon as I got home with it, I took it for a spin around the neighborhood....freewheel front sprocket ball bearings were discovered stripped causing a gear slip in all 7 gears every 5 or 6 rotations of the pedals. Took it to another Walmart close-by...they were unable to fix it. I was quite upset to have invested so much time making sure it was the real "McCoy" prior to purchasing it. I had to miss church on Sunday to return it for exchange and the next one worked flawlessly. My suggestion is to ride this around Walmart's parking lot before you leave on a bus with it as the tiny "biking" area in Lawn & Garden was not enough to discover the freewheel problem. I was only given 3 minutes in the parking lot after the purchase to take her for a brief spin as the bus showed up. Put it on the bus bike rack and got home with a perfect "lemon". 11/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Light Gauge Bike I ordered the bike and assembled it myself. Assembly was fairly easy. This bike is constructed of very light gauge materials. I would not recommend it for a person over 180lbs. My bike has a clicking noise when I am pedaling. I contacted Kent, the manufacturer via email. They sent me new bearings and pedals. I changed the pedals but the bearings require special tools. A bike shop quoted me $30 to do the repairs. The new pedals lessened the clicking so I will forgo the bearing replacement for now. 05/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice to ride but the seat is too small and the gears does not works well....it may be just the bike which i bought it may havin some mechanism problem 07/04/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's a sub $100 bike. You get what you pay for. The bike was fairly easy to put together. Shifters needed a lot of tuning, though, but that is to be expected. Same with the brakes. The bike really isn't that comfortable for those with heavier bodies. The "dual suspension" is a joke and makes the bike feel wrong and the ride even worse. I didn't realize it had the springs until it arrived or I wouldn't have bought it. A better seat will be in my future to purchase. This bike's quality isn't bad, but you are getting what you paid for. 04/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Within 2 months of buying this bike and in my first time riding, my chain started falling off. I purchased the bike off of the rack, which a Wal-Mart employee put together I assume. One of the chain links was broken and I could not ride the bike more than a quarter of a mile without the chain falling off. I dealt with it for about 4 months (mostly because it was rain and Winter/too cold), but it's ridiculous that a chain can't stay on, and the link breaks with virtually no force. I never dropped the bike, never rode over an treacherous terrain, or anything else for that matter. I used it as intended in a cruiser bike that I rode on the road/sidewalks to and from classes. 04/19/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by You get what you paid for. a new bike under $120. You cannot expect too much from it. Parts were damaged upon arrival, chain is loose, few materials were even missing. However, it is still a functional bike overall - only when you bring it to bike store to fix it around. 10/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The bike was rusty from being stored outside, therefore was unacceptable. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by i really love this bike i use it all the time it is my comuter and also i got one i use for touring i got it a couple years ago i got over 5000 mile on my tourer and i carry about 40 to fifty pounds in all 4 panniers plus my 215 pound self i ordered another 10/13/2012 to replace to older tourer and getting ready for a tour in the next couple of months probally around april but this is a excellent value i dont like to many bikes but this one works excellent for me 10/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little run-about Great bike to do little run around town. Also we have rideing paths all around town and this is an easy bike to ride & very comfortable. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was initially looking for an inexpensive bike that was durable, lightweight and comfortable. My Avalon 26" Men's bike both met and exceeded my expectations. I was amazed at it's performance. This bike is very comfortable to ride because it is lightweight, has seven speeds and dual suspension. I would highly recommend the Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser bike. 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FABULOUS BIKE FOR THE MONEY! I quit buying expensive bikes as they just get stolen. Had this one for three weeks and it too got stolen! I'm buying another just like it. May use it as "BAIT" for the next thief! 05/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Bike at a Great Price! Rode the bike to get my hair cut today. I hadn't ridden a bike in at least 5 years. I can't wait to take it on the Virginia Creeper Trail. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY nice bike for the price! After going to numerous stores, including sporting goods stores, this bike was the best choice for something under $150. This bike is REALLY hard to beat for the price... Shimano derailleur, aluminum frame, road tires and a very comfortable seat. This bike replaced a 10 year old mountain bike, and I'm glad it did. I got tired of the bumpy tires, skinny seat and lack of shocks. And for those calling the shifter (derailleur) junk... it's not! Read the manual and adjust it properly! The only thing Walmart does is assemble the bikes, they do not adjust the shifter, seat angle, handlebars or anything like that! I adjusted my derailleur, and it works perfectly. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike for the Price I have been using this bike for about 2 months now and it is by far the most comfortable and easy to ride bike Ive ever owned . Very good for a every day exerciser . Don't pass it up , its a steal at 120.00 . 04/09/2012
91-120 of 134 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw174
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp