The Live Anthology (4 Disc Box Set)

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
  • Browse Related Products

The Live Anthology (4 Disc Box Set)

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $27.98
You Save: $8.10 (29%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 4)

1. Listen Runnin' Down A Dream
2. Listen Oh Well
3. Listen Southern Accents
4. Listen Crawling Back To You
5. Listen My Life/Your World
6. Listen I Won't Back Down
7. Listen Square One
8. Listen Have Love Will Travel
9. Listen Free Fallin'
10. Listen The Waiting
11. Listen Good Good Lovin'
12. Listen Century City
13. Listen Alright For Now

Disc 2 (of 4)

1. Listen Ladies And Gentlemen...
2. Listen Nightwatchman
3. Listen Even The Losers
4. Listen Here Comes My Girl
5. Listen A Thing About You
6. Listen I'm In Love
7. Listen I'm A Man
8. Listen Straight Into Darkness
9. Listen Breakdown
10. Listen Something In The Air
11. Listen I Just Want To Make Love To You
12. Listen Drivin' Down To Georgia
13. Listen Lost Without You
14. Listen Refugee

Disc 3 (of 4)

1. Listen Jammin' Me
2. Listen The Wild One Forever
3. Listen Green Onions
4. Listen Louisiana Rain
5. Listen Melinda
6. Listen Goldfinger
7. Listen Surrender
8. Listen Dreamville
9. Listen Spike
10. Listen Any Way You Want It
11. Listen American Girl

Disc 4 (of 4)

1. Listen Diddy Wah Diddy
2. Listen I Want You Back Again
3. Listen Wildflowers
4. Listen Friend Of The Devil
5. Listen A Woman In Love (It's Not Me)
6. Listen It's Good To Be King
7. Listen Angel Dream (No.2)
8. Listen Learning To Fly
9. Listen Mary Jane's Last Dance
10. Listen Mystic Eyes

About the Album

It's a commonly held opinion among fans and band alike that Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers' lone live album, 1986's Pack Up the Plantation, didn't quite capture the group at its peak, so there has been a long-standing need for another live set, which 2009's Live Anthology finally provides. Like its closest cousin, Bruce Springsteen's Live 1975-1985, Live Anthology almost overcompensates for the long wait by offering almost too much music, cherrypicking highlights from 1978 to 2007. In its simplest incarnation, Live Anthology is a super-affordable, four-disc box set running 48 tracks, which is eight cuts longer than Springsteen's box, plenty long enough for most fans, but in its deluxe version, available only through Best Buy, there's an additional CD, plus two previously unreleased DVDs -- a 1978 New Years Eve concert from Santa Monica, a documentary called 400 Days shot during the Wildflowers tour -- a Blu-Ray edition of all 62 tracks on the five-CD version, a vinyl copy of the 1976 Official Live 'Leg LP, plus a book and lithograph, along with other assorted bonuses. Certainly, the deluxe edition lives up to its billing, offering enough extras to justify its price tag, but the standard edition is plenty generous as it is, serving up enough consistently strong music from throughout the decades, ranging from expert covers of Willie Dixon and the Grateful Dead to deep treasures from the Heartbreakers catalog. Apart from the tendency to favor performances that stretch on a little too long with jamming -- something that is a matter of taste, as some prefer energy to improvisations -- if there's any flaw to the set, it's how it goes out of its way to prove the band's consistency by skipping through the decades, letting a version of "Louisiana Rain" from 1972 sit next to a 1997 cover of "Green Onions" and "Melinda" from 2003. This certainly goes a long way to illustrating that Petty & the Heartbreakers always delivered the goods, but it's somewhat at the expense of forward momentum; it's hard not to wish that it was arranged chronologically, to be able to hear the raw energy give way to easy skill, but that's just nitpicking -- any way you look at it, this Live Anthology offers an overdose of prime rock & roll. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi
Artist: Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 4
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.35
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.76 x 4.9 x 5.6
UPC: 0009362498369

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5★ by 5reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Awesome Set! I have always been hesitant purchasing any CD that is "LIVE" simply because I may get great music but vocals barely audible or vice versa. Not the case with this set. Great set with all Tom Petty's hits plus some. Great purchase. 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Tom Petty LIVE Anthology This 4 CD set is awesome........all the best of Tom Petty's work performed "live" at different venues, I would say it is a "must have" for all Petty fans, Walmart had it for a fair price and their standard delivery was inexpensive and pretty fast.........Purchase with confidence, well worth the price 01/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Great mix of songs! 03/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Great box set for Tom Petty fans. Great album set. Lots of hit songs. 08/10/2014
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

The Live Anthology (4 Disc Box Set)
The Live Anthology (4 Disc Box Set) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)