Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 148 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely pleased! I bought this Hoover after doing quite a bit of research and comparing. My sister has a Dyson, and while she said it was a good vacuum, she didn't think it was really worth what she paid for it. After a super simple assembly out of the box, almost the whole family tried it out! I'm loving it! It makes my carpet look brand new and REALLY digs down deep to remove the dirt. I vacuumed the house one full time and had a canister full of dirt even after cleaning with my old vacuum just a few days before. I fully recommend this product! 12/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING Vacuum Cleaner! I received this vacuum cleaner as Christmas gift and it is AMAZING! I researched and read several reviews of vacuum cleaners and decided on this one. I have 2 dogs that are inside dogs. I JUST got done vacuuming one room and I was grossed out...but in a good way!!!! This vacuum cleaner picks up EVERYTHING!!!! The finest dirt and dust you have ever seen! It was as if I have never vacuumed before! My old vacuum cleaner was an Eureka. It had expensive filters that needed to be replaced every month because it would smell after I vacuumed. This has a washable filter which is nice. It is MUCH quieter than my other vacuum cleaner too. Still pretty heavy but not bad...it just gives me a better workout! :) It does push easily! LOVE the buttons on the handle to adjust heighth! Take my word for it...do not buy an expensive Dyson...buy this vacuum cleaner...you WILL NOT be disappointed! 12/28/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent power does not lose suction when cannister begins to accumulate debri.could be alittle quieter ,but much less noise than my previous vacuum 12/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome Vacuum! I own a $600 Oreck XL that I have not really been pleased with. I wanted a machine that would get even deep-down dirt & pet hair, plus had on-board tools. I was considering a Dysen because of the commercials on TV, but didn't really want to pay the high price for it. I researched all my options & read all the reviews on all the machines on this site. When I saw that the reviews on this Hoover were all good, I went to their site & watched the video. I was impressed with what I saw. And while the price was a little more than I wanted to pay, I decided to go with it because of the Hoover name & the fact that I've had Hoovers in the past that I really liked. What a machine!!!!! It arrived at my home in less than a week after I ordered it. As soon as I got it, I took my Oreck out & vacuumed an 8x8 spot on my carpet. I then went over the same spot with this Hoover & I have to tell you that I was totally embarrassed at the dirt the Hoover picked up that my Oreck didn't!!! There was almost 2 inches of dirt in the cup, not to mention a very large "furball"! I love the "clean/dirty" indicator, & the fact that I can lower or raise the cleaning head with a touch of a button. The light is better than any other I've had. The only fault I can find in this machine is that it is on the heavy side. But what it lacks in weight, it more than makes up for in cleaning power!!! And with the larger wheels on the back, it's really not that hard to push! I've always heard that you get what you pay for, but in this case, I believe that you don't have to pay a fortune for a vacuum that really works! I'm really glad that I didn't shell out the $400+ for a Dysen & I'm putting my Oreck up for sale! I'm very pleased with this vacuum & would recommend it to anybody!!!!! 12/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this vacuum! I have owned a Hoover vacuum for 6 years. I think our other vacuum would have lasted even longer, but my son burned up the motor not looking at what he was doing. I did a lot of research before settling on the Platinum. I was very pleased with the super fast 97 cent shipping. By the time we got it (after 1 1/2 weeks of research), it had been 2 weeks since I vacuumed. We have long-haired pets, and needless to say I opened the box immediately ready to start vacuuming. Set up was a breeze. It only took a phillips screwdriver, and I had it put together in less than 10 minutes. The cord is extra long. I can vacuum my whole house from the hallway plug. It is extremely easy to use. I had a self-propelled before, and was expecting it to be heavy to use, but it feels like it is self-propelled. I was only able to do 1/2 of our bedroom before I had to empty the canister. This is not because the canister is small, it is because the suction is so strong I think this machine pulled dirt from under the carpet. I love the dirty/clean feature. As long as the vacuum is pulling dirt out of the carpet, it's sensor reads dirty. When the carpet is clean, it reads clean. I love the vacuum marks it leaves, and it made our carpet feel like new. We live on military base housing, and our carpet did not feel this fluffy or new when we moved in! The only difficult thing about this vacuum is the attachment hose. It is long, but you do have to use some muscles to pull it out to a longer length. It comes with 3 attachments, and if you had a Hoover before, you can use your other attachments with this machine. Overall, the attachments work really well, so the stiff hose is not a reason not to get this machine. It has a handle on the back for easy lifting, and the machine itself is not very heavy. The LED light in front is bright enough for me to spot a clear LEGO before it gets sucked into the machine. I was even able to spot my daughter's tiny doll shoes. All in all, I recommend this vacuum. I was not disappointed, and I am very pleased with Hoover. 11/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by i bought this for my new house i have carpet and a dog that sheds very bad. i had used my mother n laws dyson before i use this one and when i used this one i got so much dirt off of my floor. so this vacuum beats a dyson. this is an excellent vacuum would recommend to anyone. 11/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product This sweeper is exactly what it said it would be. It really got my carpets cleaned. My other sweeper died and I went without a sweeper for about 2 weeks. We have been doing some remodeling and so the house was really dirty, but the Hoover picked up all the dirt. I would without hesitation recommend this sweeper. It really works. It is a little heavy. But is the only drawback I can say about it. 11/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by unexpected surprise! Wow! After reading the reviews I decided to purchase this vac and I am glad I did! I found it easy to use and not any heavier than my old Dirt Devil. I was afraid that the cord would be too short after reading the reviews but I found it to be long enough to do the entire front half of my house (the old one I had to move the cord to do that). I was amazed at how much dirt was in the canister considering I had just vacuumed the day before with the old one. I am totally pleased with this machine and cant wait to use it again (a bold statement for one who doesn't like to clean!!) 10/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth It! I have new carpeting which is thick and doesn't stay clean. I have seen this item on t.v. (HSN) and the price was higher than this. Wal-Mart always comes through for those on a budget. I tried this unit once and it really SUCKS!! I never knew my carpet was that dirty, I am so glad I got this. I wish I used it more, (too lazy). The unit is heavy, and I do not like that the tools are not able to be attached to the unit. Other than that if you're looking to get a vacuum that works, THIS IS THE ONE!! 10/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum, great value I like everything about this vacuum. I like that I can use it on more than one surface. Easy to maneuver and it has great suction. 09/30/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by My second Hoover I am very pleased with my new Hoover. My old one bit the dust after about 10 years. Easy to use and cleans well. I ordered online and got a better price than my local Walmart store. I was disappointed that it did now have as many attachments as my old one, but luckily my old attachment also work on the new one. I didn't rate durability since I have only had it two weeks. 09/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice vacuum. I bought this vacuum purely on appearance. I have owned good and bad Hoovers in the past, and decided to try this one. It is heavy and difficult to push unless I put it on a different setting and then it doesn't pick up well. I thought it would come with a longer wand or extension and a pet hair brush. That being said, I do like it and it seems to have a lot of power. The last Hoover I had, had a tendency to tip over and this one does not. All in all, if you have a little muscle power, I think you will be happy with this vacuum. I will add, however, that I saw this vacuum in WalMart in Ohio and I live in South Carolina where it isn't available at any stores within 100 miles of my home. Consequently, I had to order it online. 09/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Up to par with a Kirby I live in Clarksville, TN and saw that this product was priced at $298 online. I was weary of this vacuum at first because I had used a DC17 and it performed well. It seemed to me that Dyson might be a better option. Well I was wrong!!! I compared this vacuum to the DC17 and surprisingly enough it picked up more than the DC17 could! I got this vacuum at a steal too for $298 ! The only problem was that the walmart here in Clarksville wanted $448 for it. I was able to find the same vacuum 35 miles in another wal-mart in Hopkinsville, KY for $298 !!! TALK ABOUT SAVING MONEY! Pros: Picks up dirt, dust, and sand embedded deep in the carpet! It has an indicator light that tells you if certain area's of the carpet require more passes to make it clean. There is an automatic carpet height switch located conveniently by the power button. The HEPA filter is made to last a life time. The machine itself is very durable! The roller brush can be easily taken out to be cleaned. The carpet feels softer after a good vacuuming. Best of all it has a 6 year warranty. Cons: It's heavy. When you suck up a small bead you can hear it swirl around in the dirt canister ( it's annoying ). Some walmart's want too much for it. If you want to get a dyson you may want to rethink your choice! 09/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent!! I have four dogs and four cats and this is the only vacuum I've ever owned that's been able to pick up all the hair. The canister is easy to empty and it's easy to push around. Excellent vacuum!! 08/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Product! I received a lot more in being easily maneuvered, in the strength of the suction, and in appearance, than I expected for the price. No more "cheapies" for me. You actually end up paying more since they have to be replaced so often. Thank you to Hoover, and your association with Walmart. 08/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It!! My vacuum is extremely new, but MAN, I love it!! Who needs a $1000. vacuum.. So far, so good. Would recommend to anyone! 08/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Even though i havn't had the vacuum very long, i must say i am very pleased with the product. This was bought by my church, because we have alot of carpet. Now we have to hoover products that we use to clean. Also like the warranty that comes with this vacuum. 03/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO COOL! This vacuum is AMAZING!!! I was so shocked at how much dirt it sucked up, it kinda made me ill:) The price is crazy, but I think it is worth it. Hopefully all the plastic bits won't break. 03/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than a Dyson Ok so i'm picky. I have to try the suction out on a vacuum before I commit to it. I tried the Dyson the suction was ok. The hose was about a inch around the hose opening on this vacuum is 1 1/2. It seems alot larger and the suction is very very strong. Find a discount and it's worth it! I'm keeping mine. 03/15/2009
121-140 of 140 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp