NEXT Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser Bike

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The budding aspirations of many cycling enthusiasts are brought to consummation in the form of NEXT Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser Bike. This is a perfect comfort bike for the beginning cyclist or the enthusiast who wants to get out for a leisurely ride. The Shimano seven speed gear system, adds speed and comfort while you ride across the streets and alleys. It has been designed and created with provision for high comfort level and in order to alleviate the enjoyment that comes with a cycle ride. The quick release seat clamp lets the rider adjust seating position to his comfort. The front and rear suspension provides bump proof ride and with the all-important pull-brakes, it stops when you want it to. Smooth rolling street tires on the Avalon cruiser bike offers perfect friction for all surfaces. The NEXT Avalon comfort bike is sure to turn the eye balls on the road. The bike comes with all the instructions required to assemble it.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The budding aspirations of many cycling enthusiasts are brought to consummation in the form of NEXT Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser Bike. This is a perfect comfort bike for the beginning cyclist or the enthusiast who wants to get out for a leisurely ride. The Shimano seven speed gear system, adds speed and comfort while you ride across the streets and alleys. It has been designed and created with provision for high comfort level and in order to alleviate the enjoyment that comes with a cycle ride. The quick release seat clamp lets the rider adjust seating position to his comfort. The front and rear suspension provides bump proof ride and with the all-important pull-brakes, it stops when you want it to. Smooth rolling street tires on the Avalon cruiser bike offers perfect friction for all surfaces. The NEXT Avalon comfort bike is sure to turn the eye balls on the road. The bike comes with all the instructions required to assemble it.

26" Avalon Men's Cruiser Bike by NEXT:

  • Dual-suspension frame
  • Fully adjustable alloy stem for upright riding position
  • Rust-resistant alloy rims
  • Alloy linear pull brakes
  • Shimano seven speed gearing
  • Smooth-rolling street tires
  • Quick-release seat clamp for fast, easy height adjustment
  • Steel chain guard keeps rider clean and keeps the chain where it belongs
  • Assembly required; instructions included


  • See our entire assortment of bikes and ride on toys at Walmart.com.

    Specifications

    Speeds: 7-Speed
    Bike Type: Cruiser Bikes
    Age Start: 15 Years
    Age End: and up
    Primary Color: Gray
    Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: 92656
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 36.0
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 65.0 x 26.0 x 41.0
    Walmart No.: 705958
    Show

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 59 questions
    1-3 of 59 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    Because by the looks of the picture, it seems like the rider would have to lean forward much like a mountain bike. Does the rider get to sit straight up like a cruiser bike?
    by an anonymous customer 9/22/2010
    7 answers
    • A. Yes upright like a cruiser bike.
      by MarsK7/19/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would say stock version lets you sit pretty upright with handle bar change I found I have a very upright position
      by CaptRio4/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It's a pretty straight up and down ride. Nothing like a mountain bike. Very comfortable.
      by An anonymous customer4/8/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. It is truly an upright bike. I have ridden mine for approximately 500 miles total.
      by happysnowbird3/20/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. all bikes must be adjusted for each rider. you will just have to see the bike in the store to check out the adjustments for the seat and handle bars.
      by timetogo993/23/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You can adjust the handlebars back/forward/up/down for a comfortable riding position.
      by bigrear632/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You can adjust the front handlebar stem to a straight up position to bring the handlebars back so you can ride comfortably like a cruiser bike. After riding over 500 miles I just did that last night and now it's a lot more comfortable.
      by bigrear632/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by TLCM 7/22/2011
    6 answers
    • A. Not easily. A front fender's top clip can bolt to the fork bracket above the brake but there are no holes near the axle mounts for the fender stays. There is enough metal near the axle mounts for holes to be drilled but it appears to be flattened tubing. Its probably not good for tapping a thread though a bolt with nut & lock washer would mount the fender stays. The rear axle mounts have 2 threaded holes on each side, but there is nowhere to fasten the fenders top clip above the rear brake so it would flop sideways. A piece of wire could be used to center the fender if attached to the seat stays above the brakes. The front most end of the rear fender can bolt to a cross piece behind the rear frame's pivot.
      by aBlokeInAthol9/21/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. im sure you could put fenders on it I would not mess with maybe more trouble than its worth.Mines fine without them
      by ballplaybikerider8/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, but make sure you get the right size. I had my local bike repair shop order them for me, but they are a bit too long, and could have been a little wider. They didn't do a good installation, so I would hear them squeak against the tire all the time, but after making my own adjustments with pliers, they are quiet and keep the water away.
      by BrokeBackWorking6/4/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. There are many variations of fenders on the market today. Just try to buy the ones that will go best with your bicycle.
      by bicycleman114/13/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes they can and planet bike has some nice plastic fenders that I have installed on my Schwinn which are universal fit. I have had them since 2004 on my motorized bike and they are like new.
      by wallyjoe5/24/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I would say no
      by micheald196310/22/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    Does the bike(Model No. 92656) have a rear wheel quick connect axle. I would like to use it with bike trainers but most of them seem to require a rear wheel quick connect axle. If not then is there any other trainer I can use with it.
    by an anonymous customer 6/2/2012
    6 answers
    • A. no
      by tomtom10110/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Neither wheel has quick release.
      by aBlokeInAthol9/21/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No quickie wheels on this bike.
      by MississippiYankee19/12/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by ballplaybikerider8/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. The Next Avalon dose not come with quick disconnects for wheels. You can however convert both wheels of this bike to quick disconect with a TranzX Quick-Release Set(model#321009) for around $20 found at Walmart.com Just type "321009" in the search box to order this kit
      by CustomCruiser8/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. They are bolt on only. If you want Quick connect axles they will have to be laced into the wheels. If you don't know how to build a bicycle wheel then find a bike shop to do it or just replace the entire wheel, it is the same size as a 26" mountain bike. Also beware that this bike frame has horizontal rear drop outs. I have never seen quick connect axles on a frame with horizontal drop outs. I don't know how well that would work and it could be a safety issue. You may be better off to find a different style trainer or shop for a different bike. I do not use a stationary trainer so I cannot recommend one for you
      by wolfpaw8/23/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 59 questions See all
    1-3 of 59 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    87%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    85
    4 stars
    46
    3 stars
    16
    2 stars
    4
    1 stars
    10
    1-5 of 145 total reviews
    87%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Dont wast $400 in a bike store ...Get a Avalon 26"
    6/22/2011

    Customer review by dewme

    5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by dewme
    by dewme

    This bike is great!!! great price!! First lets get it straight.. no I'm not going to go downhill dirt trails flying over jumps at 40 + mph with this bike. YES i understand (you get what you pay for) and this bike is exactly what i wanted comfort,smooth ride,low price. I added a bell computer, and most of all a cloud 9 seat WITH spring post. 7 gears is perfect for street-canal paths-mild dirt trails. YES the chain fell off once,yes the handlebars could be a little wider,yes the peddles are cheap, even with my upgrades or if i have to get new rims/gears i'm still way below your bike store prices. I'm also way more comfortable on this bike then my 1980's 1990's full steel no suspension Huffy bikes. nuf said ... spend the $100 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    dewme
    NY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 3 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    Wow! Very nice Cruiser!
    8/18/2010

    Customer review by maybetomorrow

    5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by maybetomorrow
    by maybetomorrow

    I bought a Huffy Black Widow online. It's a full suspension Mountain Bike, and very very nice. It had all the features I was looking for except one.....comfort. It didn't fit me, and was very uncomfortable. I have another Mountain Bike that isn't full suspension, and just decided to keep it and exchange the Black Widow for this Avalon. I went to 7 different Wal-Mart stores until I found one with a single Avalon in stock. I returned the Huffy, and left with the Avalon. I rode it in the parking lot, and found the handlebars were slightly out of alignment with the frame, the brakes were assembled too loosely with too much play, the seat post quick disconnect was loose, and the gears were completely out of adjustment. The front tire was improperly installed in the fork and was leaning a bit. After 45 minutes of adjusting and test riding in the parking lot, the bike was ready! I took it home and rode along with a friend for 45 minutes or so. Her bike is a very nice name brand Hybrid with 21 speeds and she was unable to keep up during a little sprint. I might add, she is very athletic and competitive. At any rate, the bike performs well. It rides well, with great handling and braking and the comfy suspension takes out the hard bumps. I was skeptical about ONLY 7 speeds, but some thought was put into the ratios, and they are more than adequate. The Aluminum frame makes the bike very light weight and manageable. I see other reviewers complaining about failures and non-working features. This is a production item, hastily assembled and shipped. The Wal-Mart bike builder is merely an associate who takes the parts out of the box and assembles them at no extra charge. Some other stores charge a fee. The bike builder does not tune and align the bike! It's the purchaser's responsibility to fine tune the mechanics. One of the reasons bike stores charge so much more than Wal-Mart for bicycles is the time they spend setting up each and every bike. If you're incapable of setting up a bike, then please do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to have someone do it for you, or buy it from a competitor that offers this service. To set up the bike you only need a couple of metric box wrenches, a few Allen wrenches and a phillips screwdriver. This is an attractive bicycle (the paint scheme is really nice, but this is subjective) with good features and performance, and in my opinion....a great value!

    Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    maybetomorrow
    SF Bay Area
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Ride Right for the Money
    4/10/2011

    Customer review by CaptRio

    5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by CaptRio
    by CaptRio

    The Avalon by Next Bike sold at WAL-MART a true cross-over cruiser out of the box and few upgrades your ready to go. Lets start for the money its hard to find an all aluminum bike for under 100.00 US dollars. I have seen this bike on the Virginia Beach boardwalk everywhere, some with the Electric Green paint and also the subtle silver and brown that suits my taste. Being one that likes to tinker and improve I do believe I have found the proper set of upgrades that can turn this bike in to a truly comfortable ride. If you notice my Avalon uses a different handle bar configuration, not that there was anything truly wrong with the stock bars. I just prefer the look and feel of 1920s styling on a cruiser. Lets face it most of the time you will be having your hands on the handle bars so grip what you like. One of the short falls on this bike is no braze-on’s to mount a water bottle, but this can be solved with the handle bar mounted cage. You can get one of these for around 6 bucks at most bike shops and don’t want to get dehydrated while you are enjoying your Avalon. The other contact point is the seat, I replaced mine with the Forte Seat from performance bike shop, it was on sale and provided a better shape and fit for my bottom side. The seat change was just for personal preference as well. Now lets look a the unique features of the Avalon that set this bike apart. The Avalon is all about the duel suspension frame and cruising comfort so lets take it another step. If stock duel suspension is good, Then upgraded triple suspension must be even better so that’s what I did. First the fork had to be changed, the stock Avalon fork is way to stiff and heavy. Its made from cheap stamped metal. Hey remember you only paid 98.00 dollars for this bike don’t feel bad. I used a SR Suntour M-2025 w/coil spring, 63mm travel and 1-1/8" threadless, semi-integrated, semi-cartridge bearing headset to replace the stock one. This gives the bike a smoother ride and allows for a better mount for upgraded wheels but we will get to that later on. The rear suspension spring on the Avalon is adjustable and a great design no need to fix it, remember I said triple the addition of an alloy suspension seat post gives you the smooth cruiser ride that cant be match by anything on the bike rack under 300 bucks and lightens up the bike. Wheels are everything for cycling enjoyment so the stock wheels had to go and replaced with a Formula alloy FM21 front hub, FM31 rear hub; Bontrager 550 36-hole rims w/brushed sidewalls and a set of Bontrager LT3, 26x2.0" tires. Hey there are black also and give you that bad boy look. The brake calipers do have a bit to be desired so those were replaced with a set of Tektro V-brakes used with the Avalons original levers. The worst part of the Avalon is the drive system it’s a very cheep bottom bracket system with heave components that are far from smooth. I fixed this problem by removing the rough running bottom bracket with a smooth Shimano 131, only using the 38 ring, a Shimano Cassette 11-34, 7 speed and Wellgo nylon platform pedals. Now you have a pretty nice ride going here and with the price of gas going up lets do the commuter touches like adding fenders and rear rack. I must say the chain guard that comes stock is perfect and with fenders to keep road dirt and water from striping your back your read for a day at the office. So with a few modifications two thumbs up for the Avalon by Next Bike.

    Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    CaptRio
    Tidewater VA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:3 - 4 months
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every few days
    I'm Impressed...
    1/26/2011

    Customer review by Flowbuc

    5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Flowbuc
    by Flowbuc

    I'm writing this review now, after owning my avalon comfort bike for one month, and I am impressed, I have owned other bikes over the years that cost much more then my avalon but not one of those ever road as good or was as comfortable as my new bike. This 7 speed shifts easy up or down in any gear, I put an average 8 miles a day on my bike, 7 days a week, the handle bar stem adjustment and quick release seat clamp make it very easy to adjust both. The only thing I changed on my bike was the tires, only because I like a wide tire feel on the street, and I put on a noseless comfort seat, it was the tires and the seat off my old bike. I have rode this bike in the dirt and on the street and with the duel suspension it rides good on both and I'm 6' 1'' 250 pounds, If I could give it 6 or 7 stars I would, as for the people that are saying negative things about this bike, Hmmmm! I scratch my head...

    Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Flowbuc
    Antelope Valley CA.
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Excellent General Purpose Bike
    10/29/2012

    Customer review by SCVoldguy

    1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by SCVoldguy
    by SCVoldguy

    I bought one of these 6 years ago at $99, and then mounted a cargo rack with a basket on it behind the seat. This has proven to be one of the best investments I ever made. It has been a superb "SUB" (sport utility bike). I run around town almost every day, picking up stuff like groceries, supplies, clothes, mailing packages, etc. The tires and brake pads have given several thousand miles of use and still going strong. As a result of having this bike, I only have to buy 2-3 tanks of gasoline per YEAR now. The 7-speeds are more than enough for any general use, and much more trouble-free than 24-speed bikes. A++

    Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    SCVoldguy
    Santa Clarita
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 145 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 145 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  6 months parts / Lifetime frame See details

    Supplier Warranty: 6 months parts / Lifetime frame
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.