Music Box (4 Disc Box Set)

Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.

Music Box (4 Disc Box Set)

Release date: 02/27/2001

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Not Available at this time

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

Disc 1 (of 4)

1. Listen Tear Drop City (Single / Album Version)
2. Listen A Man Without A Dream (Single / Album Version)
3. Listen Through The Looking Glass (Album Version)
4. Listen I Won't Be The Same Without Her (Album Version)
5. Listen You And I (Instant Replay Album Version)
6. Listen While I Cry (Album Version)
7. Listen Shorty Blackwell (Album Version)
8. Listen If I Ever Get To Saginaw Again (Originally Unissued) (Album Version)
9. Listen Smile (Originally Unissued) (Album Version)
10. Listen Listen To The Band (Single Version)
11. Listen Someday Man (Album Version)
12. Listen Some Of Shelly's Blues (Single / Album Version)
13. Listen Mommy And Daddy (Single / Album Version)
14. Listen Good Clean Fun (Single / Album Version)
15. Listen Looking For The Good Times (Album Version)
16. Listen Steam Engine (Album Version)
17. Listen I Never Thought It Peculiar (Album Version)
18. Listen Midnight Train (Album Version)
19. Listen Oh My My (Single / LP Version)
20. Listen I Love You Better (Single / LP Version)
21. Listen Do You Feel It Too? (LP Version)
22. Listen Do It In The Name Of Love (Single / Deluxe Reissue Album Version)
23. Listen That Was Then This Is Now (Single / Album Version)
24. Listen Heart And Soul (Single Version)
25. Listen MGBGT (Live Version)
26. Listen Every Step Of The Way (Single Version)
27. Listen Oh What A Night (Album Version)
28. Listen You And I (Justus Album Version)

Disc 2 (of 4)

1. Listen (Theme From] The Monkees (LP Version)
2. Listen I Wanna Be Free (Fast Version)
3. Listen Let's Dance On (LP Version)
4. Listen Last Train To Clarksville (Album Version)
5. Listen Take A Giant Step (Album Version)
6. Listen All The King's Horses (Originally Unissued) (Album Version)
7. Listen Saturday's Child (LP Version)
8. Listen Papa Gene's Blues (LP Version)
9. Listen I Wanna Be Free (LP Version)
10. Listen Sweet Young Thing (LP Version)
11. Listen Gonna Buy Me A Dog (LP Version)
12. Listen I Don't Think You Know Me (First Recorded LP Version)
13. Listen I'm A Believer
14. Listen (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
15. Listen She (LP Version)
16. Listen Mary Mary (Album Version)
17. Listen Your Auntie Grizelda (LP Version)
18. Listen Of You (LP Version)
19. Listen Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow)
20. Listen The Kind Of Girl I Could Love (Album Version)
21. Listen Sometime In The Morning (Album Version)
22. Listen When Love Comes Knockin' (At Your Door) (LP Version)
23. Listen (I Prithee) Do Not Ask For Love (LP Version)
24. Listen Valleri (First Recorded Version)
25. Listen I'll Be Back Up On My Feet (TV Version)

Disc 3 (of 4)

1. Valleri (Single / Album Version)
2. Listen Tapioca Tundra (Album Version)
3. Listen Dream World (Album Version)
4. Listen Auntie's Municipal Court
5. Listen P. O. Box 9847
6. Listen Zor And Zam (Album Version)
7. Listen Carlisle Wheeling (First Recorded Version)
8. Listen Tear The Top Right Off My Head
9. Listen The Girl I Left Behind Me (First Recorded Version)
10. Listen Nine Times Blue (Album Version) (Previously Unissued)
11. Listen Come On In (Album Version)
12. Listen D.W. Washburn (Album Version)
13. Listen It's Nice To Be With You
14. Listen St. Matthew (Originally Unissued) (Album Version)
15. Listen Porpoise Song (Theme From Head) (Single Version)
16. Listen As We Go Along (LP Version)
17. Listen Ditty Diego-War Chant (LP Version)
18. Listen Circle Sky (Live Version) (Originally Unissued)
19. Listen Can You Dig It (LP Version)
20. Listen Daddy's Song (LP Version)
21. Listen Do I Have To Do This All Over Again (Long Title) (Album Version)

Disc 4 (of 4)

1. Listen A Little Bit Me A Little Bit You
2. Listen She Hangs Out (Single Version)
3. Listen The Girl I Knew Somewhere (Single / Album Version)
4. Listen All Of Your Toys (LP Version)
5. Listen Love To Love
6. Listen You Told Me (Album Version)
7. Listen I'll Spend My Life With You (Album Version)
8. Listen Forget That Girl (Album Version)
9. Listen You Just May Be The One (T.V. Version)
10. Listen Shades Of Gray (Album Version)
11. Listen For Pete's Sake (Closing Theme] (Album Version)
12. Listen Sunny Girlfriend (Album Version)
13. Listen No Time (Album Version)
14. Listen Randy Scouse Git (Album Version)
15. Listen Pleasant Valley Sunday (Album Version)
16. Listen Words (Album Version)
17. Listen Daydream Believer (LP Version)
18. Listen Goin' Down (Single / Album Version)
19. Listen Salesman (Alternate Mix) (Previously Unissued
20. Listen The Door Into Summer (Album Version)
21. Listen Love Is Only Sleeping (Album Version)
22. Listen Cuddly Toy (Album Version)
23. Listen What Am I Doing Hangin' 'Round (Album Version)
24. Listen Daily Nightly (Album Version)
25. Listen Star Collector (Album Version)

About the Album

It's hard not to wonder why the four-disc Music Box even exists. After all, Rhino has not only released definitive reissues of all of the Monkees' studio albums, complete with bonus tracks, but the label has a series devoted to rarities (Missing Links), a single-disc greatest hits album, a double-disc anthology, and another four-disc box, Listen to the Band, which is excellent. So where does that leave Music Box? Well, it is "reconfigured" into a booklike box, which must appeal to somebody, but more importantly, it tries to pull off a nifty trick -- providing an exhaustive overview for the casual listener, while filling in the holes for those serious fans who only have the proper reissued albums. On both counts, this works well. Let's get the basics out of the way: This sounds great, and Andrew Sandoval's liner notes are terrific, particularly the song-by-song breakdown that not only includes the Monkees' reflections, but also those of various producers and songwriters. Then, there's the song selection, which is impeccable for the first three discs, which devote a year each to 1966, 1967, and 1968, blending hits with rarities, album versions, and alternate takes, never once seeming like a sop to collectors. The fourth disc is a little more problematic, just because it spans from 1969 to 1996, containing reunion tracks that some fans may rather not hear, but it still has more than enough minor gems that will please the dedicated. And, when it gets right down to it, Music Box succeeds on two counts: Everyone who needs to plug in gaps will be satisfied with this (plus they'll like the fine flow of the songs) and, more importantly, this is a wonderful choice for anyone looking for a good, thorough overview of the Monkees' best, delving far deeper than the hits. It doesn't really trump Listen to the Band, but it's nearly an equal. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide
Artist: The Monkees
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 4
Release Date:
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.2
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.4 x 5.0 x 5.6
UPC: 0008122767062

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

Music Box (4 Disc Box Set)
Music Box (4 Disc Box Set) from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)