See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 741 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a relief! I owned an expensive Kirby Vacuum for two years. What a pain changing out the different parts for different cleaning tools. I had finally had it and found this at Walmart. It is almost self-propelled. Easy to use, light weight and cleans as good as the expensive Kirby. And the price! What a bargain. I'm convinced cheaper can be better. The only drawback, if it is one, is the hose for the different tools tends to be a little short. Other than that, no complaints. I also ordered two sets of extra bags which I don't mind changing out at all. 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price...even greater product I LOVE this vacuum. I borrower my parent's Hoover Tempo about a month ago since my $300 dirt devil broke. This is an awesome vacuum. The first time I used it my husband asked if I had the carpets steam cleaned because it picked up all dirt my other vacuum could not. I have a dog and it picks up all dog hair. I love using it on stairs because it’s not too heavy. Not to mention price!!! It's one of the best values! LOVE IT LOVE IT, I just bought one today and I get wait to get it. 07/19/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Get something more substantial. I have had this vacuum for 1 month. My last vacuum was a Dyson which I loved but after 8 years of vacuuming pet dander, we couldn't get rid of the smell. So, I thought I'd try something more reasonably priced. I read the reviews and thought this was a good deal. The plus is that it has decent suctioning power. Sorry to say that is the only plus. It is made of cheap plastic. The lever to adjust for bare floors to carpeted floors is hard to move. You have to pull on it so hard that you feel it is going to break. Even though I had fair warning from the other reviews, I should have headed the warning that the attachment hose is too short. If you have stairs or want to get the cobwebs out of the corners of the ceiling using your vacuum, this is not the vacuum for you. If you have stairs, hard wood and carpeted floors and like to use your vacuum for those hard to reach places (ceiling corners, ceiling fans, etc.), this is not the vacuum for you. 01/22/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap but low quality, attachments fall off Hoover quality has gone way downhill, apparently. I have to clarify that the sub-$100 price is attrctive if it even works for a few years, though. Couple of small dents/dimples on top of the base, appeared to be a result of manufacturing process, but didn't want to re-pack for return and wait for a replacement. I struggle with any imperfections in new products, but realized that I'm gonna bang it up anyway. PROS: Under $100 Fairly easy/quick assembly (maybe 10 minutes) Light weight, but not too light Good suction Bagged (my preference. Bagless are very messy to me) Hoover brand (though, I am seriously questioning the quality and reliability now) CONS: Obviously very cheaply made. EVERYTHING seems to be very thin plastic. Wheels look like a toy. Color: What were they thinking? Just the sight of it makes me want to finish as fast as possible so I don't have to bear that any more than necessary. Front cover on mine doesn't seem to fit very well/flush. Looks like a long locking tab may be missing/broken. Two main ones there, but looks like where maybe a long one may have been got snapped off. Pretty sure mine was probably returned before/rejected during assembly etc. Attachements: Hose too short and very low quality. Thankfully, I don't use that much. Attachments are not enclosed in a compartment and easily fall off of hooks. Very annoying. Switch isn't on handle, but lower on unit. Very odd/awkward. Cord is a little short and the way it comes out of unit requires constant holding to avoid running over it. SUMMARY: Overall, for the price, not bad for light duty use, but the cons are a lot to put up with. Our last Hoover (bought around 2004 or so) was 1,000% better in every way, and wasn't really a premium sweeper. Motor was going out and whining so loud you had to wear shooter hearing protection. Motor was about $100 and I could have replaced it. I had it all apart. I wish now that I would have repaired it, but at the time, it didn't seem to make sense to spend $100-150 on a sweeper that I only probably paid $150 for. I would have been so much better off, though, knowing what I do now. After all of my shopping this time, it seems difficult to find anything worth having for under about $200 so I thought I'd take a chance on this one. Hopefully, I can find a better replacement next time before it breaks and I'm in a jam for a replacement. You may be able to find this one in stores such as Kohls, etc still for around $100. I would recommend that, for easier return, if you don't like it. 01/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Boo this vacuum. I did my homework; checked out Consumer Reports and read reviews. I should have paid more attention to those poor reviews. This vacuum is not as described on any site. It is simply a vacuum motor in a hard plastic cheaply made case. Even though it says it has a head light and full bag light, it does not. The cord, foot lever and on/off switch are all on the same side. The cord is attached near the base of the vacuum making it dangerous when pressing the foot lever....yes, it does have notches to snap the cord into but they don't hold and when the cord comes out it knocks off the brush attachment. The on/off button is hidden by the hose and that hose either flops out of the holder or is so tightly in that it is nearly impossible to get it out. The vacuum is heavy and clumsy and hard to maneuver. The cord is short, short, short. The height lever is stiff as is the position lock. As long as I keep it on the lowest floor height it cleans the pet hair on my carpet. The vacuum came with one bag that fit into the bag compartment fine.... the bottom plastic clip snapped off the first time I changed the bag.....but the Y bags that are supposed to be used with the vacuum are way too big for the space causing the seal not to engage on the door of the bag compartment no matter how I stuff the bag in. I got this vacuum because I was tired of paying $400.00 and more for a vacuum that fell apart the day after the warranty was over. I figured it was better to buy a less expensive vacuum every year than replace a fancy "O" or "D" or "M" vacuum every 3 years. I vacuum every single day. This vacuum may last a month. BIG purchase mistake. Hoover, you messed up with this model. 03/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by You get what you pay for..... I bought this vacuum about 3 months ago based solely on the great reviews it got and I just wanted something w/o a lot of bells and whistles. My biggest problem with this vacuum is that it literally blows the dirt away from the side vent so you never really know if you're picking up the dirt or just transferring it to the side you may have already vacuumed. Secondly, the hose is WAY too short. It comes out of the receptacle even as you're vaccumming, and redistributes the dirt everywhere. There is no light on the base, so yotu really can't see when you get into a darker corner, etc. The cord is much shorter than my last Hoover. I need to replug cord for each room I am doing. Overall, I am not happy with it. I wish I invested a little more money and got a better model. 03/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Saw this on the consumer reports best pet vacuum for 2012 but it wasn't rated this year. Due to the affordable price, I chose to give it a go. I love it. It seems to pick up all my pet hair ( 2 black cats and one dog), and there was a visable change in the feel of the carpet. It actually felt cleaner ( which sort of scares me that it wasn't so clean before!!). I think if you try this you will be happy, not only for pet owners but for people who want a great vacuum and don't want to spend a ton. 04/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One-trick pony but great cleaning pet hair on rugs I bought this based on the Consumer Reports review as well as customer reviews on the Walmart and other vendor sites. Purchased from Walmart because it was on sale plus offered free shipping to home. And Walmart has that 90 day return policy on appliances. This Hoover vacuum is really a problem solver - getting the dogs' hair off of the rugs was impossible with our other vacs - a Miele canister (whose rug beater bar attachment is so weak that I would literally make 20 passes over an area without picking up the fur) and a lightweight Bissell sweeper. The Hoover gets those rugs clean in one pass. WHAT A RELIEF! I don't even mind the noise. This Hoover can't turn off the power beater bar, and so on bare floors it scatters as much as it picks up. The suction on the hose attachment is also weak, and the hose is so short that it's very clumsy to use. They offer a 20 foot extension hose but I'm not going to add 20 feet onto mediocre suction. So we use this vac for rugs only, and the sweeper for floors, and the canister for upholstery and crevice tool vacuuming. In this price range you can't expect one vacuum cleaner to do it all. But the Hoover does its one trick very well and I am thrilled to have it. 05/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great price for great vac strength Picks up dog hair and grass from carpet. Great vac. Plastic casings cheap and may need to be duct taped after 6 mos BUT worth the price. Better vac than my older heavier more expensive one. 10/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hose on this vacuum cleaner is horrible. It is short and doesn't stretch well at all. It kinks easily. Every time I try to use it, the vacuum cleaner falls over on top of me. And I feel like the roller brush is ruining one of my expensive wool area rugs. It seems to have roughed up the surface and pulled up some of the fibers, something I've never experienced with my previous two vacuum cleaners. I've had this product all of two weeks and I'm ready to buy a new one. I expected better from Hoover. Oh, well, lesson learned. No more cheap vacuum cleaners for me! 07/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum! This was my second Hoover Tempo Widepath! My first one was about 8 years old and did a great job. I have two dogs and a cat and it is awesome on getting the pet hair up. I researched this product this time as I did the first time and all the reviews were so positive I purchased it again! Another perk was it was the same price I paid for it all those years ago..... 06/21/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Was This Used Before The vacuum was very easy to put together. When I tried to use it it just kept spittting out some kind of stuff that looked like sawdust. It did not have good suction at all. I was wondering if it had been used before and just put back in the box and resealed. I have to return this one and I don't know if I will order another one to try. 08/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This thing sucks! I mean it really sucks. The vacuum is powerful, lightweight and manuverable. The value cannot be beat by any other vacuum in its price range. 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy For the money, you can't beat this vacuum cleaner. The suction is very powerful and the hose that comes with it is very useful. One tip, if you want to use the hose, make sure that the vacuum remains locked in the upright position or else the dust will fly out of the vacuum. There was a person who complained about the hose ( how the dust was coming out of the hole at the bottom of the vacuum). Well, I had that problem also in the beginning. But I realized a few minutes later that I had to keep the vacuum in the upright position in order to use the hose. Otherwise, the vacuum is perfect. 04/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great suction, hose really IS short I am very impressed with the suction power of this vacuum and how well it cleans along edges, where it seems it would not be capable of pulling in the debris. We're talking POWERful. However, it was almost funny how short the hose is! I guess I was thinking the comments were about the cord, which is plenty long; however, when I pulled the hose to attach the baseboard cleaner, it was stumpy. Two extenders are attached to the body of the vacuum, so that helps somewhat. Nevertheless, the shorter hose really inhibits the dexterity I needed to run the attachment along the baseboards from one side to the other. My husband and I each have canister vacuums with longer hoses that we will use for the jobs that require using the hose and attachments, but we are very happy with the major suction power and cleaning this vacuum does on the carpeting. But keep the small animals and children out of the way -- at one point, I had the hose pointed downward. The suction was so strong, it stuck to the floor, and I had to pry it away (later, it occurred to me to simply switch it off). 03/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, economical, powerful vacuum! I was very leery about ordering this vacuum because of the low price. However, after reading reviews on a consumer product website, I was encouraged to give it a try (it was rated #1). I am very pleased with this vacuum! It is lightweight and I love the built-in handle which makes it easy to carry up and down stairs. It operates smoothly and picks up dirt the first time. I am still amazed at the low price and high quality! 01/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's a Hoover... Bought a Hoover to replace an old Hoover, also purchased at WalMart years ago. I didn't want a bagless. While I don't like the bright blue color--it looks cheap--the machine is fine and it works great. This model is also rated a "Best Buy" by Consumer Reports--always a reliable buying guide. 03/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money Bought the vac to replace an older, heavier one. It works very well, easy to operate and seems to pick up every speck on the carpet. A good buy and a good tool. Works as well as the previous vac and cost about half as much. 03/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buy New....Get Used! I orderd this vacume cleaner from WalMart.com, I had it shipped to the local store for pick up, once I recieved it, brought it home and opened it up, what I found was shocking, this is no doubt a USED vacume cleaner, clear signs that this unit was used due to the bumps and scratches in all the right places that you would expect from bumping into furniture, also the small foot pedal relase to allow the unit to swing up and down showed clear signs of wear! Also they were attachment pieces that ALSO showed clear sign of usage.... BEWARE you may not recieve what you thought you were buying!!! I now have to take it back and return to the local Wal Mart for a refund, and I will not reorder this again, I will buy it from a competitor that sells NEW and not USED! 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One more time My first one lasted 12 years. Hope this one does too. It is exactly the same except it has no cover over the hose inlet (I used my old one) and it does not have the suction meter on the front. It is a bit heavy, just as loud as my first and it sucks like my first. This vac does an incredible job and picks up dirt, dust and pet hair the high dollar ones leave behind 05/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bagged Vacuum for the Price! I purchased this vacuum about a month and a half ago and I'm absolutely in love with it. I had previously owned bagless vacuums. They were always clogging up, even with regular cleanup maintenance. I finally decided to go "old school" and purchased a bagged vacuum and it was completely worth it! This little vacuum has so much suction, it even leaves track marks on my low carpet. I have three dogs and this vacuum definitely stands up to the job! I would defnitely purchase this product again if I needed too :) 04/04/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your $ If I could give it no stars I would have but it wasn't an option. The holes to attach the handle to the base weren't straight, had a hard time trying to get the screws through. The hose is about an inch too short, it keeps popping out of the vacuum tube. You need to force it into the upright position to get it to stay put so you can put it away. It was missing the crevice tool. Going back. 04/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Upright Vacuum Vacuum is lightweight, easy to maneuver, has great suction, and only requires convenient and inexpensive Y-type bag replacement. Cord is more than adequate, but the hose is a little shorter than I prefer so I switched it with a longer hose I had on an earlier Hoover vacuum. Very happy with this vacuum and would highly recommended it. It is a great value at a great price. 03/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 3rd one... great suction for the price and not too heavy. I replaced one that was 7 years old and losing suction. 10/10/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Oh, The Horror - Only Perfumed Bags Available Oh, I like this vacuum. Very good for the price. Far superior to vacuums that are much more expensive. I would have given it 5 stars, but ....... What is wrong then, you say? Well, I can't find replacement bags that aren't perfumed. Good grief. A lot of people can't deal with perfume. And can't have a vacuum blowing perfume in the air as you vacuum. Arg. Ah Choo. Sniffle. Sniffle. Choke. Wheeze. What makes manufacturers think people want and like perfume to the extent that they want nothing, absolutely nothing, else? Walmart, why don't you sell unperfumed vacuum cleaner bags? Why must I make a Google search for them? Why? Why? Why? Sob. 09/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Tempo Upright Vacuum Out of all the vacuums I have owned this by far is the best value for your money. It is light weigh an very easy to push an works well both on wood floors as carpet I will buy again when needed. Thank-you !!! 09/16/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hoover has really missed the boat on this one! I have always owned Hoover Windtunnels as they have the best suction in regards to picking up pet hair and on solid floors. I purchased this Tempo as I needed a vacuum upstairs and downstairs. The issues are: 1. the hose is too short but aside from that when using the hose it will absolutely not stay attached to the vacuum. If I even try to pull it across the floor while vacuuming, it comes off the machine. I ended up duct taping around the "locking" end. 2. the hose is of very poor quality. It is too stiff and is not at all the quality of the one on my other windtunnel, which is very pliable and easy to manipulate. 3. I've tried to find an extension hose to use with this machine and have not been able to find one. 4. Why you guys always put the cord at the bottom of the vacuum is beyond me. And this goes for all your windtunnels. When sweeping, no one wants the cord at the floor where it gets run over by the machine or is a tripping hazard. I end up duct taping the cord at the handle where I can better move it around while sweeping. Bottom line: Where can I get a pliable replacement hose for this machine? 09/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this for my elderly mother because it is light weight and easy to push. We love this product. 05/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consumer Reports "Best Buy" I was looking for something that would get my carpets clean AND suck up all my dog's shedding so I went to Consumer Reports. This was one of their top "Best Buy" options. The vacuum we had did not do so well with this and it was a canister (no bag) so I felt like I was trying to clean a dirty floor with a dirty vacuum. Not a recipe for clean. This vacuum is powerful, almost walks itself along the floor and it takes less time because it has a wide area (note the name "Widepath"). This vacuum rarely leaves dog hair behind and I love the attachments that help clean couches and other items. The cord is plenty long enough, 25' I think, and I love that the power button is easily accessible near the top of the vacuum. It also has an option for the height of the beater so you can use it on hardwood floors or specialty rugs without risk of damaging them. Overall, I would definitely buy it again. You don't need a $200+ vacuum to do the job. 04/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why pay more? This is my 2nd Tempo. I like the way it picks up the cat hair (2 cats) and I love the tools. I had been using an Oreck which I had 3 years. $369.00 and it caught fire while using it. I bought this one because if they weren't going to last, I wasn't going to pay a lot, and I was really surprised. It has as much suction and I always get one with bags. After about 4 years, I just ran over a piece of metal and bang!!no more motor. I'm sure someone can fix it but for this price I'll buy another. I don't care for the plastic panel that goes over the bag, I have trouble getting it the right notches but maybe they have improved that part. It is well worth the purchase price and it has a large bag. I always change the belt every year. That is easy too so why pay more. The air is really fresh after vacuuming. 04/17/2013
31-60 of 660 total reviews
Previous2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw245
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp