See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as good as older models This is the third Hoover steam-vac I have owned over the past 10 years or so, and it does not seem to work as well as the older models. It is good that the plastic canisters of past fancier models have been replaced with a more rubberized casing -- this prevents the leaks of older models. However, the brush action/cleaning does not seem to take stains out as well as past models. Very disappointing. 09/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy for the money Does the job well, am impressed with the the ease in using the cleaner...has good suction...have only had it a short time and have used it twice... 08/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life! Grandkids and multiple dogs; need I say more? Desperation drove me to purchase this item, and it's proven its worth in 4 bedrooms so far. My old carpeting looks at least 10 years younger! This weekend I will tackle the living room and the den. It's easy to use, easy to clean up, and easy to store. 06/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value I purchased this cleaner a few weeks ago and received the fastest shipping for this product from Walmart. I love the cleaning features. I cleaned carpet and tile with this cleaner and it did a good job. But you do need some practice for efficient cleaning. Make sure you've inserted the dirty water tank properly or you'll see water spills. I did find myself emptying the dirty water tank twice for cleaning a small area of tile. I've only had this for a few weeks so can't say anything about durability yet. Overall good product. 05/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value I haven't used this particular one yet, but it is nearly identical to one we lent to relatives that hasn't been returned... That one worked very well on carpets and upholstery. The hand held upholstery cleaner works great on car interiors (if you have kids who spill, get one of these to maintain your car's value upon resale). The spinning brushes on the main unit for carpets and on the upholstery cleaner are a must. Don't get the cheaper one with no brushes. It's only a few dollars more for this one. Not as pictured though. The hand held uphostery cleaner has one large brush instead of the pictured two small brushes which I would have preferred. I'm sure it will work fine though. Good mid line shampooer with all the basic essentials. 05/09/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by works good Haven,t had any problems. Works really well, especially on stairs 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Product Super Product old Carpet Cleaner was NOT a Hoover. I will always purchase Hoover Products moving forward! Excellent Product 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wife loves it! This Hoover SteamVac exceeds all of our expectations. It is a little cumbersome, especially for smaller-framed people, but it works very well. We've had three other similar machines in the past but none worked as well as this one. Ship to Store worked great, too! 12/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product overall good product for the money...only downfall I have found is the bucket that collects the dirty water is not handy...it would have made all the difference if it had a handle on it...and you have to lay the machine flat to get it out...other than that it seems to clean well and dries fairly quick. 12/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by does a good job I have only used the cleaner once so far but it was easy to assemble, easy to use and easy to clean. It pulled up alot of dirt (as seen in the dirty tank) and everything looks and smells good. Just enough water is released and the carpet dries quickly. I am alittle concerned about the cleaners durability because it seems 'cheap' and one of the hoses doesn't even stay in its holder. Time will tell . Overall, I am pleased. 11/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good machine but carpet fibres were stripped I brought my machine home and assembled it in minutes. I began cleaning my hallway carpet and I have to say, the dirt that was being sucked up was amazing. The only disconcerting thing was that there were severeal "hairballs" of carpet fibre left behind. I thought that perhaps this was because the carpeting had not been done in a while. After I finished and the carpeting dried, it seemed a mite rougher than it was before. I believe that the spinscrub brush is too powerful for it's own good. For this reason, I returned it the day after I bought it. Anyone else have this problem? Overall I think it is a good product. 09/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Sure Yet I have only used the product once so far. I was happy with it once i got it figured out. If the lid to the waste tank is not on right it wont suck anything up. I thought it was, but when i took it apart and put it back together it worked much better, so it is a little touchy with that. It took up a lot of dirt, but there were a couple areas from the dog that i thought it could have done better. I used to clean carpets for a living, and while this product is nice, and i would recommend it, i feel to keep things really nice one should use a professional truck mounted system once every year or 2 and just use this in between cleanings. Overall a pretty good product for the price. interested to see how it is performing a year from now. 09/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well I have used it once and the machine worked well. It was easy to use and when you use very hot water the drying time was quite fast. The one down side I've noticed is that though the clean and dirty water tank are same size, they seems small so you have to make quite a few trips to empty. But overall I am satisfied with this product. 09/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Assembly Required Very hard to put together. Bought it over a month ago and all the men in my family still haven't been able to put it together. The instructions even tell you to call them so they can help you walk through it before you return the product so they know. 12/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds my expectations Having a 1 year old and a dog causes lots of stains over time to carpet. I had already thought my carpet was a goner :( I bought this carpet cleaner thinking that it would just lighten the stains and take some away. To my suprise It took 95% of the stains now my carpet looks almost new. Unbelievable:) :) :) :). I recommend be gentle and don't rush when cleaning 08/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal for spot cleaning - cat and kids I've had 3 Bissells Pro Heat 2 over the last 10+ years and decided to try a Hoover instead...it works great! Pluses: Sucks up the water well so the carpet dries fast. It's lighter weight than the one I had before. Minuses: you have to mix the solution with water so your committed to the amount you're going to use per cleaning- not separated; related to this feature, there's no straight water rinse unless you use up all the solution and refill with clean water. Granted I'm comparing this product to a Bissell and perhaps I'm use to those features. 02/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cleans well but... broke the trigger on assembly...very flimsy....returned to Walmart and got the next Hoover model up and much more solid. 09/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by We just bought an identical replacement. Gearing for pumps on the old one finally gave out after a lot of use. Replacement cost for parts was almost as much as the new one. Pleased with the timely delivery of the new model. 09/20/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too fragile Machine did not clean as expected. It is un user friendly and hard to clean when finished using. The latching mechanism that holds the handle in the upright position broke the second time I used it. It seems very cheaply made. I would not recommend to anyone. 07/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed! I agree with other reviewers for this steam vac. The constructon of this machine is made out of cheap plastic. It's a pain to attach/unattach the hose. I do have to say that it has great suction. It removed so much of the water that my chair I used it on was dried the next morning. Unfortunetly it leaked from the bottom of the carpet cleaner the whole time it was in use (I didn't use the carpet cleaning part) even when the machine was turned off. I returned it to Walmart the next day. If Hoover would redesign this product and use better quality material they would have a hit instead of a miss. 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great carpet cleaner for the money This is our 2nd one and the 1st lasted a long time. Does a very good job! 09/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product We like this product it has worked perfect for our family 10/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk I got this to replace my old bissell. I read the reviews and decided to try it out. What a mistake. I have used it twice and both times it refused to pick up water off my carpets. I tried it on bare floors and it picks up fine. I have low berber and now it's just wet. Will be throwing this in the trash and sticking with what I know works. 12/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you want the stains and grubby gone from your carpet this machine is great for it. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hoover Steam Vac I trust Hoover that is why I got it...just got it during Christmas and will use it next week..am excited to get the carpet clean... 01/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't buy I bought this product because hoover is for the most part a great product i mean there vacumes are awsome but the steam cleaner on the other hand was awful in fact i took it back and got a bissel. while the steam cleaner it's self looks great and works the attachments are a joke. Every single time I tryed to use the attachments I got soaked along with water spraying to my roof. Yes, my roof i had carpet cleaner chemicals all over me and everything else. The attachment connects to the front with a little tube that the pressure blows off resulting in water everywhere If it wasnt for this it would have been a great product 05/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was not at all pleased with this item because it was a birthday gift for my daughter in law and when it arrived one side of it was all busted up so I was a little embarrassed to say the least!!!! 10/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I owned a "top-of-the-line) Bissell steam vac for 3 years. For reasons unknown, it just stopped working. I decided to buy a Hoover and try their product instead of buying another Bissell. Let me tell you that this Steam Vac cleans like my old vac NEVER did. I am MORE than satisfied with this product. Their are two things on the Hoover that do need improving, but i am willing to overlook, because of the deep cleaning. (1) Don't tip the machine over with water in the tank, it will spill out. (2) When you clip on the small cleaning brush to do upholstery, the latch-catch doesn't stay well secured....it came off several times while cleaning my sofa....so I used one hand to hold it on and one to hold the hose. STILL well worth it.... my sofa is beige and we have 2 dogs and it looks like it's brand new again! 10/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by work great and drying fast...... Just used 1, so may be next time, will review 10/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent product. I had one for 20 years and passed it on to my daughter-in-law. I never had any problems with it. I am excited about getting a new one. Walmart provided excellent service too. Thank you 10/26/2012
121-150 of 228 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp