See All Reviews
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 62 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by First Time Smoker - About to Give up! This is a total piece of garbage. My husband and I are first time smokers - today. We bought this and followed the instructions. Took over 2 hours to get the thing to THINK about giving us a temperature over 150. It leaks smoke out of all the doors. It NEVER stays at temp for longer than 5 minutes. I'm only trying to smoke a couple cornish hens for our first try and here 5 hours later I have spent EVERY 10 minutes feeding wood chips and charcoal because they don't stay burning and STILL the 1 lb hens are only 150 degrees inside. I am so frustrated by this thing. I read the reviews 90 minutes in and switched out the burn pan to my fry daddy insert...added water. added more wood. *sigh* Don't purchase this piece of trash or you will never want to try smoking meat EVER AGAIN. I'm about to give up and chuck it all into the woods. I'm so angry and frustrated. I wouldn't recommend this thing to an enemy, let alone family or friends. 07/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Give me your money Your better off spending your money going out to dinner than buying this piece of junk. Even the people that rated higher stated they had to do modification i.e drilling extra holes, installing fans, larger pans etc. I called the manufactor and told them of the problems and they said they were aware and offered to send me a larger pans for more charcoal I guess. Just could not get it hot enough for any length of time to smoke properly. I returned it for refund and bought another brand. For $75.00 it is poorly constructed, very flimsy metal,difficult to add charcoal. Save your time and money. 05/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless I spent hours to get this to work. Lots of smoke at first then nothing. It only got to a little over 100. It was a terrrible experience. I am returning. I even took out the first charcoal and relite another fire to make sure, I was doing it right. I ended up putting my food in the oven. Blah 09/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to par You need a 200° capable smoker to properly cook your meat. Here's the authoritative word: Meat smoking is best done in the range of 200-220 degrees F. To be safe most meats need to be cooked to an internal temperature of 145 degrees F and poultry to 165 degrees F. However, to get real tender barbecue you want a higher final temperature, say around 180 degrees F. So forget "cool" smoking. 07/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by crummy smoker It doesnt heat up enough! It WILL NOT cook thoroughly any decent size of meat, even if you cook it ALL DAY. It just doesnt heat up, period. I think its made cheaply. It creates a lot of smoke, which makes stuff taste great, but you will ALWAYs have to take it out and put the meat in the oven for an hour or 2. I want a smoker that will heat up to 250 and stay between 200-250. This one tops out at 200 and goes down to 150, where it stays. Theres a reason why this thing is only $75. Pay $150 more and get something that you can cook and smoke on. I have had a boston butt in this thing for 4 hours, constantly adding charcoal and hickory chunks and its sitting at 170 degrees and the meat feels room temperature at touch. Not Hot enough! 12/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SON'S WEDDING GIFT. HE LOVES IT 10/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Good Price I viewed this product on You Tube under Brinkmann Smoker. I took their advice. I made the doors tighter closing by using more washers. I purchased stove felt to make the doors close tighter. At one of the hardware places on line I purchased fire bricks to place on the inside to help hold the heat and raise the temperature . But I haven't had the time to use it yet. I want to cook a pork shoulder or butt in it and invite family over. And I want to try to make bread in it also. WATCH YOU TUBE BRINKMANN SMOKERS, and they will give you advice about Lump Charcoal and several other things that will be very useful and productive. You cannot beat the price of this unit here at Walmart, and there wasn't any damages to the unit upon arrival either...... I can just smell the meat cooking over the open flames and having family all around. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I don't intend to ever cook a brisket or any meat that requires long cooking time on this cooker. You can't build a really hot fire in this cooker; the metal is too thin and it won't hold the hot temperature. But I really enjoy grilling on it and I can make some good barbeque chicken on it (which I sear and then slow cook for about 1 ½ hours. This is my 3rd Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker. 09/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sad My package was tossed onto the carport by FedEx and damaged by denting the door and hinge so I had to return it and will wait until next months check to order another one. This WAS a gift. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by smokes the competition this smoker is perfect for (large) family gatherings. While the provided charcoal bowl is too small to get the job done i have placed the charcoal directly into the bottom of the smoker. i use as much as 15-18 lbs of charcoal at a time and have done so for three years. the bottom has held up fine and the heat lasts beyond the cooking time. the design works much better that the other upright smokers with the lid on top and the food layered down. i've owned one of these others and its a pain getting to the bottom layers of meat. BUY THIS SMOKER. 06/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a very good smoker... Very disappointed in this smoker. 06/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Smoker would not reach over 150 degrees and the charcoal bowl was full. NO air flow under bowl. Returned smoker and that is the reason for the one star. 09/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs modifications to work Easy to assemble, construction apparently sturdy, but using the unit's charcoal pan it was impossible to get the temperature much above 150 F using Cowboy mesquite lump charcoal IN COLUMBUS, TX, IN JULY, ambient temperature close to 100 F, so after over seven hours of trying, adding charcoal and tending he fire I had to finish my chicken in the oven. Went on line, found lots of other people had had the same problem and they had solved it by replacing charcoal pan with perforated 12" x 12" x 2.5"grill-top wok so as to provide air draft for the burning coals. Just bought such a wok and will try again soon. Wold recommend to a friend WITH RESERVATIONS 07/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a Great Smoker After reading some of the reviews I went and bought me an 5 dollar strainer(stainless steel) the one you drain noodles with and that took care of the pan with no holes in it.It got up to 300 degrees and thats was what I wanted. I adjusted the vents until i got them where I wanted it which was between 250 to 300 degrees.This is a real good product I would and have told my friends about this smoker. 07/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by was a little upset parts were missing. went and found them at a local hardware store 01/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible smoker!! It would not get above 150 degrees. My Weber one touch is a lot better then this smoker! 08/16/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well not so sure about this smoker. I also had problems even getting the temp to 200 degrees. I did drill five or six 3/8" holes to help move more air over the coals. This did help a bit but moving smoker in a location were there was no breeze on it helped even more. If I can figure how to keep the heat at 200-220 this would be a great smoker. It also helps to minimize the number of times you open either door especially the top door. 04/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 Not bad, good value I had the same trouble with getting to temp as others have reported (190 was max). However, with some modifications this has turned out to be a good smoker. I drilled holes in the charcoal pan like others have suggested. I also used fiberglass gasket for wood stoves around the doors (help to keep heat in). The biggest thing for me was to use lump charcoal. The lump charcoal burns much hotter, plus it doesn't flavor the meat like brickettes. I especially like the easy access to water and charcoal pan. Good smoker for beginner at a good price. 03/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product easy to assemble and affordable. 02/10/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cool idea, not so successful This smoker is all around well made, however, in the several times we have used this, we struggle to get it up to temperature. We have ended up smoking each piece of meat for a few hours, then finishing them off in the oven. Not quite sure what the issue is, but we have tried everything. Other than that, great smoker. Meat has still come out awesome everytime, even with the extra steps. 01/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by VERTICAL SMOKER Definately needs holes in the charcoal pan.used it today for the first time and temp never went over 150. i have been using the single door smoker with with holes drilled in the charcoal pan. temps always go to almost 300. always awesome results! that was with briquets. brinkman should fix this problem with prefab holes in the charcoal pan. with the holes an awesome smoker! 01/01/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Workmanship I chose to buy this smoker as a learning tool. My only real problem with it was putting the springloaded door handles on with the poor quality of the screws used. The heads stripped with minimal pressure , however, once it was together (2 people 3 hours because of door handles) it works great as a grill have not tried it as a smoker yet. jess a2Jru 12/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the money Took advice from other posts and added air holes to charcoal pan. Set up was easy, cured before using. Would have liked if they used a slightly higher grade metal for the legs, but they suffice. Thermostat isn't accurate, used a meat thermometer an upper smoke vent to get accurate read. As another post suggested, lump charcoal will work better for heat, and remember to soak your wood chips if you intend to add them. 11/09/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by wouldn't buy The smoker was easy to assemble. So far thats all I liked about this product. Did everything the instructions said to do in building the fire. Temperature never got hot enough to cook the meat. Had to move the meat from this smoker to a grill to raise the temperature of the meat. I have read some of the other comments and see that holes need to be drilled in the charcoal pan to allow for air flow in fire. I will try this next. So far, not happy with the product. 10/21/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall good product I have used both this smoker as well as the green Brinkman smoker in BBQ competitions. It never lets me down. Neither are that great for grilling but then again that is not what they are made for. The only suggestion I would make is, take about an 1/8 inch drill bit and put several holes in the ash pans of both of these. the fire does not get enough oxygen otherwise and requires much unnecessary work. 10/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super easy to assemble. Used Site to Store and arrived within a week of ordering online. Smoker is bigger than I thought it was going to be which is not a bad thing at all. Works great and smoke doesn't escape from the doors. Used to have a barrel-style smoker with a lid on the top and smoke would leak all the time. Very happy with this purchase. 08/20/2009
31-57 of 57 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw347
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp