The Deepest Cut

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
Advertisement

The Deepest Cut

Format:  Paperback,

431 pages

Publisher: Random House

Publish Date: Apr 2010

ISBN-13: 9780345499530

ISBN-10: 0345499530

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$6.26

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.

Back from the dead. That's how it feels for Nan Vining, a Pasadena homicide cop determined to find the brutal madman who attacked her a year ago. Nan's daughter calls the unknown assailant T. B. Mann--The Bad Man. On the job, Nan breaks rules and steals evidence, building a case file based on the certainty that T. B. Mann is obsessed with women who wear uniforms, that he hunts them, kills them, then adorns them with a pearl necklace.
At the crime scene of her official assignment, the murder of an ex-con, Nan spots a graffiti tag and is sure, against all reason, that T. B. Mann was there, too. Further complicating matters is Nan's developing relationship with Detective Jim Kissick, but she knows that opening her heart means losing control. Then T. B. Mann reemerges from the shadows for a final confrontation, bringing Nan to the sudden, horrifying realization that her killer has baited the perfect trap.

Specifications

Publisher: Random House
Publish Date: Apr 2010
ISBN-13: 9780345499530
ISBN-10: 0345499530
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 431
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.5
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 4.25 x 7.0 x 1.5
Walmart No.: 9780345499530

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2009-02-01)

In this conclusion to a trilogy (after The First Cut and Cut to the Quick), Det. Nan Vining is still dealing with the frustration of knowing that T.B. Mann remains free. Dubbed The Bad Man by Nan and her daughter, this unknown assailant had attacked Nan two years ago and left her for dead. Just when new evidence regarding T.B. Mann appears, Nan is tasked with heading the investigation into the murder of gang banger Abel "Scrappy" Espinoza, while her partner, Jim Kissick, is assigned to follow up on T.B. Mann. What initially seems like just another gang killing is clearly something more; Scrappy's death is connected to a powerful local businesswoman and a gangster-turned-philanthropist. The tone and pacing is just right in this dark novel, and Nan's journey from victim to victor is nicely orchestrated. For most crime collections.

-Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Library Journal (2009-07-01)

Detective Vining confronts growing gang activity in Pasadena, CA, in Emley's (www.dianneemley.com) fast-paced final entry in her Nan Vining trilogy-following The First Cut (2008) and Cut to the Quick (2009), both also available from Books on Tape. Emley's in-depth description of Pasadena and its environs lends a sense of familiarity and reality to the story, while the skilled narration by Carrington Macduffie, who also reads Cut to the Quick, will further grip listeners. Recommended for fans of Tess Gerritsen's The Surgeon and Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhymes mysteries.

- Cheryl Miller Maddox, Christian Theological Seminary Lib., Indianapolis

(c). Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Back from the dead. That’s how it feels for Nan Vining, a Pasadena homicide cop determined to find the brutal madman who attacked her a year ago. Nan’s daughter calls the unknown assailant T. B. Mann—The Bad Man. On the job, Nan breaks rules and steals evidence, building a case file based on the certainty that T. B. Mann is obsessed with women who wear uniforms, that he hunts them, kills them, then adorns them with a pearl necklace.

At the crime scene of her official assignment, the murder of an ex-con, Nan spots a graffiti tag and is sure, against all reason, that T. B. Mann was there, too. Further complicating matters is Nan’s developing relationship with Detective Jim Kissick, but she knows that opening her heart means losing control. Then T. B. Mann reemerges from the shadows for a final confrontation, bringing Nan to the sudden, horrifying realization that her killer has baited the perfect trap.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms